DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/475,563 filed on September 27, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I invention and Species 1, reading on Figs. 1, 1A-1C, including claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged. However, claims 7-9, 11, and 12 read on a non-elected species of the claimed invention. For instance, claims 7, 8, and 11 recite “a rivet that attaches…”, a feature that is exclusive of Species 3, reading on Figs. 12, 12A-12B. Claims 7-9, 11, 12, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takada (US 2013/0009299).
Regarding Claim 1, Takada (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches an electronic device 1 (see, e.g., par. 0071), comprising:
a package structure having opposite first and second sides 6a/6b, four lateral sides 6c, and four lateral corners (see, e.g., par. 0072);
a semiconductor die 3 at least partially enclosed inside the package structure and attached to a die attach pad 2 (see, e.g., par. 0074);
conductive leads 4 at least partially exposed outside the package structure along the four lateral sides 6c, a first one of the conductive leads 4 electrically connected 5 to the semiconductor die 3 (see, e.g., par. 0071);
an instance of a first conductive feature 9 partially exposed outside the package structure at each of the corners (see, e.g., par. 0071); and
an instance of a second conductive feature 8 partially exposed outside the package structure along the first side 6a and contacting a respective instance of the first conductive feature 9 at each of the corners (see, e.g., Fig. 4, par. 0073).
Regarding Claim 5, Takada teaches all aspects of claim 1. Takada (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the instance of the first conductive feature 9 at each respective corner is contiguous with the die attach pad 2 (see, e.g., Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Takada teaches all aspects of claim 5. Takada (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the instance of the second conductive feature 8 at each respective corner is a metal pad (see, e.g., par. 0073).
Regarding Claim 13, Takada (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches an electronic device 1 (see, e.g., par. 0071), comprising:
a package structure having opposite first and second sides 6a/6b, four lateral sides 6c, and four lateral corners (see, e.g., par. 0072);
a semiconductor die 3 at least partially enclosed inside the package structure and attached to a die attach pad 2 (see, e.g., par. 0074);
conductive leads 4 at least partially exposed outside the package structure along the four lateral sides 6c, a first one of the conductive leads 4 electrically connected 5 to the semiconductor die 3 (see, e.g., par. 0071);
an instance of a first conductive feature 9 partially exposed outside the package structure at each of the corners (see, e.g., par. 0071); and
an instance of a second conductive feature 8 including a conductive film partially exposed outside the package structure along the first side 6a at each of the corners (see, e.g., Fig. 4, par. 0073).
Regarding Claim 16, Takada teaches all aspects of claim 13. Takada (see, e.g., Figs. 1-5), teaches that the instance of the first conductive feature 9 at each respective corner is contiguous with the die attach pad 2.
Claims 1, 2, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hikita (US 2023/0080548).
Regarding Claim 1, Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches an electronic device A1 (see, e.g., par. 0055), comprising:
a package structure 2 having opposite first and second sides 22/21, four lateral sides 231-234, and four lateral corners 251-254 (see, e.g., pars. 0055, 0061, 0185);
a semiconductor die 1 at least partially enclosed inside the package structure 2 and attached to a die attach pad 61 (see, e.g., par. 0072);
conductive leads 3 at least partially exposed outside the package structure 2 along the four lateral sides 231-234, a first one of the conductive leads 3 electrically connected to the semiconductor die 1 (see, e.g., pars. 0055, 0059);
an instance of a first conductive feature 36 partially exposed outside the package structure 2 at each of the corners 251-254 (see, e.g., pars. 0055, 0071); and
an instance of a second conductive feature 51-54 partially exposed outside the package structure 2 along the first side 22 and contacting a respective instance of the first conductive feature 51-54 at each of the corners 251-254 (see, e.g., par. 0185).
Regarding Claim 2, Hikita teaches all aspects of claim 1. Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches that the instance of the second conductive feature 51-54 at each respective corner 251-254 is exposed outside the package structure 2 along portions of two respective ones of the lateral sides 231-234 at that respective corner 251-254.
