DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 18477755 filed on 09/29/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 12/09/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US 2023/0005652).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hou et al. teach an integrated circuit (IC) package with magnetic core, the IC package comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3C, elements 113, 121, 206, paragraph 0016-0019);
a magnetic core (Fig. 3C, element 314, paragraph 0024) disposed on the substrate,
wherein the magnetic core includes a soft magnetic material (paragraph 0029);
a plurality of conductive traces (Fig. 3C, paragraph 0027 discloses conductive traces),
forming first and second coils (Fig. 3C, elements 111 & 112, paragraph 0016), configured about the magnetic core;
wherein the first and second coils and magnetic core are configured as a transformer (Fig. 3C, element 302, paragraph 0022); and
a package bodying including an encapsulant material (although not explicitly labeled in Fig. 3C, Fig. 2, element 104, paragraph 0019 discloses mold compound with the motivation to provide environmental protection) configured to encapsulate the magnetic core,
wherein the encapsulant material is configured to provide a cavity (Fig. 3C, spacing 351, 353, paragraph 0029) elements surrounding the magnetic core.
Regarding claim 2, Hou et al. teach wherein the cavity is configured to provide a space (Fig. 3C) between an interior surface of the cavity and an exterior surface of the magnetic core.
Regarding claim 3, Hou et al. teach wherein the space comprises a gap (Fig. 3C) between the interior surface of the cavity and the exterior surface of the magnetic core.
Regarding claim 4, Hou et al. teach wherein the gap is between about 10 nm to about 100 microns (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 5, Hou et al. teach further comprising at least one semiconductor die (Fig. 7, element 731, paragraph 0051) disposed on the substrate.
Regarding claim 6, Hou et al. teach wherein the at least one semiconductor die comprises an integrated circuit (IC) (paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 7, Hou et al. teach wherein the IC comprises a gate driver (paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 8, Hou et al. teach wherein a portion of the encapsulant material is delaminated from the magnetic core (Delamination would occur due to the process involved. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698,227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) MPEP §2113).
Regarding claim 9, Hou et al. teach wherein the at least one semiconductor die comprises first and second semiconductor die (Fig. 7, elements 731 & 732, paragraph 0050-0051), and wherein the first and second coils each (Fig. 7, elements 711 & 712, paragraph 0050-0051) includes a plurality of windings connected to the first and second semiconductor die, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Hou et al. teach wherein the substrate comprises a lead frame (Fig. 3C, element 121, paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 11, Hou et al. teach wherein the substrate comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 3C, element 206, paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 15, Hou et al. teach wherein the first coil comprises a plurality of first coils (Figs. 1A & 3C).
Regarding claim 16, Hou et al. teach wherein the second coil comprises a plurality of second coils (Figs. 1A & 3C).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US 2023/0005652) in view of Mazed (US 2025/0094380).
Regarding claim 12, Hou et al. teach all of the limitations as discussed above.
Hou et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of glass thin layers.
Before the effective filling date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select glass thin layers for a substrate as disclosed by Mazed in paragraph 0472, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Hou et al. teach all of the limitations as discussed above.
Hou et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of ceramic layers.
Before the effective filling date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select ceramic layers for a substrate as disclosed by Mazed in paragraph 0703, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, Hou et al. teach all of the limitations as discussed above.
Hou et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate comprises alumina.
Before the effective filling date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select alumina for a substrate as disclosed by Mazed in paragraph 0698, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/SHAHED AHMED/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813