Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 6 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claim 6 as presented requires that “the first lightly doped region overlaps a portion of the heavily doped region such that a net doping concentration of the portion is lowered, thereby expanding a depletion region.” This limitation is drawn to Fig. 16 of the present application; where Fig. 16 is drawn to Species 8 as indicated in the Requirement for Restriction/Election dated 12/03/2025.
It should be noted that in the Applicant’s Response to Election / Restriction Filed dated 02/02/2026, the Applicant elected Species 2 (Fig. 4) for prosecution without traverse.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 6 and claims depending on it (i.e., claims 7-10) are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lo et al. [US PGPUB 20210272990] (hereinafter Lo).
Regarding claim 1, Lo teaches a single-photon avalanche diode comprising:
a heavily doped region (110, Para 23);
a first lightly doped region (108, Para 22/23) covering the heavily doped region (Fig. 1);
a guard ring (109, Para 22) provided on a side surface of the first lightly doped region (Fig. 1);
a first well (114, Para 26) covering the first lightly doped region and the guard ring (Fig. 1); and
a contact (106, Para 21) electrically connected to the first well (Fig. 1; connection via well 104);
wherein the heavily doped region, the first lightly doped region, and the guard ring have a first conductivity type (Para 22/23),
wherein the first well and the contact have a second conductivity type (Para 21/26), and
wherein the first lightly doped region is formed to space the heavily doped region apart from the guard ring and the first well such that the heavily doped region is not in direct contact with the guard ring and the first well (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Lo teaches a single-photon avalanche diode further comprising:
a relief area (104, Fig. 1) provided between the first well and the contact (Fig. 1);
wherein the relief region has the second conductivity type (Para 20) and has a lower doping concentration than the contact (Para 21).
Regarding claim 11, Lo teaches an electronic device comprising (Para 2):
a single-photon avalanche diode (118, Para 28) including a heavily doped region (110, Para 23), a first lightly doped region (108, Para 22/23) covering the heavily doped region (Fig. 1), a guard ring (109, Para 22) provided on a side surface of the first lightly doped region (Fig. 1), a first well (114, Para 26) covering the first lightly doped region and the guard ring (Fig. 1), and a contact (106, Para 21) electrically connected to the first well (Fig. 1; connection via well 104),
wherein the heavily doped region, the first lightly doped region, and the guard ring have a first conductivity type (Para 22/23),
wherein the first well and the contact have a second conductivity type (Para 21/26), and
wherein the first lightly doped region is formed to space the heavily doped region apart from the guard ring and the first well such that the heavily doped region is not in direct contact with the guard ring and the first well (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Lo teaches a single-photon avalanche diode wherein the guard ring protrudes from a top surface of the first lightly doped region (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Lo teaches a single-photon avalanche diode further comprising a buried region (112, Para 24) covering the first well (Fig. 1), wherein the buried region has the second conductivity type (Para 24).
Regarding claim 16, Lo teaches a single-photon avalanche diode wherein a side surface of the relief region is exposed by the first well (Fig. 1/2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo in view of Droz et al. [US PGPUB 20200169701] (hereinafter Droz).
Regarding claim 12, Lo teaches an electronic device (Para 2) including a single-photon avalanche diode (118, Para 28) including a heavily doped region (110, Para 23), a first lightly doped region (108, Para 22/23) covering the heavily doped region (Fig. 1), a guard ring (109, Para 22) provided on a side surface of the first lightly doped region (Fig. 1), a first well (114, Para 26) covering the first lightly doped region and the guard ring (Fig. 1), and a contact (106, Para 21) electrically connected to the first well (Fig. 1; connection via well 104),
wherein the heavily doped region, the first lightly doped region, and the guard ring have a first conductivity type (Para 22/23),
wherein the first well and the contact have a second conductivity type (Para 21/26), and
wherein the first lightly doped region is formed to space the heavily doped region apart from the guard ring and the first well such that the heavily doped region is not in direct contact with the guard ring and the first well (Fig. 1).
Lo does not specifically disclose a LiDAR device.
Referring to the invention of Droz, Droz discloses implementation of a photon avalanche diodes or SPADs in a LIDAR receiver to detect a returning light pulse within a relatively short time window (Para 125).
In view of such teaching by Droz, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to at least combine the invention of Lo and Droz at least based on the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.A), such as preventing image smearing (Croz, Para 125)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 14, and 17-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812