Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 9, it should recite “a single power headroom report (PHR) for the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions….” Since the Examiner understands the context of this claim in view of claims 1 and 19, the Examiner submits this is merely a clarifying change to be in line with claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nangia (US 20200100194).
Regarding Claim 1 and 19, Nangia discloses at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: identify or detect at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions from the apparatus (claim 19 terminal device) , wherein the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions are at least partially overlapping in time on a same cell or component carrier (Paragraphs 0057 and 0071). Examiner submits this is equivalent to a single-cell or carrier-aggregation operation, simultaneous transmissions (e.g., transmissions having the same or different starting time instance and/or length of the transmissions) may occur on different uplink carriers and/or serving cells, leading to partial or full overlap between different UL transmissions. Furthermore, during operation on NUL and SUL, the UE 205 may have UL transmissions scheduled on different UL carriers that overlap in time. In various embodiments, the UE 205 indicates its capability for simultaneous (e.g., time-overlapping) transmission of PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS and/or PRACH on a first uplink carrier of a serving cell and SRS on a second uplink carrier of the serving cell. Nangia also discloses generate a single power headroom report (PHR) for the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions using one uplink transmission of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; and transmit, to a network node, the single PHR (Paragraphs 0070-0075; Figure 2). Examiner submits this is equivalent to UE 205 selecting for which UL carrier to report PH for the serving cell (see block 220) and selects a PHR type (see block 225). Based on the selections, the UE 205 calculates a power headroom level (see block 230) and generates a PHR for the serving cell and transmits a PHR to the RAN node 210 (see signaling 235). Furthermore, the UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 9, Nangia discloses an apparatus (RAN node 210; Figure 2) comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit, to a terminal device (UE 205; Figure 2), information for scheduling at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions from the terminal device, wherein the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions are at least partially overlapping in time on a same cell or component carrier (Paragraphs 0057 and 0071). Examiner submits this is equivalent to a single-cell or carrier-aggregation operation, simultaneous transmissions (e.g., transmissions having the same or different starting time instance and/or length of the transmissions) may occur on different uplink carriers and/or serving cells, leading to partial or full overlap between different UL transmissions. Furthermore, during operation on NUL and SUL, the UE 205 may have UL transmissions scheduled on different UL carriers that overlap in time. In various embodiments, the UE 205 indicates its capability for simultaneous (e.g., time-overlapping) transmission of PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS and/or PRACH on a first uplink carrier of a serving cell and SRS on a second uplink carrier of the serving cell. Nangia also discloses receive (received by RAN node 210; Figure 2), from the terminal device (UE 205; Figure 2), a single power headroom report (PHR) for the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions, wherein the single PHR is generated by the terminal device using one uplink transmission of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions (Paragraphs 0070-0075; Figure 2). Examiner submits this is equivalent to UE 205 selecting for which UL carrier to report PH for the serving cell (see block 220) and selects a PHR type (see block 225). Based on the selections, the UE 205 calculates a power headroom level (see block 230) and generates a PHR for the serving cell and transmits a PHR to the RAN node 210 (see signaling 235). Furthermore, the UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 2, Nangia discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine the one uplink transmission to be used for generating the single PHR based on an association of the one uplink transmission to an index or identifier (Paragraph 0075). UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 3, Nangia discloses wherein the one uplink transmission to be used for generating the single PHR is determined based on a rule indicating one or more of the following: using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a higher index or identifier than one or more indices or identifiers associated with one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a lower index or identifier than the one or more indices or identifiers associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a larger parameter than one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a smaller parameter than the one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with an earlier starting time than one or more starting times associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a later starting time than the one or more starting times associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a larger power headroom value than one or more power headroom values associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a smaller power headroom value than the one or more power headroom values associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a first indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of two indicated TCI states; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a second indicated TCI state of the two indicated TCI states; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a TCI state corresponding to a lower index or identifier than one or more indices or identifiers corresponding to one or more other TCI states corresponding to the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; or using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a TCI state corresponding to a higher index or identifier than the one or more indices or identifiers corresponding to the one or more other TCI states corresponding to the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions (Paragraph 0077). PHR Type-1 is more important than PHR Type-3 for future scheduling. PHR Type-1 which is related to PUSCH-only transmission on a carrier, provides the power availability or amount of transmission power available at the UE to the network for uplink scheduling. The network uses this information to schedule an appropriate uplink data rate that the available transmission power can support for future transmissions. PHR Type-3 which is related to SRS transmission on a carrier where the UE is not configured to transmit PUSCH. The SRS can be used for downlink CSI (Channel State Information) estimation (in addition to other DL CSI related feedback from the UE) and to evaluate uplink quality of alternative uplink carries that may be better suited for uplink (PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS) transmission and, if deemed advantageous, (re)configure the UE to use this carrier for uplink transmission instead.
