DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/12/2026. Claims 1-11 pending and office action on merits follows.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Park et al.( US 20210151499 A1) Park, hereafter.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display device (Figure 1-27 and corresponding text) (Figures 1-7): electrodes (240,250) in an emission area (EMA) of a pixel (PX), and spaced apart from each other; light-emitting elements(300) respectively between the electrodes; connection electrodes (361,3above the light-emitting elements (300), and comprising a first electrode portion(361), a second electrode portion(362), and a connection portion(CNT via of the semiconductor portion serve as connection portion)between the first electrode portion(CNT7) and the second electrode portion(CNT6); and a shielding electrode (260) in a non-emission area (NEA) of the pixel (PX), and overlapping the connection portion ( π24, π101)
Regarding claim 9, Park further discloses an insulating pattern( 510 serves as both first insulator and insulating pattern)between the shielding electrode(260) and the connection portion(CNT8)(π129)).
Regarding claim 10, Park also discloses a second insulating layer(520) above the light-emitting elements(300), exposing an end of the light-emitting elements(π145), and at a same layer as the insulating pattern(510).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a bank (210,220,230) surrounding the emission area,(EA) and at a same layer as the insulating pattern (510).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al.( US 20210151499 A1) Park, hereafter in view of Chang et al. US 20210159250 A1 ) (Chang, hereafter).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Park also discloses (Figure 3) a first pad electrode (PAD) in the non-emission area (NEA) (π131); Park fails to explicitly discloses wherein a second pad electrode above the first pad electrode, and at a same layer as the shielding electrode (claim 2); wherein the second pad electrode is in contact with the first pad electrode through a contact hole passing through a first insulating layer (claim 3).
Chang discloses(1-24 and corresponding text) a buffer layer (102) is disposed on the first substrate( 101) having the first light blocking layer( BML1) and plurality of wiring pads WPD may be disposed in the pad area PDA of the non-display area NDA, and each of the wiring pads WPD may include the pad base layer (710) included in the first data conductive layer. The pad base layer (710 ) may be disposed directly on the first interlayer insulating layer (107) ; the number of pads is unlimited.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would modify the disp0lay device of Park as disclosed by Chang wherein a second pad electrode above the first pad electrode, and at a same layer as the shielding electrode; wherein the second pad electrode is in contact with the first pad electrode through a contact hole passing through a first insulating layer the motivation reducing manufacturing processes while providing a compact and high quality display.
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses (Figure 3wherein the first insulating layer(510) is between the electrodes (240,250)and the light-emitting elements (300).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses (Figure 14) wherein the first insulating layer(510) is between the electrodes(240,250) and the shielding electrode(260).
Regarding claim 6, Park as modified by Chang fail to explicitly disclose wherein a third pad electrode between the first pad electrode and the second pad electrode, and at a same layer as the electrodes.
Chang discloses(1-24 and corresponding text) a buffer layer (102) is disposed on the first substrate( 101) having the first light blocking layer( BML1) and plurality of wiring pads WPD may be disposed in the pad area PDA of the non-display area NDA, and each of the wiring pads WPD may include the pad base layer (710) included in the first data conductive layer. The pad base layer (710 )may be disposed directly on the first interlayer insulating layer (107) ; the number of pads is unlimited and a matter of design choice.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would further modify the display device of Park wherein a third pad electrode between the first pad electrode and the second pad electrode, and at a same layer as the electrodes the motivation being to further reduces manufacturing processes and since matters of design choices requires routine skill.
Regarding claims 7-8 Park fails to explicitly disclose wherein a bridge electrode electrically connecting respective ones of the electrodes and the connection electrodes( (claim 7); wherein the bridge electrode is at a same layer as shielding electrode.
Chang discloses(Figuren19 and 20) a bridge patterns (BP1_1 BP2_2)electrically connecting respective ones of the electrodes and the connection electrodes π131-π134, π247-π250).; wherein the bridge electrode is at a same layer as shielding electrode(π131-π134, π247-π250).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would further modify the display device of Park wherein a bridge electrode electrically connecting respective ones of the electrodes and the connection electrodes); wherein the bridge electrode is at a same layer as shielding electrode the motivation reducing manufacturing processes while providing a compact and high quality display.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the 892 and below:
WO 2021149863 A1-Same assignee- voltage characteristics of micro LEDs
WO 2020213832 A1- Same assignee- a display device having a uniform light emission distribution over the entire area by aligning light-emitting elements only in a desired area(micro LED)
EP 3836217 A1-Same Assignee-Bridge patterns in the display devices (micro LEDs)
TRACIE Y. GREEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875