DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 35 USC 119(a)-(d) or (f).
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 9/27/2023 and 12/02/2024 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 (depending ultimately from Claim 1) recites “wherein the cross-sectional areas of the various throttling ports are the same” and Claim 1 recites “the total cross-sectional area of the throttling port in a branch close to the external interface being smaller than the total cross-sectional area of the throttling port in a branch away from the external interface.” It is unclear which embodiment the applicant intends to claim, as the throttling ports cannot be both all the same size and different sizes.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 (depending ultimately from Claim 1) recites “wherein the cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is less than the cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface” and Claim 1 recites “the total cross-sectional area of the throttling port in a branch close to the external interface being smaller than the total cross-sectional area of the throttling port in a branch away from the external interface.” These limitations are substantially the same, as there appears to be no difference between the total cross-sectional area and cross-sectional area so claim 5 fails to limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang CN-212392303-U (hereinafter “Jiang”) in view of Han CN-107403975-A (US-20210091432-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (“Han”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5, modified Jiang discloses a battery cold plate 7, comprising:
two external interfaces (entrance of main inlet passage 4 and exit of main outflow passage 5, which correspond to external interfaces 10a and 10b of instant application, see below), two convergence pipelines (the pipelines of main inlet passage 4 and total main passage 5, which correspond to convergence pipelines 20a and 20b of instant application, see below), and a plurality of branches (branches into cooling modules 1, 2, and 3, which correspond to branches 31, 32, and 33 of the instant application, see below), each of the convergence pipelines being arranged extending along a first direction in Figs. 2-3 and 6 (see paragraphs [0008]-[0019] and [0041]-[0042]);
Figure 1. Battery Cold Plate of Jiang (Fig. 6)
Figure 2. Battery Cold Plate of Instant Application (Fig. 2)
the plurality of branches 1, 2, and 3 being arranged side by side along the first direction, and arranged between the two convergence pipelines in a second direction; both ends of each of the branches in the second direction being respectively in communication with the two convergence pipelines through at least one throttling port (module inlets 10, 20, and 30 communicate with pipeline of main inlet passage 4 and module outlets 100, 200, and 300 communicate with pipeline of main outflow passage 5); the first direction and the second direction being two directions perpendicular to each other in Figs. 2-3 and 6 (see annotated Fig. 6 below) (see paragraphs [0008]-[0019], [0026], [0041]-[0042], and [0053]); and
a plurality of sub-branches (submodules 11-13, 21-23, and 31-33 for each cooling module 1, 2, and 3, respectively) being arranged in the branch along the first direction, each of the sub-branches being arranged extending along the second direction, the end portions of the plurality of sub-branches in the same branch being communicated (at module outlets 100, 200, and 300), and the cross-sectional areas of all the sub-branches being the same (cooling submodules 12 and 13 have the same structure as cooling submodule 11 in cooling module 1) in Figs. 2-3 and 6 (see paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
Jiang is silent on the two external interfaces being respectively in communication with the middle positions of the two convergence pipelines in the first direction.
However, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan is capable of rearranging the two external interfaces (inlet/outlet) of Jiang to fit with the shape and structure of the battery they are making, such as providing the two internal external interfaces at the middle positions of the two convergence pipelines in the first direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cold plate of Jiang wherein the two external interfaces are respectively in communication with the middle positions of the two convergence pipelines in the first direction as a rearrangement of parts to adjust the battery cold plate to fit with the battery they are making.
Jiang is silent on wherein the total cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is less than the total cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see abstract), Han discloses a liquid cooling system of battery energy storage with throttling ports (see paragraphs [0017]-[0031]). Han further discloses the throttling pipes have flow restriction orifices, areas of the flow restriction orifices of different throttle pipes are different, and by using different combinations of orifice diameters and orifice distributions, resistance coefficients with which the cooling fluids flow through the throttle pipes are adjusted (see paragraphs [0017]-[0024]). Further, the appropriate diameter of the throttling pipes can be determined by calculating pressure losses of cooling fluids at feeding inlets according to lengths, directions and height differences of pipelines between battery modules and a cooling-fluid pump (see paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
Han additionally discloses the proper size of throttling pipes can enable the liquid cooling system to more uniformly distribute the flow rates of the cooling fluids among battery sub-packs or modules, thereby ensuring that the battery system operates at more uniform environmental temperatures, to reduce the difference in the performances of the modules, and prolong the service lives of the batteries (see paragraphs [0017]-[0018] and [0031]). So, a skilled artisan is capable of using the appropriate cross-sectional area (which may be wherein the cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is less than the cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface) of the throttling pipes of Jiang to achieve a uniform cooling of the battery (meeting Claim 1 and Claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the throttling pipes of Jiang wherein the cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is less than the cross-sectional area of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface, as disclosed by Han, in order to achieve uniform cooling of the battery.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses the number of branches (cooling modules) can be 2, 4, or 5, and the number of cooling sub-branches (sub-modules) in each branch can also be 2, 4, or 5 (see paragraph [0054]).
