DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-12 and 14-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “the piston cylinder is formed on the first caliper body and the second caliper body” is not clear. Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, defines in singular form “a piston cylinder”. From Applicant’s disclosure, the claim appears to recite that each of the first and second caliper body comprises at least one piston cylinder (Applicant figure 3). “the piston cylinder is formed on the first caliper body and the second caliper body” isn’t understood because the limitation appears to recite that the singular piston cylinder is formed on both the first and second caliper body. It is unclear how a singular piston cylinder can be on two separate parts of the caliper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Itsuaki et al. (US-8261889).
Regarding claim 1, Itsuaki et al. discloses a caliper body (fig 1, 1), a brake disc groove (D) and a piston cylinder (5) being constructed in the caliper body (fig 1), a brake-fluid delivery oil line (16/13/10/11) and an exhaust channel (fig 1, 13 top side near 14) being constructed in a wall of the caliper body (fig 1), the brake-fluid delivery oil line communicating with the piston cylinder (5), the exhaust channel being in communication with an end of the brake-fluid delivery oil line in a length direction of the caliper body (fig 1, top at or near 14), an exhaust port (14) being provided on a side of the caliper body in a thickness direction (fig 1), and the exhaust port being in communication with the exhaust channel (fig 1); and an exhaust screw (fig 1, 15, col. 4, line 27, screw), the exhaust screw being mounted on the exhaust port on the side of the caliper body (fig 1), to control opening and closing of the exhaust port.
Regarding claim 2, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the caliper body (1) comprises: a first caliper body (3) and a second caliper body (2), wherein the first caliper body and the second caliper body are fastened to jointly define the brake disc groove (D), the piston cylinder (5) is formed on the first caliper body and the second caliper body (fig 5, two pistons in each of 2 and 3), the brake-fluid delivery oil line (at least 10/11/13/16) is formed on the first caliper body and the second caliper body (fig 1), the exhaust channel (13) and the exhaust port (14) are formed on the second caliper body (2), and the exhaust screw (15) is mounted on the second caliper body (2, fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the brake-fluid delivery oil line comprises: a first oil line (13/10/11) and a second oil line (11 both sides 2 and 3), the first oil line is formed on the first caliper body (3), the second oil line is formed on the second caliper body (2) and is in communication with the first oil line (fig 1), and the exhaust channel (13 at or near 14) is in communication with the second oil line (fig 1, wherein 16/14/13/10/and 11 are in communication).
Regarding claim 4, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the first oil line (fig 1, 11, left side) and the second oil line (11, right side) are symmetrically arranged with respective to a joint surface (D) between the first caliper body (3) and the second caliper body (2).
Regarding claim 5, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein each of the first oil line and the second oil line comprises: an injection oil line (fig 1 at or near bottom 16), the injection oil line extends along the length direction of the caliper body (at least at 16 and 13) and is in communication with a bottom portion of the piston cylinder (fig 1 at or near 5/6); a first communication oil line (10), the first communication oil line is located on one side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body, the first communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 1, 10 inclined from 13/16), one end of the first communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (at or near 16), and an other end of the first communication oil line runs through the joint surface (D) between the first caliper body (3) and the second caliper body (2); and a second communication oil line (10), the second communication oil line is located on an other side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body (fig 1,oppisite side 10), the second communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 1, 10 inclined from 13/16), one end of the second communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (at or near 16 bottom), and an other end of the second communication oil line runs through the joint surface (D) between the first caliper body and the second caliper body (3/2), wherein the exhaust channel (13 at or near 14) is in communication with the second communication oil line (10) of the second caliper body (fig 1, wherein 16/14/13/10/and 11 are in communication).
Regarding claim 6, Itsuaki et al. discloses an oil seal plug (15), two ends of the injection oil line being open (fig 1, 16 top and bottom), a threaded hole (14) being constructed on the injection oil line, and the oil seal plug (15) being mounted on the threaded hole (figs 1, 3, and Col. 6, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 7, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein each of the first oil line and the second oil line comprises: an injection oil line (fig 1 at or near bottom 16), the injection oil line extends along the length direction of the caliper body (at least at 16 and 13) and is in communication with a bottom portion of the piston cylinder (fig 1 at or near 5/6); a first communication oil line (10), the first communication oil line is located on one side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body, the first communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 1, 10 inclined from 13/16), one end of the first communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (at or near 16), and an other end of the first communication oil line runs through the joint surface (D) between the first caliper body (3) and the second caliper body (2); and a second communication oil line (10), the second communication oil line is located on an other side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body (fig 1,oppisite side 10), the second communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 1, 10 inclined from 13/16), one end of the second communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (at or near 16 bottom), and an other end of the second communication oil line runs through the joint surface (D) between the first caliper body and the second caliper body (3/2), wherein the exhaust channel (13 at or near 14) is in communication with the second communication oil line (10) of the second caliper body (fig 1, wherein 16/14/13/10/and 11 are in communication).
