DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 1-2, filed 03/17/2026, with respect to Claim 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 and 112(b) of 12/29/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant discloses “First, KASSELMAN does not disclose one or more processors configured to "receive, from an electric vehicle remote from the device, charging data during a charging, of a particular battery cell of a plurality of battery cells of the electric vehicle, from an external source," as recited in amended claim 1”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. “Kasselman discloses in paragraph [0057] and Fig. 8 “The method 800 begins at stage 802 with the BLIS service receiving data from multiple batteries of a fleet. The data may be voltage data, current data, temperature data, or any other data being aggregated by the BLIS service.” Kasselman further indicates that the monitoring system is remote of the from the batteries [0025] and that the batteries and system may be deployed in electric vehicles [0029] in an operational state [0081].
Applicant further discloses “Second, KASSELMAN does not disclose one or more processors configured to at least "determine, using a physics-based model and based on the charging data and the historical data, a performance indicator for the particular battery cell and at least one of an SOH for the particular battery cell or an RUL for the particular battery cell; [and] determine whether the performance indicator is indicative of a faultiness of the particular battery cell," as recited in amended claim 1”. More specifically “KASSELMAN does not disclose determining whether a model-generated performance indicator for a particular battery cell indicates faultiness of that battery cell. Instead, KASSELMAN identifies anomalies by comparing battery measurements to fleet-level data or statistical thresholds derived from fleet measurements. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kasselman teaches discloses one or more processors [0006], using a physics-based model [0063-0064] (Digital Twin (an exact modeled version) and based on the charging data and the historical data [0080-0081], a performance indicator for the particular battery cell and at least one of an SOH for the particular battery cell or an RUL for the particular battery cell [0079-0081]. Kasselman fails to teach transmit, to the electric vehicle, an indication to cause a controller of the electric vehicle to start up or shut down the particular battery cell, wherein the indication indicates the at least one of the SOH or the RUL, responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is not indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell, or indicates a request for additional data associated with the particular battery cell responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell. However, this taught by Feng et al. ([0033] [0066][0073][0078] Feng et al. (US20200313245A1, 2020-10-01)). It is for this reason the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasselman et al. (US20220113356A11, 2022-04-14) herein referred to as Kasselman, further in view of Feng et al. (US20200313245A1, 2020-10-01), herein referred to as Feng.
Regarding Claim 1, Kasselman teaches a device [0024], comprising: one or more memories [0096]; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories [0096],
configured to: receive, from an electric vehicle remote from the device [0004; 0029], charging data during a charging of a particular battery cell of a plurality of battery cells the electric vehicle [0019; 0021; 0081], from an external source [Examiner’s Note: charging of an electric vehicle implies that the charging source is external], the charging data indicating at least one of a voltage, a current, or a temperature of the particular battery cell during the charging [0034]; retrieve historical data, associated with the particular battery cell [0053; 0055; 0080],
including one or more of: historical charging data, historical state of health (SOH) data, historical remaining useful life (RUL) data, or historical performance indicator data [0053; 0055; 0080]; determine, using a physics-based model [0063-0064] (Digital Twin (an exact modeled version) and based on the charging data and the historical data [0080-0081], a performance indicator for the particular battery cell and at least one of an SOH for the particular battery cell or an RUL for the particular battery cell [0079-0081]; determine whether the performance indicator is indicative of a faultiness of the battery cell [0059].
Kasselman fails to teach transmit, to the electric vehicle, an indication to cause a controller of the electric vehicle to start up or shut down the particular battery cell, wherein the indication indicates the at least one of the SOH or the RUL, responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is not indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell, or indicates a request for additional data associated with the particular battery cell responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell.
However, in a related field, Feng teaches transmit, to the electric vehicle, an indication to cause a controller of the electric vehicle to start up or shut down the particular battery cell, wherein the indication indicates the at least one of the SOH or the RUL, responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is not indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell, or indicates a request for additional data associated with the particular battery cell responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell [0033; 0066; 0073; 0077-0078; Fig. 15].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasselman to incorporate the teachings of Feng by including: the limitations in order to effectively implement safety measures upon discovery of faulty equipment.
Regarding Claim 3, The combination further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the charging data, are configured to: receive the charging data and usage data relating to one or more previous dischargings of the particular battery cell [Kasselman: 0019; 0055; 0079-0080].
Regarding Claim 4, The combination further teaches The device of claim 3, wherein the performance indicator and the at least one or of the SOH or the RUL, are based on the charging data, the historical data, and the usage data [Kasselman: 0079-0080].
