DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s remarks/amendments of claims 1-9, in the reply filed on April 27th, 2026, are acknowledged. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 10-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-9 as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US 2022/0068796, hereinafter as Guo ‘796) in view of Son (US 2018/0151587, hereinafter as Son ‘587) and further in view of Higashi (US 2018/0261623, hereinafter as Higa ‘623).
Regarding Claim 1, Guo ‘796 teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a peripheral circuit structure (Fig. 5A, (505); [0055]);
a first capacitor electrode (525-1 (L); [0056]) on the peripheral circuit structure;
an electrode insulating layer (530; [0056]) that at least partially surrounds the first capacitor electrode;
a gate stack (512; [0055]) on the source structure;
a staircase insulating layer (530; [0056]) on the gate stack and the electrode insulating layer;
a second capacitor electrode (525-1 (U); [0056]) on the first capacitor electrode and that extends through the staircase insulating layer (530); and
a penetration via (525-2) that extends through the staircase insulating layer and the electrode insulating layer (130).
Thus, Guo ‘796 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a source structure on the peripheral circuit structure; a memory channel structure that extends through the gate stack”.
Son ‘587 teaches a source structure (Fig. 2, (LSP); [0032]) on the peripheral circuit structure (ACT; [0043]); a memory channel structure (VL; [0035]) that extends through the gate stack (ST; [0046]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo ‘796 by having a source structure on the peripheral circuit structure; a memory channel structure that extends through the gate stack for the purpose of providing semiconductor devices having high operating speeds and/or excellent reliability (see para. [0004]) as suggested by Son ‘587.
Thus, Guo ‘796 and Son ‘587 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a penetration via that extends from a peripheral conductive line of the peripheral circuit structure”.
Higa ‘623 teaches a penetration via (Fig. 1, (37a); [0066]) that extends from a peripheral conductive line (38a; [0066]) of the peripheral circuit.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo ‘796 and Son ‘587 by having a penetration via that extends from a peripheral conductive line of the peripheral circuit structure for the purpose of improving a memory density (see para. [0089]) as suggested by Higa ‘623.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (U)][AltContent: textbox (L)][AltContent: arrow]
Fig. 5A (Guo ‘796_Annotated)
Regarding Claim 2, Son ‘587 teaches the first capacitor electrode (Fig. 5, (20b); [0047]) at least partially surrounds the penetration via (20a; [0047]).
Regarding Claim 3, Son ‘587 teaches the second capacitor electrode (30b; [0052]) at least partially surrounds the penetration via (20a; [0047]).
Regarding Claim 4, Son ‘587 teaches the source structure comprises a first source layer (LSP) on the peripheral circuit structure (ACT) and a second source layer (USP) on the first source layer (see Fig. 5), the memory channel structure (DS; [0033]) comprises a channel layer and a memory layer that at least partially surrounds the channel layer, and the second source layer (USP) extends through the memory layer and contacts the channel layer;
Thus, Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the first capacitor electrode and the electrode insulating layer are at a same level as the first source layer”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the first capacitor electrode and the electrode insulating layer are at a same level as the first source layer on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to have the first capacitor electrode and the electrode insulating layer are at a same level as the first source layer in order to improve the performance of the semiconductor devices.
Regarding Claim 5, Son ‘587 teaches a bottom surface of the first capacitor electrode (20a), a bottom surface of the electrode insulating layer (110), and a bottom surface of the first source layer (LSP) are coplanar with each other (see Fig. 5).
Thus, Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a top surface of the first capacitor electrode, a top surface of the electrode insulating layer, and a top surface of the first source layer are coplanar with each other”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a top surface of the first capacitor electrode, a top surface of the electrode insulating layer, and a top surface of the first source layer are coplanar with each other on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to have a top surface of the first capacitor electrode, a top surface of the electrode insulating layer, and a top surface of the first source layer are coplanar with each other in order to improve the performance of the semiconductor devices.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (KR 100588899, hereinafter as Park ‘899).
Regarding Claim 6, Guo ‘796 teaches the second capacitor electrode (525-1U; Fig. 5A)
Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “the second capacitor electrode comprises a first portion in the first capacitor electrode and a second portion on the first portion”.
Park ‘899 teaches the second electrode (180; pp.4) comprises a first portion in the first electrode (150; pp. 4) and a second portion on the first portion (see Fig. 2C).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 by having the electrode comprises a first portion in the first electrode and a second portion on the first portion in order to prevent the diffusion of copper (see pp. 4) as suggested by Park ‘899.
Regarding Claim 7, Park ‘899 teaches a width of the first portion of the second capacitor electrode (180) is less than a width of the second portion of the second capacitor electrode (see Fig. 2c).
Regarding Claim 8, Guo ‘796 teaches a third portion (MET0) on the second portion of the second capacitor electrode (525-1U).
Guo ‘796’, Son ‘587, Park ‘899 and Higa ‘623 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a width of the third portion of the second capacitor electrode is less than a width of the second portion of the second capacitor electrode”.
However, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a width of the third portion of the second capacitor electrode is less than a width of the second portion of the second capacitor electrode on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. A person of ordinary skills in the art is motivated to have a width of the third portion of the second capacitor electrode is less than a width of the second portion of the second capacitor electrode in order to improve the performance of the semiconductor devices.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 20220092822, hereinafter as Lee ‘822).
Regarding Claim 9, Guo ‘796 teaches a transistor (818; see para. [0055] and [0071]); and a second peripheral conductive line (CON2) electrically connected to the penetration via (525-2).
Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the limitations: “a first peripheral conductive line electrically connected to the transistor; a connection via electrically connecting the first peripheral conductive line to the first capacitor electrode”.
Lee ‘822 teaches a first peripheral conductive line (Fig. 1, (261); [0054]) electrically connected to the transistor (see Fig. 1); a connection via (263) electrically connecting the first peripheral conductive line to the first capacitor electrode (266).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Guo ‘796, Son ‘587 and Higa ‘623 by having a first peripheral conductive line electrically connected to the transistor; a connection via electrically connecting the first peripheral conductive line to the first capacitor electrode in order to improve electrical characteristics and mass production (see para. [0011]) as suggested by Lee ‘822.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9, filed on April 27th, 2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Interviews After Final
Applicants note that an interview after a final rejection is permitted in order to place the application in condition for allowance or to resolve issues prior to appeal. However, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, preferably in writing. Upon review of the agenda, the Examiner may grant the interview if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations will be denied. See MPEP § 714.13
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893