Regarding claim 8, Itsuaki et al. discloses an oil seal plug (15), two ends of the injection oil line being open (fig 1, 16 top and bottom), a threaded hole (14) being constructed on the injection oil line, and the oil seal plug (15) being mounted on the threaded hole (figs 1, 3, and Col. 6, lines 39-50).
Regarding claim 13, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the exhaust channel (fig 1, at or near 14 top) is arranged parallel to an axial direction of the piston cylinder (5/6).
Regarding claim 14, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the exhaust channel (fig 1, at or near 14 top) is arranged parallel to an axial direction of the piston cylinder (5/6).
Regarding claim 15, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the exhaust channel (fig 1, at or near 14 top) is arranged parallel to an axial direction of the piston cylinder (5/6).
Regarding claim 16, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the exhaust channel (fig 1, at or near 14 top) is arranged parallel to an axial direction of the piston cylinder (5/6).
Regarding claim 17, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the exhaust channel (fig 1, at or near 14 top) is arranged parallel to an axial direction of the piston cylinder (5/6).
Regarding claim 18, Itsuaki et al. discloses wherein the exhaust channel (fig 1, at or near 14 top) is arranged parallel to an axial direction of the piston cylinder (5/6).
Regarding claim 20, Itsuaki et al. discloses a vehicle (Abstract, mounted on a vehicle).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Villata (US-4754856).
Regarding claim 1, Villata discloses a caliper body (fig 5, 16”A/B), a brake disc groove (10”) and a piston cylinder (27A, 27B) being constructed in the caliper body (fig 5), a brake-fluid delivery oil line (at least 35”/36”) and an exhaust channel (fig 5, 36”/20” left side at or near 22”) being constructed in a wall of the caliper body (fig 5), the brake-fluid delivery oil line communicating with the piston cylinder (27”A/B), the exhaust channel being in communication with an end of the brake-fluid delivery oil line in a length direction of the caliper body (fig 5, top at or near 22”), an exhaust port (at or near 22”) being provided on a side of the caliper body in a thickness direction (fig 5, at least a right left thickness direction), and the exhaust port being in communication with the exhaust channel (fig 5); and an exhaust screw (fig 5, 19 and/or 40), the exhaust screw being mounted on the exhaust port on the side of the caliper body (fig 5), to control opening and closing of the exhaust port.
Regarding claim 2, Villata discloses wherein the caliper body (1) comprises: a first caliper body (16”B) and a second caliper body (16”A), wherein the first caliper body and the second caliper body are fastened to jointly define the brake disc groove (10”), the piston cylinder (27”/B) is formed on the first caliper body and the second caliper body (fig 5), the brake-fluid delivery oil line (at least 35”/36”) is formed on the first caliper body and the second caliper body (fig 5), the exhaust channel (fig 5, 36”/20” left side at or near 22”) and the exhaust port (14) are formed on the second caliper body (16A), and the exhaust screw (19/40) is mounted on the second caliper body (fig 5).
Regarding claim 3, Villata discloses wherein the brake-fluid delivery oil line comprises: a first oil line (28”/33”) and a second oil line (28”/32”), the first oil line is formed on the first caliper body (27”B), the second oil line is formed on the second caliper body (27”A) and is in communication with the first oil line (fig 5), and the exhaust channel (fig 5, 36”/20” left side at or near 22”) is in communication with the second oil line (fig 5, wherein all lines are in communication).
Regarding claim 4, Villata discloses wherein the first oil line (33”) and the second oil line (32”) are symmetrically arranged with respective to a joint surface (17”) between the first caliper body (16”B) and the second caliper body (16”A).
Regarding claim 5, Villata discloses wherein each of the first oil line (28”/33”) and a second oil line (28”/32”) comprises: an injection oil line (fig 5, 30”/37”), the injection oil line extends along the length direction of the caliper body (16”A/B) and is in communication with a bottom portion of the piston cylinder (fig 5, 25”/27”); a first communication oil line (33”/32”), the first communication oil line is located on one side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body (figs 5 and 6, wherein fig 6 shows the length perspective of an alternative embodiment), the first communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 5, 33”/32”inclined), one end of the first communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (fig 5), and an other end of the first communication oil line runs through the joint surface (17”) between the first caliper body (16”B) and the second caliper body (16”A); and a second communication oil line (32”/33”), the second communication oil line is located on an other side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body (figs 5 and 6, wherein fig 6 shows the length perspective of an alternative embodiment), the second communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 5, 33”/32”inclined), one end of the second communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (fig 5), and an other end of the second communication oil line runs through the joint surface (17”) between the first caliper body and the second caliper body (16”A/B), wherein the exhaust channel (20”at or near 22”) is in communication with the second communication oil line (32”/33”) of the second caliper body (fig 5).
