DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 5/18/2026 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-18, 20, drawn to a microscope with movable tracking mirrors, classified in G02B 27/644.
II. Claims 22-27, drawn to image processing for semiconductor default inspection, classified in G06T 2207/30148.
Claims 1, 11, and 19 link inventions I and II. The restriction requirement between the linked inventions is subject to the nonallowance of the linking claims, claims 1, 11, 19.
Upon the indication of allowability of the linking claim(s), the restriction requirement as to the linked inventions shall be withdrawn and any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable linking claim(s) will be rejoined and fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104 Claims that require all the limitations of an allowable linking claim will be entered as a matter of right if the amendment is presented prior to final rejection or allowance, whichever is earlier. Amendments submitted after final rejection are governed by 37 CFR 1.116; amendments submitted after allowance are governed by 37 CFR 1.312.
Applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a continuation or divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, the allowable linking claim, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Where a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable. In the instant case, subcombination I has separate utility such as biological chip inspection. See MPEP § 806.05(d).
The examiner has required restriction between subcombinations usable together. Where applicant elects a subcombination and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification – as detailed above, each subcombination has separate classifications;
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter, since they have separate and distinct classifications; and/or
--the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries) – in this case, in light of the separate and varied classifications, each subcombination would require its own unique search with specific keywords and supporting classification; a search for a microscope with movable tracking mirrors and specific image processing for semiconductor default inspection are each varied inventions which would require specific keywords and CPC searches.
Newly submitted claims 22-27 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are claims drawn to the invention presented in the original claim set filed 9/27/2023. Specifically, these claims are drawn to the image capture system including a mirror system, a microscope objective, and a stage holding a semiconductor substrate for inspection. The newly submitted claims are distinct from these claims as outlined in the restriction discussed above.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 22-27 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-21 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Owens does not teach “a preset angular velocity profile”, Examiner respectfully disagrees, as stated previously in the Final Office Action mailed 5/19/2026. Per MPEP §2131, ipsissimus verbis, the elements must be arranged as required by the claim, the identity of terminology is not required. Preset angular velocity profile (Owens fig. 2 – 210 and 220) of Owens is based on the speed of the stage and the forward scan time during which the stage is in movement and being imaged (210) as shown in Owens fig. 2 and stated in paragraph 0104. Therefore, Owens teaches “a preset angular velocity profile based on the speed of the stage”.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The first line of the claim is missing from the claim set filed 8/17/2026.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 11-16, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens et. al US 20180252936 (hereinafter “Owens” of record) in view of Hatakeyama et. al US 20120235036 (hereinafter “Hatakeyama”).
Regarding claim 1, Owens teaches an image capture system to reduce motion blurring during semiconductor inspection, the image capture system comprising:
a stage (Owens fig. 1 - 110) to hold a substrate (Owens fig. 1 - 120) for inspection (Owens fig. 1), wherein the stage (110) is configured to move at a constant speed during inspection (Owens fig. 1 - arrow beside 110 shows velocity, see also para. 0074-0076);
a microscope objective (Owens fig. 1 - 130) positioned opposite the stage (Owens fig. 1);
a mirror system (Owens fig. 1 - 140, 150) to receive light beams from the microscope objective (130) representative of the substrate (120) and reflect the light beams to a tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations), the mirror system (140, 150) including a mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 140) configured to move according to a preset angular velocity profile based on the speed of the stage (Owens fig. 2, see also para. 0104), wherein the mirror system (140, 150) to move at a specified angular velocity for a defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074 and 0104); and
an image sensor (Owens fig. 1 - 160 includes an image sensor, see also para. 0074) to generate an image of a portion of the substrate (120) based on light beams received from the tube lens during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 1, see also para. 0074 and 0152).
Owens does not teach that the stage holds specifically a semiconductor substrate, nor that the processor specifically detects the presence of a defect in the semiconductor substrate, however Owens does teach that the invention includes scanning operations which entail observing and recording the status of the substrate (Owens para. 0061), and that the substrate itself may have a multitude of distinct features that are targets for imaging (Owens para. 0082).
In a similar field of endeavor, Hatakeyama teaches a semiconductor substrate (Hatakeyama fig. 1 – 55 has surface 551 for carrying a wafer W, see also para. 0004 – the wafer is a semiconductor wafer) and a processor (Hatakeyama para. 0600 – image processing device) to receive the image from the image sensor to detect whether a defect is present in the semiconductor substrate (Hatakeyama para. 0600-0603 and 0321 – a TDI image is utilized for defect detection, where TDI is TDI-CCD (Time Delay Integration-Charged Coupled Device) which is an image from an image sensor which is sent to an image processing device) for the purpose of performing a defect inspection (Hatakeyama para. 0600). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that the stage holds specifically a semiconductor substrate, nor that the processor specifically detects the presence of a defect in the semiconductor substrate as taught by Hatakeyama in the image capture system of Owens in order to perform a defect inspection (Hatakeyama para. 0600).
