CTFR 18/477,911 CTFR 98867 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Remarks This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 03/06/2026. Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 20-30 are currently pending in this application. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 10, filed 03/06/2026, with respect to the objection to the title of the invention and the objections to claims 1-10 and 12-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments made to the Title and the claims overcome the previous objections and thus, they have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 15, filed 03/06/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4, 7-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are persuasive not. Applicant had amended independent claim 1 to include the following features from claim 3: “ transmit a request for waveform switching ”, “ determine a time period for the waveform switching requeste d”, and “ wherein the one or more preset first rules comprise a rule to use the second preset purpose for downlink control information received within the time period ”. Independent claim 4 was amended in a similar way such that it contains analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 11-12 of Remarks that Xiong does not teach the claimed “ time period ” because “ Xiong teaches determining a specific time point, that is, a moment after which the UE begins using a new waveform ”. However Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Xiong does teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Paragraph [0019] of Xiong recites “determining a first time for applying the determined waveform mode according to a time unit and a first time interval when an acknowledgement of the waveform mode confirmation request and/or the waveform mode change request is received from the base station”. In other words, the waveform mode change (waveform switch) is performed according to a time interval (i.e. the claimed “ time period ”) in which the base station may send the waveform mode confirmation request and/or the waveform mode change request instructing the UE to perform the change. By the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, the ‘time interval’ of Xiong does indeed read on the claimed “ time period ”. Applicant then goes on to argue on pages 12-13 of Remarks that a) Noh contains “ no UE-initiated request, no time period, and no concept of the same DCI bits serving dual purposes depending on timing ”, and b) that Xiong does not teach “ the UE reinterpreting existing DCI fields based on a time period ”. Regarding argument a), Noh was not used to map to the “ request for waveform switching ” or the “ time period for the waveform switching requested ” features as it seems Applicant is suggesting. These arguments are moot as these features are mapped to Xiong, and a claim mapping is provided below. To address the “ concept of the same DCI bits serving dual purposes depending on timing ”, no such thing is required by the claim language, which renders the argument moot. The claim language, as it is broadly written, merely requires that there is a “ rule to determine whether to use at least one predefined bit in the downlink control information either for a first preset purpose or for a second preset purpose ”. Nowhere does the claim have any mention of the DCI bits being “ the same ”, as Applicant is arguing. The claim merely requires that there are DCI bits that could be used for two purposes and that there is a time period, which is indeed taught by Noh, and a claim mapping is provided below. Regarding argument b), again, Xiong was not used to map to the “ UE reinterpreting existing DCI fields based on a time period ” feature as Applicant is suggesting. This argument is also moot as this feature was mapped to Noh, and a claim mapping is provided below. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In response to applicant’s argument on pages 13-14 of Remarks that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine , 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones , 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc. , 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, [0019] of Xiong clearly shows that the base station sends a waveform mode confirmation request and/or the waveform mode change request in response to the UE’s transmitted waveform mode change request, thus triggering the waveform mode change. Examiner stated that it would be advantageous to have this response from the base station as an acknowledgement to the waveform mode change request. Applicant states on page 13 of Remarks that this “ rationale does not explain how or why a person of ordinary skill would arrive at the specific combination of features in amended claim 1 ”. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as it clearly does relate to the amended features of claim 1, which involves sending a request for waveform switching. Applicant then goes on to argue on page 13 of Remarks that the “ question is not simple whether a UE can request a waveform change. Rather, it is whether the UE would then use a time period-based rule to reinterpret existing DCI bit fields ”. However, as stated above, there is no requirement in the claim language for these “ existing DCI bit fields ”. Additionally, there is also no mention in the claim language of any DCI bits being ‘reinterpreted’ or ‘repurposed’ as Applicant asserts. If Applicant believes that these “reinterpret” or “ repurpose ” features help to distinguish the present Application from the cited prior art, Examiner encourages Applicant to amend the independent claims to further expand upon them. For the reasons discussed above, claims 1-4, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Noh et al (US 20180270799 A1) and Xiong et al (US 20230224073 A1). Newly added claims 20-30 are also rejected. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 24 recites “ the at least one predefined bit comprises a first predefined bit and a second predefined bit ”. This language may be interpreted to mean that the “ at least one predefined bit ” may be only a single bit, which is indefinite given the rest of the claim being contingent on there being “ a first predefined bit ” and “ a second predefined bit ”. In other words, a single bit may not comprise two different bits as this is not possible. This makes the claim language contradictory and indefinite. Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 7-11, 20-23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 20180270799 A1), and further in view of Xiong et al (US 20230224073 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Noh teaches An apparatus comprising ([0446] terminal) : at least one processor ([Fig. 10] terminal processor) ; and at least one memory comprising computer program code ([0061] computer program instructions stored on memory) , the at least one memory and computer program code configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to ([0061] and [Fig. 10] computer program instructions stored on memory configured to be executed by processor to perform functions) : receive downlink control information comprising scheduling information for at least one uplink transmission ([0446]-[0450] terminal receives DCI containing an uplink transmission configuration information/uplink scheduling information for an uplink transmission) ; apply one or more preset first rules to determine whether to use at least one predefined bit in the downlink control information either for a first preset purpose or for a second preset purpose ([0446]-[0450] terminal checks if the DCI is a format (first preset rule) for fallback transmission or not (for either a first preset purpose or a second preset purpose) using a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), and it sends its uplink transmission based on the configuration information (use at least one predefined bit in the DCI) using either a first or second transmission waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively) , wherein the one or more preset first rules comprise a rule to use the second preset purpose for downlink control information received within the time period ([0446]-[0450], and [0452] terminal checks if the DCI is a format (first preset rule) for fallback transmission or not (for either a first preset purpose or a second preset purpose) using a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), where the DCI includes information (preset first rule comprises a rule) on a time or slot (DCI received within the time period) in which the uplink transmission waveform information is applied (second preset purpose)) ; and determine, when using the second preset purpose, according to one or more preset second rules, based on a value of the at least one predefined bit, at least a wave- form for the at least one uplink transmission amongst waveforms comprising at least a first waveform and a second waveform ([0446]-[0450] terminal chooses a waveform for the uplink transmission based on a 1-bit wavelength indicator (value of the at least one predefined bit), which is either a first waveform with a CP-OFDM scheme (preset second rules) or a second waveform with a DFT-s-OFDM scheme (preset second rules)) . Noh does not explicitly teach transmit a request for waveform switching; determine a time period for the waveform switching requested; However, Xiong does teach transmit a request for waveform switching ([0017]-[0019] the UE transmits a waveform mode change request (request for waveform switching)) ; determine a time period for the waveform switching requested ([0017]-[0019] the UE determines a second time for applying the determined waveform mode) ; Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong). Regarding claim 2 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The apparatus of claim 1, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to ([0061] and [Fig. 10] computer program instructions stored on memory configured to be executed by processor to perform functions) : determine, when using the first preset purpose, the waveform for the at least one uplink transmission to be according to a waveform configuration received in the downlink control information ([0446]-[0450] terminal chooses a waveform for the uplink transmission based on a 1-bit wavelength indicator (value of the at least one predefined bit), which is either a first waveform with a CP-OFDM scheme or a second waveform with a DFT-s-OFDM scheme) , or to be a semi-statically configured waveform configuration if no waveform configuration is received in the downlink configuration (the claim language does not require this limitation, as it is written in the form of ‘a or b’) ; and transmit the uplink transmission using at least the waveform determined for the uplink transmission ([0446]-[0450] terminal transmits uplink transmission on the chosen waveform) . Regarding claim 3 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The apparatus of claim 1, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to ([0061] and [Fig. 10] computer program instructions stored on memory configured to be executed by processor to perform functions) : Noh does not explicitly teach determine a need for waveform switching based on: detecting that uplink transmissions fail, determining the apparatus is near a cell edge, detecting a coverage shortage, and determining that a measured quality of a downlink signal is below a threshold. However, Xiong does teach determine a need for waveform switching based on: detecting that uplink transmissions fail, determining the apparatus is near a cell edge, detecting a coverage shortage, and determining that a measured quality of a downlink signal is below a threshold ([0013] and [0120] UE can transmit a waveform mode change request when the UE determines that it is necessary to change the waveform, where the UE may determine the waveform mode according to a measurement result of a DL signal RSRP compared to a threshold) . Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong). Regarding claim 4 , Noh teaches An apparatus comprising ([0446] base station) : at least one processor ([Fig. 11] base station includes processor) ; and at least one memory comprising computer program code ([0061] computer program instructions stored on memory) , the at least one memory and computer program code configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to ([0061] and [Fig. 11] computer program instructions stored on memory configured to be executed by processor to perform functions) : apply one or more preset first rules to determine whether to use, when generating downlink control information comprising scheduling information, at least one predefined bit either for a first preset purpose or for a second preset purpose ([0446]-[0450] terminal checks if the DCI received from the base station is a format (first preset rule applied) for fallback transmission or not (for either a first preset purpose or a second preset purpose) using a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), and it sends its uplink transmission based on the configuration information (use at least one predefined bit in the DCI) using either a first or second transmission waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively) ; set, when using the second preset purpose, according to one or more preset second rules, for the at least one predefined bit a value to indicate at least a waveform for the at least one uplink transmission amongst waveforms comprising at least a first waveform and a second waveform ([0446]-[0450] base station sends the terminal a 1-bit waveform indicator in DCI to indicate to the terminal which waveform to use of a first and second waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively) ; transmit the downlink control information comprising the scheduling information for at least one uplink transmission ([0446]-[0450] base station sends DCI to terminal which contains an uplink transmission configuration information/uplink scheduling information for an uplink transmission) ; and receive the uplink transmission wherein the receiving being configured to use, when the downlink control information was generated using the second preset purpose, the waveform indicated for the uplink transmission in the downlink control information ([0446]-[0450] terminal chooses a waveform for the uplink transmission based on a 1-bit wavelength indicator (value of the at least one predefined bit), which is either a first waveform with a CP-OFDM scheme (preset second rules) or a second waveform with a DFT-s-OFDM scheme (preset second rules), and transmits the uplink transmission to the base station) . wherein the one or more preset first rules comprise a rule to use the second preset purpose for downlink control information generated within the time period ([0446]-[0450], and [0452] terminal checks if the DCI is a format (first preset rule) for fallback transmission or not (for either a first preset purpose or a second preset purpose) using a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), where the DCI includes information (preset first rule comprises a rule) on a time or slot (DCI received within the time period) in which the uplink transmission waveform information is applied (second preset purpose)) . Noh does not explicitly teach receive a request for waveform switching; determine a time period for the waveform switching requested, wherein the time period is determined based on end time of an uplink signal comprising the request; However, Xiong does teach receive a request for waveform switching ([0017]-[0019] the UE transmits a waveform mode change request (request for waveform switching)) ; determine a time period for the waveform switching requested, wherein the time period is determined based on end time of an uplink signal comprising the request ([0017]-[0019] the time for applying the determined waveform mode is determined based on when the acknowledgement to the waveform mode change request is received from the base station (when the uplink signal is acknowledged; i.e. based on the end time of the uplink signal)) ; Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong). Regarding claim 7 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The apparatus of claim 4, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein the at least one predefined bit is either at least one most significant bit or at least one least significant bit in a field informing process of hybrid automatic repeat-request or in a field for triggering a sounding reference signal set or in a field controlling transmit power for the uplink transmission ([0446]-[0450] base station sends the terminal a 1-bit waveform indicator in DCI to indicate to the terminal which waveform to use of a first and second waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively; [0386] and [0429] a 1-bit field is added to DCI information on the uplink transmission (either a most or least significant bit, since it is added on to either the front or the end of the information field), where the bit can be added to the HARQ process ID field (field informing process of HARQ)) . Regarding claim 8 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The apparatus of claim 4, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein the one or more preset second rules comprise a rule according to which, when a format of the downlink control infor- mation is a fallback scheduling format, the waveform is determined based on previous downlink control information whose format is a non-fallback scheduling format ([0445]-[0450] when the terminal receives DCI that is a format for fallback transmission, the second uplink transmission waveform is chosen, which corresponds to a DFT-s-OFDM scheme, where the terminal may