DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morimoto (JP 2021-047000; see English translation included with previous correspondence dated 09/23/2025).
As to claim 1, Morimoto discloses a valve set integrated module 80 configured for a thermal management system having a plurality of modes, the module 80
comprising:
a body 81 with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces
configured to communicate said channels with an external heat exchange assembly
(Fig. 6);
a first electric valve 14a and a second electric valve 14b, arranged on the body
81 and configured to communicate the channels to form different thermal management
circuits, wherein the valves 14a-b are configured to switch between an unblocking/blocking function and a throttling induced pressure reducing portion, and to unblock/block and/or throttle the thermal management circuits to achieve at least one of the plurality of modes (see last three paragraphs of page 4; paragraphs 4-6 of page 7).
As to claim 3, the claim merely recites an intended use for the connections of
the valve module. The module 80 of Morimoto is configured in such a manner so as to
be connectable to a system in the manner as claimed (for example see Figs. 3 and 6)
and thus is capable of performing the recited intended use for the device.
As to claims 9, 11, and 13, Morimoto discloses a first solenoid valve 18a arranged on the body 81. The valve 18a is capable of being connected in
communication with an exterior heat exchanger outlet and a gas-liquid separator inlet in
the manner as claimed.
As to claim 14, Morimoto discloses the valves 14a-b being capable of
unblocking/blocking and throttling different circuits (see last three paragraphs of page 4;
paragraphs 4-6 of page 7). The valves 14a-b are capable of being connected in
communication with a condenser outlet, heat exchanger inlet, heat exchanger outlet,
and evaporator inlet in the manner as claimed.
As to claims 15 and 17, Morimoto discloses expansion valves 14c-d capable of
being connected in the manner as claimed.
As to claim 16, Morimoto discloses solenoid valves 18b-c capable of connection
as claimed.
As to claims 19-20, Morimoto discloses a vehicle with an external heat
exchange assembly of the thermal management system (Fig. 3) comprising a
compressor 11, an interior condenser 12, an exterior heat exchanger 17, an interior
evaporator 20, a gas liquid separator 34, and a blower 52.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 18, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto as applied in the rejections above.
As to claims 5, 7, and 21, Morimoto teaches a one-way valve 19a in communication with an exterior heat exchanger and the second electric valve 14b (Figs. 3 and 6), but does not explicitly teach that the valve 19a is arranged on the body 81. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to modify the Morimoto by having the valve 19a arranged on the body, since applicant has not disclosed that having the valve on the body solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected result, and it appears that the one-way valve would perform equally well whether or not it is physically located on the body of the valve module.
As to claim 18, Morimoto teaches a battery pack exchanger 47 (Fig. 3), but
does not explicitly teach that the exchanger 47 is arranged on the body 81 or connected
to a gas-liquid separator. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to
modify the Morimoto by having the exchanger 47 arranged on the body and connected
to a separator as claimed, since applicant has not disclosed that the particular
arrangement of the battery pack exchanger solves any stated problem or provides any
unexpected result, and it appears that the one-way valve would perform equally well
with any reasonable battery pack exchanger configuration.
As to claim 22, Morimoto discloses a first solenoid valve 18a arranged on the body 81. The valve 18a is capable of being connected in communication with an exterior heat exchanger outlet and a gas-liquid separator inlet in
the manner as claimed.
As to claim 23, Morimoto discloses the valves 14a-b being capable of
unblocking/blocking and throttling different circuits (see last three paragraphs of page 4;
paragraphs 4-6 of page 7). The valves 14a-b are capable of being connected in
communication with a condenser outlet, heat exchanger inlet, heat exchanger outlet,
and evaporator inlet in the manner as claimed.
As to claim 24, Morimoto discloses a first electronic expansion valve 14d arranged on the body 81 and configured to be connected in the manner as claimed (Fig. 6).
As to claims 25-26, Morimoto discloses a second solenoid valve 18c and a second electronic expansion valve 14c capable of being connected in the manner as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the objection(s) to the drawing(s) and claim rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Said objections/rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments see pages 8-9, filed with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the valves 14a-b of Morimoto are only expansion valves, and are not configured to switch between an unblocking/blocking function and a throttling function. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Morimoto explicitly sets forth that the valves can perform a throttling function as well as a blocking/unblocking function, for example as discussed at the last three paragraphs of page 4. As such it is maintained that the cited prior art meets the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763