Regarding Claim 5, The combination further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive the additional data indicating additional charging data associated with the charging or one or more subsequent chargings of the particular battery cell [0079-0080]; determine, using the physics-based model and based on the additional data and the historical data ,an updated performance indicator for the particular battery cell and at least [0034; 0051, 0079-0081], one of: an updated SOH for the particular battery cell oran updated RUL for the battery cell [0053; 0055; 0080]; determine whether the updated performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the battery cell [0059]; and transmit an additional indication that indicates whether the particular battery cell is faulty based on determining whether the updated performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell [Kasselman: 0055].
Regarding Claim 6, The combination further teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the additional charging data is associated with a different state of charge of the battery cell than a state of charge of the battery cell associated with the charging data [Kasselman: 0060-0061; 0080].
Regarding Claim 7, The combination further teaches the device of claim 5, wherein the additional charging data is associated with a greater sampling frequency than a sampling frequency associated with the charging data [Kasselman: 0071].
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kasselman and Feng teaches the device of claim 1. The combination fail to specifically teach wherein the charging of the particular battery cell is a charging pulse applied to the particular battery cell for a time period, and wherein the charging data includes first charging data obtained during the time period and second charging data obtained outside of the time period.
However, combination teaches one or more controllers where measurements may be taken at various times and that those measurements are stored in the battery database [Kasselman: 0040]. Kasselman further teaches pulse excitation (charging) and that the data may be collected at any suitable time, and that models maybe optimized for different chemistries and input parameters (customizable) [Kasselman: 0066]. He further discloses that the WBMS can run one algorithm, and then be updated to run a different algorithm or parameter [Kasselman: 0069]. Lastly, he teaches One of ordinary skill in the art would conclude applying a pulse charge to the battery cell for a time period obtaining first and secondary charging data of differing times to obtain the most accurate SOC or SOH information.
Regarding Claim 9, Kasselman teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, from an electric vehicle remote from the device [0004; 0029], charging data during a charging of a particular battery cell of a plurality of battery cells the electric vehicle [0019; 0021; 0081], the charging data indicating at least one of a voltage, a current, or a temperature associated with the particular battery cell [0053; 0055; 0080],
including one or more of: historical charging data, historical state of health (SOH) data, historical remaining useful life (RUL) data, or historical performance indicator data [0053; 0055; 0080]; determine, using a physics-based model [0063-0064] (Digital Twin (an exact modeled version) and based on the charging data and the historical data [0080-0081], a performance indicator for the particular battery cell and at least one of an SOH for the particular battery cell or an RUL for the particular battery cell [0079-0081]; determine whether the performance indicator is indicative of a faultiness of the battery cell [0059].
Kasselman fails to teach transmit, to the electric vehicle, an indication to cause a controller of the electric vehicle to start up or shut down the particular battery cell, wherein the indication indicates the at least one of the SOH or the RUL, responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is not indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell, or indicates a request for additional data associated with the particular battery cell responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell. However, in a related field, Feng teaches transmit, to the electric vehicle, an indication to cause a controller of the electric vehicle to start up or shut down the particular battery cell, wherein the indication indicates the at least one of the SOH or the RUL, responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is not indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell, or indicates a request for additional data associated with the particular battery cell responsive to a determination that the performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the particular battery cell [0033; 0066; 0073; 0077-0078; Fig. 15]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasselman to incorporate the teachings of Feng by including: the limitations in order to effectively implement safety measures upon discovery of faulty equipment.
Regarding Claim 10, The combination further teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: storing information indicating the charging data, the SOH, the RUL, or the performance indicator in a cloud storage [Kasselman: 0019-0020].
Regarding Claim 11, The combination further teaches the device of claim 9 further comprising, receiving the additional data indicating additional charging data associated with the charging or one or more subsequent chargings of the particular battery cell [Kasselman: 0079-0080]; determining, using the physics-based model and based on the additional data and the historical data [Kasselman: 0034; 0051, 0079-0081], one or more of: an updated SOH for the particular battery cell, an updated RUL for the battery cell, or an updated performance indicator for the battery cell [Kasselman: 0053; 0055; 0080]; determining whether the updated performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the battery cell [0059]; and transmitting an additional indication that indicates whether the battery cell is faulty based on determining whether the updated performance indicator is indicative of the faultiness of the battery cell [Kasselman: 0055].
Regarding Claim 12, The combination further teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the additional charging data is associated with at least one of: a different state of charge of the particular battery cell than a state of charge of the particular battery cell associated with the charging data, or a greater sampling frequency than a sampling frequency associated with the charging data [Kasselman: 0060-0061].
Regarding Claim 13, The combination further teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the physics-based model is a machine learning model configured with one or more physics equations [Kasselman: 0071].
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Kasselman and Feng teaches the device of claim 9. Kasselman fail to specifically teach wherein the charging of the particular battery cell is a charging pulse applied to the particular battery cell for a time period, and wherein the charging data includes first charging data obtained during the time period and second charging data obtained outside of the time period.
