DETAILED ACTION
This is Response to Amendments/REMARKS, filed on 03/03/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response regarding Claim Interpretation, 35 USC 112(f) are noted.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 13, 17 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “MCMILLAN” et al. (US 2020/0328875 A1) in view of “Cariño” et al. (US 2019/0109710 A1).
MCMILLAN disclose claim 1. A system for hiding data, the system comprising: at least one processor and memory operably coupled to the at least one processor; instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least processor to implement: an encoder engine [MCMILLAN discloses ENCODER MODULE 204, FIG.2] configured to:
obtain a payload created by a message generation subsystem [MCMILLAN discloses PROFILE BINARY FILE PAYLOAD TO GENERATE PAYLOAD FINGERPRINT 304, FIG.3; MCMILLAN further discloses, “The source computing device profiles a binary file payload to generate a payload fingerprint and generates a text-encoded payload as a function of the binary file payload” (Abstract); see FIG.3 @302 with par.0029], determine metadata associated with the payload, the metadata defining data about at least the primary message [MCMILLAN discloses GENERATE TEXT-ENCODED REPRESENTATION TO GENERATE PAYLOAD FINGERPRINT 310, FIG.3; MCMILLAN further discloses, “The source computing device combines the text-encoded payload and metadata including the payload fingerprint to generate a message data structure, and serializes the message data structure to generate a serialized message” (Abstract); see FIG.3 @304-314 with par.0030-0033], and generate modified metadata with an encoding for the payload [MCMILLAN discloses COMBINE PAYLOAD FINGERPRINT WITH USER-SUPPLIED METADATA TO GENERATE AGGREGATED METADATA 312, FIG.3; MCMILLAN further discloses, “The source computing device may sign the text-encoded payload and the metadata to generate a signature included in the serialized message” (Abstract); FIG.3 @316-322 with par.0034-0036]; and
a transmitter engine [MCMILLAN discloses COMMUNICATION MODULE 204, FIG.2] configured to transmit the payload and the modified metadata [MCMILLAN disclose TRANSMIT SERIALIZED DATA MESSAGE TO INTENDED RECIPENT 324, FIG.3; MCMILLAN further discloses, “The source computing device transmits the serialized message to the recipient computing device” (Abstract); FIG.3 @324 with par.0037].
Cariño may not expressly disclose; but, Cariño, analogues art, discloses payload comprising a primary message including substantive content related to networked communications [Cariño discloses ID input file, output file, and the data 100 (FIG.2)], and including by hiding the encoding in one or more bits of the metadata and not in the primary message [Cariño discloses “The start location, the masking algorithm, and encoding algorithm are encoded into a metadata file, and the metadata file is also encoded into the output digital file” (Abstract); see also FIG.2, where Cariño disclose the process of encoding metadata into output file].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of MCMILLAN by incorporating the teaching of Cariño for encoding private data into a file that is more secure than traditional mechanisms due to increased entropy or randomness of the encoding.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected for the same rationale of rejecting claim 1 above; as they are directed to A system and A method for hiding data (having similar limitation as that of the system claim).
MCMILLAN in view of Cariño disclose claim 2. The system of claim 1, wherein the encoder engine is configured to generate modified metadata by inserting the encoding into the original metadata [MCMILLAN disclose SERIALIZE MESSAGE DATA TO GENERATE SERILIZED MESSAGE 322, FIG.3; MCMILLAN further discloses, “The source computing device may sign the text-encoded payload and the metadata to generate a signature included in the serialized message” (Abstract); FIG.3 @316-322 with par.0034-0036].
MCMILLAN in view of Cariño disclose claim 3. The system of claim 1, wherein the encoder engine is configured to generate modified metadata by generating an encoding plaintext, wherein the modified metadata is generated by payload packaging of the encoding plaintext [MCMILLAN discloses, “To encrypt the text-encoded representation, the source computing device 102 may use any encryption technique that accepts text-encoded plaintext input and generates text-encoded cipher text output” (par.0031 with FIG.3 @306-310].
MCMILLAN in view of Cariño disclose claim 9/17. The system for hiding data of claim 1/13, wherein the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least on processor to further implement: a listener and/or a decoder/an interceptor engine [MCMILLAN discloses, RECIPIENT COMPUTING DEVICE 104/220 that include COMM, DECENTRALIZE, DECODER & VERIFIER MODULES 222-228, FIG.2] configured to: receive/intercept the transmitted payload and the modified metadata, parse the modified metadata, and decode the modified metadata [see FIG.5, where MCMILLAN discloses receiving serialized data @504, loads user-supplied metadata & text-encoded payload @508-510, and decodes text-encoded payload @512].
Claim(s) 4-7, 11, 12, 14-16 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “MCMILLAN” et al. (US 2020/0328875 A1) in view of “Cariño” et al. (US 2019/0109710 A1), and further in view of “Ramaswamy” et al. (US 9,042,598 B2).
MCMILLAN disclose The system of claim 1. MCMILLAN fails; but, Ramaswamy, analogues art, discloses claim 4., wherein the modified metadata includes a set of bits, and wherein the encoding is only a subset of the set of bits [Ramaswamy discloses compressor 414 (FIG.4) that encodes character in bits (see col.9, lines 37-65)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of MCMILLAN by incorporating the bit encryption technique of Ramaswamy for compressing data for insertion in watermarks.
