CTNF 18/476,673 CTNF 81889 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/476,673, application filed on 09/28/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application. Information Disclosure Statement 3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/28/2023 and 09/11/2025, respectively, is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim (s) 1-6, 8-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramette et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0138608) in view of Frattini et al. (US PG Pub No. 2021/0021245) . 6. With respect to claim 1, Ramette teaches : A quantum computing system (see quantum computer, Abstract) , comprising: a set of qubits configured to be responsive to one or more microwave signals (see pair of qubits, Abstract; see set of qubits responsive to microwave transition, para 59-62) ; a control apparatus (see controller, para 46) configured to apply the one or more microwave signals to the set of qubits (controller to apply microwave signals, para 46 in conjunction with para 59-62) , the control apparatus including a set of control lines configured to transmit the one or more microwave signals to corresponding ones of the set of qubits (see controller, control portions for microwave tuning, para 45-49) ; a readout apparatus (see ultra-fast non-destructive readout for fast readout processing) configured to perform one or more measurements on the set of qubits (see measurements of qubits, Abstract; measuring photons, para 48; measuring qubit cavity, para 52) , the readout apparatus including a readout line operatively coupled to the set of qubits (see readout coupling, para 63-65) ; a paracoupler operatively arranged between the set of qubits and the readout apparatus, the paracoupler being configured to enable parametric fluorescent readout of the qubits via the readout apparatus, wherein when the paracoupler is not driven the paracoupler prevents coupling of the qubits with the readout line (see coupler coupled to detector, coupled via cavity modes for qubits, measuring qubits, fluorescence; parallelized fluorescence readout, para 52, para 96) . Ramette appears to be silent regarding: the coupler is a paracoupler [a parametric coupler and/or a multi-element coupler]. However, Frattini teaches: the coupler is a paracoupler [a parametric coupler and/or a multi-element coupler] (see connections for parametric coupling, para 13-16, 52-56) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Frattini’s paracoupler/parametric coupler/multi-element coupler into the invention of Ramette for at least the following reason(s): Frattini provides a paracoupling structure to process error-free readout for accurate measurement of qubit control values for improved quantum computing, thus providing a useful improvement to the quantum computing environment of Ramette. 7. With respect to claim 2, Frattini teaches : a capacitor operatively arranged between the paracoupler and the readout line of the readout apparatus (see capacitive coupling, para 29; see capacitor coupling parametric device, para 82) . 8. With respect to claim 3, Frattini teaches : wherein a frequency at the readout line is chosen in accordance with a frequency associated with the paracoupler and a frequency associated with one or more of the set of qubits (see first and second frequencies, para 28) . 9. With respect to claim 4, Frattini teaches : wherein the frequency at the readout line is in the microwave band (see frequency at microwave bandwidth, para 81-88) . 10. With respect to claim 5, Frattini teaches : wherein the capacitor provides a selected kappa level (see levels for capacitive coupling, para 50-59) . 11. With respect to claim 6, Frattini teaches : a resonator operatively arranged between the paraco upler and the capacitor (resonator with parametric coupler, para 75-80) . 12. With respect to claim 8, Frattini teaches : a resonator operatively arranged between the paracoupler and the readout line of the readout apparatus (resonator with parametric coupler, para 75-80) . 13. With respect to claim 9, Frattini teaches : wherein the paracoupler is a first paracoupler, and the quantum computing apparatus further includes a second paracoupler operatively arranged between resonator and the readout line of the readout apparatus (see first and second coupler, para 15-17) . 14. With respect to claim 10, Ramette teaches : wherein the one or more microwave signals comprise a set of microwave control pulses (see microwave pulses, para 48) . 15. With respect to claim 11, Ramette teaches : wherein one or more of the set of microwave control pulses comprise π-pulse, which acts to exchange populations of quantum states in the one or more qubits (see π-pulse, para 57) . 