DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This is a first action on the merits. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 July 2014 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 28 September 2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “dark” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “dark” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification mentions “black or dark-colored” but it is not clear what range beyond black is considered dark-colored/
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the carrier layer.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Carrier layer is first claimed in claim 3.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/194,195. The claims filed on 30 April 2025 were considered for analysis. This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1, the ‘195 application claims an interlayer comprising a thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) layer comprising luminescent solar concentrators which read on photovoltaic cells, and an optical layer in contact with the TPU layer. Claims 7 and 8 specify that the optical layer may include a metal foil or film. As the luminescent solar concentrators are in contact with the foil optical layer, this reads on being disposed on the foil layer as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, claim 14 of the ‘195 application further recites first and second rigid sheets with the interlayer disposed between them. The rigid sheets read on the claimed carrier layer.
Regarding claim 5, the TPU layer of claim 1 of the ‘195 application comprises polyurethane.
Regarding claim 6, claim 8 of the ‘195 application recites an aluminum foil layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldstein (U.S. Pub. 2015/0243446).
Regarding claim 1, Goldstein describes photovoltaic cells having a seal formed from thermoplastic polymers such as polyethylene with an aluminum foil laminate layer, see abstract and p. 4, [0051] and p. 8, [0145] and p. 9, [0160].
Regarding claim 6, Goldstein describes an aluminum foil layer, see p. 9, [0160].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klimov (U.S. Pub. 2017/0218264).
Regarding claim 1, Klimov discloses a device that includes a photovoltaic cell and other components which is disposed between two window panes, see p. 2, [0013]. The device thus acts as a seal for the window panes. Fig. 7 depicts the device 200 comprising a waveguide 210 comprising a polymer matrix with photovoltaic cells 220, 230, 240, and 250 attached thereto. The device includes photovoltaic cells having a polymeric base layer, see p. 11, [0112] and element 410 of FIG. 9. Adjacent layer 420 can be a metal layer, see id.
The plurality of photovoltaic cells are thus disposed on a metal foil layer and adjacent to a polymeric base layer as claimed.
It would have been obvious to have selected a polymeric base material as this is one of the specified suitable substrate materials.
Regarding claim 2, Klimov teaches that the waveguide may be colored and tinted, see p. 11, [0110], and thus may comprise a dark colored polymeric material.
Regarding claim 3, Klimov teaches that the device may be disposed between two window panes, see p. 2, [0013]. The window pane reads on a carrier layer attached to the polymeric base layer.
Regarding claim 5, Klimov teaches that polyurethane is a suitable material for the base layer, see p. 11, [0112] describing polymers and p. 2, [0016] and claim 79 describing polyurethane as the polymer matrix material.
Regarding claim 6, Klimov teaches that the metal of the bottom contact layer 420 may be aluminum metal, see p. 11, [0112]
Claims 4, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klimov (U.S. Pub. 2017/0218264) in view of Ackermann (U.S. Pub. 2013/0306127).
Regarding claim 4, Klimov describes the seal of claim 1 as described above. Klimov does not specify a carrier layer which is embossed.
However, Ackermann describes laminated solar concentration devices (see p. 1, [0001]) and teaches a carrier layer which is embossed, see carrier layer 3 of FIG. 2 and description of Example 1 at p. 10, [0164].
Klimov and Ackermann are analogous because they each describe photovoltaics and luminescent solar concentration devices, thus they are suitable to be used together.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide an embossed carrier layer for the photovoltaic device of Klimov as taught by Ackermann to provide a pattern that has sharpness and thereby ensure that a laminate provides a lens, see Ackermann at p. 10, [0164].
Regarding claims 7-9, Klimov describes the seal of claim 1 as described above, including that the foil layer (layer 420 in FIG. 9) includes a first side and second side (the top and bottom sides as shown). However, Klimov does not specify an adhesive coating on at least one side of the foil layer as claimed.
Ackermann teaches an adhesive coating (layer 4 of FIG. 1) on at least one side of a UV-protecting foil layer 5. See description at p. 9, [0155]. The adhesive is transparent to ensure that optical properties are retained, see p. 8, [0138]. A suitable adhesive is a melt adhesive such as 2K-PU adhesive which is a thermoplastic polyurethane adhesive, see p. 9, [0148-0149].
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klimov (U.S. Pub. 2017/0218264) as applied above, and further in view of Barr (U.S. Pub. 2019/0036480).
Regarding claim 10, Klimov is relied upon as described above to disclose the limitations of claim 1, including a top contact electrode (item 460 in FIG. 9) and an alloy layer (see p. 11, [0112]). However, Klimov does not specify a second electrode as claimed.
Barr describes window-integrated transparent photovoltaic modules, see title and abstract. The modules include a first and second transparent electrode layer, see p. 1, [0005].
Klimov and Barr are analogous because they each disclose window-integrated photovoltaic modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a second electrode as disclosed in Barr to the device of Klimov in order to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as this provides additional electrodes which ensures that the device directs electricity through the electrodes, see Barr at p. 1, [0005].
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Klimov teaches an alloy layer which includes indium and sulfur (In2S3), see paragraph [0112]. Gallium is also disclosed (GaAs).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Klimov teaches an alloy layer which includes indium and selenium (In2Se3), see paragraph [0112]. Zinc selenide (ZnSe) is also disclosed.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Klimov discloses that the alloy layer may be printed on the foil layer, see p. 9, [0096]. The printing can be performed onto a substrate which implies being printed after the first electrode is formed. Furthermore, the sequence of when the alloy layer is printed is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the process produces unexpected results. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Klimov describes printing of the alloy layer.
Regarding claim 16, Klimov discloses aluminum metal at p. 9, [0096].
Regarding claim 17, Barr discloses transparent electrode layer, see p. 1, [0005] for the photovoltaic module.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/Scott R. Walshon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759