DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 9/27/2023, 3/26/2025, 8/11/2025 have been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 9 of the claim states “a tube lens” when it should state “the tube lens”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 19, claims state the limitation “substantially constant” in line 4 of claim 1, line 3 of claim 11, and line 4 of claim 19. This limitation is unclear because the term “substantially constant” can encompass myriad speeds such as 20 mm/sec or 75 mph. What are the metes and bounds of these claims if they must later be clarified and limited as being greater than 20 mm/sec? Dependent claims 6 and 16 resolve this issue, however if some other meaning is attributed to “substantially constant” aside from that which is claimed in claims 6 and 16, then what is captured by this limitation beyond being greater than 20 mm/sec? Regarding the independent claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised as to the scope of the invention (MPEP §2173.05(b) I). For purposes of compact prosecution, examiner will interpret this limitation to be greater than 20 mm/sec as stated in claims 6 and 16.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the mirror" in lines 2 and 5 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome if “the mirror” is amended to say “the first mirror”.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the mirror" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection could be overcome if “the mirror” is amended to say “the first mirror”.
Also, claims 2-10, 12-18, and 20-21 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-16, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Owens et. al US 20180252936 (hereinafter “Owens”).
Regarding claim 1, Owens teaches an image capture system to reduce motion blurring during semiconductor inspection, the image capture system comprising:
a stage (Owens fig. 1 - 110) to hold a substrate (Owens fig. 1 - 120) for inspection (Owens fig. 1), wherein the stage (110) is configured to move at a substantially constant speed during inspection (Owens fig. 1 - arrow beside 110 shows velocity, see also para. 0074-0076);
a microscope objective (Owens fig. 1 - 130) positioned opposite the stage (Owens fig. 1);
a mirror system (Owens fig. 1 - 140, 150) to receive light beams from the microscope objective (130) representative of the substrate (120) and reflect the light beams to a tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations), the mirror system (140, 150) including a mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 140) configured to move according to a preset angular velocity profile based on the speed of the stage (Owens fig. 2, see also para. 0104), wherein the mirror system (140, 150) to move at a specified angular velocity for a defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074 and 0104); and
an image sensor (Owens fig. 1 - 160 includes an image sensor, see also para. 0074) to generate an image of a portion of the substrate (120) based on light beams received from the tube lens during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 1, see also para. 0074 and 0152).
Regarding claim 2, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches further comprising:
a piezo-electric motor coupled to the mirror (140, Owens para. 0008 and 0023) to dither the mirror in a specified angle range across its equilibrium position based on the preset angular velocity profile (Owens para. 0065).
Regarding claim 3, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 2, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror (140) dithers at a maximum angular speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 230 is steeper than 220, see also para. 0111).
Regarding claim 4, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 1,and Owens further teaches wherein the angular velocity of the mirror (140) reaches a substantially constant speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 220 has a constant velocity when rotating, see also para. 0111 and 0130), the substantially constant speed being lower than other time intervals in the angular velocity profile (Owens fig. 2 – 220 is lower than 230).
Regarding claim 5, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror (140) is a digital micromirror device (Owens para. 0149 – the velocity tracking mirror is a scanning mirror).
Regarding claim 6, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches wherein the substantially constant speed (220) is greater than 20 mm/sec (Owens para. 0076).
Regarding claim 7, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches further comprising:
a processor (Owens para. 0148) to receive images from the image sensor (within 160) to detect whether a defect is present in the substrate (120).
Regarding claim 11, Owens teaches a method for inspection of a substrate, the method comprising:
loading the substrate (Owens fig. 1 - 120) on a stage (Owens fig. 1 - 110) of an inspection system (Owens fig. 1);
moving the stage (110) at a substantially constant speed (Owens fig. 1 - arrow beside 110 shows velocity, see also para. 0074-0076);
positioning the stage (110) opposite a microscope objective (Owens fig. 1 – 110 is opposite 130);
moving a mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 140) to reflect light beams from the microscope objective (130) representative of the substrate to a tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations), the mirror (140) moving according to a preset angular velocity profile based on the speed of the stage (Owens fig. 2, see also para. 0104), wherein mirror (140) moves at a specified angular velocity for a defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074 and 0104); and
generating an image of a portion of the substrate (120) based on light beams received from the tube lens during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 1, see also para. 0074 and 0152).
Regarding claim 12, Owens teaches the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches further comprising:
dithering the mirror (140) in a specified angle range across its equilibrium position based on the preset angular velocity profile using a piezo-electric motor (Owens para. 0065).
Regarding claim 13, Owens teaches the method of claim 12, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror dithers at a maximum angular speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 230 is steeper than 220, see also para. 0111).
Regarding claim 14, Owens teaches the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches wherein the angular velocity of the mirror (140) reaches a substantially constant speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 220 has a constant velocity when rotating, see also para. 0111 and 0130), the substantially constant speed being lower than other time intervals in the angular velocity profile (Owens fig. 2 – 220 is lower than 230).
Regarding claim 15, Owens teaches the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror (140) is a digital micromirror device (Owens para. 0149 – the velocity tracking mirror is a scanning mirror).
Regarding claim 16, Owens teaches the method of claim 11, and Owens further teaches wherein the substantially constant speed (220) is greater than 20 mm/sec (Owens para. 0076).
