DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/27/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ganguly et al (US 2021/0026604; hereinafter Ganguly).
Regarding claim 1, Fig 2 of Ganguly discloses an anti-fuse element (102; Fig 2; ¶ [0029]) comprising:
a first electrode (Bottom electrode; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]);
an insulating layer (MIM oxide; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) disposed on the first electrode (Bottom electrode; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]); and
a second electrode (Top Electrode; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) disposed on the insulating layer (MIM oxide; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]), wherein
the insulating layer (MIM oxide; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) includes a first region (Central region; Fig 2) and a second region (Outer Region; Fig 2), with a thickness of the first region (Central region; Fig 2) being smaller (Fig 2) than a thickness of the second region (Outer Region; Fig 2), and
an outer edge (Fig 2) of the second electrode (Top Electrode; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) is located inward (Fig 2) of an outer edge (Fig 2) of the insulating layer (MIM oxide; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) in a top view.
Regarding claim 2, Fig 2 of Ganguly discloses the first region (Central region; Fig 2) of the insulating layer (MIM oxide; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) is surrounded by the second region (Outer Region; Fig 2) of the insulating layer (MIM oxide; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) in the top view.
Regarding claim 3, Fig 2 of Ganguly discloses the second electrode (Top Electrode; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) and the insulating layer (MIM oxide; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) are partially exposed to an outside (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Fig 2 of Ganguly discloses in at least one cross section passing through the first region (Central region; Fig 2), the thickness of the second region (Outer Region; Fig 2) is constant (Fig 2) and a thickness of the second electrode is constant above the second region (Outer Region; Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Fig 2 of Ganguly discloses the second electrode is configured to be connected to a current supply member only at a portion of the second electrode above the second region of the insulating layer. (¶ [0027])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganguly et al (US 2021/0026604; hereinafter Ganguly) in view of Suenaga (US 2017/0133578; hereinafter Suenga).
Regarding claim 4, Fig 2 of Ganguly discloses the second electrode (Top Electrode; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) has a quadrangular shape (Fig 2).
However Ganguly does not expressly disclose the second electrode with chamfered comers.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 2 of Suenga discloses the corners of an electrodes are chamfered (¶ [0033]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the second electrode are with chamfered corners as the concentration of the electric charge to the corner portions at the time of high voltage application can be dispersed and also the stress can be dispersed and hence breakage caused by crack occurrence can be suppressed (¶ [0031]).
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganguly et al (US 2021/0026604; hereinafter Ganguly) in view of Tamaki (US 7659806; hereinafter Tamaki).
Regarding claim 7, Fig 2 of Ganguly discloses a conductive substrate (Si substrate; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]), wherein the first electrode (Bottom electrode; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]) disposed on the conductive substrate (Si substrate; Fig 2; ¶ [0030]).
However Ganguly does not expressly disclose an outer edge of the conductive substrate is located outward of an outer edge of the first electrode in the top view.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 2 of Tamaki discloses a first electrode (2; Fig 2; Col 2; Lines 54) disposed on a substrate (1; Fig 2; line 54) and an outer edge of the substrate is located outward of an outer edge of the first electrode in the top view (Fig 2).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that an outer edge of the conductive substrate is located outward of an outer edge of the first electrode in the top view in order to form the substrate with the raised portions on which the electrodes can be formed (Col 2; lines 60-67).
Regarding claim 8, Ganguly in view of Tamaki as modified above in claim 7 (Fig 2 of Tamaki in particular) discloses the conductive substrate includes in a thickness direction, a first edge portion flush with the outer edge of the first electrode (2; Fig 2; Col 2; Lines 54 of Tamaki) and a second edge portion located outward of the outer edge of the first electrode in a top view (Fig 2 of Tamaki).
Regarding claim 9, Ganguly does not expressly disclose a back surface electrode disposed on the conductive substrate on a side opposite from the first electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Tamaki discloses a back surface electrode (2; Fig 2; Col 3; lines 9-20) on the substrate (1; Fig 2; line 54) on a side opposite from the first electrode.
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a back surface electrode is formed on the substrate in order to form the electrode on the reverse side of the substrate (Col 3; lines 1-5).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganguly et al (US 2021/0026604; hereinafter Ganguly) in view of Kim et al (US 2022/0285595; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Ganguly discloses the anti fuse element according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1).
However Ganguly does not expressly disclose a light-emitting device comprising:
a light-emitting element.
In the same field of endeavor, Figs 2 and 7 of Kim discloses a light emitting element (500; Fig 2; ¶ [0073]) and an anti-fuse element (AF1; Fig 7; ¶ [0116]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a light emitting device comprising a light emitting element and an anti-fuse element in order to form a programmable device that starts in a high-resistance state and is permanently turned into a low-resistance path when a programming voltage is applied (¶ [0007]).
Claim(s) 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganguly et al (US 2021/0026604; hereinafter Ganguly) in view of Kim et al (US 2022/0285595; hereinafter Kim) as applied to claim 10 and further in view of Maeda (US 2021/0400243; hereinafter Maeda).
Regarding claim 11, Ganguly in view of Kim as modified above in claim 10 (Kim in particular) discloses the light-emitting element is a semiconductor laser element.
In the same field of endeavor, Maeda discloses a light emitting element may be light emitting diode or semiconductor laser element (¶ [0038]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a light emitting element can be light emitting diode or semiconductor laser element for the purpose of using well known and suitable device known in the art for forming display device.
Regarding claim 12, Ganguly in view of Kim in view of Maeda as modified above in claim 11 discloses the anti-fuse element is disposed in a region a avoiding a virtual straight line including an optical axis of laser light emitted from the semiconductor laser element.
Regarding claim 13, Ganguly in view of Kim in view of Maeda (Fig 7 of Maeda in particular) will disclose an additional anti-fuse element (AF2; Fig 7 of Maeda) and an additional semiconductor laser element (Figs 2 and 7 of Maeda) wherein
the anti-fuse element and the semiconductor laser element are connected in parallel to form a first set (Figs 2-7 of Maeda),
the additional anti-fuse element and the additional semiconductor laser element are connected in parallel to form a second set (Figs 2-7 of Maeda), and
the first set and the second set are connected in series (Figs 2-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sanchez et al (US 6156588; This prior art teaches a method of forming an anti-fuse device)
Tani et al (US 2012/0126365; This prior teaches an anti-fuse element)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817