Jiang is silent on wherein the number of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is less than the number of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface.
However, a skilled artisan is capable of modifying the cold plate of Jiang wherein the number of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is equal to the number of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface (as it is taught by Jiang the number of cooling sub-modules in each cooling module can be 2, 4, or 5, so each branch may possess a different number of branches and consequently throttling ports) to adjust the battery cold plate to fit with the battery they are making and provide proper cooling where it is needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the batter cold plate of Jiang wherein the number of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is less than the number of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface in order to adjust the battery cold plate to fit with the battery they are making and provide proper cooling where it is needed.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses the number of cooling modules can be 2, 4, or 5, and the number of cooling sub-modules in each cooling module can also be 2, 4, or 5 (see paragraph [0054]).
Jiang is silent on wherein the number of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is equal to the number of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface.
However, a skilled artisan is capable of modifying the cold plate of Jiang wherein the number of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is equal to the number of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface (as it is taught by Jiang the number of cooling sub-modules in each cooling module can be 2, 4, or 5, so each branch may possess the same number sub-branches and consequently the same number of throttling ports) to adjust the battery cold plate to fit with the battery they are making and provide proper cooling where it is needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cold plate of Jiang wherein the number of the throttling port in the branch close to the external interface is equal to the number of the throttling port in the branch away from the external interface in order to provide proper cooling channels to fit with the battery they are making.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above). Jiang further discloses wherein the cross-sectional areas of the various throttling ports are the same as illustrated in Figs. 2-6 (see paragraphs [0008]-[0019], [0041]-[0042], and [0045]-[0046]).
However, if Jiang is found insufficient, Han discloses a liquid cooling system of battery energy storage with throttling ports (see paragraphs [0017]-[0031]). Han further discloses the throttling pipes have flow restriction orifices, areas of the flow restriction orifices of different throttle pipes are different, and by using different combinations of orifice diameters and orifice distributions, resistance coefficients with which the cooling fluids flow through the throttle pipes are adjusted (see paragraphs [0017]-[0024]). Further, the appropriate diameter of the throttling pipes can be determined by calculating pressure losses of cooling fluids at feeding inlets according to lengths, directions and height differences of pipelines between battery modules and a cooling-fluid pump (see paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
Han additionally discloses the proper size of throttling pipes can enable the liquid cooling system to more uniformly distribute the flow rates of the cooling fluids among battery sub-packs or modules, thereby ensuring that the battery system operates at more uniform environmental temperatures, to reduce the difference in the performances of the modules, and prolong the service lives of the batteries (see paragraphs [0017]-[0018] and [0031]). So, a skilled artisan is capable of using the appropriate cross-sectional area (which may be wherein the cross-sectional areas of the various throttling ports are the same) of the throttling pipes of Jiang to achieve a uniform cooling of the battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the throttling pipes of Jiang wherein the cross-sectional areas of the various throttling ports are the same, as disclosed by Han, in order to achieve uniform cooling of the battery.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses the number of cooling modules (branches) can be 2, 4, or 5, and the number of cooling sub-modules (sub-branches) in each cooling module can also be 2, 4, or 5 (see paragraph [0054]). As such, a skilled artisan is capable of achieving a structure wherein the number of the sub-branches within the branch close to the external interface is greater than the number of the sub-branches within the branch away from the external interface. For example, a skilled artisan may choose to put 5 sub-branches in branch 1 (which is close to the external interface) and 2 sub-branches in branch 3 (which is away from the external interface) since the ranges of the amounts of sub-branches for each branch render this relationship obvious. Further, a skilled artisan is capable of putting more sub-branches in areas where more cooling is needed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cold plate of Jiang wherein the number of the sub-branches within the branch close to the external interface is greater than the number of the sub-branch within the branch away from the external interface to achieve appropriate cooling for the battery.