DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 8-21 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on 08-14-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0149554 (hereinafter Gendler) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0350656 (hereinafter Chung).
As per claims 1, 121, Gendler discloses a method comprising:
switching a first queue (dual mode FIFO for core(s)/GPU; Fig 1 ) on a first end of a data link (interconnect 128; Fig 1) and a second queue (dual mode FIFO for core(s)/GPU; Fig 1 ) on a second end of the data link from a pacing mode to an asynchronous mode; (¶ [0020] states that “the dual mode FIFO 130 can operate in deterministic mode or asynchronous mode.” This suggest that the dual mode FIFO may be transition to with of the two operating modes. Indeed, ¶ [0024] states that dual-mode FIFO may switch from “deterministic mode to asynchronous mode” )
wherein switching the first queue and the second queue to the asynchronous mode comprises: (¶ [0024] discloses how a dual mode FIFO 130 to switch from deterministic mode to asynchronous mode. )
transmitting, from the first end of the data link to the second end of the data link, a command configured to cause the second queue to switch to the asynchronous mode; and (¶s [0023]-[0024] discloses where at block 202, a command to switch to a new clock frequency is sent that causes the dual mode FIFO 130 to switch from deterministic mode to asynchronous mode.)
receiving, at the first end of the data link, an acknowledgement from the second end of the data link indicating completion of the switch to the asynchronous mode; (At block 404, after acknowledge from the core, the dual mode FIFO is transitioned to Asynchronous mode; ¶ [0036])
modifying a frequency of a clock associated with the data link; and (¶ [0023] states the invention where “a new clock frequency is sent to and received by one of the cores 122. The command may be sent, for example, from the frequency control unit 120”)
upon modifying the frequency of the clock, returning the first queue and the second queue from the asynchronous mode to the pacing mode. (after “the clock frequency transition is performed” the “the dual mode FIFO 130 is switched back to deterministic mode”. ¶s [0025]-[0026])
Gendler does not distinctly disclose a pacing mode comprising controlling a flow of traffic over the data link based at least in part on bandwidth.
However, Chung discloses a pacing mode comprising controlling a flow of traffic over the data link based at least in part on bandwidth. (abstract states “ dynamically scaling a clock and/or voltage of a video core. The method may include buffering video frames in an input buffer queue and encoding the video frames from the input buffer queue with a video encoder to generate encoded video frames. An input buffer queue is monitored to generate an indication of a fullness of the buffer queue and a high input-threshold level is established for the input buffer queue and a low input-threshold level for the input buffer queue. A clock frequency of the video encoder is increased in response to the indication of the fullness reaching the high input-threshold for the buffer queue and the clock frequency of the video decoder is decreased in response to the indication of the fullness reaching the low input-threshold for the buffer queue.” In other words, the rate flow of data frames from input buffer to output buffer is based on “sufficient space to store to store frame data (from the frame source 102) in the input buffer 106”. ¶ [0025]This limiting constrain is the claimed bandwidth.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gendler and Chung because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Chung’s teaching of adjusting the flow based on queue length would enhance Gendler's system by allowing the system to expedite processing of data such that data is not lost due to overfill, thus improving system processing.
