DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 01/29/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending for this examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 11/06/2023.
Oath/Declaration
The oath or declaration filed on 09/29/2023 is acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, with traverse Species I (Fig 3), claims 1-18, in the “Response to Election / Restriction Filed” filed on 01/29/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s argument regarding species found persuasive. Therefore, species restriction requirement withdrawn. This office action considers claims 1-18 are thus pending for prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SONG et al (US 2021/0119178 A1; hereafter SONG).
Regarding claim 1. SONG discloses a display device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig 7, substrate 100, Para [ 0099]) having a display area configured to display an image (Fig 7, display area DA, Para [ 0060]) and a non-display area (peripheral area PA outside the display area, Para [ 0060]) adjacent to the display area (Fig 7, display area DA, Para [ 0060]);
a thin film transistor (Fig 7, thin-film transistor TFT1, Para [ 0098]) disposed on the substrate (Fig 7, substrate 100, Para [ 0099]) and including a semiconductor layer (Fig 7, active layer ACT, Para [ 0101]), a gate electrode (Fig 7, gate electrode GE, Para [ 0101]), a source electrode (source electrode SE, Para [ 0101]) and a drain electrode (drain electrode DE, Para [ 0101]);
an emitting element (Fig 7, light-emitting diode OLED, Para [ 0112]) disposed on the thin film transistor (Fig 7, thin-film transistor TFT1, Para [ 0098]) in the display area (Fig 7, display area DA, Para [ 0060]) and including a first electrode (first electrode 221), an emitting layer (Fig 7, intermediate layer 222) and a second electrode (second electrode 223);
an encapsulating part (Fig 7, encapsulation layer 300, Para [ 0141]) disposed on the emitting element (light-emitting diode OLED, Para [ 0112]);
a first line (Fig 7, conductive layer 160, construed as first line, Para [ 0076]) disposed in the non-display area (peripheral area PA outside the display area, Para [ 0060]), the first line including a same metallic material as the first electrode (Para [ 0132] discloses “The second conductive layer 160 may include the same material as that of the first electrode 221” and Para [ 0118, 0124] discloses same material list such as “palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni)”) and connected (electrically connected) to the second electrode (second electrode 223); and
a plurality of first dams (Fig 7, 180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]) disposed on the first line (Fig 7, conductive layer 160), wherein the first line includes a plurality of open parts (Fig 7, holes 160H, Para [ 0149]), and the plurality of first dams (Fig 7, 180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]) are disposed on the plurality of open parts (Fig 7, holes 160H, Para [ 0149]).
Regarding claim 7. SONG discloses the display device of claim 1, SONG discloses wherein each of the plurality of open parts is an outgassing hole for emitting gas (Fig 7, holes 160H, Para [ 0149]). However, claim 7 contain(s) process limitations “plurality of open parts is an outgassing hole for emitting gas” These limitations invoke the Product-by-Process doctrine. Product-by-process limitations are not limited by the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113). Specifically, plurality of open parts is an outgassing hole for emitting gas does not appear to structurally distinguish the invention over the resulting structure produced by the prior art. The burden to show that the claimed method necessarily distinguishes over the prior art is on the applicant.
Regarding claim 8. SONG discloses the display device of claim 1, SONG discloses further comprising a second dam (Fig 7, left side dam 180) disposed outside the plurality of first dams (Fig 7, 180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]).
Regarding claim 9. SONG discloses the display device of claim 8, SONG discloses wherein a height of the first dam (Fig 7, 180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]) is smaller than a height of the second dam (left side dam 180).
Regarding claim 10. SONG discloses the display device of claim 8, SONG discloses wherein the encapsulating part (Fig 7, encapsulation layer 300, Para [ 0141]) includes a first encapsulating layer (310), a second encapsulating layer (320) and a third encapsulating layer (330), wherein the first encapsulating layer, the second encapsulating layer and the third encapsulating layer are disposed on the plurality of first dams (180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]), and the first encapsulating layer (310) and the third encapsulating layer (330)are disposed on the second dam (left side dam 180).
Regarding claim 14. SONG discloses the display device of claim 1, SONG discloses further comprising a gate driving unit (Fig 7, scan driver 1100, construed as gate driving unit, Para [ 0075]) disposed in the non-display area (peripheral area PA outside the display area, Para [ 0060]).
Regarding claim 15. SONG discloses the display device of claim 14, SONG discloses wherein the gate driving unit is a gate-in-panel type (Fig 7, peripheral area PA outside the display area, Para [ 0060]).
Regarding claim 16. SONG discloses the display device of claim 14, SONG discloses further comprising a planarizing layer (third insulating layer 117, Para [ 0109]) covering the gate driving unit (Fig 7, scan driver 1100, construed as gate driving unit, Para [ 0075]).
Regarding claim 17. SONG discloses the display device of claim 16, SONG discloses wherein the plurality of first dams (Fig 7, 180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]) are disposed on the planarizing layer, (third insulating layer 117, Para [ 0109]) and a portion of the plurality of first dams (Fig 7, 180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]) overlaps the gate driving unit (scan driver 1100, construed as gate driving unit, Para [ 0075]).
Regarding claim 18. SONG discloses the display device of claim 1, SONG discloses wherein the first line includes a mesh pattern (Fig 6, conductive layer 160), and at least one of the plurality of first dams (Fig 7, 180 may have a multi-layered structure, Para [ 0144]) overlaps a portion of the mesh pattern (Fig 7, conductive layer 160).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 2. a bank layer disposed on the thin film transistor and covering a portion of the first electrode; and a spacer disposed on the bank layer, wherein each of the plurality of first dams includes at least one of a lower dam layer having a same material as the bank layer and an upper dam layer having a same material as the spacer.
Regarding claim 3. wherein the first line includes a mesh part disposed in a region except for the plurality of open parts, and wherein the plurality of first dams are disposed along one of a first direction and a second direction to have a stripe shape.
Claims 4-6 are objected based on the dependency of claim 3.
Regarding claim 11. The display device of claim 8, wherein the second dam is disposed at an end portion of the second encapsulating layer.
Regarding claim 12. further comprising a common line connected to the first line and applying a common voltage to the first line, wherein the common line includes a first common line having a same material as the source electrode.
Claims 13 is objected based on the dependency of claim 12.
Conclusion
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898