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses wherein all the sub-branches in all the branches have the same cross-sectional area (the structures of each fluid channel are the same) in Figs. 3-4 and 5 (see paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses wherein the two external interfaces are respectively a main inlet and a main outlet; the two convergence pipelines are respectively an inlet convergence pipeline and an outlet convergence pipeline (main inlet passage 4 and main outflow passage 5); the main inlet, the inlet convergence pipeline, the plurality of branches, the outlet convergence pipeline, and the main outlet are sequentially communicated (each of the cooling modules has a module inlet communicating with the main inlet and a module outlet communicating with the main outlet channel and the fluid channels are arranged sequentially along a preset direction); a throttling port between the branch and the inlet convergence pipeline is an inflow throttling port; and a throttling port between the branch and the outlet convergence pipeline is an outflow throttling port (module inlets 10, 20, and 30 communicate with pipeline of main inlet passage 4 and module outlets 100, 200, and 300 communicate with pipeline of main outflow passage 5) (see paragraphs [0008]-[0019], [0041]-[0042], and [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Jiang further discloses wherein the number of the inflow throttling port and the number of the outflow throttling port in the same branch are the same (each has branch has a module inlet and module outlet, e.g. branch 1 has one inlet 10 and one outlet 100), and the cross-sectional area of the outflow throttling port is equal to the cross-sectional area of the inflow throttling port as illustrated in Figs. 2-3 and 6 (see paragraphs [0008]-[0019], [0041]-[0042], and [0045]-[0046]).
However, if Jiang is found to be insufficient, Han discloses a liquid cooling system of battery energy storage with throttling ports (see paragraphs [0017]-[0031]). Han further discloses the throttling pipes have flow restriction orifices, areas of the flow restriction orifices of different throttle pipes are different, and by using different combinations of orifice diameters and orifice distributions, resistance coefficients with which the cooling fluids flow through the throttle pipes are adjusted (see paragraphs [0017]-[0024]). Further, the appropriate diameter of the throttling pipes can be determined by calculating pressure losses of cooling fluids at feeding inlets according to lengths, directions and height differences of pipelines between battery modules and a cooling-fluid pump (see paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
Han additionally discloses the proper size of throttling pipes can enable the liquid cooling system to more uniformly distribute the flow rates of the cooling fluids among battery sub-packs or modules, thereby ensuring that the battery system operates at more uniform environmental temperatures, to reduce the difference in the performances of the modules, and prolong the service lives of the batteries (see paragraphs [0017]-[0018] and [0031]). So, a skilled artisan is capable of using the appropriate cross-sectional area (which may be the cross-sectional area of the outflow throttling port is equal to the cross-sectional area of the inflow throttling port) of the throttling pipes of Jiang to achieve a uniform cooling of the battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the throttling pipes of Jiang wherein the cross-sectional area of the outflow throttling port is equal to the cross-sectional area of the inflow throttling port, as disclosed by Han, in order to achieve uniform cooling of the battery.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Jiang further discloses wherein a branch 1 close to the main inlet comprises a first inflow throttling port 10 and a first outflow throttling port 100, and the distance between the first inflow throttling port 10 and the main inlet is less than the distance between the first outflow throttling port 100 and the main outlet (as it is located on the inlet side and is spaced apart from the main outlet by the branches/sub-branches), as illustrated in Figs. 2-3 and 6 (see paragraphs [0008]-[0019], [0041]-[0042], and [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Jiang further discloses wherein an inlet cavity is provided at the main inlet, the main inlet is in communication with the inlet convergence pipeline 4 via the inlet cavity, a plurality of inlet projections (protrusions) 61/91-92/97-98 are arranged in the inlet cavity, and the plurality of inlet projections 61/91-92/97-98 are arranged in an array in Figs. 2-6 (see paragraphs [0018] and [0047]-[0050]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Jiang further discloses wherein an outlet cavity is provided at the main outlet, the main outlet is in communication with the outlet convergence pipeline 5 via the outlet cavity, a plurality of outlet projections (protrusions) 93-95 are arranged in the outlet cavity, and the plurality of outlet projections 93-95 are arranged in an array in Figs. 2-6 (see paragraphs [0018] and [0047]-[0050]).
