DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba (U.S. PGPub 2008/0197463) in view of Yoshihara (JP 2005-072098 A, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Otremba teaches a semiconductor module (Fig. 1, [0015]) comprising: a first semiconductor chip including a first main electrode (11, 17); a second semiconductor chip including a second main electrode (12, 17); a conductive pattern (23, [0019]), and a wiring member, wherein: the wiring member includes: a connection portion including a connection surface opposing the conductive pattern, a first portion including a first connection surface opposing the first main electrode, a second portion including a second connection surface opposing the second main electrode, and a coupling portion coupling the connection portion, the first portion, and the second portion to one another (see annotated Fig. 1, Figs. 2A-2B, 36, 27, [0032]); the conductive pattern and the connection surface are joined to each other by a joining material between the conductive pattern and the connection surface, the first main electrode and the first connection surface are joined to each other by a first joining material between the first main electrode and the first connection surface, and the second main electrode and the second connection surface are joined to each other by a second joining material between the second main electrode and the second connection surface ([0032]-[0033], 37).
Otremba does not explicitly teach a connecting protrusion protruding from the connection surface toward the conductive pattern; a first protrusion protruding from the first connection surface toward the first main electrode; and a second protrusion protruding from the second connection surface toward the second main electrode.
Yoshihara teaches a semiconductor module having a wiring member connected to a conductive pattern and semiconductor chip electrode by a joining material (Fig. 1, [0008], 3, 6, 2, 5), wherein the wiring member has protrusions protruding from each connection surface towards the conductive pattern and semiconductor chip electrode (7, [0008]-[0009]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yoshihara with Otremba such that the module comprises a connecting protrusion protruding from the connection surface toward the conductive pattern; a first protrusion protruding from the first connection surface toward the first main electrode; and a second protrusion protruding from the second connection surface toward the second main electrode for the purpose of preventing short-circuiting (Yoshihara, [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara teaches wherein the wiring member has an axisymmetric shape in plan view (Otremba, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Otremba and Yoshihara for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara teaches wherein the wiring member has a plane-symmetric shape across a symmetry plane (Otremba, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Otremba and Yoshihara for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara teaches wherein the wiring member further includes a plurality of connecting protrusions including the connecting protrusion, wherein the plurality of connecting protrusions are provided on the connection surface (Yoshihara, Fig. 1(c)-(e)). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Otremba and Yoshihara for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara teaches wherein the connection portion has a planar shape that is elongated in a first direction in which the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip are arranged, and the connecting protrusions are arranged spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Otremba, see annotated Fig. 1; Yoshihara, Fig. 1(c)-(e)). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Otremba and Yoshihara for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara teaches wherein the first protrusion is formed on the first connection surface, and the second protrusion is formed on the second connection surface (Yoshihara, [0008]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Otremba and Yoshihara for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Otremba teaches wherein the wiring portion may further contact a third semiconductor chip ([0028]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Otremba and Yoshihara such that the device comprises a third semiconductor chip including a third main electrode, wherein the wiring member further includes a third portion including a third connection surface opposing the third main electrode, a third protrusion protruding from the third connection surface toward the third main electrode, and the third main electrode and the third connection surface are joined to each other by a third joining material between the third main electrode and the third connection surface for the purpose of using the wiring portion to contact a third semiconductor chip.
Claims 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba (U.S. PGPub 2008/0197463) in view of Yoshihara (JP 2005-072098 A, cited in IDS) and Groenhuis (U.S. PGPub 2015/0287666).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara does not explicitly teach wherein the coupling portion includes: a first wiring portion coupling the connection portion and the first portion to each other; and a second wiring portion coupling the connection portion and the second portion to each other, and the first wiring portion and the second wiring portion are coupled to the connection portion at positions spaced apart from each other.
Groenhuis teaches wherein a wiring portion of a clip is formed bifurcated instead of merged (Fig. 1a, Fig. 2a, [0031]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Groenhuis with Otremba and Yoshihara such that the coupling portion includes: a first wiring portion coupling the connection portion and the first portion to each other; and a second wiring portion coupling the connection portion and the second portion to each other, and the first wiring portion and the second wiring portion are coupled to the connection portion at positions spaced apart from each other for the purpose of increasing flexibility and performance (Groenhuis, [0024]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara does not explicitly teach wherein a shape of the connecting protrusion differs from that of each of the first protrusion and the second protrusion.
Groenhuis teaches wherein a connecting surface of a wiring portion has protrusions which may be dimples ([0034], 32/34) or ridges (Fig. 2a, [0026]) or any suitable shape ([0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Groenhuis with Otremba and Yoshihara such that a shape of the connecting protrusion differs from that of each of the first protrusion and the second protrusion because the prior art teaches every element, a person of ordinary skill could have combined them as claimed and in combination each element performs the same function as it does separately, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. See MPEP 2143(I)A.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Otremba and Yoshihara does not explicitly teach wherein a dimension of the connecting protrusion is differs from that of each of the first protrusion and the second protrusion.
Groenhuis teaches wherein a connecting surface of a wiring portion has protrusions which may be dimples ([0034], 32/34) or ridges (Fig. 2a, [0026]) or any suitable shape ([0034]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Groenhuis with Otremba and Yoshihara such that a dimension of the connecting protrusion is differs from that of each of the first protrusion and the second protrusion because the prior art teaches every element, a person of ordinary skill could have combined them as claimed and in combination each element performs the same function as it does separately, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. See MPEP 2143(I)A.
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812