However, combination teaches one or more controllers where measurements may be taken at various times and that those measurements are stored in the battery database [Kasselman: 0040]. He further teaches pulse excitation (charging) and that the data may be collected at any suitable time, and that models maybe optimized for different chemistries and input parameters (customizable) [Kasselman: 0066]. He further discloses that the WBMS can run one algorithm, and then be updated to run a different algorithm or parameter [Kasselman: 0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would conclude applying a pulse charge to the battery cell for a time period obtaining first and secondary charging data of differing times to obtain the most accurate SOC or SOH information.
Regarding Claim 15, The combination further teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: retrieving historical data, associated with the particular battery cell, including one or more of: historical charging data, historical SOH data, historical RUL data, or historical performance indicator data, wherein the one or more of the SOH, the RUL, or the performance indicator are based on the charging data and the historical data [Kasselman: 0053; 0055; 0080].
Regarding Claim 16, The combination teaches An electric vehicle [0029], comprising: a battery module comprising a battery cell [0024]; and one or more controllers [0024] configured to: detect a charging of the battery cell [0019; 0021; 0081] from an external source [Examiner’s Note: charging of an electric vehicle implies that the charging source is external]; obtain, based on detection of the charging of the battery cell, charging data the charging of the battery cell from the external source, the charging data indicating at least one of a voltage, a current, or a temperature associated with the battery cell during the charging of the battery cell [0034; 0040; 0057; 0081]. Kasselman further teaches transmit the charging data to a device remote from the electric vehicle [0019; 0021; 0081] to cause the device to estimate a performance indicator for the battery cell based on the charging data and at least one of an SOH or an RUL of the battery cell [0079-0081].
Kasselman fails to specifically teach receive an indication, based on the performance indicator, that indicates the at least one of the SOH or the RUL, or that indicates a request for additional data associated with the battery cell; and start up or shut down the battery cell based on the indication.
However, in a related field, Feng teaches
receive an indication, based on the performance indicator, that indicates the at least one of the SOH or the RUL, or that indicates a request for additional data associated with the battery cell; and start up or shut down the battery cell based on the indication.
[0033; 0066; 0073; 0077-0078; Fig. 15]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasselman to incorporate the teachings of Feng by including: the limitations in order to effectively implement safety measures upon discovery of faulty equipment.
Regarding Claim 17, The combination teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16, wherein the one or more controllers, to transmit the charging data, are configured to: transmit the charging and usage data associated with one or more previous dischargings of the battery cell, wherein the one or more of the SOH, the RUL, or the performance indicator is based on the charging data and the usage data [Kasselman: 0080].
Regarding Claim 18, The combination further teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16, wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to: obtain, based on the indication indicating the request for the additional data, the additional data indicating additional charging data associated with the charging or one or more subsequent chargings of the battery cell [0040]; transmit the additional data to the device to cause the device to estimate, based on the additional data, one or more of an updated SOH for the battery cell, an updated RUL for the battery cell, or an updated performance indicator for the battery cell [0019]; and receive an additional indication that indicates whether the battery cell is faulty [Kasselman: 0055].
Regarding Claim 19, The combination further teaches the electric vehicle of claim 18, wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to: transmit a notification indicating that the battery cell or the battery module is to be serviced in accordance with the additional indication indicating that the battery cell is faulty [Kasselman: 0054-0056].
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Kasselman and Feng teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16. The combination fails to specifically teach wherein the one or more controllers are further configured to: cause a charging pulse to be applied to the battery cell for a time period, and wherein the one or more controllers, to obtain the charging data, are configured to: obtain first charging data of the charging data during the time period and second charging data of the charging data outside of the time period.
However, combination teaches one or more controllers where measurements may be taken at various times and that those measurements are stored in the battery database [Kasselman: 0040]. He further teaches pulse excitation (charging) and that the data may be collected at any suitable time, and that models maybe optimized for different chemistries and input parameters (customizable) [Kasselman: 0066]. He further discloses that the WBMS can run one algorithm, and then be updated to run a different algorithm or parameter [Kasselman: 0069]. One of ordinary skill in the art would conclude applying a pulse charge to the battery cell for a time period obtaining first and secondary charging data of differing times to obtain the most accurate SOC or SOH information.
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasselman and Feng, in view of Zeng et al. (CN111177924b, 2020-10-23) herein referred to as Zeng.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1. The combination fails to specifically teach herein the physics-based model is based on porous electrode theory. However, in a related field, Zeng teaches herein the physics-based model is based on porous electrode theory (Last paragraph of Background). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kasselman and Feng to incorporate the teachings of Zeng by including: physics-based model is based on porous electrode theory in order to describe the electrochemical behavior of the battery.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J SINGLETARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857