determine the uplink transmission configuration information as uplink transmission for configuring retransmission for a previously performed uplink transmission (determined based on previous downlink control information whose format is a non-fallback scheduling format)) . Regarding claim 9 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The apparatus of claim 4, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein the at least one predefined bit comprises a first predefined bit and a second predefined bit to indicate in addition to the waveform also a rank number, wherein the first predefined bit and the second predefined bit are either two most significant bits or two least significant bits in a field informing process of hybrid automatic repeat-request, or wherein the first predefined bit is either a most significant bit or a least significant bit in a field informing process of hybrid automatic repeat-request and the second predefined bit is either a most significant bit or a least significant bit in a field controlling transmit power for the uplink transmission ([0250] and [0278] DCI may include information regarding rank number of layers (field controlling transmit power for the uplink transmission), where the rank and number of antenna ports can be displayed with one bit each (first predefined bit corresponding to rank number) with the value for rank being able to be either the first or second bit (can be either most significant bit or least significant bit); [0386] and [0429] a 1-bit field is added to DCI information on the uplink transmission (can be either a most or least significant bit, since it is added on to either the front or the end of the information field), where the bit can be added to the HARQ process ID field (field informing process of HARQ)) . Regarding claim 10 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The apparatus of claim 4, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein the at least one predefined bit comprises bits in a field for triggering a sounding reference signal set or in a field control- ling transmit power for the uplink transmission, and the one or more preset second rules comprise a rule associating a waveform with further information relating to the field ([0154], [0250], and [0278] DCI contains bits for SRS request, and also information bits about number of layers rank (controlling transmit power for the uplink transmission); [0446]-[0450] a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), and it sends its uplink transmission based on the configuration information using either a first or second transmission waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively (where the schemes for transmission are rules associating a waveform with further information relating to the field)) . Regarding claim 11 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The apparatus of claim 4, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein the one or more preset first rules comprise a rule according to which the second preset purpose is usable only when a format of the downlink control information is a fallback scheduling format ([0446]-[0450] when the terminal receives DCI that is a format for fallback transmission, the second uplink transmission waveform is chosen, which corresponds to a DFT-s-OFDM scheme) . Regarding claim 20 , Noh teaches A method comprising ([0008] method) : receiving downlink control information comprising scheduling information for at least one uplink transmission ([0446]-[0450] terminal receives DCI containing an uplink transmission configuration information/uplink scheduling information for an uplink transmission) ; applying one or more preset first rules to determine whether to use at least one predefined bit in the downlink control information either for a first preset purpose or for a second preset purpose ([0446]-[0450] terminal checks if the DCI is a format (first preset rule) for fallback transmission or not (for either a first preset purpose or a second preset purpose) using a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), and it sends its uplink transmission based on the configuration information (use at least one predefined bit in the DCI) using either a first or second transmission waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively) , wherein the one or more preset first rules comprise a rule to use the second preset purpose for downlink control information received within the time period ([0446]-[0450], and [0452] terminal checks if the DCI is a format (first preset rule) for fallback transmission or not (for either a first preset purpose or a second preset purpose) using a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), where the DCI includes information (preset first rule comprises a rule) on a time or slot (DCI received within the time period) in which the uplink transmission waveform information is applied (second preset purpose)) ; and determining, when using the second preset purpose, according to one or more preset second rules, based on a value of the at least one predefined bit, at least a waveform for the at least one uplink transmission amongst waveforms comprising at least a first waveform and a second waveform ([0446]-[0450] terminal chooses a waveform for the uplink transmission based on a 1-bit wavelength indicator (value of the at least one predefined bit), which is either a first waveform with a CP-OFDM scheme (preset second rules) or a second waveform with a DFT-s-OFDM scheme (preset second rules)) . Noh does not explicitly teach transmitting a request for waveform switching; determining a time period for the waveform switching requested; However, Xiong does teach transmitting a request for waveform switching ([0017]-[0019] the UE transmits a waveform mode change request (request for waveform switching)) ; determining a time period for the waveform switching requested ([0017]-[0019] the UE determines a second time for applying