Regarding Claim 4, Nangia discloses wherein the index or identifier associated with the one uplink transmission comprises one or more of the following: a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index, a first capability value set index, a first CORESET group index, a first TCI state index, a first TCI state, a first TCI state group index, a first pathloss reference signal index, a first downlink reference signal group index, a first antenna panel identifier, a first transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set index, a first SRS resource set, a first SRS resource indicator (SRI), or a first physical cell identity (PCI); wherein an index or identifier of the one or more indices or identifiers associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions comprises one or more of the following: a second CORESET pool index, a second capability value set index, a second CORESET group index, a second TCI state index, a second TCI state, a second TCI state group index, a second pathloss reference signal index, a second downlink reference signal group index, a second antenna panel identifier, a second TRP identifier, a second SRS resource set index, a second SRS resource set, a second SRI, or a second PCI (Paragraphs 0058-0076).
Regarding Claim 5, Nangia discloses wherein the parameter associated with the one uplink transmission indicates one or more of the following: a first modulation coding scheme (MCS), a first frequency domain allocation, a first maximum power reduction (MPR), a first maximum permissible exposure (MPE), a first number of resource elements, or a first transmission power, wherein a parameter of the one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions indicates one or more of the following: a second MCS, a second frequency domain allocation, a second MPR, a second MPE, a second number of resource elements, or a second transmission power (Paragraph 0077). PHR Type-1 is more important than PHR Type-3 for future scheduling. PHR Type-1 which is related to PUSCH-only transmission on a carrier, provides the power availability or amount of transmission power available at the UE to the network for uplink scheduling. The network uses this information to schedule an appropriate uplink data rate that the available transmission power can support for future transmissions. PHR Type-3 which is related to SRS transmission on a carrier where the UE is not configured to transmit PUSCH. The SRS can be used for downlink CSI (Channel State Information) estimation (in addition to other DL CSI related feedback from the UE) and to evaluate uplink quality of alternative uplink carries that may be better suited for uplink (PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS) transmission and, if deemed advantageous, (re)configure the UE to use this carrier for uplink transmission instead.
Regarding Claim 6, Nangia discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive a first indication indicating one or more of the following: the one uplink transmission to be used for generating the single PHR for the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions, a rule to be used for determining the one uplink transmission, or an index or identifier associated with the one uplink transmission (Paragraph 0075). UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 7, Nangia discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: transmit a second indication indicating one or more of the following: the one uplink transmission used for generating the single PHR for the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions, a rule used for determining the one uplink transmission, or an index or identifier associated with the one uplink transmission (Paragraph 0075). UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 8, Nangia discloses wherein the single PHR is generated using one or more power control parameters associated with the one uplink transmission (Paragraph 0110). In various embodiments, the transceiver 425 sends a message indicating a capability for simultaneous or overlapping transmission of PUSCH on a first uplink carrier of a serving cell and SRS on a second uplink carrier of the serving cell. The processor 405 receives a configuration for PUSCH power control parameters on the first uplink carrier of the serving cell and a configuration for SRS power control parameters on the second uplink carrier of the serving cell and receives a PHR trigger. The processor 405 determines a PHR type for the serving cell based on the PHR trigger and a PHR type selection criterion and reports a PHR for the serving cell corresponding to an uplink carrier that is associated with the determined PHR type based on corresponding power control parameters.