Regarding Claim 13, Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches an electronic device A1 (see, e.g., par. 0055), comprising:
a package structure 2 having opposite first and second sides 22/21, four lateral sides 231-234, and four lateral corners 251-254 (see, e.g., pars. 0055, 0061, 0185);
a semiconductor die 1 at least partially enclosed inside the package structure 2 and attached to a die attach pad 61 (see, e.g., par. 0072);
conductive leads 3 at least partially exposed outside the package structure 2 along the four lateral sides 231-234, a first one of the conductive leads 3 electrically connected to the semiconductor die 1 (see, e.g., pars. 0055, 0059);
an instance of a first conductive feature 36 partially exposed outside the package structure 2 at each of the corners 251-254 (see, e.g., pars. 0055, 0071); and
an instance of a second conductive feature 51-54 including a conductive film partially exposed outside the package structure 2 along the first side 22 at each of the corners 251-254 (see, e.g., pars. 0055, 0070, 0185).
Regarding Claim 14, Hikita teaches all aspects of claim 13. Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches that the instance of the second conductive feature 51-54 at each respective corner 251-254 is exposed outside the package structure 2 along portions of two respective ones of the lateral sides 231-234 at that respective corner 251-254.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikita (US 2023/0080548).
Regarding Claim 3, Hikita teaches all aspects of claim 2. Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches that:
the instance of the second conductive feature 51-54 at each respective corner 251-254 is spaced apart from a nearest one of the conductive leads 3 along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a first spacing distance;
adjacent ones of the conductive leads 3 are spaced apart from one another along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a second spacing distance d1-d2 (see, e.g., pars. 0078, 0088, 0098, 0108).
Hikita is silent with respect to the claim limitation that the first spacing distance is less than the second spacing distance.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the spacing distance between the second conductive feature and the nearest conductive lead and/or the spacing distance between adjacent ones of the conductive leads in Hikita’s device. The specific claimed spacing distance, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the spacing distance between the second conductive feature and the nearest conductive lead and/or the spacing distance between adjacent ones of the conductive leads in Hikita’s device, as the courts have held that changes in distance without any criticality, are within the level of skill in the art. According to the courts, a particular distance is nothing more than one among numerous distances that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the claimed distance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the claimed distances in Hikita’s device.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed distances or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen distance or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen distance is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 4, Hikita teaches all aspects of claim 1. Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches that:
the instance of the second conductive feature 51-54 at each respective corner 251-254 is spaced apart from a nearest one of the conductive leads 3 along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a first spacing distance;
adjacent ones of the conductive leads 3 are spaced apart from one another along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a second spacing distance d1-d2 (see, e.g., pars. 0078, 0088, 0098, 0108).
Hikita is silent with respect to the claim limitation that the first spacing distance is less than the second spacing distance.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the spacing distance between the second conductive feature and the nearest conductive lead and/or the spacing distance between adjacent ones of the conductive leads in Hikita’s device.
See also the comments stated above in claim 3 regarding criticality of distances which are considered repeated here.
Regarding Claim 10, Hikita teaches all aspects of claim 1. Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches that:
the instance of the second conductive feature 51-54 at each respective corner 251-254 is spaced apart from a nearest one of the conductive leads 3 along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a first spacing distance;
adjacent ones of the conductive leads 3 are spaced apart from one another along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a second spacing distance d1-d2 (see, e.g., pars. 0078, 0088, 0098, 0108).
Hikita is silent with respect to the claim limitation that the first spacing distance is less than the second spacing distance.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the spacing distance between the second conductive feature and the nearest conductive lead and/or the spacing distance between adjacent ones of the conductive leads in Hikita’s device.
See also the comments stated above in claim 3 regarding criticality of distances which are considered repeated here.
Regarding Claim 15, Hikita teaches all aspects of claim 13. Hikita (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 36), teaches that:
the instance of the second conductive feature 51-54 at each respective corner 251-254 is spaced apart from a nearest one of the conductive leads 3 along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a first spacing distance;
adjacent ones of the conductive leads 3 are spaced apart from one another along each respective lateral side 231-234 by a second spacing distance d1-d2 (see, e.g., pars. 0078, 0088, 0098, 0108).
Hikita is silent with respect to the claim limitation that the first spacing distance is less than the second spacing distance.
However, this claim limitation is merely considered a change in the spacing distance between the second conductive feature and the nearest conductive lead and/or the spacing distance between adjacent ones of the conductive leads in Hikita’s device.
See also the comments stated above in claim 3 regarding criticality of distances which are considered repeated here.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached on (571)272-1705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Nelson Garces/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814