the determined waveform mode) ; Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong). Regarding claim 21 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 20, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein: the one or more preset first rules comprise a rule according to which the second preset purpose is usable only when a format of the downlink control information is a fallback scheduling format ([0446]-[0450] when the terminal receives DCI that is a format for fallback transmission, the second uplink transmission waveform is chosen, which corresponds to a DFT-s-OFDM scheme) ; and when the format is not the fallback scheduling format, the waveform for the at least one uplink transmission is determined to be a semi-statically configured waveform ([0242], [0446]-[0450] terminal checks if the DCI received from the base station is a format (first preset rule applied) for fallback transmission or not (for either a first preset purpose or a second preset purpose) using a 1-bit wavelength indicator, where the DRMS may be semi-statically configured) . Regarding claim 22 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 20, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein: the at least one predefined bit comprises bits in a field for triggering a sounding reference signal set ([0154], [0250], and [0278] DCI contains bits for SRS request, and also information bits about number of layers rank (controlling transmit power for the uplink transmission) ; and the one or more preset second rules comprise a rule associating the waveform with further information relating to the field for triggering the sounding reference signal set ([0446]-[0450] a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), and it sends its uplink transmission based on the configuration information using either a first or second transmission waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively (where the schemes for transmission are rules associating a waveform with further information relating to the field)) . Regarding claim 23 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 20, as is described above. Noh does not explicitly teach further comprising determining a need for waveform switching based on at least one of: detecting that uplink transmissions fail, determining an apparatus performing the method is near a cell edge, detecting a coverage shortage, or determining that a measured quality of a downlink signal is below a threshold. However, Xiong does teach further comprising determining a need for waveform switching based on at least one of: detecting that uplink transmissions fail, determining an apparatus performing the method is near a cell edge, detecting a coverage shortage, or determining that a measured quality of a downlink signal is below a threshold ([0013] and [0120] UE can transmit a waveform mode change request when the UE determines that it is necessary to change the waveform, where the UE may determine the waveform mode according to a measurement result of a DL signal RSRP compared to a threshold) . Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong). Regarding claim 25 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 23, as is described above. Noh further teaches wherein: the at least one predefined bit comprises bits in a field controlling transmit power for the uplink transmission ([0154], [0250], and [0278] DCI contains bits for SRS request, and also information bits about number of layers rank (controlling transmit power for the uplink transmission)) ; and the one or more preset second rules comprise a rule associating the waveform with further information relating to the field controlling transmit power ([0446]-[0450] a 1-bit wavelength indicator (one predefined bit in the DCI), and it sends its uplink transmission based on the configuration information using either a first or second transmission waveform, where the first and second transmission waveform correspond to CP-OFDM scheme and a DFT-s-OFDM scheme respectively (where the schemes for transmission are rules associating a waveform with further information relating to the field)) . Regarding claim 26 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 23, as is described above. Noh does not explicitly teach wherein: the request for waveform switching is transmitted on a physical uplink control channel; the request for waveform switching comprises a scheduling request with additional information comprising at least one of a bit or a flag indicating the request for waveform switching; and the time period starts at an end time of a signal carrying the request for waveform switching. However, Xiong does teach the request for waveform switching is transmitted on a physical uplink control channel ([0120] the waveform mode change request can be transmitted by the UE via PUCCH) ; the request for waveform switching comprises a scheduling request with additional information comprising at least one of a bit or a flag indicating the request for waveform switching ([0017]-[0019] the UE transmits a waveform mode change request, where the waveform mode is determined according to a certain time that the base station sends a transmission (request for scheduling waveform mode change with an indication of the request for waveform mode change)) ; and the time period starts at an end time of a signal carrying the request for waveform switching ([0017]-[0019] UE performs the waveform mode change upon receiving the waveform mode confirmation request from the base station in response to the waveform mode change request from the UE (after the end time of the signal carrying the request for waveform switching)) . Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong). Regarding claim 27 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 20, as is described above. Noh does not explicitly teach wherein: the request for waveform switching is transmitted on a physical uplink control channel; and the request for waveform switching comprises a scheduling request with additional information comprising at least one of a bit or a flag indicating the request for waveform switching. However, Xiong does teach the request for waveform switching is transmitted on a physical uplink control channel ([0120] the waveform mode change request can be transmitted by the UE via PUCCH) ; and the request for waveform switching comprises a scheduling request with additional information comprising at least one of a bit or a flag indicating the request for waveform switching ([0017]-[0019] the UE transmits a waveform mode change request, where the waveform mode is determined according to a certain time that the base station sends a transmission (request for scheduling waveform mode change with an indication of the request for waveform mode change)) . Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong). Regarding claim 28 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 20, as is described above. Noh does not explicitly teach wherein the time period starts at an end time of a signal carrying the request for waveform switching. However, Xiong does teach wherein the time period starts at an end time of a signal carrying the request for waveform switching ([0017]-[0019] UE performs the waveform mode change upon receiving the waveform mode confirmation request from the base station in response to the waveform mode change request from the UE (after the end time of the signal carrying the request for waveform switching)) . Noh and Xiong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring waveforms for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh to include the teachings of Xiong where the UE transmits a waveform change request. The rationale behind this would be to be able to verify that the base station received the waveform change request via an acknowledgement ([0019] Xiong) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 39-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al (US 20180270799 A1), Xiong et al (US 20230224073 A1), and further in view of Ly et al (US 20250030525 A1) . Regarding claim 29 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 23, as is described above. Noh modified by Xiong does not explicitly teach wherein the first waveform comprises discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing with frequency domain spectral shaping and spectrum extension, and the second waveform comprises discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing without frequency domain spectral shaping and spectrum extension. However, Ly does teach wherein the first waveform comprises discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing with frequency domain spectral shaping and spectrum extension, and the second waveform comprises discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing without frequency domain spectral shaping and spectrum extension ([0063]-[0065] waveform switching using DFT-s-OFDM, where the waveform switching may be performed with or without (first and second waveforms) frequency domain spectrum shaping and spectrum extension (discrete Fourier transform spread orthogonal frequency division multiplexing with and without frequency domain spectral shaping and spectrum extension)) . Noh, Xiong, and Ly are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring waveforms. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh/Xiong to include the teachings of Ly where the waveforms may be DFT-s-OFDM with or without frequency domain spectrum shaping and spectrum extension. The rationale behind this would be to possibly improve communication with the network for a UE that is closer to a cell edge ([0065] Ly). Regarding claim 30 , Noh modified by Xiong teaches The method of claim 27, as is described above. Noh modified by Xiong does not explicitly teach wherein the first waveform comprises cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing with tone reservation, and the second waveform comprises cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing. However, Ly does teach wherein the first waveform comprises cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing with tone reservation, and the second waveform comprises cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing ([0063]-[0065] waveform switching using CP-OFDM (cyclic prefix orthogonal frequency division multiplexing), where waveform switching may be performed with or without (first and second waveforms) tone reservation) . Noh, Xiong, and Ly are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring waveforms. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Noh/Xiong to include the teachings of Ly where the waveforms may be CP-OFDM with or without tone reservation. The rationale behind this would be to possibly improve communication with the network for a UE that is closer to a cell edge ([0065] Ly). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ADAM JOEL CERLANEK whose telephone number is (703)756-1272. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached at (571) 272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 10 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 11 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 12 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 13 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 14 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 15 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 16 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 17 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 18 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 19 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 20 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 21 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 22 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 23 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/477,911 Page 24 Art Unit: 2478