Regarding Claims 14-15, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Jiang further discloses wherein a first flow guide strip 40 is arranged within the inlet convergence pipeline 4 in Figs. 2-6 (see paragraphs [0024] and [0052]). Jiang also discloses protrusions in the flow channels guide the cooling medium to fluid channels and allow the cooling medium to flow more evenly into each fluid channel (see paragraph [0050]-[0051]).
Jiang is silent on wherein a plurality of first flow guide strips extend along the first direction and are arranged at intervals and wherein the plurality of first flow guide strips are arranged in one or more rows along the second direction.
However, the mere duplication of parts (in this case, the first flow guide strip), without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan would expect the first flow guide strips to guide the cooling medium to fluid channels and allow the cooling medium to flow more evenly into each fluid channel, as is taught by Jiang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling plate of Jiang wherein a plurality of first flow guide strips extend along the first direction and are arranged at intervals and wherein the plurality of first flow guide strips are arranged in one or more rows along the second direction as a duplication of parts to guide the cooling medium to fluid channels and allow the cooling medium to flow more evenly into each fluid channel.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses the number of cooling modules (branches) can be 2, 4, or 5, and the number of cooling sub-modules (sub-branches) in each cooling module can also be 2, 4, or 5 (see paragraph [0054]).
Jiang further is silent on discloses wherein with the connection line of the positions where the centers of the two external interfaces are located as a central axis, the structure of the battery cold plate is symmetrical on both sides of the central axis.
However, as discussed in claim 1 above, the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan is capable of rearranging the two external interfaces (inlet/outlet) of Jiang so that the connection line of the positions where the centers of the two external interfaces are located is a central axis to fit with the shape and structure of the battery they are making. With the teaching of the number of cooling modules being 2, 4, or 5, and the number of cooling sub-modules in each cooling module also being 2, 4, or 5, a skilled artisan is capable of choosing an even number for the number of branches and the same number for the sub-branches in each branch to arrive at a symmetrical design. Further, the mere duplication of parts (in this case, the branches and sub-branches), without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). A skilled artisan is capable of adjusting the battery cold plate to fit with the battery they are making and provide proper cooling where it is needed (via branches and sub-branches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling plate Jiang wherein the structure of the battery cold plate is symmetrical on both sides of the central axis in order to adjust the shape of the battery cold plate to fit with the battery they are making.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses a battery system, comprising batteries and a battery cold plate according to claim 1, the battery cold plate being attached to the battery in Figs. 1-6 (see paragraphs [0010] and [0055]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Han, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yi et al CN-211879557-U (“Yi”).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above). Jiang further discloses wherein in one of the branches, the branch has a first side and a second side opposite to each other and in the first direction first sidewall 1331 and the second sidewall 1332 are separated from each other to form a cavity through which the cooling medium passes), an inflow convergence cavity is formed between the end portions of a plurality of the sub-branches and the inflow throttling port (first head end 13311 and the second head end 13321 are separated from each other to form the inlet of the fluid channel 133), and an outflow convergence cavity is formed between the end portions of a plurality of the sub-branches and the outflow throttling port (first tail end 13312 and the second tail end 13322 are separated from each other to form the outlet of the fluid channel 133) (see paragraphs [0008]-[0019], [0041]-[0042], [0045]-[0046], and [0048]).
Jiang is silent on along a direction from the first side to the second side, the size of the inflow convergence cavity in the second direction gradually decreases, and the size of the outflow convergence cavity in the second direction gradually increases; the inflow throttling port is arranged at a position where the size of the inflow convergence cavity in the second direction is larger; and the outflow throttling port is arranged at a position where the size of the outflow convergence cavity in the second direction is larger in Figs. 2-6 (see paragraphs [0018], [0048]).
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see paragraph [0002]), Yi discloses a liquid cooling plate wherein branch channels 13 are connected to the first main channel 11 and the second main channel 12, the flow channel diameter of the first main channel 11 gradually expands from the liquid inlet 111 along the flow channel direction, the flow channel diameter of the second main channel 12 gradually decreases from the liquid outlet 121 along the flow channel direction, and the flow channel diameter of each branch channel 13 gradually increases from the first main channel 11 to the second main channel 12 in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0042]-[0045] and [0058]).
