Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-29 and 35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kito et al. US 2014/0072774 and Akita et al.US 2015/0276388.
Re claim 24, Kito teaches a method for manufacturing a stack (fig13 and 24), the method comprising:
obtaining first information about deformation of a first substrate (magnification ratio related to substrate flatness in S103 and S202 of one substrate 121, fig13, 24, and 45, [132, 166]), the deformation being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of the first substrate (magnification ratio related to substrate flatness globally or locally, fig14-17 and 25-28, [5, 141]);
outputting the first information to a controlling unit (112, fig1, [74]), wherein the controlling unit is configured to select a second substrate to be bonded to the first substrate (another substrate 121 to be bonded, fig13 and 24, [133, 157, 167]), based on the first information (magnification ratio of one substrate, fig45-47, [133, 157]) and second information about deformation of a plurality of substrates other than the first substrate (table of magnification ratio of another substrate, fig45-47, [157]), the deformation of the plurality of substrates being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of each of the plurality of substrates (stress in substrate during process related to different global or local flatness, fig14-17, [5, 141]); and
bonding the first substrate and the second substrate so as to manufacture a stack where the first substrate and the second substrate are bonded to each other (fig14-17 and 45-17).
Kito does not explicitly show how to obtain the magnification ratio and relation between magnification ratio and information about the deformation.
Akita teaches measuring curvature of a wafer during fabrication process (fig1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kito with the teaching of Akita to add in a curvature measuring data collected during device fabrication process before bonding process. The motivation to do so is to preserve product quality during fabrication, increase accuracy of curvature measurement used in the following bonding process (Akita, [4, 80]) and correct any misalignment related to warpage formed during process (Kito, [157]).
Re claim 25, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein a bonding condition for bonding the first substrate and the second substrate includes a condition that an amount of misalignment between the first substrate and the second substrate in the stack is equal to or less than a threshold (Kito, S103/S202, fig13 and 24).
Re claim 26, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the bonding condition includes a correction amount to correct the misalignment (Kito, S107-S109/S204-S206, fig13 and 24).
Re claim 27, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 26, wherein the bonding condition includes a deformation amount to change a shape of at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate (Kito, fig14-17 and 25-28).
Re claim 28, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim25, wherein the bonding condition includes a condition that (i) an amount of misalignment between the first substrate and the second substrate in the stack (Kito, S103/S202, fig13 and 24) or (ii) a difference between the amount of the misalignment and a threshold (Kito, S103/S202, fig13 and 24) is within a magnitude that is correctable by a correcting unit (Kito, 180/220, fig12 and 22) configured to correct the misalignment between the first substrate and the second substrate.
Re claim 29, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, further comprising at least one of: estimating, based on the first information and the second information (Kito, S103/S202, fig13 and 24), an amount of distortion occurring in the first substrate of the stack or calculating, based on the first information and the second information, an amount of misalignment between the first substrate and the second substrate in the stack (Kito, S103 S202, fig13 and 24).
Re claim 35, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, further comprising: measuring a shape of the first substrate so as to obtain the first information (warpage info collected during process as in Akita used for the magnification ratio data in Kito).
Re claim 36, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the first information includes information indicating at least one of a warpage magnitude, a warpage direction, a deflection magnitude, or a deflection direction of the first substrate (warpage info collected during process as in Akita used for the magnification ratio data in Kito).
Re claim 37, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 35, wherein the first information includes information about global curving obtained from displacements at a plurality of positions in the first substrate relative to a center of the first substrate (warpage info collected during process as in Akita used for the magnification ratio data in Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 38, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein the first information is estimated based on a manufacturing process of the first substrate (warpage info collected during process as in Akita used for the magnification ratio data in Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 39, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 38, wherein the first information includes at least one of information indicating a manufacturing process of the first substrate, information indicating a stress distribution in the first substrate, or information indicating a specification of a structural body fabricated on the first substrate (stress related warpage info collected during process as in Akita used for the magnification ratio data in Kito for global fig13-17 and local fig24-28).
Re claim 40, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein the first information is obtained by an apparatus other than an apparatus to manufacture the stack (warpage info collected during process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data in bonding process of Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 41, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein obtaining the first information is performed before measuring positions of the first substrate and the second substrate by an apparatus for manufacturing the stack (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data in bonding process of Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 42, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein obtaining the first information is performed before importing the first substrate and the second substrate into an apparatus for manufacturing the stack (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data in bonding process of Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 43, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 25,wherein the bonding condition includes a control condition for an apparatus for bonding the first substrate and the second substrate (Kito, fig1, 13, 24 and 45-47).
Re claim 44, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 43, wherein the control condition includes a correction condition to correct an amount of misalignment between the first substrate and the second substrate, the misalignment occurring while a contact region created between the first substrate and the second substrate is expanding (Kito, fig45-47).
Re claim 45, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein the first information is measured by an exposure apparatus (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data in bonding process of Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 46, Kito teaches an apparatus (fig1) comprising:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain first information about deformation of a first substrate (magnification ratio related to substrate flatness in S103 and S202 of one substrate 121, fig13, 24, and 45, [132, 166]), the deformation being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of the first substrate (magnification ratio related to substrate flatness globally or locally, fig14-17 and 25-28, [5, 141]), and to output the first information to a controlling unit (112, fig1, [74]),
wherein the controlling unit is configured to select a second substrate to be bonded to the first substrate (another substrate 121 to be bonded, fig13 and 24, [133, 157, 167]), based on the first information and second information about deformation of a plurality of substrates other than the first substrate (table of magnification ratio of both substrates, [157]), the deformation of the plurality of substrates being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of each of the plurality of substrates (stress in substrate during process related to different globally or locally flatness, fig14-17, [5, 141]).