MCMILLAN in view of Ramaswamy further disclose claim 5-7. The system of claim 1, wherein the transmitter engine is configured to transmit the payload and the modified metadata in a package including a plurality of segments; wherein the package includes an original plaintext and original metadata in a first segment of the plurality of segments and an encoding plaintext and the modified metadata in a second segment of the plurality of segments [MCMILLAN discloses, “To encrypt the text-encoded representation, the source computing device 102 may use any encryption technique that accepts text-encoded plaintext input and generates text-encoded cipher text output” (par.0031 with FIG.3 @306-310], wherein the first segment of the plurality of segments is any segment in the plurality of segments; and wherein the package includes an original plaintext and the modified metadata in a first segment of the plurality of segments [see FIG.12, where Ramaswamy discloses receiving media segments].
The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 4 above.
MCMILLAN in view of Ramaswamy further disclose claim 11. The system of claim 9, wherein the decoder engine is further configured to: generate a confirmation message; and transmit the confirmation message for receipt by the encoder engine [MCMILLAN discloses FIG.5, @520 Verify binary file payload using payload fingerprint (see the process loops back to receive message 502)].
MCMILLAN in view of Ramaswamy further disclose claim 12. The system of claim 9, wherein the modified metadata is generated using an encoding algorithm and the encoder is further configured to modify the encoding algorithm to a modified encoding algorithm, and wherein the transmitter engine is further configured to transmit the modified encoding algorithm to the decoder engine [see FIG.1, where Ramaswamy discloses plurality of encoders (104, 106); and encoding technique of truncating keyword … (F?IGS.10-12)].
The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 4 above.
MCMILLAN in view of Ramaswamy further disclose claim 14/18. The system of claim 13/17, wherein the injector/listener is embedded in a device along a network route of the payload [MCMILLAN discloses “an embedded device” (par.0017); and seeFIGS.2-3, where Ramaswamy discloses embedding watermarks, keywords, etc.… (WATERMARK EMBEDDER)].
The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 4 above.
MCMILLAN disclose claim 15. The system of claim 13, wherein the in-stream injector engine generates the modified metadata with the encoding without modifying a data section of the package [MCMILLAN discloses, “To encrypt the text-encoded representation, the source computing device 102 may use any encryption technique that accepts text-encoded plaintext input and generates text-encoded cipher text output” (par.0031 with FIG.3 @306-310].
MCMILLAN in view of Ramaswamy further disclose claim 16. The system of claim 13, further comprising: a second injector including: a second receiver engine configured to receive the package including the modified metadata on the communication interface; a second in-stream injector engine configured to: determine the modified metadata associated with the package, further modify the modified metadata with a second encoding to generate second modified metadata, and inject the second modified metadata in the package; and a second forwarder engine configured to forward the package including the second modified metadata on the communication interface [see FIGS.3 & 5, where MCMILLAN discloses the process of encoding and decoding loops back to encoding payload and receive message 302, 502].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “MCMILLAN” et al. (US 2020/0328875 A1) in view of “Cariño” et al. (US 2019/0109710 A1), and further in view of “Ramaswamy” et al. (US 9,042,598 B2) in view of “Alten” (US 7,437,553 B2).
MCMILLAN disclose The system of claim 1. MCMILLAN fail; but, Alten, analogues art, discloses claim 8. wherein the package includes a TCP/IP packet or TCP/IP packet fragment [see Fig.1, where Alten discloses TCP/IP stack 121].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of MCMILLAN by incorporating the TCP/IP stack of Alten for securing autonomous systems that use the Internet Protocol untrusted layer uses the metadata to manage at least some aspects of the decoding, rendering and display in the trusted layer, without exposure of decrypted media data or key data within the untrusted layer.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “MCMILLAN” et al. (US 2020/0328875 A1) in view of “Cariño” et al. (US 2019/0109710 A1), and further in view of “Ramaswamy” et al. (US 9,042,598 B2) in view of “Wu” et al. (US 2016/0070887 A1).
MCMILLAN disclose The system of claim 9, and the encoder engine. MCMILLAN fail; but, Wu, analogues art, discloses claim 10. wherein further configured to generate the modified metadata to include a control value associated with the modified metadata, and wherein the decoder engine is further configured to evaluate the control value in decoding the modified metadata [see par.0097, whee Wu discloses “The host decoder (230) can extract values from the NALULengthInfo attribute and the NALUTypes attribute and use the extracted values to control aspects of decoding (e.g., picture buffer management, resource management)”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of MCMILLAN by incorporating the bit encryption technique of Wu for untrusted layer uses the metadata to manage at least some aspects of the decoding, rendering and display in the trusted layer, without exposure of decrypted media data or key data within the untrusted layer.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “MCMILLAN” et al. (US 2020/0328875 A1) in view of “Cariño” et al. (US 2019/0109710 A1), and further in view of “Ramaswamy” et al. (US 9,042,598 B2) in view of “Weiler” et al. (US 2021/0218547 A1).
MCMILLAN disclose The system of claim 17, the decoder engine. MCMILLAN fails; but, Weiler, analogues art, discloses claim 19. wherein further configured to modify the package to further modify the modified metadata to remove the encoding or a portion of the encoding [Weiler discloses, “the address metadata encoded in the unused bits of the encoded pointer 114 are removed (e.g., return the unused bits to their original form)” (par.0049)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of MCMILLAN by incorporating the encoder pointer removal teaching Weiler to restore the original value of the encoded pointer 114 (e.g., the true, original linear memory address).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/AMARE F TABOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434