Regarding claim 2, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches further comprising:
a piezo-electric motor coupled to the mirror (140, Owens para. 0008 and 0023) to dither the mirror in a specified angle range across its equilibrium position based on the preset angular velocity profile (Owens para. 0065).
Regarding claim 3, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the image capture system of claim 2, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror (140) dithers at a maximum angular speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 230 is steeper than 220, see also para. 0111).
Regarding claim 4, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches wherein the angular velocity of the mirror (140) reaches a mirror constant speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 220 has a constant velocity when rotating, see also para. 0111 and 0130), the mirror constant speed being lower than other time intervals in the angular velocity profile (Owens fig. 2 – 220 is lower than 230).
Regarding claim 5, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror (140) is a digital micromirror device (Owens para. 0149 – the velocity tracking mirror is a scanning mirror).
Regarding claim 6, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches wherein the substantially constant speed (220) is greater than 20 mm/sec (Owens para. 0076).
Regarding claim 11, Owens teaches a method for inspection of a substrate, the method comprising:
loading the substrate (Owens fig. 1 - 120) on a stage (Owens fig. 1 - 110) of an inspection system (Owens fig. 1);
moving the stage (110) at a constant speed (Owens fig. 1 - arrow beside 110 shows velocity, see also para. 0074-0076);
positioning the stage (110) opposite a microscope objective (Owens fig. 1 – 110 is opposite 130);
moving a mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 140) to reflect light beams from the microscope objective (130) representative of the substrate to a tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations), the mirror (140) moving according to a preset angular velocity profile based on the speed of the stage (Owens fig. 2, see also para. 0104), wherein mirror (140) moves at a specified angular velocity for a defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074 and 0104); and
generating an image of a portion of the substrate (120) based on light beams received from the tube lens during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 1, see also para. 0074 and 0152).
Owens does not teach that the stage holds specifically a semiconductor substrate, nor that the processor specifically detects the presence of a defect in the semiconductor substrate, however Owens does teach that the invention includes scanning operations which entail observing and recording the status of the substrate (Owens para. 0061), and that the substrate itself may have a multitude of distinct features that are targets for imaging (Owens para. 0082).
In a similar field of endeavor, Hatakeyama teaches a semiconductor substrate (Hatakeyama fig. 1 – 55 has surface 551 for carrying a wafer W, see also para. 0004 – the wafer is a semiconductor wafer) and detecting whether a defect is present in the semiconductor substrate based on the image (Hatakeyama para. 0600-0603 and 0321 – a TDI image is utilized for defect detection, where TDI is TDI-CCD (Time Delay Integration-Charged Coupled Device) which is an image from an image sensor which is sent to an image processing device) for the purpose of performing a defect inspection (Hatakeyama para. 0600). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that the stage holds specifically a semiconductor substrate, nor that the processor specifically detects the presence of a defect in the semiconductor substrate as taught by Hatakeyama in the image capture system of Owens in order to perform a defect inspection (Hatakeyama para. 0600).
Regarding claim 12, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches further comprising:
dithering the mirror (140) in a specified angle range across its equilibrium position based on the preset angular velocity profile using a piezo-electric motor (Owens para. 0065).
Regarding claim 13, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the method of claim 12, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror dithers at a maximum angular speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 230 is steeper than 220, see also para. 0111).
Regarding claim 14, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches wherein the angular velocity of the mirror (140) reaches a substantially constant speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 220 has a constant velocity when rotating, see also para. 0111 and 0130), the substantially constant speed being lower than other time intervals in the angular velocity profile (Owens fig. 2 – 220 is lower than 230).
Regarding claim 15, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror (140) is a digital micromirror device (Owens para. 0149 – the velocity tracking mirror is a scanning mirror).
Regarding claim 16, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches wherein the substantially constant speed (220) is greater than 20 mm/sec (Owens para. 0076).
Regarding claim 19, Owens teaches a system comprising:
a microscope objective (Owens fig. 1 - 130) positioned opposite a stage (Owens fig. 1 – 110, 130 is opposite to 110) holding a substrate (Owens fig. 1 - 120) for inspection (Owens fig. 1), wherein the stage (110) is configured to move at a constant speed during inspection (Owens fig. 1 - arrow beside 110 shows velocity, see also para. 0074-0076);
a tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations);
a mirror system (Owens fig. 1 – 140, 150) positioned between the microscope objective (130) and the tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – 140 and 150 are between 130 and the lens before 160), the mirror system (140, 150) to receive light beams from the microscope objective (130) representative of the substrate (120) and reflect the light beams to the tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations), the mirror system (140, 150) including:
a first mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 140) to move according to a preset angular velocity profile based on the speed of the stage (Owens fig. 2, see also para. 0104), wherein the first mirror (140) to move at a specified angular velocity for a defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074 and 0104), and a second mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 150) positioned opposite the first mirror (140) in a stationary orientation (Owens fig. 1 – 150 positioned opposite 140, and may remain stationary when 110 operates at a constant velocity without fluctuation); and
a camera (Owens fig. 1 - 160) to generate an image of a portion of the substrate (120) based on light beams received from the tube lens during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074, 0104, and 0152).
