DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s first argument is that de Groot teaches moving objective 58 (FIG. 1) instead of reference object 61, however, this argument is not persuasive. In particular, paragraph 73 of de Groot teaches both versions as examples of implementations. Implementations that vary the optical path difference by moving the reference object are relied on in this action to teach the limitation in question. Note that only movement along the optical axis of light would change the optical path length of a light path. The optical axis of the light incident on reference surface 61 is the axis from polarizing beam splitter 60. As one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, moving reference surface 61 in the direction of the arrow ζ would not substantially affect the optical path difference taught by de Groot.
Applicant’s second argument is that the optical path length is between the reference object 61 and the measurement object 53, however, this argument is not persuasive. Paragraph 73 describes the optical path length difference (OPD) as between (1) light directed to and reflected from reference object 61 and (2) light directed to and directed from measurement object 53. The OPD does not refer to any optical path from refence object 61 to measurement object 53, nor vice versa. Further, the system of FIG. 1 does not appear configured to send any substantial amount of light along such an optical path, instead sending light from polarizing beam splitter to each of those targets separately before recombining the returned light and sending it upward toward the detectors.
Applicant’s third and fourth arguments are that de Groot’s teaching that in “some implementations, system 50 is configured to modify the OPD by moving reference object 61” (paragraph 73 of de Groot) does not teach all limitations due to de Groot teaching that the OPD can be modified by moving polarized objective 58 or measurement object 53 or due to FIG. 1 not showing a component attached directly to reference object 61 to move it, however, these arguments are not persuasive. While de Groot does also teach those other ways to modify the OPD, they do not negate the fact that paragraph 73 teaches an implementation that does anticipate the claimed limitations. Likewise, de Groot’s decision not to include the part of system 50 that performs the movement of reference object 61 explicitly in FIG. 1 does not negate the teaching of paragraph 73 of such a part. Further, the position of drive electronics does not strictly dictate the position of the device electronically driven thereby. (It may also be noted de Groot uses reference number 70 to refer to both drive electronics 70 and translation stage 70 in the specification, which also refers to a transducer 71, which is not found in the figures, but the present action does not rely on a particular interpretation of which parts of FIG. 1 should be labeled 70 or 71.)
Applicant’s fifth argument is that claim 23 is not taught by de Groot due to drive electronics 70 moving other components, however, this argument is not persuasive. Drive electronics 70 drive a motor that moves various parts, but the motor itself is a separate component. As noted in Applicant’s fourth argument, a motor driving one component would be placed differently from a motor moving a different part, the motor driven to move the polarized objective 58 or the measurement object 53 would need to be different from a motor moving reference object 61.
Since claim 1 is not allowed, similar arguments do not render claim 11 allowable.
Since the independent claims are not allowed, their dependent claims are not automatically allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10-16, 19-20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by de Groot (US Patent Publication 20150002852).
Regarding claim 1, de Groot teaches a system comprising:
an illumination source configured to emit light along an illumination path (FIG. 1, source 54);
a first beam splitter disposed in the illumination path (FIG. 1, polarizing beam splitter 60) and configured to direct a portion of the light toward a sample (FIG. 1, measurement object 53) and direct another portion of the light along a reference path (FIG. 1, toward reference object 61),
wherein the sample reflects the light along a collection path (FIG. 1, beam extending upward from measurement object 53);
a reference surface (FIG. 1, reference object 61) disposed in the reference path and configured to reflect the light back to the first beam splitter to be recombined with the light reflected by the sample in the collection path (FIG. 1, above beam splitter 60);
n detectors disposed in the collection path, where n ≥ 2 (FIG. 1, first detector 66 and second detector 67);
at least one second beam splitter disposed in the collection path and configured to direct n portions of the light toward the n detectors (FIG. 1, beam splitter 65), respectively, wherein each of the n portions of the light have a preset phase shift (paragraph 5);
a processor in electronic communication with the n detectors that is configured to receive intensities of the n portions of the light measured by the n detectors, respectively (FIG. 1, computer control system 52); and
a motor in electronic communication with the processor and configured to move the reference surface between the plurality of signal collection positions along an axis between the first beam splitter and the reference surface (paragraph 73 describes implementations in which changes in optical path length difference (OPD) is effected by moving reference object 61. Moving reference object 61 in such a way as to change the OPD would necessarily be along the axis between the polarizing beam splitter 60 and reference object 61. Also see paragraph 83, which lists a stepper motor as an appropriate means to translate the various translation stages in the system, with translation stage 70 only used as an example), wherein the processor is configured to control at least one of the n detectors to capture measurements at the plurality of signal collection positions (FIG. 1, computer 52. Also see paragraph 82);
wherein the reference surface is movable between a plurality of signal collection positions to vary a length of the reference path between the first beam splitter and the reference surface, and the processor is further configured to calculate an interferogram envelope based on the intensities of the n portions of the light measured by the n detectors at at least two of the plurality of signal collection positions (paragraph 73, first half of sentence 3, moving reference object 61. Note that modifying the optical path length difference (OPD) between light that travels along the reference arm and the measurement arm by moving the reference object means varying the length of the reference arm from the first beam splitter 60 to the reference object 61 in a way not counteracted by corresponding changes to the measurement arm.).