Regarding Claim 10, Nangia discloses wherein the one uplink transmission of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions is determined by the terminal device based on an association of the one uplink transmission to an index or identifier (Paragraph 0075). UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 11, Nangia discloses transmit, to the terminal device, a first indication indicating one or more of the following: the one uplink transmission to be used for generating the single PHR for the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions, a rule to be used for determining the one uplink transmission, or an index or identifier associated with the one uplink transmission (Paragraph 0075). UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 12, Nangia discloses wherein the rule indicates one or more of the following: using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a higher index or identifier than one or more indices or identifiers associated with one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a lower index or identifier than the one or more indices or identifiers associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a larger parameter than one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a smaller parameter than the one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with an earlier starting time than one or more starting times associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a later starting time than the one or more starting times associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a larger power headroom value than one or more power headroom values associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a smaller power headroom value than the one or more power headroom values associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a first indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of two indicated TCI states; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a second indicated TCI state of the two indicated TCI states; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a TCI state corresponding to a lower index or identifier than one or more indices or identifiers corresponding to one or more other TCI states corresponding to the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; or using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a TCI state corresponding to a higher index or identifier than the one or more indices or identifiers corresponding to the one or more other TCI states corresponding to the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions (Paragraph 0077). PHR Type-1 is more important than PHR Type-3 for future scheduling. PHR Type-1 which is related to PUSCH-only transmission on a carrier, provides the power availability or amount of transmission power available at the UE to the network for uplink scheduling. The network uses this information to schedule an appropriate uplink data rate that the available transmission power can support for future transmissions. PHR Type-3 which is related to SRS transmission on a carrier where the UE is not configured to transmit PUSCH. The SRS can be used for downlink CSI (Channel State Information) estimation (in addition to other DL CSI related feedback from the UE) and to evaluate uplink quality of alternative uplink carries that may be better suited for uplink (PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS) transmission and, if deemed advantageous, (re)configure the UE to use this carrier for uplink transmission instead.
Regarding Claim 13, Nangia discloses wherein the index or identifier associated with the one uplink transmission comprises one or more of the following: a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index, a first capability value set index, a first CORESET group index, a first TCI state index, a first TCI state, a first TCI state group index, a first pathloss reference signal index, a first downlink reference signal group index, a first antenna panel identifier, a first transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set index, a first SRS resource set, a first SRS resource indicator (SRI), or a first physical cell identity (PCI), wherein an index or identifier of the one or more indices or identifiers associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions comprises one or more of the following: a second CORESET pool index, a second capability value set index, a second CORESET group index, a second TCI state index, a second TCI state, a second TCI state group index, a second pathloss reference signal index, a second downlinkreference signal group index, a second antenna panel identifier, a second TRP identifier, a second SRS resource set index, a second SRS resource set, a second SRI, or a second PCI (Paragraphs 0058-0076).
Regarding Claim 14, Nangia discloses wherein the parameter associated with the one uplink transmission indicates one or more of the following: a first modulation coding scheme (MCS), a first frequency domain allocation, a first maximum power reduction (MPR), a first maximum permissible exposure (MPE), a first number of resource elements, or a first transmission power, wherein a parameter of the one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions indicates one or more of the following: a second MCS, a second frequency domain allocation, a second MPR, a second MPE, a second number of resource elements, or a second transmission power (Paragraph 0077). PHR Type-1 is more important than PHR Type-3 for future scheduling. PHR Type-1 which is related to PUSCH-only transmission on a carrier, provides the power availability or amount of transmission power available at the UE to the network for uplink scheduling. The network uses this information to schedule an appropriate uplink data rate that the available transmission power can support for future transmissions. PHR Type-3 which is related to SRS transmission on a carrier where the UE is not configured to transmit PUSCH. The SRS can be used for downlink CSI (Channel State Information) estimation (in addition to other DL CSI related feedback from the UE) and to evaluate uplink quality of alternative uplink carries that may be better suited for uplink (PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS) transmission and, if deemed advantageous, (re)configure the UE to use this carrier for uplink transmission instead.
