DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed July 6, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-2 and 8-9 have been cancelled. Claims 3-7 have been amended; support for the amendments can be found in at least paragraph [0041] and Figure 6 of the Instant Specification. Claims 3-7 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 6, 2026 has been fully considered. Applicant argues that a) Hirai, Li, and Liu fail to teach or suggest at least “a width of the negative-electrode active material is greater than a width of the positive-electrode active material, an edge of the negative-electrode active material extends to the electrically insulating adhesive, and the edge of the negative-electrode active material is located between two ends of the electrically insulating adhesive” because Liu teaches the negative-electrode active material 21 and the positive-electrode active material 11 are completely overlapped in the width direction (i.e., the horizontal extending direction of the side with the tab), which cannot constitute “a width of the negative-electrode active material is greater than a width of the positive-electrode active material.”
Regarding argument A, a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations, specifically regarding the width of the negative-electrode active material and the positive-electrode active material, is where the width is the vertical extending direction and the length is the horizontal extending direction of the side with the tab because the claim limitations do not recite an orientation with respect to the claimed features. Liu teaches the width of the negative-electrode active material is greater than that of the positive-electrode active material (see e.g., Liu Figure 3). Therefore, Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not found to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2020258809 A1, citations take from corresponding Published U.S. Patent Application US 20220102732 A1), hereinafter referred to as Li, in view of Hirai et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20150017523 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hirai and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 209786108 U), hereinafter referred to as Liu.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches a battery (“a battery”) (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Li teaches an electrochemical apparatus, including a positive electrode plate, a negative electrode plate (“a negative electrode plate”), a separator disposed between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate (“a separator, located between the negative electrode plate and the positive electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0267]), and an electrolyte solution (see e.g., paragraph [0010]). Li teaches a positive electrode plate is a positive electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0062]), includes a current collector with a coated and non-coated region with a tab (“a current collector, comprising a coating region and a non-coating region, at least one tab being constructed in the non-coating region”) (see e.g., paragraphs [0061] and [0147]), an electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (“a positive-electrode active material, coated on the coating region”) (see e.g., paragraph [0009]), and an electrical connection member 511 electrically connected to the current collector (see e.g., paragraph [0195]). Li teaches the electrode plate, which Li teaches a support protection layer 15 (“an electrically insulating adhesive”) is an organic insulation layer (see e.g., paragraph [0165]) selected from an insulation tape layer or an insulation glue coating layer (see e.g., paragraph [0166]). Li teaches the support protection layer 15 is disposed in zones B and C and located on the edge of zone A, which is the zone where the active material is located (“coating an electrically insulating adhesive on an edge of the positive-electrode active material between every two adjacent cutting positions”) (see e.g., Figure 18D). Li teaches the support protection layer to prevent conductivity compromising of the electrode plate caused by mechanical damage of the current collector in this zone, thereby improving the current flow capacity of the electrode plate (see e.g., paragraph [0016]).
Li does not explicitly teach portions of the coating region on two sides of the tab along a length direction of the coating region being each provided with a cutting recess and a thickness of a portion of the positive-electrode active material located between the adjacent cutting recesses being smaller than that of the other portions of the positive-electrode active material.
However, Hirai teaches a lithium secondary battery (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Hirai teaches an electrode 100 with an active layer 103 on a surface of a collector 101 (“a current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0027]). Hirai teaches the current collector is coated with the active material layer excluding a non-coating area to form a coating area (see e.g., paragraph [0013]), wherein the non-coating area comprises an electrode lead-out tab 109 (“a coating region and a non-coating region, at least one tab being constructed in the non-coating region” and “a positive-electrode active material, coated on the coating region”) (see e.g., paragraph [0029]). Hirai teaches after the active material is coated on the collector, punching is performed along the electrode lead-out tab using a cutting line 180 surrounding each unit electrode (see e.g., paragraphs [0056]-[0057] and Figure 5A), wherein the cutting line 180 is located at intervals along the length direction of the non-coating region to form a tab and along the coating region to form an edge of the electrode active material (see e.g., Figure 5A); therefore, Hirai teaches the claim limitation of “portions of the coating region on two sides of the tab along a length direction of the coating region being each provided with a cutting recess.” Hirai teaches a low density area 107 having a lower density of the active material layer than the high density area 105 in which the density of the active material layer is enhanced by compression (see e.g., paragraph [0027]), wherein the low density area 107 is thinner than that of the high density area 105 (see e.g., Figure 1B) and is located between the cutting lines (“a thickness of a portion of the positive-electrode active material located between the adjacent cutting recesses being smaller than that of the other portions of the positive-electrode active material”) (see e.g., Figures 1A and 1C). Hirai teaches the method manufactures an electrode having excellent electrode characteristics and long-term reliability without involving occurrence of wrinkles on a collector surface even when performing compression processing under a comparatively low temperature condition where excellent electrode characteristics are maintained (see e.g., paragraph [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the positive electrode plate of Li to low density areas and high density areas of the active material around cutting lines, as taught by Hirai, in order to manufacture an electrode having excellent electrode characteristics and long-term reliability without involving occurrence of wrinkles on a collector surface even when performing compression processing under a comparatively low temperature condition where excellent electrode characteristics are maintained (see e.g., paragraph [0012]).
