DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment dated 10/24/2025 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 3, as set forth in claims 17-20, in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In the instant case, the abstract is less than 50 words in length, and repeats information given in the title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20, 22, 25-30, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. 5,573,051 – Judkins.
Regarding claim 17.
Judkins discloses a covering (fig 1) (Examiner notes that, unless otherwise noted, the embodiment of figs 14 and 15 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes.) for an architectural structure, the covering comprising:
a headrail assembly (2, fig 1);
a plurality of slats (6, fig 3) supported relative to the headrail assembly by at least one ladder tape assembly (including 13, fig 3);
a tilt system (including 18, fig 15) forming part of the headrail assembly (See fig 15), the tilt system including a tilt drive assembly (Including 25, fig 11) and a tilt rail (19, fig 15) coupled to the at least one ladder tape assembly (via 18, fig 15), the tilt drive assembly being configured to rotate the tilt rail about a tilt axis to effectuate tilting of the plurality of slats (Compare figs 12 and 13); and
a lift system (including 29, fig 14) forming part of the headrail assembly (See fig 14) and being configured to raise and lower the plurality of slats relative to the headrail assembly (Column 5, lines 42-43; turning of the drive axle 29 will raise or lower the lift cords);
wherein one or more lift system components (including 29, fig 14) of the lift system are provided in operative association with the tilt rail via 18, see fig 15) such that the one or more lift system components rotate with the tilt rail about the tilt axis (as in figs 12-13).
Regarding claim 18.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Judkins further discloses a bottom rail assembly (including 4, fig 7) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (See at 2 in fig 7) such that the plurality of slats (6, fig 7) are supported between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 7).
Regarding claim 20.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Judkins further discloses a center of mass (between 19 and 29 in fig 15) of the tilt rail (including 19 and 29, figs 14 and 15) is offset from the tilt axis (at 19 in fig 15) in a radial direction defined relative to the tilt axis (See figs 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 22.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 20.
Judkins further discloses the tilt axis (at 19 in fig 15) is positioned below the center of mass (between 19 and 29 in fig 15) of the tilt rail when the plurality of slats are disposed at a horizontal, fully opened position (See fig 15).
Regarding claim 25.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Judkins further discloses the tilt rail (including 19, fig 14) defines an open-ended mounting channel (as penetrations in 18 at 29 in fig 15) which the one or more lift system components are supported (See figs 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 26.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 25.
Judkins further discloses a rail cover (2, fig 14) configured to be installed relative to the tilt rail (including 19, fig 14) such that the rail cover and tilt rail at least partially define an enclosed cavity within which the one or more lift system components are positioned.
Regarding claim 27.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 26.
Judkins further discloses front and rear cord gaps (allowing passage of cords 8 and 11, see fig 15) are defined at respective interfaces between the rail cover (2, fig 14) and the tilt rail (including 19, fig 14) and wherein front and rear runs of the at least one ladder tape assembly extend through the front and rear cord gaps, respectively (See fig 15).
Regarding claim 28.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 27.
Judkins further discloses a bottom rail assembly (including 4, fig 7) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (at 2, fig 7) such that the plurality of slats (6, fig 7) are supported between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (see fig 7), the lift system including front and rear lift cords (8, fig 14) extending between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 8), the front and rear lift cords extending through the front and rear cord gaps, respectively (See fig 15).
Regarding claim 29.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Judkins further discloses front and rear runs of the at least one ladder tape assembly (1 and 11, fig 15) depend from opposed front and rear sides of the tilt rail, respectively (See fig 15), such that rotation of the tilt rail about the tilt axis in a first direction results in the front run being raised while the rear run is lowered (See figs 12 and 13).
Regarding claim 30.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 29.
Judkins further discloses a bottom rail assembly (including 4, fig 7) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (2, fig 7) such that the plurality of slats (6, fig 7) are supported between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 7), the lift system including front and rear lift cords (8, fig 15) extending between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 15), the front and rear lift cords depending from the opposed front and rear side of the tilt rail (See fig 15), respectively, such that rotation of the tilt rail in the first direction results in the front lift cord being raised by the same magnitude as the front run while the rear lift cord is lowered by the same magnitude as the rear run (Compare figs 12 and 13).
Regarding claim 32.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 31.
Judkins further discloses an inner surface of the cover portion (Top of head portion of 42, fig 7) is configured to contact against the front and rear engagement flanges when the cover portion is coupled to the connector insert (See fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 31, and 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Judkins in view of US Pat. 6,119,757 – Judkins et al., hereinafter Judkins757.
Regarding claim 19.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 18.