16. With respect to claim 12, Ramette teaches : A quantum computing method (see quantum computer, Abstract) , comprising: applying one or more microwave signals (see pair of qubits, Abstract; see set of qubits responsive to microwave transition, para 59-62) , by a control apparatus of a quantum computing system via a set of control lines, to selected ones of a set of qubits of the quantum computing system (see controller, para 46; controller to apply microwave signals, para 46 in conjunction with para 59-62, see controller, control portions for microwave tuning, para 45-49) ; enabling, by a paracoupler operatively arranged between the set of qubits and a readout apparatus, parametric fluorescent readout of the qubits (see coupler coupled to detector, coupled via cavity modes for qubits, measuring qubits, fluorescence; parallelized fluorescence readout, para 52, para 96) , wherein when the paracoupler is not driven the paracoupler prevents coupling of the qubits with a readout line of the readout apparatus (see ultra-fast non-destructive readout for fast readout processing, see measurements of qubits, Abstract; measuring photons, para 48; measuring qubit cavity, para 52) ; and performing, by the readout apparatus via the readout line, one or more measurements on the set of qubits based on the applied one or more microwave signals and the enabling of the paracoupler (see measurements of qubits, Abstract; measuring photons, para 48; measuring qubit cavity, para 52) . Ramette appears to be silent regarding: the coupler is a paracoupler [a parametric coupler and/or a multi-element coupler]. However, Frattini teaches: the coupler is a paracoupler [a parametric coupler and/or a multi-element coupler] (see connections for parametric coupling, para 13-16, 52-56) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Frattini’s paracoupler/parametric coupler/multi-element coupler into the invention of Ramette for at least the following reason(s): Frattini provides a paracoupling structure to process error-free readout for accurate measurement of qubit control values for improved quantum computing, thus providing a useful improvement to the quantum computing environment of Ramette. 17. With respect to claim 13, Ramette teaches : wherein the one or more microwave signals comprise a set of microwave control pulses (see microwave pulses, para 48) . 18. With respect to claim 14, Ramette teaches : wherein one or more of the set of microwave control pulses comprise a π-pulse, which acts to exchange populations of quantum states in the one or more qubits (see π-pulse, para 57) . 19. With respect to claim 15, Frattini teaches : wherein a capacitor is operatively arranged between the paracoupler and the readout line of the readout apparatus, the capacitor provides a selected kappa level (see levels for capacitive coupling, para 50-59) . 20. With respect to claim 16, Frattini teaches : wherein a frequency at the readout line is chosen in accordance with a frequency associated with the paracoupler and a frequency associated with one or more of the set of qubits (see first and second frequencies, para 28) . 21. With respect to claim 17, Frattini teaches : wherein the frequency at the readout line is in the microwave band (see frequency at microwave bandwidth, para 81-88) . 22. With respect to claim 19, Frattini teaches : wherein a resonator is operatively arranged between the paracoupler and the readout line of the readout apparatus (resonator with parametric coupler, para 75-80) . 23. With respect to claim 20, Frattini teaches : wherein the paracoupler is a first paracoupler, and the quantum computing apparatus further includes a second paracoupler operatively arranged between resonator and the readout line of the readout apparatus (see first and second coupler, para 15-17) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 24. Claim s 7 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 25. With respect to claim 7, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 7, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 7, as follows: wherein: the resonator has an operating frequency; and the paracoupler is an LR parametric drive configured to couple a first qubit frequency to the operating frequency of the resonator and to not couple a second qubit frequency to the operating frequency of the resonator. 26. With respect to claim 18, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 18, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 18, as follows: wherein: a capacitor is operatively arranged between the paracoupler and the readout line of the readout apparatus; a resonator is operatively arranged between the paracoupler and the capacitor, the resonator having an operating frequency; and the paracoupler is an LR parametric drive configured to couple a first qubit frequency to the operating frequency of the resonator and to not couple a second qubit frequency to the operating frequency of the resonator. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUCHIN PARIHAR whose telephone number is (703)756-1970. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jack Chiang can be reached on 571-272-7483. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SUCHIN PARIHAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 2 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 3 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 4 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 5 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 6 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 7 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 8 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 9 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 10 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/476,673 Page 11 Art Unit: 2851