DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 , 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukuta (US PUB 2021/0293894), and in view of Kakiuchi et al. (US PUB 2009/0228221), hereinafter Kakiuchi.
With respect to claim 1, Tsukuta discloses a deterioration determination device (See paragraphs [0068] and [0094] in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta) that determines deterioration of a reactor and a smoothing capacitor included in a power conversion device (See paragraphs [0068] and [0094] in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta), the deterioration determination device comprising: a storage unit (See paragraph [0072] of Tsukuta) that stores a charge determination value based on a voltage change when the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration is charged by a power source electric power supplied through the reactor with no deterioration (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] of Tsukuta); and a calculation unit that determines at least one of the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when the voltage change the smoothing capacitor during charging by the power source electric power supplied through the reactor is larger than the charge determination value (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] in view of paragraphs [0068], [0094] and further in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta), but fails to disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value. However, Kakiuchi does disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value (See paragraph [0138] of Kakiuchi). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsukuta to include the features disclosed by Kakiuchi because doing so insures a stable power factor.
With respect to claim 3, Tsukuta discloses a deterioration determination device (See paragraphs [0068] and [0094] in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta) that determines deterioration of a reactor and a smoothing capacitor included in a power conversion device (See paragraphs [0068] and [0094] in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta), the deterioration determination device comprising: a storage unit (See paragraph [0072] of Tsukuta) that stores a charge expectation time expected for completion of charging of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration by a power source electric power supplied through the reactor with no deterioration (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] of Tsukuta); and a calculation unit that determines at least one of the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a charging time from a start to an end of charging of the smoothing capacitor with the power source electric power supplied through the reactor is shorter than the charge expectation time (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] in view of paragraphs [0068], [0094] and further in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta) but fails to disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value. However, Kakiuchi does disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value (See paragraph [0138] of Kakiuchi). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsukuta to include the features disclosed by Kakiuchi because doing so insures a stable power factor.
With respect to claim 9, Tsukuta discloses a power conversion device comprising: a reactor (See [13] in figure 2 of Tsukuta) to which a power source electric power is supplied (See [101] in figure 2 of Tsukuta); a smoothing capacitor that is charged by the power source electric power supplied through the reactor (See [12] in figure 2 of Tsukuta); a storage unit (See paragraph [0072] of Tsukuta) that stores a charge determination value based on a voltage change when the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration is charged by the power source electric power supplied through the reactor with no deterioration (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] of Tsukuta); and a calculation unit that determines at least one of the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor during charging is higher than the charge determination value (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] in view of paragraphs [0068], [0094] and further in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta) but fails to disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value. However, Kakiuchi does disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value (See paragraph [0138] of Kakiuchi). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsukuta to include the features disclosed by Kakiuchi because doing so insures a stable power factor.
With respect to claim 10, Tsukuta discloses a power conversion device comprising: a reactor (See [13] in figure 2 of Tsukuta) to which a power source electric power is supplied (See [101] in figure 2 of Tsukuta); a smoothing capacitor that is charged by the power source electric power supplied through the reactor (See [12] in figure 2 of Tsukuta); a storage unit (See paragraph [0072] of Tsukuta) that stores a charge expectation time expected for completion of charging of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration by the power source electric power supplied through the reactor with no deterioration (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] of Tsukuta); and a calculation unit that determines at least one of the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a charging time from a start to an end of charging of the smoothing capacitor is shorter than the charge expectation time (See paragraphs [0070], [0071], [0072] and [0081] in view of paragraphs [0068], [0094] and further in view of paragraphs [0095] and [0096] of Tsukuta) but fails to disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value. However, Kakiuchi does disclose wherein: the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor; and the calculation unit determines that the reactor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value (See paragraph [0138] of Kakiuchi). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Tsukuta to include the features disclosed by Kakiuchi because doing so insures a stable power factor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein: the storage unit stores a smoothing determination value based on the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; and the calculation unit determines that the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in a full charge state during a switching control is greater than the smoothing determination value.
Claim 4 depends from objected to claim 2 and is therefore also objected to.
Claim 5- allowed.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein: the storage unit stores a smoothing determination value based on the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; and the calculation unit determines that the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in a full charge state during a switching control is greater than the smoothing determination value.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein: the storage unit stores a smoothing determination value based on the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; and the calculation unit determines that the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in a full charge state during a switching control is greater than the smoothing determination value.
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements comprising a smoothing determination value based on a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; the calculation unit determines that only the reactor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during a switching control is lower than the smoothing determination value; and the calculation unit determines that only the smoothing capacitor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when the temperature of the reactor is lower than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during the switching control is higher than the smoothing determination value.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements comprising a smoothing determination value based on a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; the calculation unit determines that only the reactor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during a switching control is lower than the smoothing determination value; and the calculation unit determines that only the smoothing capacitor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when the temperature of the reactor is lower than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during the switching control is higher than the smoothing determination value.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements comprising a calculation unit that determines at least one of the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor during charging is higher than the charge determination value, wherein: the storage unit stores a smoothing determination value based on the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; and the calculation unit determines that the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in a full charge state during a switching control is greater than the smoothing determination value.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements comprising a calculation unit that determines at least one of the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a charging time from a start to an end of charging of the smoothing capacitor is shorter than the charge expectation time, wherein: the storage unit stores a smoothing determination value based on the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; and the calculation unit determines that the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in a full charge state during a switching control is greater than the smoothing determination value.
With respect to claim 13, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor, and a smoothing determination value based on a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; the calculation unit determines that only the reactor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during a switching control is lower than the smoothing determination value; and the calculation unit determines that only the smoothing capacitor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when the temperature of the reactor is lower than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during the switching control is higher than the smoothing determination value.
With respect to claim 14, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements the storage unit stores a temperature determination value for determining a temperature state of the reactor, and a smoothing determination value based on a voltage change of the smoothing capacitor with no deterioration in a full charge state when a plurality of switches included in the power conversion device are controlled to switch between an energization state and a cut off state; the calculation unit determines that only the reactor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when a temperature of the reactor is higher than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during a switching control is lower than the smoothing determination value; and the calculation unit determines that only the smoothing capacitor among the reactor and the smoothing capacitor has deteriorated when the temperature of the reactor is lower than the temperature determination value and the voltage change of the smoothing capacitor in the full charge state during the switching control is higher than the smoothing determination value.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US PUB 2018/026539 discloses a power conversion device and method for diagnosing abnormality in voltage sensor characteristics.
/TEMILADE S RHODES-VIVOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/24/2026