As per claims 2, 13, Gendler as modified discloses a method further comprising exchanging traffic across the data link at a specific time; and (Gendler: The interconnect 128 can also enable the cores 112 to communicate with each other and with the graphics engine 114.; ¶ [0020])
wherein modifying the frequency of the clock comprises modifying the frequency of the clock at the specific time. (Gendler: “a new clock frequency is sent to and received by one of the cores 122. The command may be sent, for example, from the frequency control unit 120”)
As per claims 3, 14, Gendler as modified discloses a method wherein modifying the frequency of the clock comprises reducing the frequency of the clock in response to detecting an activation of a power management feature; and reducing the frequency of the clock while maintaining the data link as active.. (Gendler: ¶ [0033] discloses the system operating in both modes with memory operations (i.e., read/write) not being suspended. ) & (Chung: when the input buffer fullness is low, then a clock of the video encoder 204 can be slowed down to reduce the drain rate from the input buffer queue 206; ¶ [0031])
As per claims 4, 15, Gendler as modified discloses a method further comprising
wherein modifying the frequency of the clock comprises reducing the frequency of the clock in response to detecting the activation of the power management feature. (Gendler: reduce its clock frequency; ¶ [0016])
As per claims 5, 16, Gendler as modified discloses a method further comprising: detecting a deactivation of the power management feature; and (Gendler: frequency control unit that can instruct the core to transition to a new clock frequency.; ¶ [0016]))
increasing the frequency of the clock in response to detecting the deactivation of the power management feature. ( Gendler: increase the frequency; ¶ [0016])
As per claim 18, Gendler as modified discloses a method wherein reducing the frequency of the clock comprises maintaining the data link active as the frequency of the clock is reduced. (Gendler: ¶ [0033] discloses the system operating in both modes with memory operations (i.e., read/write) not being suspended. )
As per claims 8, 19, Gendler as modified discloses a method, wherein: the first queue comprises a first first-in-first-out (FIFO) queue implemented in a data path on a first computing device that represents the first end of the data link; and the second queue comprises a second FIFO queue implemented in a data path on a second computing device that represents the second end of the data link. (Gendler: Fig 1 illustrated plurality of queues for which communication is established)
As per claim 11, Gendler as modified discloses a method wherein: switching the first queue and the second queue to the asynchronous mode comprises switching the first queue and the second queue to the asynchronous mode via firmware implemented on the first end and the second end of the data link or a data link layer implemented across the data link; modifying the frequency of the clock comprises modifying the frequency of the clock via the firmware or the data link layer; and returning the first queue and the second queue from the asynchronous mode to the pacing mode via the firmware or the data link layer. (Gendler: Some embodiments may be implemented with “firmware”; ¶ [0078])
As per claims 6, 17, Gendler as modified discloses a method wherein reducing the frequency of the clock comprises preventing an overflow condition or an underflow condition in at least one of the first queue and the second queue as a result of the activation of the power management feature. (chung: avoid buffer overflow ¶ [0025], abstract, [0032])
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0149554 (hereinafter Gendler) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0350656 (hereinafter Chung) and further view of U.S. Patent No. 8,255,010 (hereinafter Cheng) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0365288 (hereinafter Park)..
As per claim 9, Gendler as modified discloses a method wherein modifying the frequency of the clock comprises: setting a first clock implemented on the first computing device to a lower frequency of a reference clock available on the computing device; and setting a second clock associated with an on the computing device to a lower frequency of an additional reference clock available on computing device. (Gendler: “a new clock frequency is sent to and received by one of the cores 122. The command may be sent, for example, from the frequency control unit 120”)
Gendler does not distinctly disclose setting clock frequencies associated with a media access control (MAC) layer.
However, Cheng disclose setting clock frequencies associated with a media access control (MAC) layer. (adjusting the clock frequency and/or the voltage of the device's processor according to the Media Access Control (MAC) layer state are provided. By using a higher clock frequency and/or a higher voltage for a normal operation state with large amounts of data traffic and lower clock frequencies and/or lower voltages for other MAC layer states (e.g., acquisition, network entry, and sleep/idle states), battery power may be conserved,; abstract)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gendler as modified and Cheng because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Cheng’s teaching of adjusting clock speed based on mac layer state would enhance Gendler's system by allowing the system to consume less power, thus improving the battery state for the computer system.
Gendler as modified does not distinctly discloses adjusting the frequency between a fist and second computing device.
However, Park discloses adjusting the frequency between a fist and second computing device. (adjusting frequency for computing device 304 and 306 based on data traffic streaming between them; Fig 3)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gendler as modified and Park because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Park’s teaching of adjusting clock speed between the two device would enhance Gendler's as modified system by allowing the system to accommodate processing between devices in a predictable and sustainable ways, thus enhancing system processing.
As per claim 10, Gendler as modified discloses a method further comprising: confirming that the first FIFO queue has switched to the asynchronous mode prior to modifying the frequency of the first clock; and confirming that the second FIFO queue has switched to the asynchronous mode prior to modifying the frequency of the second clock. (Gendler: acknowledge message; ¶s [0036], [0043])
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0149554 (hereinafter Gendler) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0350656 (hereinafter Chung) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0385138 (hereinafter Kansal) .
As per claim 21, Gendler does not distinctly discloses a method wherein: the asynchronous mode comprises a first computing device receiving credits and/or allotments for the traffic from a second computing device; and the first computing device controls and/or regulates the flow of the traffic across the data link based at least in part on the credits and/or allotments.