Regarding Claim 15, Nangia discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the terminal device, a second indication indicating one or more of the following: the one uplink transmission used for generating the single PHR for the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions, a rule used for determining the one uplink transmission, or an index or identifier associated with the one uplink transmission (Paragraph 0075). UE 205 reports only one PHR per serving cell, the UE 205 selects which UL carrier (i.e., NUL or SUL) should be used for PHR and correspondingly which type of PHR (i.e., PHR Type-1 for PUSCH or PHR Type-3 for SRS) to report.
Regarding Claim 16, Nangia discloses wherein the rule indicates one or more of the following: using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a higher index or identifier than one or more indices or identifiers associated with one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a lower index or identifier than the one or more indices or identifiers associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a larger parameter than one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a smaller parameter than the one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with an earlier starting time than one or more starting times associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a later starting time than the one or more starting times associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a larger power headroom value than one or more power headroom values associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission being associated with a smaller power headroom value than the one or more power headroom values associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a first indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of two indicated TCI states; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a second indicated TCI state of the two indicated TCI states; using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a TCI state corresponding to a lower index or identifier than one or more indices or identifiers corresponding to one or more other TCI states corresponding to the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions; or using the one uplink transmission based on the one uplink transmission corresponding to a TCI state corresponding to a higher index or identifier than the one or more indices or identifiers corresponding to the one or more other TCI states corresponding to the one or more other uplink transmissions of the at least two simultaneous uplink transmissions (Paragraph 0077). PHR Type-1 is more important than PHR Type-3 for future scheduling. PHR Type-1 which is related to PUSCH-only transmission on a carrier, provides the power availability or amount of transmission power available at the UE to the network for uplink scheduling. The network uses this information to schedule an appropriate uplink data rate that the available transmission power can support for future transmissions. PHR Type-3 which is related to SRS transmission on a carrier where the UE is not configured to transmit PUSCH. The SRS can be used for downlink CSI (Channel State Information) estimation (in addition to other DL CSI related feedback from the UE) and to evaluate uplink quality of alternative uplink carries that may be better suited for uplink (PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS) transmission and, if deemed advantageous, (re)configure the UE to use this carrier for uplink transmission instead.
Regarding Claim 17, Nangia discloses wherein the index or identifier associated with the one uplink transmission comprises one or more of the following: a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index, a first capability value set index, a first CORESET group index, a first TCI state index, a first TCI state, a first TCI state group index, a first pathloss reference signal index, a first downlink reference signal group index, a first antenna panel identifier, a first transmission-reception point (TRP) identifier, a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set index, a first SRS resource set, a first SRS resource indicator (SRI), or a first physical cell identity (PCI), wherein an index or identifier of the one or more indices or identifiers associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions comprises one or more of the following: a second CORESET pool index, a second capability value set index, a second CORESET group index, a second TCI state index, a second TCI state, a second TCI state group index, a second pathloss reference signal index, a second downlink reference signal group index, a second antenna panel identifier, a second TRP identifier, a second SRS resource set index, a second SRS resource set, a second SRI, or a second PCI (Paragraphs 0058-0076).
Regarding Claim 18, Nangia discloses wherein the parameter associated with the one uplink transmission indicates one or more of the following: a first modulation coding scheme (MCS), a first frequency domain allocation, a first maximum power reduction (MPR), a first maximum permissible exposure (MPE), a first number of resource elements, or a first transmission power, wherein a parameter of the one or more parameters associated with the one or more other uplink transmissions indicates one or more of the following: a second MCS, a second frequency domain allocation, a second MPR, a second MPE, a second number of resource elements, or a second transmission power (Paragraph 0077). PHR Type-1 is more important than PHR Type-3 for future scheduling. PHR Type-1 which is related to PUSCH-only transmission on a carrier, provides the power availability or amount of transmission power available at the UE to the network for uplink scheduling. The network uses this information to schedule an appropriate uplink data rate that the available transmission power can support for future transmissions. PHR Type-3 which is related to SRS transmission on a carrier where the UE is not configured to transmit PUSCH. The SRS can be used for downlink CSI (Channel State Information) estimation (in addition to other DL CSI related feedback from the UE) and to evaluate uplink quality of alternative uplink carries that may be better suited for uplink (PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS) transmission and, if deemed advantageous, (re)configure the UE to use this carrier for uplink transmission instead.
Conclusion
/ANKUR JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649