DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 28, 2025, January 17, 2025, and July 7, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 1- 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20150017523 A1) in view of Li et al. (WO 2020258809 A1, citations take from corresponding Published U.S. Patent Application US 20220102732 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hirai and Li. Regarding claim 1 , Hirai teaches an electrode manufacturing method (see e.g., Abstract), wherein the electrode is a positive electrode (“ a method for preparing a positive electrode plate ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0042] ). Hirai teaches the method comprises a step of coating an active material layer onto a surface of a collector excluding a non-coating area to form a coating area (“providing a current collector, the current collector comprising a coating region and a non-coating region; coating a positive-electrode active material on the coating region of the current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0015]). Hirai teach es after the active material is coated on the collector, punching is performed along the electrode lead-out tab using a cutting line 180 surrounding each unit electrode (see e.g., paragraph s [0056]- [0057] and Figure 5A ) , wherein the cutting line 180 is located at intervals along the length direction of the non-coating region to form a tab and along the coating region to form an edge of the electrode active material (see e.g., Figure 5A); therefore, Hirai teaches the claim limitation of “ cutting the non-coating region at intervals along a length direction of the non-coating region to form a tab between every two adjacent cutting positions, an edge of a region of the positive-electrode active material corresponding to the cutting position being cut off at each cutting . ” Hirai teach an insulating member aligned with an end portion of the electrode or a boundary between the coating area and non-coating area ; however, Hirai does not explicitly teach the insulating member is an electrically insulating adhesive on an edge of the positive-electrode active material between every two adjacent cutting positions. However, Li teaches an electrode plate (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the electrode plate , which is a positive electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0062]), includes a current collector, an electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0009]), and an electrical connection member 511 electrically connected to the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0195]). Li teaches a support protection layer 15 (“an electrically insulating adhesive”) is an organic insulation layer (see e.g., paragraph [0165]) selected from an insulation tape layer or an insulation glue coating layer (see e.g., paragraph [0166]). Li teaches the support protection layer 15 is disposed in zones B and C and located on the edge of zone A, which is the zone where the active material is located (“coating an electrically insulating adhesive on an edge of the positive-electrode active material between every two adjacent cutting positions”) (see e.g., Figure 18D). Li teaches the support protection layer to prevent conductivity compromising of the electrode plate caused by mechanical damage of the current collector in this zone, thereby improving the current flow capacity of the electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the insulating member of Hirai to be composed of an insulation tape or an insulation glue coating, as taught by Li, in order to prevent conductivity compromising of the electrode plate caused by mechanical damage of the current collector in this zone, thereby improving the current flow capacity of the electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0016]). Regarding claim 2 , Hirai, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described. Li teaches the support protection layer 15 is disposed in a portion of zone C covering a portion of the electrical connection member 511 (“ further coating the electrically insulating adhesive to the tab to cover a portion of the tab ”) (see e.g., Figure 18D). Regarding claim 3 , Hirai teaches an electrode (see e.g., Abstract), wherein the electrode is a positive electrode (“ a positive electrode plate ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0042]). Hirai teaches an electrode 100 with an active layer 103 on a surface of a collector 101 (“a current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0027]). Hirai teaches the current collector is coated with the active material layer excluding a non-coating area to form a coating area (see e.g., paragraph [0013]), wherein the non-coating area comprises an electrode lead-out tab 109 (“ a coating region and a non-coating region, at least one tab being constructed in the non-coating region ” and “ a positive-electrode active material, coated on the coating region ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0029]). Hirai teaches after the active material is coated on the collector, punching is performed along the electrode lead-out tab using a cutting line 180 surrounding each unit electrode (see e.g., paragraphs [0056]-[0057] and Figure 5A), wherein the cutting line 180 is located at intervals along the length direction of the non-coating region to form a tab and along the coating region to form an edge of the electrode active material (see e.g., Figure 5A); therefore, Hirai teaches the claim limitation of “ portions of the coating region on two sides of the tab along a length direction of the coating region being each provided with a cutting recess .” Hirai teaches a low density area 107 having a lower density of the active material layer than the high density area 105 in which the density of the active material layer is enhanced by compression (see e.g., paragraph [0027]), wherein the low density area 107 is thinner than that of the high density area 105 (see e.g., Figure 1B) and is located between the cutting lines (“ a thickness of a portion of the positive-electrode active material located between the adjacent cutting recesses being smaller than that of the other portions of the positive-electrode active material ”) (see e.g., Figures 1A and 1C). Hirai teach an insulating member aligned with an end portion of the electrode or a boundary between the coating area and non-coating area ; however, Hirai does not explicitly teach the insulating member is an electrically insulating adhesive, coated on the portion of the positive-electrode active material located between the adjacent cutting recesses . However, Li teaches an electrode plate (see e.g., Abstract). Li teaches the electrode plate, which is a positive electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0062]), includes a current collector, an electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0009]), and an electrical connection member 511 electrically connected to the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0195]). Li teaches a support protection layer 15 (“an electrically insulating adhesive”) is an organic insulation layer (see e.g., paragraph [0165]) selected from an insulation tape layer or an insulation glue coating layer (see e.g., paragraph [0166]). Li teaches the support protection layer 15 is disposed in zones B and C and located on the edge of zone A, which is the zone where the active material is located (“coating an electrically insulating adhesive on an edge of the positive-electrode active material between every two adjacent cutting positions”) (see e.g., Figure 