However, Kansal explicitly discloses a method wherein: the asynchronous mode comprises a first computing device receiving credits and/or allotments for the traffic from a second computing device; and the first computing device controls and/or regulates the flow of the traffic across the data link based at least in part on the credits and/or allotments. (¶ [0038])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gendler as modified and Kansal because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Kansal’s teaching of credit flow system would enhance Gendler's as modified system by allowing the system to exchange available resources, thus improving processing within the computer system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,565,269 (hereinafter Diab) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2017/0149554 (hereinafter Gendler) and in view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0350656 (hereinafter Chung).
As per claim 20, Diab discloses a computing device comprising:
a communication interface configured to establish a data link with an additional communication interface of a remote device; and (Fig. 1 illustrates link 112 for establishing a network communication between network device 102 and network device 104)
Diab does not distinctly disclose the following:
at least one processor configured to:
switch at least one queue implemented in connection with the communication interface from a pacing mode to an asynchronous mode;
modify a frequency of at least one clock associated with the data link; and
upon modifying the frequency of the at least one clock, returning the at least one queue from the asynchronous mode to the pacing mode.
However, Gendler explicitly discloses the following:
at least one processor configured to:
switch at least one queue implemented in connection with the communication interface from a pacing mode to an asynchronous mode; (¶ [0020] states that “the dual mode FIFO 130 can operate in deterministic mode or asynchronous mode.” This suggest that the dual mode FIFO may be transition to with of the two operating modes. Indeed, ¶ [0024] states that dual-mode FIFO may switch from “deterministic mode to asynchronous mode” )
wherein switching the first queue and the second queue to the asynchronous mode comprises: (¶ [0024] discloses how a dual mode FIFO 130 to switch from deterministic mode to asynchronous mode. )
transmitting, from the communication interface to the additional communication interface of the remote device, a command configured to cause a queue of the remote device to switch to the asynchronous mode; and (¶s [0023]-[0024] discloses where at block 202, a command to switch to a new clock frequency is sent that causes the dual mode FIFO 130 to switch from deterministic mode to asynchronous mode.)
receiving, at the communication interface, an acknowledgement from the additional communication interface of the remote device indicating completion of the switch to the asynchronous mode; (At block 404, after acknowledge from the core, the dual mode FIFO is transitioned to Asynchronous mode; ¶ [0036])
modify a frequency of at least one clock associated with the data link; and (¶ [0023] states the invention where “a new clock frequency is sent to and received by one of the cores 122. The command may be sent, for example, from the frequency control unit 120”)
upon modifying the frequency of the at least one clock, returning the at least one queue from the asynchronous mode to the pacing mode. (after “the clock frequency transition is performed” the “the dual mode FIFO 130 is switched back to deterministic mode”. ¶s [0025]-[0026])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Diab and Gendler because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Gendler’s teaching of dual mode FIFO would enhance Diab's system by allowing the different hardware components to operate with specific clock adjustment, thus improving power management for the computer system.
Gendler as modified does not distinctly disclose a pacing mode comprising controlling a flow of traffic over the data link based at least in part on bandwidth.
However, Chung discloses a pacing mode comprising controlling a flow of traffic over the data link based at least in part on bandwidth. (abstract states “ dynamically scaling a clock and/or voltage of a video core. The method may include buffering video frames in an input buffer queue and encoding the video frames from the input buffer queue with a video encoder to generate encoded video frames. An input buffer queue is monitored to generate an indication of a fullness of the buffer queue and a high input-threshold level is established for the input buffer queue and a low input-threshold level for the input buffer queue. A clock frequency of the video encoder is increased in response to the indication of the fullness reaching the high input-threshold for the buffer queue and the clock frequency of the video decoder is decreased in response to the indication of the fullness reaching the low input-threshold for the buffer queue.” In other words, the rate flow of data frames from input buffer to output buffer is based on “sufficient space to store to store frame data (from the frame source 102) in the input buffer 106”. ¶ [0025]This limiting constrain is the claimed bandwidth.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Diab as modified and Chung because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Chung’s teaching of adjusting the flow based on queue length would enhance Diab's as modified system by allowing the system to expedite processing of data such that data is not lost due to overfill, thus improving system processing.
For at least the above reasons the rejections are maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08-14-2026 with respect to the newly added features have been fully considered and addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 As per claim 12, the claimed expression directed to “a plurality of computing devices that are communicatively coupled via the data link” is taught by Fig 1 which illustrates computing device such as core(s)/GPU units in communication vis-à-vis interconnect 128.