Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-5 and 8-13 in the reply filed on 7/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 7 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sugakawa et al. (US/ Pub. No. 2020/0365442).
Regarding claim 1, Sugakawa discloses a substrate processing apparatus, comprising: a holder (141) configured to hold a substrate (W2) by attracting the substrate on an attraction surface (141a), wherein the attraction surface comprises an outer attraction portion (A1/A2) configured to attract an outer peripheral portion of the substrate and an inner attraction portion (B) configured to attract a portion of the substrate at an inner side than the outer peripheral portion (figures 7A/B and 15), and the holder comprises a transforming unit configured to transform the outer attraction portion relative to the inner attraction portion (figures 7A/B & 15 and paragraph 113).
Regarding claim 8 Sugakawa discloses wherein a front surface of the outer attraction portion and a front surface of the inner attraction portion are continuous with each other on a same plane (figures 7A/B and 15).
Regarding claim 9, Sugakawa discloses wherein the outer attraction portion (A1/A2) is divided into multiple sections along a circumferential direction of the holder (figure 15).
Regarding claim 11, Sugakawa discloses a measurement device configured to measure a position of the outer attraction portion (paragraph 101); and a controller (70) configured to transform the transforming unit based on measurement information obtained by the measurement device (paragraph 103), wherein the controller stops a transformation of the transforming unit when it is found out that the measured position of the outer attraction portion coincides with a target position (paragraph 97).
Regarding claim 12, Sugakawa discloses wherein the controller transforms the transforming unit when the measured position of the outer attraction portion does not coincide with the target position (paragraph 97).
Regarding claim 13, Sugakawa discloses wherein the substrate processing apparatus is a bonding apparatus configured to bond the substrate attracted by the holder to another substrate disposed at an opposing position to the substrate (figures 7A/B and Abstract & paragraphs 9-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 9/24/26