Owens does not teach that the stage holds specifically a semiconductor substrate, nor that the processor specifically detects the presence of a defect in the semiconductor substrate, however Owens does teach that the invention includes scanning operations which entail observing and recording the status of the substrate (Owens para. 0061), and that the substrate itself may have a multitude of distinct features that are targets for imaging (Owens para. 0082).
In a similar field of endeavor, Hatakeyama teaches a semiconductor substrate (Hatakeyama fig. 1 – 55 has surface 551 for carrying a wafer W, see also para. 0004 – the wafer is a semiconductor wafer) and a processor (Hatakeyama para. 0600 – image processing device) to receive the image from the image sensor to detect whether a defect is present in the semiconductor substrate (Hatakeyama para. 0600-0603 and 0321 – a TDI image is utilized for defect detection, where TDI is TDI-CCD (Time Delay Integration-Charged Coupled Device) which is an image from an image sensor which is sent to an image processing device) for the purpose of performing a defect inspection (Hatakeyama para. 0600). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that the stage holds specifically a semiconductor substrate, nor that the processor specifically detects the presence of a defect in the semiconductor substrate as taught by Hatakeyama in the image capture system of Owens in order to perform a defect inspection (Hatakeyama para. 0600).
Regarding claim 20, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the system of claim 19, and Owens further teaches further comprising:
a piezo-electric motor coupled to the first mirror (140, Owens para. 0008 and 0023) to dither the first mirror in a specified angle range across its equilibrium position based on the preset angular velocity profile (Owens para. 0065), wherein the mirror (140) first dithers at a maximum angular speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 230 is steeper than 220, see also para. 0111).
Regarding claim 21, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the system of claim 19, and Owens further teaches wherein the first mirror (140) is a digital micromirror device (Owens para. 0149 – the velocity tracking mirror is a scanning mirror).
Claims 8-9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens and Hatakeyama as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Arnold et. al US 20150301428 (hereinafter “Arnold” of record).
Regarding claim 8, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the image capture system of claim 1, and Koyama further teaches the tube lens (17).
Owens does not specify wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction.
In the same field of endeavor, Arnold teaches wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device (Arnold fig. 29 - 300) including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction (Arnold para. 0017 – the index of refraction of the lens may be controlled via a driving signal from a controller) for the purpose of controlling the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fluidic focusing device as taught by Arnold in the image capture system of Owens and Hatakeyama in order to control the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196).
Regarding claim 9, Owens, Hatakeyama, and Arnold teach the image capture system of claim 8, and Arnold further teaches wherein the fluidic focusing device (300) includes a tunable acoustic gradient lens (Arnold para. 0002 and 0196).
Regarding claim 17, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches the tube lens (17).
Owens does not specify wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction.
In the same field of endeavor, Arnold teaches wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device (Arnold fig. 29 - 300) including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction (Arnold para. 0017 – the index of refraction of the lens may be controlled via a driving signal from a controller), wherein the fluidic focusing device (300) includes a tunable acoustic gradient lens (Arnold para. 0002 and 0196) for the purpose of controlling the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fluidic focusing device as taught by Arnold in the image capture system of Owens and Hatakeyama in order to control the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens and Hatakeyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raghunathan US Patent 9,678,326 (hereinafter “US 326” of record).
Regarding claim 10, Owens and Hatakeyama teach the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches the tube lens (Owens para. 0152).
Owens does not specify wherein the tube lens includes a digital micromirror device, however Owens does teach scanning mirrors (Owens para. 0146).
In the same field of endeavor, US 326 teaches wherein the tube lens (US 326 fig. 1 – 122, 130) includes a digital micromirror device (US 326 col. 5 lines 4-8) for the purpose of allowing different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tube lens include a digital micromirror device as taught by US 326 in the image capture system of Owens and Hatakeyama in order to allow different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens, Hatakeyama, and Arnold as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Raghunathan US Patent 9,678,326 (hereinafter “US 326” of record).
Regarding claim 18, Owens, Hatakeyama, and Arnold teach the method of claim 17, and Owens further teaches the tube lens (Owens para. 0152).
Owens, Hatakeyama, and Arnold do not specify wherein the tube lens includes a digital micromirror device, however Owens does teach scanning mirrors (Owens para. 0146).
In the same field of endeavor, US 326 teaches wherein the tube lens (US 326 fig. 1 – 122, 130) includes a digital micromirror device (US 326 col. 5 lines 4-8) for the purpose of allowing different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tube lens include a digital micromirror device as taught by US 326 in the image capture system of Owens, Hatakeyama, and Arnold in order to allow different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/ZACHARY W WILKES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872