Kito does not explicitly show how to obtain the magnification ratio and relation between magnification ratio and information about the deformation.
Akita teaches measuring curvature of a wafer during fabrication process (fig1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kito with the teaching of Akita to add in a curvature measuring data collected during device fabrication process before bonding process. The motivation to do so is to preserve product quality during fabrication, increase accuracy of curvature measurement used in the following bonding process (Akita, [4, 80]) and correct any misalignment related to warpage formed during process (Kito, [157]).
Re claim 47, Kito modified above teaches the apparatus according to claim 46, further comprising: a first stage configured to hold the first substrate (Kito, 250, fig4, [91]); and a second stage configured to hold the second substrate (Kito, 240, fig4, [91]), wherein a bonding condition for bonding the first substrate with the second substrate includes a control condition for the first stage and the second stage (Kito, fig13 and 24).
Re claim 48, Kito modified above teaches the apparatus according to claim 47, wherein the control condition includes a correction condition to correct an amount of misalignment between the first substrate and the second substrate (Kito, fig14-17 for global correction, 25-28 for local correction and 45-47), the misalignment occurring while a contact region created between the first substrate and the second substrate is expanding (misalignment between two substrates will occur during bonding if bonded as in fig45 without the correction steps as in fig46 and 47).
Re claim 49, Kito modified above teaches the apparatus according to claim 46, wherein the first information is measured by an exposure apparatus (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data in bonding process of Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 50, Kito modified above teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein the first information is measured by observing a surface of the first substrate (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data).
Re claim 51, Kito modified above teaches the apparatus according to claim 46, wherein the first information is measured by observing a surface of the first substrate (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data).
Re claim 52, Kito teaches a processing method (fig13-17 and 24-28) comprising:
obtaining first information about deformation of a first substrate (magnification ratio related to substrate flatness in S103 and S202 of one substrate 121, fig13, 24, and 45, [132, 166]), the deformation being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of the first substrate (magnification ratio related to substrate flatness globally or locally, fig14-17 and 25-28, [5, 141]); and
outputting the first information to a controlling unit (112, fig1, [74]),
wherein the controlling unit is configured to select a second substrate to be bonded to the first substrate (another substrate 121 to be bonded, fig13 and 24, [133, 157, 167]), based on the first information and second information about deformation of a plurality of substrates other than the first substrate (table of magnification ratio of both substrates, [157]), the deformation of the plurality of substrates being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of each of the plurality of substrates (stress in substrate during process related to different globally or locally flatness, fig14-17, [5, 141]).
Kito does not explicitly show how to obtain the magnification ratio and relation between magnification ratio and information about the deformation.
Akita teaches measuring curvature of a wafer during fabrication process (fig1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kito with the teaching of Akita to add in a curvature measuring data collected during device fabrication process before bonding process. The motivation to do so is to preserve product quality during fabrication, increase accuracy of curvature measurement used in the following bonding process (Akita, [4, 80]) and correct any misalignment related to warpage formed during process (Kito, [157]).
Re claim 53, Kito modified above teaches the processing method according to claim 52, wherein the first information is measured by an exposure apparatus (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data in bonding process of Kito for global fig13 and local fig24).
Re claim 54, Kito modified above teaches the processing method according to claim 52, wherein the first information is measured by observing a surface of the first substrate (warpage info collected during deposition process as in Akita with the apparatus in fig1-2 used for the magnification ratio data).
Double Patenting
Claims 24-29 and 35-54 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11842905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter.
Re claim 24, claims of U.S. Patent No. 11842905 a method for manufacturing a stack (claim 27), the method comprising:
obtaining first information about deformation of a first substrate (claim 27), the deformation being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of the first substrate (claim 27);
outputting the first information to a controlling unit (claim 28), wherein the controlling unit is configured to select a second substrate to be bonded to the first substrate (claim 28), based on the first information (claim 28) and second information about deformation of a plurality of substrates other than the first substrate (claim 28), the deformation of the plurality of substrates being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of each of the plurality of substrates (claim 27); and
bonding the first substrate and the second substrate so as to manufacture a stack where the first substrate and the second substrate are bonded to each other (claim 28).
Re claim 46, claims of U.S. Patent No. 11842905 an apparatus (claim 27) comprising:
an obtaining unit configured to obtain first information about deformation of a first substrate (claim 27), the deformation being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of the first substrate (claim 27), and to output the first information to a controlling unit (claim 29),
wherein the controlling unit is configured to select a second substrate to be bonded to the first substrate (claim 28), based on the first information and second information about deformation of a plurality of substrates other than the first substrate (claim 28), the deformation of the plurality of substrates being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of each of the plurality of substrates (claim 28).
Re claim 52, claims of U.S. Patent No. 11842905 a processing method (claim 27) comprising:
obtaining first information about deformation of a first substrate (claim 27), the deformation being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of the first substrate (claim 27); and
outputting the first information to a controlling unit (claim 28),
wherein the controlling unit is configured to select a second substrate to be bonded to the first substrate (claim 28), based on the first information and second information about deformation of a plurality of substrates other than the first substrate (claim 28), the deformation of the plurality of substrates being deformation in a direction intersecting a bonding surface of each of the plurality of substrates (claim 28).
Response to Arguments
Regarding arguments about all the claims applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812