DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 7/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,217,132 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented metasurfaces on a chip for confinement of claim 18 recite the necessary structural limitations of claim 1, 2, 6, and 7. Further, the structure of patented claim 18 is indistinguishable from pending claim 9, since the product by process limitation of claim 9 does not patentably define the claim over the identical structure of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites, “(b) the at least one bridge optical element, or (c) the at least one delivery optical element.” Neither of these elements has sufficient antecedent basis. As such, the application is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0386581 A1 [Hoyt].
Regarding Claim 1:
Hoyt discloses an optics-integrated confinement apparatus system comprising:
a confinement apparatus chip (para 20, Fig. 3) having a confinement apparatus formed thereon (para 20, as shown in Fig. 3) and having at least one apparatus optical element disposed and/or formed thereon (gratings (120)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 1, wherein the at least one apparatus optical element comprises at least one of a diffractive optical element, a passive metasurface, an active metasurface, an optical modulator, a low loss waveguide, an amplifier, a laser, a photodetector, a grating coupler, a beam splitter, an edge coupler, an optical local oscillator, a taper, a reference cavity, a light absorbing structure, an anti-reflection coating, an optical routing element, or a resonant structures. Fig. 3 (120).
Regarding Claim 3:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 1, further comprising at least one of (a) a bridge chip having at least one bridge optical element disposed and/or formed thereon or (b) a delivery chip having at least one delivery optical element disposed and/or formed thereon. Fig. 3 – Upper chip.
Regarding Claim 4:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 3, wherein the at least one bridge optical element and/or the at least one delivery optical element comprises at least one of a diffractive optical element, a passive metasurface, an active metasurface, an optical modulator, a low loss waveguide, an amplifier, an on-chip laser, a photodetector, a grating coupler, an optical splitter, an edge coupler, an optical local oscillator, a taper, a reference cavity, a light absorbing structure, an anti-reflection coating, an optical routing element, or a resonant structures. Fig. 3 (120).
Regarding Claim 5:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 3, wherein the delivery chip is a cloud chip. Note cloud (105), which indicates that the chip is a “cloud chip.”
Regarding Claim 6:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 1, wherein the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system is configured for operation under cryogenic and/or ultra-high vacuum conditions. Fig. 3 (114), para 17.
Regarding Claim 7:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 6, wherein at least one of (a) the at least one apparatus optical element, (b) the at least one bridge optical element, or (c) the at least one delivery optical element is configured to be coupled to an optical fiber configured to provide a manipulation signal generated outside of a cryogenic and/or vacuum chamber within which the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system is disposed to the at least one of (a) the at least one apparatus optical element, (b) the at least one bridge optical element, or (c) the at least one delivery optical element. Fig. 3 (122), paras 19-20.
Regarding Claim 8:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 7, wherein the at least one of (a) the at least one apparatus optical element, (b) the at least one bridge optical element, or (c) the at least one delivery optical element is configured to be coupled to the optical fiber via a fiber block. Paras 26, 27.
Regarding Claim 9:
Hoyt discloses the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system of claim 1, wherein the optics-integrated confinement apparatus system is fabricated at least in part using a pick-and-place technique. Para 34.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8,288,712 B2 is directed to a similar device as that claimed.
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881