18D). Li teaches the support protection layer to prevent conductivity compromising of the electrode plate caused by mechanical damage of the current collector in this zone, thereby improving the current flow capacity of the electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the insulating member of Hirai to be composed of an insulation tape or an insulation glue coating, as taught by Li, in order to prevent conductivity compromising of the electrode plate caused by mechanical damage of the current collector in this zone, thereby improving the current flow capacity of the electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0016]). Regarding claim 4 , Hirai, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3 , as previously described. Li teaches the support protection layer 15 is disposed in a portion of zone C covering a portion of the electrical connection member 511 (“ further coating the electrically insulating adhesive to the tab to cover a portion of the tab ”) (see e.g., Figure 18D). Regarding claim 5 , Hirai, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 4 , as previously described. Hirai teaches the insulating member 200 is disposed so as not to exceed a thickness of the center portion of the electrode , and in this case, a part of the low density area is not covered by the insulating member (see e.g., paragraph [0061] and Figure 6B) to prevent the falling-off of the active material (see e.g., paragraph [0062]) . Hirai teaches a length W of the low density area 107 from a boundary between the non- coating area 102 of the collector 101 and an active material coating area to the high density area 105 is preferably in a range of 2 mm to 15 mm (see e.g., paragraph [0032]) in order to reduce occurrence of the wrinkles (see e.g., paragraph [0033]). Therefore, using the length of the low density area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the ar t to have the length of the insulating member extend on the electrode lead-out tab 109 not be greater than 2 mm (“ wherein a length of the electrically insulating adhesive extends on the tab is not greater than 2 mm ”) in order to prevent the falling-off of the active material (see e.g., paragraph [0062]) and to reduce the occurrence of wrinkles (see e.g., paragraph [0033]). Regarding claim 6 , Hirai, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3 , as previously described. Hirai teaches after the active material is coated on the collector, punching is performed along the electrode lead-out tab using a cutting line 180 and a center line 173 surrounding each unit electrode to create a plurality of electrode lead-out tabs 109 (see e.g., paragraphs [0056]-[0057] and Figure 5A), wherein the cutting line 180 is located at intervals along the length direction of the non-coating region to form a tab and along the coating region to form an edge of the electrode active material and the center line 173 creates electrode lead-out tabs on both sides of the non-coating area (“ wherein a plurality of tabs are constructed, and the plurality of tabs are arranged at intervals along a length direction of the current collector and on at least one side of the current collector along a width direction ”) (see e.g., Figure 5A). Regarding claim 7 , Hirai, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3 , as previously described. Li teaches the support protection layer is an organic insulation layer (see e.g., paragraph [0165]) and can be selected from at least one of a polyvinylidene fluoride layer, a styrene butadiene rubber layer, and a sodium polyacrylate layer (“ wherein the electrically insulating adhesive is at least one of polyvinylidene fluoride, styrene butadiene rubber, styrene-isoprene-styrene, or polyacrylate ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0166]). Regarding claim 8 , Hirai, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3 , as previously described. Hirai teaches the electrode for a lithium ion secondary battery (“ a battery ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Li teaches an electrochemical apparatus, including a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate (“ a negative electrode plate ”) , a separator disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (“ a separator, located between the negative electrode plate and the positive electrode plate ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0267]) , and an electrolyte solution (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirai et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20150017523 A1) in view of Li et al. (WO 2020258809 A1, citations take from corresponding Published U.S. Patent Application US 20220102732 A1), and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 209786108 U), hereinafter referred to as Liu. Regarding claim 9 , Hirai, as modified by Li, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8 , as previously described. Li teaches the negative electrode plate comprises a current collector and negative electrode active material (“ wherein the negative electrode plate comprises a negative-electrode active material ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). Hirai, as modified by Li, does not explicitly teach a width of the negative-electrode active material is greater than a width of the positive-electrode active material, and an edge of the negative-electrode active material extends to the electrically insulating adhesive . However, Liu teaches a lithium-ion battery cell structure includes a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the positive electrode sheet has a positive electrode coated area and a positive electrode uncoated area , and the negative electrode sheet has a negative electrode coated area and a negative electrode uncoated area (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the width of the negative electrode is greater than the width of the positive electrode (“ a width of the negative-electrode active material is greater than a width of the positive-electrode active material ”) (see e.g., paragraph [0012]) such that only the positive electrode lug 121 is attached to the insulating tape 4 (“ an edge of the negative-electrode active material extends to the electrically insulating adhesive ”) in order to reduce the cost of the insulating tape and reduce contact between the positive electrode and negative electrode to prevent battery failure and explosion (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the negative electrode of Hirai, as modified by Li, to have a larger width than the positive electrode, as taught by Liu, in order to reduce the cost of the insulating tape and reduce contact between the positive electrode and negative electrode to prevent battery failure and explosion (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Han et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20230369733 A1 ) teaches a lithium-ion battery includes a positive electrode piece, a negative electrode piece, a separator arranged between the positive electrode piece and the negative electrode piece, and an electrolyte (see e.g., Abstract). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Katherine N Higgins whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1196 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mondays - Thursdays 7:30-4:30 EST, Fridays 7:30 - 11:30 EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Matthew T Martin can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7871 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KATHERINE N HIGGINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728