Yi additionally discloses this structure of flow channels accelerates the flow rate of the coolant in the flow channel of the liquid cooling plate, improving the heat dissipation effect of the liquid cooling plate on the power battery module (see paragraph [0044]). As such, a skilled artisan is capable applying the appropriate flow channel diameters (such that along a direction from the first side to the second side, the size of the inflow convergence cavity in the second direction gradually decreases, and the size of the outflow convergence cavity in the second direction gradually increases) to achieve proper flow of the coolant. When the teaching of Yi is combined with modified Jiang, a skilled artisan can achieve a structure wherein the inflow throttling port is arranged at a position where the size of the inflow convergence cavity in the second direction is larger; and the outflow throttling port is arranged at a position where the size of the outflow convergence cavity in the second direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling plate of Jiang wherein along a direction from the first side to the second side, the size of the inflow convergence cavity in the second direction gradually decreases, and the size of the outflow convergence cavity in the second direction gradually increases; the inflow throttling port is arranged at a position where the size of the inflow convergence cavity in the second direction is larger; and the outflow throttling port is arranged at a position where the size of the outflow convergence cavity in the second direction is larger, as taught by Yi, in order to achieve the proper flow for cooling the battery.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Han, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujiwara et al. US-20120312614-A1 (“Fujiwara”).
Regarding Claims 17-18, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Jiang further discloses wherein the battery cold plate comprises a first plate body and a second plate body opposite to the first plate body (upper plate and lower plate); the first plate body forms a cavity and a plurality of convex ribs on the surface (first sidewall 1331 and the second sidewall 1332 are separated from each other to form a cavity through which the cooling medium passes); the plurality of convex ribs are located in the cavity; the convex ribs separate the cavity to form the two convergence pipelines, the plurality of branches, and the plurality of sub-branches (each of the fluid channels includes a first sidewall and a second sidewall, the first sidewall and the second sidewall being spaced apart from each other to form a cavity through which the cooling medium passes) in Figs. 1-6 (see paragraphs [0018]-[0019] and [0048]). Jiang further discloses the upper plate and the lower plate form a main inlet channel 4, a main outlet channel 5 and a cooling module (see paragraph [0041]).
Jiang is silent on wherein the second plate body is provided with a plurality of butt joint holes, the plurality of butt joint holes are provided in correspondence with the plurality of convex ribs, the plurality of convex ribs are connected in the plurality of butt joint holes in an abutting-against mode to realize positioning connection between the first plate body and the second plate body, and wherein the plurality of convex ribs and the plurality of butt joint holes are in interference fit.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery cooling (see abstract), Fujiwara discloses a battery cooling structure with a lower (first) plate 14 and upper (second) plate 15, wherein and the first plate 14 comprises ribs and the top surfaces of the first horizontal ribs 14c and vertical rib 14e of the lower plate 14 abut on the bottom surfaces of the first to ninth support portions 15b(1) to 15b(9) of the upper plate 15 and the second horizontal rib 14d of the lower plate 14 abuts on the recess 15e of the upper plate 15 to form cooling air passages in Figs. 3, 5, 7, and 10 (see paragraphs [0024]-[0031]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate way to connect the upper plate and lower plate of Jiang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cold plate of Jiang wherein the second plate body is provided with a plurality of butt joint holes, the plurality of butt joint holes are provided in correspondence with the plurality of convex ribs, the plurality of convex ribs are connected in the plurality of butt joint holes in an abutting-against mode to realize positioning connection between the first plate body and the second plate body, and wherein the plurality of convex ribs and the plurality of butt joint holes are in interference fit, as disclosed by Fujiwara, in order to connect the upper plate and lower plate while providing cooling air passages.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Jiang discloses the battery cold plate according to claim 17 (see rejection of claim 17 above).
Jiang is silent on wherein the butt joint hole is a through hole.
However, Fujiwara discloses a flange portion on the lower plate to connect it to the upper plate and securing the batteries to the upper plate using screwing bolts 22, which are put through the securing flanges (through holes) 20a into the weld nuts 21 in Figs. 3, 5, 7, and 10 (see paragraphs [0024]-[0031]). A skilled artisan would recognize using the screwing bolts would also achieve a secure connection between the upper and lower plate via flange portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery cold plate of Jiang wherein the butt joint hole is a through hole, as disclosed by Fujiwara, in order to achieve a secure connection between the upper and lower plate.
Conclusion
/S.L.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729