DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bian (US 2024/0241314 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Bian discloses (Fig.1) a directional coupler (10) with reduced phase deviation, the directional coupler comprising: a first coupler waveguide (a waveguide core 12, Fig.1); and a second coupler waveguide (14), the directional coupler having a select phase deviation achieved with at least one of a spaced distance (G3, Fig.1 and [0028], “The segments 30 of the waveguide core 12 may be spaced from the segments 34 of the waveguide core 14 by a gap G3 in the coupling region 22”) between the first coupler waveguide (12) and the second coupler waveguide (14) along a parallel configuration (Fig.1 and [0028], “the longitudinal axis 32 may be arranged parallel to the longitudinal axis 36 in the coupling region 22”) of the first coupler waveguide (12) and the second coupler waveguide (14) and a length of the first coupler waveguide and the second coupler waveguide ([0025] “coupling region 22, the segments 30 alternate with the gaps G1 along the longitudinal axis 32”, showing the specific region 22 or the longitudinal axis 32 where the waveguides run parallel along the longitudinal axis 36, defining the interaction length) being selected based on a crossing of a phase deviation verses a length and separation curve graph to achieve the select phase deviation and a set coupling ratio (the system comprises the physical structure of two waveguides forming a directional coupler with a spaced distance between them as shown in Fig.1, it inherently includes this claimed feature. Also, paragraph [0040] discloses the system achieves “the coupling strength” or the coupling ratio), the phase deviation caused by a difference in loss coefficients between a first optical mode in the first coupler waveguide and a second optical mode in the second coupler waveguide (the system comprises the physical structure of two waveguides forming a directional coupler with a spaced distance between them as shown in Fig.1, that inherently includes the claimed feature. Also, see [0040], “The heterogenous lateral claddings of different refractive index may permit the dimension of the gap G3 between the segments 30 of the waveguide core 12 and the segments 34 of the waveguide core 14”, showing that by using the heterogenous lateral claddings of different refractive index, which is physical cause of phase deviation).
Regarding claim 8, Bian as discussed in claim 7, discloses the directional coupler being modeled to determine a phase deviation using at least a set fixed coupling ratio while the at least one of the spaced distance between the first coupler waveguide and the second coupler waveguide and the length of the first coupler waveguide and the second coupler waveguide is varied (no structure is claimed in this claim. Since the system already has the physical structure, it is inherently modeled to determine the phase deviation as claimed). No structure is claimed in the apparatus claim 8, thus the feature in the claim is not to be given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 10, Bian, as discussed in claim 7, discloses the difference in the loss coefficients between the first optical mode and the second optical mode in the directional coupler being set based on the at least one of the spaced distance between the first coupler waveguide and the second coupler waveguide and the length of the first coupler waveguide and the second coupler waveguide (since no structure is claimed in the claim, and the system already includes the relevant physical structures, it inherently includes this claimed features). No structure is claimed in the apparatus claim 10, thus the features are in the claim not to be given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian in view of Wang et al., (US 2023/0349696 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Bian as discussed in claim 7, do not disclose the select phase deviation being a phase deviation used in one of a gyroscope and an internal reference system application as claimed. Wang et al., disclose a select phase deviation being a phase deviation (“ECI phase angle”, [0054]) used in one of a gyroscope [0011], “fiber-optic gyroscopes”), and an internal reference system application ([0047], “generating the signal SX to indicate the angle and speed of the rotational movement”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bian by utilizing the teaching of Wang et al., to provide flexible design for the system.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/M.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878