Judkins further discloses the bottom rail assembly (including 4, fig 7) comprises:
a bottom rail (including 4, fig 7) comprising a rail portion (4, fig 7) and a separate cover portion (head of 42, fig 7), the rail portion including an upper rail wall and forward and rear edge walls extending from upper rail wall along respective front and rear sides of the rail portion (See fig 7), the rail portion defining an open bottom end configured to be at least partially covered by the covering portion (See fig 7);
Judkins does not disclose a connector insert received within the rail portion and being configured to couple the cover portion to the rail portion of the bottom rail, the connector insert including at least one connection member configured to engage at least one corresponding connection member of the cover portion to support the cover portion relative to the open bottom end of the rail portion.
However, Judkins757 teaches a connector insert (20, fig 13) received within the rail portion (16, fig 11) and being configured to couple the cover portion (64, fig 13) to the rail portion of the bottom rail (See fig 13), the connector insert including at least one connection member (69, fig 13) configured to engage at least one corresponding connection member (68, fig 14) of the cover portion to support the cover portion relative to the open bottom end of the rail portion (See fig 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering of Judkins with the connector insert of Judkins757. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing a secure connection between the cover portion and the rail portion.
Regarding claim 31.
The combination of Judkins and Judkins757 discloses all limitations of claim 19.
Judkins further discloses the rail portion (4, fig 7) further includes front and rear engagement flanges (portion of rail bottom surface contacting head of 42 in fig 7) extending inwardly relative to the forward and rear edge walls of the rail portion (See fig 7), respectively, the front engagement flange being spaced apart from the rear engagement flange such that the open bottom end of the rail portion is defined between the front and rear engagement flanges (See fig 7).
Regarding claim 33.
The combination of Judkins and Judkins757 discloses all limitations of claim 31.
Judkins does not disclose at least one cord slot is defined in each of the front and rear engagement flanges for receiving at least one cord of a covering.
However, Judkins757 teaches at least one cord slot (See slots in 20 allowing passage of cords 12 in fig 13) is defined in each of the front and rear engagement flanges (See at 20 in fig 13) for receiving at least one cord (12, fig 13) of a covering.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the covering of Judkins with the cord slots of Judkins757. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing secure attachment of cords.
Regarding claim 34.
The combination of Judkins and Judkins757 teaches all limitation of claim 33.
Judkins further discloses the cover portion (head of 42, fig 7) is configured to cover at least a portion of the at least one cord slot (hole admitting cord above 42 in fig 7) when the cover portion is supported relative to the open bottom end of the rail portion by the connector insert (See fig 7).
Regarding claim 35.
The combination of Judkins and Judkins757 discloses all limitations of claim 19.
Judkins does not disclose the at least one connection member of the connector insert comprises a pair of hook-shaped members and wherein at least one connection member of the cover portion compresses a corresponding pair of hook-shaped members configured to engage the pair of hook-shaped members of the connector insert.
However, Judkins757 teaches the at least one connection member of the connector insert (20, fig 13) comprises a pair of hook-shaped members (fore and aft portions of 69, fig 13) and wherein at least one connection member of the cover portion compresses a corresponding pair of hook-shaped members (68, fig 14) configured to engage the pair of hook-shaped members of the connector insert (See fig 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering of Judkins with the hook-shaped members of Judkins757. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing secure attachment of the cover portion to the rail portion.
Regarding claim 36.
The combination of Judkins and Judkins757 discloses all limitations of claim 19.
Judkins does not disclose a snap-fit connection is provided between the cover portion and the connector insert.
However, Judkins757 teaches a snap-fit connection (at 69, fig 13) is provided between the cover portion (64, fig 13) and the connector insert (20, fig 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering of Judkins with the snap-fit connection of Judkins757. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of secure attachment of the cover portion to the rail portion.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Judkins in view of US Pat. 3,310,099 – Hunter et al., hereinafter Hunter.
Regarding claim 23.
Judkins discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Judkins further discloses the one or more lift system components comprise a lift station (30, fig 14).
Judkins does not disclose and a motor operatively coupled to the lift station.
However, Hunter teaches a motor (42, fig 1) operatively coupled to a lift station (40, fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering of Judkins with the motor of Hunter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing for ease of lifting and lowering of the slats.
Regarding claim 24.
The combination of Judkins and Hunter teaches all limitations of claim 23.
Judkins further discloses a bottom rail assembly (including 4, fig 7) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (2, fig 7) such that the plurality of slats (6, fig 7) are supported between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 7), the lift system including at least one lift cord (8, fig 15) extending between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 15), the at least one lift cord being coupled to at least one lift spool (30, fig 14) of the lift station (See fig 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634