Regarding claim 2, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the at least one second beam splitter comprises at least one polarizing beam splitter configured polarize at least one of the n portions of the light (FIG. 1, the combination of beam-splitter 65, first polarizer 68, and second polarizer 69 splits the beam into polarized beams) to have the preset phase shift (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 3, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above), further comprising polarization elements disposed between the at least one second beam splitter and at least one of the n detectors, wherein the polarization elements are configured polarize at least one of the n portions of the light (FIG. 1, first polarizer 68 and second polarizer 69 splits the beam into polarized beams) to have the preset phase shift (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 4, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the processor is configured to calculate the interferogram envelope (paragraph 85) based on the intensities of the n portions of the light measured by the n detectors at 3 or more of the signal collection positions (paragraph 11 says that scan positions may be separated by uniform or non-uniform scan intervals, which only makes sense if there are three or more different scan positions (resulting in two or more intervals that can be equal (uniform) or unequal (non-uniform))).
Regarding claim 5, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the processor is further configured to determine a height of the sample based on a maximum value of the interferogram envelope (paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 7, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the motor (paragraph 83, translation stage that scans reference object 61) is further configured to move one or more optical components to keep the sample in focus while the reference surface moves between the plurality of signal collection positions (paragraph 73, choosing to configure the system to only move reference object 61 would leave the sample in focus. Also see paragraphs 81-83).
Regarding claim 10, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the n detectors are positioned such that each of the n portions of the light have the preset phase shift (FIG. 1, first detector 66 receives a signal shifted in phase relative to the signal of second detector 67 due to first detector 66 being disposed behind first polarizer 68, whereas second detector 67 is disposed behind second polarizer 69. Note that simply introducing a difference between optical path lengths from the at least one second beam splitter to the respective detectors would not introduce a measurable difference in the phase of the measurement signals within the scope of the present disclosure, as the difference in optical path length required would be based on the distance that light can travel between frames recorded by the generic CCD cameras of the present disclosure, which would be quite a long distance. This is different from the optical path length differences between the reference and sample paths, required to produce interference fringes, which are based on wavelengths of light (e.g., hundreds of nanometers).).
