DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 05/04/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-18, 20,24, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. 2,231,778 Swanson.
Regarding claim 17.
Swanson discloses a covering (See fig 1) for an architectural structure (20, fig 1), the covering comprising:
a headrail assembly (including 21 and 33, fig 1);
a plurality of slats (94, fig 1) supported relative to the headrail assembly by at least one ladder tape assembly (including 96, fig 1);
a tilt system (including 21, fig 1) forming part of the headrail assembly (See fig 1), the tilt system including a tilt drive assembly (Page 3, column 1, lines 38-42; Means are provided for operation in conjunction with the collar 49, flange 45 of the plate 43 and associated elements to oscillate the cylindrical head bar 21 to tilt or adjust the slats or sections of the blind.) and a tilt rail (21, fig 1) coupled to the at least one ladder tape assembly (See fig 4), the tilt drive assembly being configured to rotate the tilt rail about a tilt axis to effectuate tilting of the plurality of slats (Page 3, column 1, lines 38-42; Means are provided for operation in conjunction with the collar 49, flange 45 of the plate 43 and associated elements to oscillate the cylindrical head bar 21 to tilt or adjust the slats or sections of the blind.), the tilt rail extending along the tilt axis between a first end of the tilt rail and a second end of the tilt rail (See figs 1, 3, and 4), the tilt rail including opposed front and rear walls (See annotated fig 4) extending between the first and second ends of the tilt rail (See figs 1 and 3) and a bottom wall (See annotated fig 4) extending between the front and rear walls (See fig 4), the tilt rail defining an elongated mounting channel (See annotated fig 4) between the front and rear walls (See annotated fig 4) that extends along the tilt axis between the first and second ends of the tilt rail (See also fig 3); and
a lift system (including 89 and 26, fig 3) forming part of the headrail assembly and being configured to raise and lower the plurality of slats relative to the headrail assembly (Page 6, column 1, lines 8-15; Thus if the shaft 26 is rotated in one direction and the slats 94 are fully lowered, the cords 97 will be wound upon the reels 89 until the slats 94 are entirely clustered adjoining the head bar 21 and the blind completely raised. Thereupon if the rotation of the shaft 26 is reversed, the cords 97 will unwind from the reels 89 until the blind Is fully lowered), the lift system comprising one or more lift system components (including at least 89 and 26, fig 3), the one or more lift system components comprising a lift station (89, fig 3) and a lift rod (26, fig 3) operatively coupled to the lift station (See fig 3);
wherein the one or more lift system components of the lift system are supported within the elongated mounting channel defined by the tilt rail (see fig 3) such that the one or more lift system components rotate with the tilt rail about the tilt axis (Page 3, column 1, lines 33-37; Thus any rotation of the intermediate shaft 41 correspondingly rotates the operating shaft 26 through the medium of the collar 49 fixed to the abutting ends of both of said shafts.).
Regarding claim 18.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Swanson further discloses a bottom rail assembly (bottommost slat 94 in fig 4 is construed as the bottom rail.) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (at 21 in fig 4) such that the plurality of slats (94, see fig 4) are supported (on rungs 95 of ladder tapes, see fig 4) between the headrail assembly (at 21 in fig 4) and the bottom rail assembly (see fig 4).
Regarding claim 20.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Swanson further discloses a center of mass of the tilt rail is offset from the tilt axis in a radial direction defined relative to the tilt axis (The tilt axis of the tilt rail is the central axis of the tilt rail. However, the cutting away of portions of the bottom of the tilt rail, seen best in fig 6, would serve to raise the center of mass of the tilt rail relative to its central axis.).
Regarding claim 22.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 20.
Swanson further discloses the tilt axis is positioned below the center of mass of the tilt rail when the plurality of slats are disposed at a horizontal, fully opened position (The tilt axis of the tilt rail is the central axis of the tilt rail. However, the cutting away of portions of the bottom of the tilt rail, seen best in fig 6, would serve to raise the center of mass of the tilt rail relative to its central axis, when the plurality of slats are disposed at a horizontal, fully opened position, as claimed.).
Regarding claim 23.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Swanson further discloses the one or more lift system components further comprise a motor (30, fig 3) operatively coupled to the lift station (89, fig 3) via the lift rod (26, fig 3).
Regarding claim 24.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 23.
Swanson further discloses a bottom rail assembly (bottommost slat 94 in fig 4 is construed as the bottom rail.) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (at 21 in fig 4) such that the plurality of slats (94, fig 4) are supported between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly, the lift system including at least one lift cord (97, fig 3) extending between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 4), the at least one lift cord being coupled to at least one lift spool (89, fig 3) of the lift station (See fig 3).
Regarding claim 26.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Swanson further discloses a rail cover (98, fig 5) configured to be installed relative to the tilt rail (See fig 4) such that the rail cover and tilt rail (21, fig 4) at least partially define an enclosed cavity (See fig 4) within which the one or more lift system components (including 26 and 89, fig 4) are positioned (See fig 4).
Regarding claim 27.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 26.
Swanson further discloses front and rear cord gaps (at 100 and 101, fig 7) are defined at respective interfaces between the rail cover (98, fig 7) and the tilt rail (21, fig 4) and wherein front and rear runs of the at least one ladder tape assembly (96, fig 7) extend through (where the cover 98 folds over at 100 in fig 7) the front and rear cord gaps, respectively (See fig 7).
