Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second branch body comprises no internal flow channels” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The office notes that applicant’s drawings illustrate the second branch body having internal flow channels as indicated in amended Fig. 4 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 13-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 necessitates that, “the second branch body comprises no internal flow channels”. However, applicant’s originally filed disclosure does not provide support for such recitation. As recited in MPEP 2173.05(j), “[t]he mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion.” Applicant’s originally filed disclosure failing to discuss internal flow channels of the second branch body does not provide support for a negative limitation.
Claims not specifically recited are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1-8, 13-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 necessitates that, “the second branch body comprises no internal flow channels, “ but goes on to say, “the second branch body is provided with a through hole”. It is unclear and indefinite how applicant intends to differentiate between internal flow channels and through holes. The office notes that the through holes claimed and illustrated by applicant flow fluid through the second branch body. Accordingly, the through holes include flow channels wherein the flow channel is length is at least the thickness of the plate.
Claims not specifically recited are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 13, 14 and 17-20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoda et al. (U.S. Publication 2011/0168930), hereinafter “Tomoda” in view of Burlingame (U.S. Publication 2002/0189434).
In regards to claims 1 and 20, Tomoda discloses a valve group integration module, comprising a body (12a, 12b) and a valve group (14, 16), wherein the body (12a, 12b) comprises a first branch body (12a) and a second branch body (12b); the first branch body (12a) comprises a first connecting surface (bottom surface, Fig. 6); the second branch body (12b) comprises a second connecting surface (top surface, Fig. 7); the first connecting surface (Fig. 6) is hermetically connected to the second connecting surface (Fig. 7); a plurality of internal flow channels (70, 60a, 60b, 82) are arranged inside the first branch body (12a); at least one groove (R1) is arranged on the first connecting surface (Fig. 6) of the first branch body (12a); the second connecting surface (Fig. 7) and each groove (R1) on the first branch body (12a) form an external flow channel; wherein the external flow channel communicated to more than one of the plurality of internal flow channels (70, 60a, 60b, 82); wherein the second branch body (12b) completely covers the groove (R1) on the first branch body (12a); the valve group (14,16) comprises a plurality of valves; and the plurality of valves are selectively communicated to the internal flow channels (70, 60a, 60b) and the external flow channel to form different fluid flow channels; wherein the second branch body (12b) comprises no internal flow channels (at least to the same extent as applicant) and functions as a cover that seals the at least one groove (R1) to form the external flow channel; and wherein the valve group integration module further comprises a first interface member (20) mounted on the second branch body (12b); the second branch body (12b) is provided with a through hole; one end of the through hole is communicated to the fluid flow channels (R1) and another end of the through hole is communicated to the first interface member (20, see para. [0084]); and the body is provided with external interfaces (17a, 17b).
“[C]onfigured to be connected respectively to an outlet of a compressor and to an inlet of an exterior heat exchanger to transport a coolant between the body and the external components through the fluid flow channels” is an intended use recitation. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case it is the office position that the prior art is capable of being coupled to a device outlet and a device inlet.
Tomoda does not specifically disclose that the there is no intermediate plate between the first branch body and the second branch body.
However, Burlingame teaches a fluid module wherein a first component (16) is coupled to a second component (14) with no intermediate plate disposed therebetween.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the module of Tomoda to not include an intermediate plate as taught by Burlingame to reduce costs.
In regards to claim 2, the first branch body (12a) is of a plate-like structure.
In regards to claim 3, the second branch body (12b) is of a plate-like structure.
In regards to claim 4, the second branch body (12b) is of a plate-like structure.
In regards to claims 5-8, Tomoda does not specifically disclose that a thickeness of the first branch body is greater than a thickness of the second branch body.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the plate thickness to be as recited by applicant as modifications regarding shapes are generally considered to be modifications which are obvious and within the purview of a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the plate thickness to be as recited by applicant within the course of ordinary research and development so as to achieve optimal results in the environment and/or application of usage.
Please note that applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation in the instant application.
In regards to claim 13, the plurality of valves (14) are all mounted on the first branch body (12a), or at least one of the plurality of valves are mounted on the first branch body and any remaining of the plurality of valves are mounted on the second branch body.
In regards to claim 14, the valves (14) are plugged onto the first branch body (12a).
In regards to claim 16, the valve group integration module further comprises a first interface member (20) mounted on the second branch body (12b); the second branch body (12b) is provided with a through hole (22); one end of the through hole is communicated to the fluid flow channels; and another end of the through hole is communicated to the first interface member.
In regards to claim 15, the first branch body (12a)
In regards to claim 17, another end of the first interface member (20) is connected to an external heat management component (100) to communicate the fluid flow channels with the external heat management component.
The office notes that transmission 100 will dissipate heat. Accordingly, it is the office’s position that transmission 100 may be regarded as “an external heat management component”.
In regards to claim 18, the valve group integration module further comprises a second interface member (112a) arranged on the first branch body (12a); one end of the second interface member (112a) is communicated to the internal flow channels on the first branch body (12a) ; and another end of the second interface member (112a) is connected to the external heat management component (100) to communicate the fluid flow channels with the external heat management component (100).
In regards to claim 19, the groove is a curved groove or a linear groove.
Claim(s) 15, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoda et al. (U.S. Publication 2011/0168930), hereinafter “Tomoda” in view of Burlingame (U.S. Publication 2002/0189434) and further in view of Meloche (U.S. Patent 5,893,394).
Tomoda discloses all of the elements as discussed above.
Tomoda does not specifically disclose that the first branch body is provided with a plurality of mounting screw holes and the plurality of valves are screwed to the corresponding mounting screw holes.
However, Meloche teaches a module wherein a first body is provided with a plurality of mounting screw holes and a valve (16) are screwed to the corresponding mounting screw holes (via 50).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have mounted the plurality of valves of Tomoda via screws as taught by Meloche as an alternative coupling means well known in the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As discussed above, applicant’s amendment raises drawing objections and 112(a) and 112(b) rejections.
Further, it is the office’s position that Tomoda, as modified, discloses applicant’s invention as best understood.
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753