Regarding claim 11, de Groot teaches a method comprising:
emitting light with an illumination source along an illumination path (FIG. 1, source 54);
directing a portion of the light toward a sample with a first beam splitter disposed in the illumination path (FIG. 1, polarizing beam splitter 60), wherein the sample reflects the light along a collection path (FIG. 1, measurement object 53);
directing another portion of the light along a reference path with the first beam splitter (FIG. 1, from beam splitter 60 to reference object 61),
wherein a reference surface disposed in the reference path reflects the light back to the first beam splitter and is recombined with the light reflected by the sample in the collection path (FIG. 1, reference object 61);
directing n portions of the light toward n detectors (FIG. 1, first detector 66 and second detector 67), respectively, with at least one second beam splitter disposed in the collection path (FIG. 1, beam splitter 65), wherein each of the n portions of the light have a preset phase shift and n ≥ 2 (FIG. 1 shows a case with n=2);
measuring intensities of the n portions of the light received by the n detectors, respectively (paragraph 5);
moving the reference surface between a plurality of signal collection positions along an axis between the first beam splitter and the reference surface to vary a length of the reference path between the first beam splitter and the reference surface (paragraph 73, first half of sentence 3, moving reference object 61. Note that modifying the optical path length difference (OPD) between light that travels along the reference arm and the measurement arm by moving the reference object means varying the length of the reference arm from the first beam splitter 60 to the reference object 61 in a way not counteracted by corresponding changes to the measurement arm. Varying the length of the reference arm by moving reference object 61 requires moving reference object along the axis between beam splitter 60 and reference object 61, as transverse movement would not substantially change the optical path length or the OPD dependent thereon); and
calculating, using a processor (FIG. 1, computer control system 52), an interferogram envelope based on the intensities of the n portions of the light measured by the n detectors at at least two of the plurality of signal collection positions (paragraph 73, moving the reference object 61).
Regarding claim 12, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the at least one second beam splitter comprises at least one polarizing beam splitter (FIG. 1, the combination of beam-splitter 65, first polarizer 68, and second polarizer 69 splits the beam into polarized beams, collectively forming a polarizing beam splitter), and the method further comprises:
polarizing, with the at least one second beam splitter, at least one of the n portions of the light to have the preset phase shift (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 13, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above), wherein polarization elements are disposed between the at least one second beam splitter and at least one of the n detectors (FIG. 1, first polarizer 68 and second polarizer 69 splits the beam into polarized beams), and the method further comprises:
polarizing, with the polarization elements, at least one of the n portions of the light to have the preset phase shift (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 14, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the processor is configured to calculate the interferogram envelope based on the intensities of the n portions of the light measured by the n detectors at 3 or more of the signal collection positions (paragraph 11 says that scan positions may be separated by uniform or non-uniform scan intervals, which only makes sense if there are three or more different scan positions (resulting in two or more intervals that can be equal (uniform) or unequal (non-uniform))).
Regarding claim 15, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the processor is configured to control at least one of the n detectors to capture measurements at the plurality of signal collection positions (FIG. 1, computer 52. Also see paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 16, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above), further comprising:
moving one or more optical components to keep the sample in focus while the reference surface moves between the plurality of signal collection positions (paragraph 73, choosing to configure the system to only move reference object 61 would leave the sample in focus. Also see paragraphs 81-83).
Regarding claim 19, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above), wherein the n detectors are positioned such that each of the n portions of the light have the preset phase shift (FIG. 1, first detector 66 receives a signal shifted in phase relative to the signal of second detector 67 due to first detector 66 being disposed behind first polarizer 68, whereas second detector 67 is disposed behind second polarizer 69. Note that simply introducing a difference between optical path lengths from the at least one second beam splitter to the respective detectors would not introduce a measurable difference in the phase of the measurement signals within the scope of the present disclosure, as the difference in optical path length required would be based on the distance that light can travel between frames recorded by the generic CCD cameras of the present disclosure, which would be quite a long distance. This is different from the optical path length differences between the reference and sample paths, required to produce interference fringes, which are based on wavelengths of light (e.g., hundreds of nanometers).).
Regarding claim 20, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above), further comprising:
determining a height of the sample based on a maximum value of the interferogram envelope (paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 23, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the motor is configured only to move the reference surface between the plurality of signal collection positions (paragraph 73, sentence 3, first half).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Groot (US Patent Publication 20150002852).
Regarding claim 21, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above).
While de Groot does not explicitly teach that n ≥ 3, de Groot does teach multiple values of phase-shift as options (paragraph 72, final sentence, 90 degrees and 180 degrees are listed as options). Including a third detector, along with an additional beam splitter and polarizer as needed, would allow de Groot to capture a first interferogram along with additional interferograms shifted from that first interferogram in phase by both 90 degrees and 180 degrees, increasing the amount of data available to analyze.