Li, as modified by Hirai, does not explicitly teach a width of the negative-electrode active material is greater than a width of the positive-electrode active material, and an edge of the negative-electrode active material extends to the electrically insulating adhesive.
However, Liu teaches a lithium-ion battery cell structure includes a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the positive electrode sheet has a positive electrode coated area and a positive electrode uncoated area, and the negative electrode sheet has a negative electrode coated area and a negative electrode uncoated area (see e.g., paragraph [0009]). Liu teaches the width of the negative electrode is greater than the width of the positive electrode (“a width of the negative-electrode active material is greater than a width of the positive-electrode active material”) (see e.g., paragraph [0012]) such that only the positive electrode lug 121 is attached to the insulating tape 4 (“an edge of the negative-electrode active material extends to the electrically insulating adhesive”) in order to reduce the cost of the insulating tape and reduce contact between the positive electrode and negative electrode to prevent battery failure and explosion (see e.g., paragraph [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the negative electrode of Li, as modified by Hirai, to have a larger width than the positive electrode, as taught by Liu, in order to reduce the cost of the insulating tape and reduce contact between the positive electrode and negative electrode to prevent battery failure and explosion (see e.g., paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Li, as modified by Hirai and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Li teaches the support protection layer 15 is disposed in a portion of zone C covering a portion of the electrical connection member 511 (“further coating the electrically insulating adhesive to the tab to cover a portion of the tab”) (see e.g., Figure 18D).
Regarding claim 5, Li, as modified by Hirai and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 4, as previously described.
Hirai teaches the insulating member 200 is disposed so as not to exceed a thickness of the center portion of the electrode, and in this case, a part of the low density area is not covered by the insulating member (see e.g., paragraph [0061] and Figure 6B) to prevent the falling-off of the active material (see e.g., paragraph [0062]). Hirai teaches a length W of the low density area 107 from a boundary between the non-coating area 102 of the collector 101 and an active material coating area to the high density area 105 is preferably in a range of 2 mm to 15 mm (see e.g., paragraph [0032]) in order to reduce occurrence of the wrinkles (see e.g., paragraph [0033]).
Therefore, using the length of the low density area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the length of the insulating member extend on the electrode lead-out tab 109 not be greater than 2 mm (“wherein a length of the electrically insulating adhesive extends on the tab is not greater than 2 mm”) in order to prevent the falling-off of the active material (see e.g., paragraph [0062]) and to reduce the occurrence of wrinkles (see e.g., paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Li, as modified by Hirai and Liu, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Hirai teaches after the active material is coated on the collector, punching is performed along the electrode lead-out tab using a cutting line 180 and a center line 173 surrounding each unit electrode to create a plurality of electrode lead-out tabs 109 (see e.g., paragraphs [0056]-[0057] and Figure 5A), wherein the cutting line 180 is located at intervals along the length direction of the non-coating region to form a tab and along the coating region to form an edge of the electrode active material and the center line 173 creates electrode lead-out tabs on both sides of the non-coating area (“wherein a plurality of tabs are constructed, and the plurality of tabs are arranged at intervals along a length direction of the current collector and on at least one side of the current collector along a width direction”) (see e.g., Figure 5A).
Regarding claim 7, Li, as modified by Hirai and Liu,, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Li teaches the support protection layer is an organic insulation layer (see e.g., paragraph [0165]) and can be selected from at least one of a polyvinylidene fluoride layer, a styrene butadiene rubber layer, and a sodium polyacrylate layer (“wherein the electrically insulating adhesive is at least one of polyvinylidene fluoride, styrene butadiene rubber, styrene-isoprene-styrene, or polyacrylate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0166]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728