Regarding claim 19, Owens teaches a system comprising:
a microscope objective (Owens fig. 1 - 130) positioned opposite a stage (Owens fig. 1 – 110, 130 is opposite to 110) holding a substrate (Owens fig. 1 - 120) for inspection (Owens fig. 1), wherein the stage (110) is configured to move at a substantially constant speed during inspection (Owens fig. 1 - arrow beside 110 shows velocity, see also para. 0074-0076);
a tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations);
a mirror system (Owens fig. 1 – 140, 150) positioned between the microscope objective (130) and the tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – 140 and 150 are between 130 and the lens before 160), the mirror system (140, 150) to receive light beams from the microscope objective (130) representative of the substrate (120) and reflect the light beams to a tube lens (Owens fig. 1 – unlabeled object between 150 and 160, see also para. 0152 – a tube lens may be used along the optical path at other locations), the mirror system (140, 150) including:
a first mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 140) to move according to a preset angular velocity profile based on the speed of the stage (Owens fig. 2, see also para. 0104), wherein the first mirror (140) to move at a specified angular velocity for a defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074 and 0104), and a second mirror (Owens fig. 1 - 150) positioned opposite the first mirror (140) in a stationary orientation (Owens fig. 1 – 150 positioned opposite 140, and may remain stationary when 110 operates at a constant velocity without fluctuation); and
a camera (Owens fig. 1 - 160) to generate an image of a portion of the substrate (120) based on light beams received from the tube lens during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 1-2, see also para. 0074, 0104, and 0152).
Regarding claim 20, Owens teaches the system of claim 19, and Owens further teaches further comprising:
a piezo-electric motor coupled to the mirror (140, Owens para. 0008 and 0023) to dither the mirror in a specified angle range across its equilibrium position based on the preset angular velocity profile (Owens para. 0065), wherein the mirror (140) dithers at a maximum angular speed during the defined time interval (Owens fig. 2 – 230 is steeper than 220, see also para. 0111).
Regarding claim 21, Owens teaches the system of claim 19, and Owens further teaches wherein the mirror (140) is a digital micromirror device (Owens para. 0149 – the velocity tracking mirror is a scanning mirror).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Arnold et. al US 20150301428 (hereinafter “Arnold”).
Regarding claim 8, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 1, and Koyama further teaches the tube lens (17).
Owens does not specify wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction.
In the same field of endeavor, Arnold teaches wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device (Arnold fig. 29 - 300) including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction (Arnold para. 0017 – the index of refraction of the lens may be controlled via a driving signal from a controller) for the purpose of controlling the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fluidic focusing device as taught by Arnold in the image capture system of Owens in order to control the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196).
Regarding claim 9, Owens and Arnold teach the image capture system of claim 8, and Arnold further teaches wherein the fluidic focusing device (300) includes a tunable acoustic gradient lens (Arnold para. 0002 and 0196).
Regarding claim 17, Owens teaches the method of claim 11, and Koyama further teaches the tube lens (17).
Owens does not specify wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction.
In the same field of endeavor, Arnold teaches wherein the tube lens includes a fluidic focusing device (Arnold fig. 29 - 300) including a variable focus shift based on a variable index of refraction (Arnold para. 0017 – the index of refraction of the lens may be controlled via a driving signal from a controller), wherein the fluidic focusing device (300) includes a tunable acoustic gradient lens (Arnold para. 0002 and 0196) for the purpose of controlling the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fluidic focusing device as taught by Arnold in the image capture system of Owens in order to control the shape of the emitted beam (Arnold para. 0196).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Raghunathan US Patent 9,678,326 (hereinafter “US 326”).
Regarding claim 10, Owens teaches the image capture system of claim 1, and Owens further teaches the tube lens (Owens para. 0152).
Owens does not specify wherein the tube lens includes a digital micromirror device, however Owens does teach scanning mirrors (Owens para. 0146).
In the same field of endeavor, US 326 teaches wherein the tube lens (US 326 fig. 1 – 122, 130) includes a digital micromirror device (US 326 col. 5 lines 4-8) for the purpose of allowing different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tube lens include a digital micromirror device as taught by US 326 in the image capture system of Owens in order to allow different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owens and Arnold as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Raghunathan US Patent 9,678,326 (hereinafter “US 326”; cited above).
Regarding claim 18, Owens and Arnold teach the method of claim 17, and Owens further teaches the tube lens (Owens para. 0152).
Owens and Arnold do not specify wherein the tube lens includes a digital micromirror device, however Owens does teach scanning mirrors (Owens para. 0146).
In the same field of endeavor, US 326 teaches wherein the tube lens (US 326 fig. 1 – 122, 130) includes a digital micromirror device (US 326 col. 5 lines 4-8) for the purpose of allowing different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tube lens include a digital micromirror device as taught by US 326 in the image capture system of Owens and Arnold in order to allow different light collection angles to be selectively imaged onto the light detector (US 326 col. 5 lines 15-17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Owens et. al US Patent 10,585,296, patent of Owens et. al US 20180252936;
Arnold et. al US Patent 9,594,288, patent of Arnold et. al US 20150301428;
Watson et. al US 20200200950, teaches a tunable acoustic gradient lens in a microscope.
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872