Merely duplicating parts does not generally patentably distinguish over the prior art, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the interferometer of de Groot by including one or more additional detectors with preset phase shifts to cover more values of phase shifts simultaneously, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 22, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above).
While de Groot does not explicitly teach that n ≥ 3, de Groot does teach multiple values of phase-shift as options (paragraph 72, final sentence, 90 degrees and 180 degrees are listed as options). Including a third detector, along with an additional beam splitter and polarizer as needed, would allow de Groot to capture a first interferogram along with additional interferograms shifted from that first interferogram in phase by both 90 degrees and 180 degrees, increasing the amount of data available to analyze.
Merely duplicating parts does not generally patentably distinguish over the prior art, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the interferometry method of de Groot by including one or more additional detectors with preset phase shifts to cover more values of phase shifts simultaneously, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Groot (US Patent Publication 20150002852) in view of Ko (US Patent Publication 20090278965).
Regarding claim 8, de Groot teaches the system of claim 6 (as described above).
While de Groot does not explicitly teach that the motor is configured to move the reference surface at a constant speed, de Groot does present varying the scan speed as an option that may be allowed (paragraph 83) and lists some exemplary scan speeds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have not chosen the option presented by de Groot of varying the scan speed, instead opting to maintain a constant scan speed, perhaps at one of the rates listed by de Groot or perhaps at a different speed, which de Groot describes as possible as well.
De Groot does not teach that the processor is configured to control the n detectors to capture measurements at different times to create the preset phase shift between each of the n portions of the light.
In the same field of endeavor of using multiple imaging systems to collect imaging data of a single subject, Ko teaches using a plurality of cameras controlled to interleave when they capture images (FIG. 2, with two cameras, as contrasted with the single camera of FIG. 1). By doing this, Ko captures images at offset times.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imaging interferometer of de Groot with the time-offset imaging with multiple imaging devices of Ko in order to create a phase offset by imaging the combined interference light at different times.
Regarding claim 9, de Groot teaches the system of claim 1 (as described above).
De Groot does not teach that the processor is configured to control the n detectors to capture measurements at different signal collection positions to create the preset phase shift between each of the n portions of the light.
In the same field of endeavor of using multiple imaging systems to collect imaging data of a single subject, Ko teaches using a plurality of cameras controlled to interleave when they capture images (FIG. 2, with two cameras, as contrasted with the single camera of FIG. 1). By doing this, Ko captures images at offset times.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imaging interferometer of de Groot with the time-offset imaging with multiple imaging devices of Ko in order to create a phase offset by imaging the combined interference light at different times.
Regarding claim 17, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above).
De Groot does not teach that the processor is configured to control the n detectors to capture measurements at different times to create the preset phase shift between the n portions of the light.
In the same field of endeavor of using multiple imaging systems to collect imaging data of a single subject, Ko teaches using a plurality of cameras controlled to interleave when they capture images (FIG. 2, with two cameras, as contrasted with the single camera of FIG. 1). By doing this, Ko captures images at offset times.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imaging interferometry method of de Groot with the time-offset imaging with multiple imaging devices of Ko in order to create a phase offset by imaging the combined interference light at different times.
Regarding claim 18, de Groot teaches the method of claim 11 (as described above).
De Groot does not teach that the processor is configured to control the n detectors to capture measurements at different signal collection positions to create the preset phase shift between the n portions of the light.
In the same field of endeavor of using multiple imaging systems to collect imaging data of a single subject, Ko teaches using a plurality of cameras controlled to interleave when they capture images (FIG. 2, with two cameras, as contrasted with the single camera of FIG. 1). By doing this, Ko captures images at offset times.
Note that, when an object, such as a reference surface, is moving, taking images at different times directly corresponds to taking images at different positions of the moving object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imaging interferometry method of de Groot with the time- (and, correspondingly, space-) offset imaging with multiple imaging devices of Ko in order to create a phase offset by imaging the combined interference light at different spatial positions of the reference object.
Conclusion
/PAUL SCHNASE/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877