Regarding claim 28.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 27.
Swanson further discloses a bottom rail assembly (bottommost slat 94 in fig 4 is construed as the bottom rail.) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (at 21 in fig 4) such that the plurality of slats (94, fig 4) are supported between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 4), the lift system including front and rear lift cords (97, fig 4) extending between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 4), the front and rear lift cords extending through the front and rear cord gaps (at 101 in fig 5), respectively.
Regarding claim 29.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 17.
Swanson further discloses front and rear runs (96, fig 4) of the at least one ladder tape assembly depend from the front and rear walls of the tilt rail (21, fig 4), respectively (See fig 4), such that rotation of the tilt rail about the tilt axis in a first direction results in the front run being raised while the rear run is lowered (See fig 2, a and c).
Regarding claim 30.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 29.
Swanson further discloses a bottom rail assembly (bottommost slat 94 in fig 4 is construed as the bottom rail.) positioned relative to the headrail assembly (21, fig 4) such that the plurality of slats (94, fig 4) are supported between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 4), the lift system including front and rear lift cords (97, fig 4) extending between the headrail assembly and the bottom rail assembly (See fig 4), the front and rear lift cords depending from the front and rear walls of the tilt rail, respectively (See fig 4), such that rotation of the tilt rail in the first direction results in the front lift cord being raised by the same magnitude as the front run while the rear lift cord is lowered by the same magnitude as the rear run (See fig 2, a and c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, and 31-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson in view of US Pat. 6,119,757 – Judkins et al., hereinafter Judkins.
Regarding claim 19.
Swanson discloses all limitations of claim 18.
Swanson does not disclose the bottom rail assembly comprises:
a bottom rail comprising a rail portion and a separate cover portion, the rail portion including an upper rail wall and forward and rear edge walls extending from upper rail wall along respective front and rear sides of the rail portion, the rail portion defining an open bottom end configured to be at least partially covered by the covering portion; and
a connector insert received within the rail portion and being configured to couple the cover portion to the rail portion of the bottom rail, the connector insert including at least one connection member configured to engage at least one corresponding connection member of the cover portion to support the cover portion relative to the open bottom end of the rail portion.
However, Judkins teaches the bottom rail assembly (See fig 13) comprises:
a bottom rail (See annotated fig 13) comprising a rail portion (4, fig 7) and a separate cover portion (64, fig 13), the rail portion including an upper rail wall and forward and rear edge walls extending from upper rail wall along respective front and rear sides of the rail portion (See fig 13), the rail portion defining an open bottom end (Receiving covering portion, see fig 13configured to be at least partially covered by the covering portion (See fig 13); and
a connector insert (20, fig 13) received within the rail portion (16, fig 11) and being configured to couple the cover portion (64, fig 13) to the rail portion of the bottom rail (See fig 13), the connector insert including at least one connection member (69, fig 13) configured to engage at least one corresponding connection member (68, fig 14) of the cover portion to support the cover portion relative to the open bottom end of the rail portion (See fig 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering of Swanson with the bottom rail assembly of Judkins. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing a weighted bottom portion.
Regarding claim 31.
The combination of Swanson and Judkins teaches all limitations of claim 19.
The combination, in Judkins, further teaches the rail portion further includes front and rear engagement flanges (See annotated fig 13) extending inwardly relative to the forward and rear edge walls of the rail portion (See annotated fig 13), respectively, the front engagement flange being spaced apart from the rear engagement flange such that the open bottom end of the rail portion is defined between the front and rear engagement flanges (See annotated fig 13).
Regarding claim 32.
The combination of Swanson and Judkins teaches all limitations of claim 31.
The combination, in Judkins, further teaches an inner surface of the cover portion is configured to contact against the front and rear engagement flanges (See fig 13) when the cover portion (64, fig 13) is coupled to the connector insert (20, fig 13).
Regarding claim 33.
The combination of Swanson and Judkins teaches all limitations of claim 31.
The combination, in Judkins, further teaches at least one cord slot (receiving cord 12, see fig 13) is defined in each of the front and rear engagement flanges (See annotated fig 13) for receiving at least one cord (12, fig 13) of a covering.
Regarding claim 34.
The combination of Swanson and Judkins teaches all limitations of claim 33.
The combination, in Judkins, further teaches the cover portion (64, fig 13) is configured to cover at least a portion of the at least one cord slot (See fig 13) when the cover portion is supported relative to the open bottom end of the rail portion by the connector insert (See fig 13).
Regarding claim 35.
The combination of Swanson and Judkins teaches all limitations of claim 19.
The combination, in Judkins, further teaches the at least one connection member of the connector insert (20, fig 13) comprises a pair of hook-shaped members (fore and aft portions of 69, fig 13) and wherein at least one connection member of the cover portion compresses a corresponding pair of hook-shaped members (68, fig 13) configured to engage the pair of hook-shaped members of the connector insert (See fig 13).
Regarding claim 36.
The combination of Swanson and Judkins teaches all limitations of claim 19.
The combination, in Judkins, further teaches a snap-fit connection (at 69, fig 13) is provided between the cover portion (64, fig 13) and the connector insert (20, See fig 13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 17 and its dependents have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/ABE MASSAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634