Regarding claim 6, Villata discloses an oil seal plug (40), two ends of the injection oil line being open (fig 5, at 18” and 35”), a threaded hole (fig 5 wherein both ends are threaded) being constructed on the injection oil line, and the oil seal plug (at least 40) being mounted on the threaded hole (figs 5).
Regarding claim 7, Villata discloses wherein each of the first oil line (28”/33”) and a second oil line (28”/32”) comprises: an injection oil line (fig 5, 30”/37”), the injection oil line extends along the length direction of the caliper body (16”A/B) and is in communication with a bottom portion of the piston cylinder (fig 5, 25”/27”); a first communication oil line (33”/32”), the first communication oil line is located on one side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body (figs 5 and 6, wherein fig 6 shows the length perspective of an alternative embodiment), the first communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 5, 33”/32”inclined), one end of the first communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (fig 5), and an other end of the first communication oil line runs through the joint surface (17”) between the first caliper body (16”B) and the second caliper body (16”A); and a second communication oil line (32”/33”), the second communication oil line is located on an other side of the piston cylinder in the length direction of the caliper body (figs 5 and 6, wherein fig 6 shows the length perspective of an alternative embodiment), the second communication oil line is arranged inclined with respective to the injection oil line (fig 5, 33”/32”inclined), one end of the second communication oil line is in communication with the injection oil line (fig 5), and an other end of the second communication oil line runs through the joint surface (17”) between the first caliper body and the second caliper body (16”A/B), wherein the exhaust channel (20”at or near 22”) is in communication with the second communication oil line (32”/33”) of the second caliper body (fig 5).
Regarding claim 8, Villata discloses an oil seal plug (40), two ends of the injection oil line being open (fig 5, at 18” and 35”), a threaded hole (fig 5 wherein both ends are threaded) being constructed on the injection oil line, and the oil seal plug (at least 40) being mounted on the threaded hole (figs 5).
Regarding claims 9-12, Villata discloses a first seal ring (34”), a first seal groove (at or near 17”) being constructed on the joint surface between the first caliper body (16”B) and the second caliper body (16”A), and the first seal ring being arranged in the first seal groove and surrounding the other end of the first communication oil line (fig 5); and a second seal ring (34”), a second seal groove (at or near 17”) being constructed on the joint surface between the first caliper body (16”B) and the second caliper body (16”A), and the second seal ring being arranged in the second seal groove and surrounding the other end of the second communication oil line (fig 5 and 6). It has been interpreted that Figure 5 shows a perspective of the brake caliper wherein a second piston cylinder is not shown. Figure 6 shows a perspective of the brake caliper wherein the first and second seals 34”” are shown. It has been interpreted that the embodiment of figure 5 comprise the same first and second seals between the first and second caliper parts at least in order to maintain pressure in the hydraulic system.
Regarding claims 13-18, Villata discloses wherein the exhaust channel (fig 5, at or near 22”) is arranged parallel to an axial direction of the piston cylinder (25”/27”).
Regarding claim 19, Villata discloses wherein the exhaust screw (40/19) has a first end and a second end (fig 5 at or near 22” and 35”), the first end extends into the exhaust port (fig 5, 19”at 20”), and the second end is exposed from the exhaust port (19” at 22”/18”); a first cone surface (fig 5 at or near 21”), a central exhaust hole (36”), and a vent hole (37”) are constructed on the exhaust screw (fig 5, perforations 37” in communication with gap 30), the first cone surface is formed at the first end of the exhaust screw (fig 5 at or near 21”), the central exhaust hole (36”) extends in a length direction of the exhaust screw and runs through the second end of the exhaust screw (fig 5, at or near 35”), and the vent hole (37”) is located on a side of the first cone surface towards the second end (fig 5 at least wherein 37” has been interpreted to be on a side of the first cone surface), and is in communication with an outer peripheral wall of the exhaust screw (at least 30”) and the central exhaust hole (fig 5); and a second cone surface (corresponding threads or cone surfaces to 21”) adapted to match the first cone surface is constructed on a bottom wall of the exhaust port (fig 5 at least adjacent 21”).
Regarding claim 20, Villata discloses a vehicle (Abstract, mounted on a vehicle).
Conclusion
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616