DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended as filed on 03/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2024/0430279 A1), hereinafter Huang, in view of Nomula et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2024/0168443 A1), hereinafter Nomula, in view of Ryver (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2021/0352087 A1), and in further view of Murdock, IV et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2024/0098055 A1), hereinafter Murdock.
2. With respect to claims 1, 9, and 17, Huang taught a method comprising: deploying a first machine learning model based on first data associated with a first cybersecurity incident of a plurality of cybersecurity incidents (0005, where the cybersecurity incident monitoring is described in 0002 & 0021); training the first ML model based on actor attribution associated with the first cybersecurity incident to deploy a second ML model (0031); receiving second data associated with a second cybersecurity incident of the plurality of cybersecurity incidents (0031, the multiple modules teaches the second module); and training, by a processing device for the second ML model using the second data, an attribution of the second cybersecurity incident to an actor (0031).
However, Huang did not explicitly state that the models were being generated that training the models included producing the models. On the other hand, Nomula did teach that the models were being generated that training the models included producing the models (0013 & 0076. See also: 0069). Both of the systems of Huang and Nomula are directed towards managing machine learning models and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Huang, to utilize generating a machine learning models, as taught by Nomula, as it could be argued that Huang already performed this step in the training and deploying features of the invention. However, it is not explicitly stated.
However, Nomula did not explicitly state wherein the second ML model is trained using reasoning data comprising historical analytical processes that produced historical associations between historical cybersecurity incidents and historical threat actors. On the other hand, Ryver did teach wherein the second ML model is trained using reasoning data comprising historical analytical processes that produced historical associations between historical cybersecurity incidents and historical threat actors (0054-0058, where the historical malicious actor data trains the model). Both of the systems of Huang and Ryver are directed towards managing machine learning models and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Huang, to utilize generating a machine learning models based on historical malicious actor data, as taught by Ryver, in order to maintain a more accurate model for detecting threats.
However, Huang did not explicitly state investigation data, wherein the investigation data comprises analyst notes corresponding to historical attribution investigations and that the output comprised a validation of reasoning information identified in the second data; wherein the historical analytical processes include investigation options utilized to research the historical cybersecurity incidents and the investigation data comprises analyst notes documenting the historical cybersecurity incidents corresponding to historical attributions; and wherein the validation of reasoning information comprises comparing an analyst report included in the second data to the historical analytical processes and the investigation data. On the other hand, Murdock did teach investigation data, wherein the investigation data comprises analyst notes corresponding to historical attribution investigations (0031) and that the output comprised a validation of reasoning information identified in the second data (0031, the factor weights used to train/update further models. Accordingly, the weights represent reasoning data under broadest reasonable interpretation); wherein the historical analytical processes include investigation options utilized to research the historical cybersecurity incidents and the investigation data comprises analyst notes documenting the historical cybersecurity incidents corresponding to historical attributions (0031, where the insights of the user teaches analyst notes that are documenting the incident. Accordingly, investigative options can simply be any decision data in the record under broadest reasonable interpretation); and wherein the validation of reasoning information comprises comparing an analyst report included in the second data to the historical analytical processes and the investigation data (0030-0031, where it can be seen that the user data is utilized to train the model base don reported user solutions such as system faults, which could potentially be a cybersecurity incident. Lastly, Murdock generically teaches dealing with incidents. An incident, specifically being a cybersecurity incident, was previously shown by Huang: 0005). Both of the systems of Huang and Murdock are directed towards security analytics and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Huang, to utilize training a model with user notations, as taught by Murdock, in order to look at the totality of relevant data for training a model.
3. As for claims 2 and 10, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 9 (respectively). In addition, Huang taught identifying the first cybersecurity incident associated with the first data from at least one of: a data archive, scaped content, or an external report (0032, where the external trigger that’s reported, at least, teaches the external report limitation).
4. As for claims 3, 11, and 18, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 9, and 17 (respectively). In addition, Ryver taught wherein the reasoning data comprises step-by-step demonstrations of the historical analytical process that produced the associations between the historical cybersecurity incidents and the historical threat actors (0054-0058, where the step process is given to build a historical record of actors and associated incidents).
5. As for claims 4 and 12, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 9 (respectively). In addition, Huang taught wherein the actor attribution corresponds to a ground truth label for a particular incident of the plurality of cybersecurity incidents, and wherein the actor for the particular incident is identifiable with a threshold level of confidence using the ground truth label (0015 & 0017, where the associated historical data is a ground truth label based on the applicant’s definition, located in paragraph 0023, as well as broadest reasonable interpretation).
6. As for claims 5 and 13, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 9 (respectively). In addition, Huang taught wherein the second data associated with the second cybersecurity incident is a prompt related to the plurality of cybersecurity incidents, the second cybersecurity incident being validated based on the prompt (0028, where the updated events prompt the system under broadest reasonable interpretation).
7. As for claims 6, 14, and 19, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 6, 14, and 19 (respectively). In addition, Huang taught wherein the producing the attribution of the second cybersecurity incident, comprises: outputting, by the second ML model, at least one of a prediction, a textual analysis, or an embedding associated with the second data (0017).
8. As for claims 7, 15, and 20, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 9, and 17 (respectively). In addition, Huang taught wherein the textual analysis comprises at least one of: a hypothesis related to the second cybersecurity incident, the validation of the reasoning information associated with a prompt related to the second cybersecurity incident, or a suggestion for an additional prompt related to discovery procedures associated with the second cybersecurity incident (0017, where the prediction, at least, teaches the hypothesis limitation).
9. As for claims 8 and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 9 (respectively). In addition, Huang taught storing a record of prior cybersecurity incidents in an indexed database based on an embedding generated from the second data (0021, the historical activity is stored in databases in accordance with 0020 & 0058).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
10. The applicant argues on page 11 that “the incident management system data is used to build user interest profiles, not to document cybersecurity investigations. Murdock explicitly states this data determines a user's "areas of expertise" and "topics of interest" so the system can alert the user when "a multi-party discussion in which the user is a participant has become relevant for the user."”
However, 0030 shows that the incident management system is designed to managed user incidents such as system faults (which could potentially be a cyber security incident), browser issues, and the like.
11. The applicant argues on page 12 that “Murdock discloses a system that uses weights for individual relevance factors such as a user's level of expertise on the topic, how often a user has historically responded to topics, and the magnitude of data input on a topic. These weights are mathematical coefficients for computing relevance scores, not an output that validates the reasoning in an analyst report. In addition, claim 1 as amended requires comparing an analyst report to "the historical analytical processes and the investigation data," which is not taught or suggested by Murdock. Murdock's system compares discussion topics to user interest profiles to determine relevance, but Murdock does not teach an analyst report as an input. Instead, Murdock's inputs are multi-party discussion content and user profile data, which are not an analyst report containing cybersecurity reasoning requiring validation. Furthermore, Murdock's output is a "relevance alert" notifying users that a discussion matches their interests. Murdock discloses "generating an alert indicating that the multi-party discussion has a topic relevance above a relevance threshold for the user." This is different from "validation of reasoning information”.
However, Murdock’s stated purpose for the user corpus data is generally dealing with optimization machine learning models (0047). More importantly, optimization includes assigning users the correct topics/channels, but also managing incidents that user may encounter (0030). The Murdock’s system doesn’t appear to specifically claim cybersecurity incidents (it does, however, mention security applications), but the system is generally related to training models for optimization and user incident management. As a cybersecurity incident is a type of incident (Huang: 0005), the claimed limitations have been provided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443