DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the newly amended language of Claim 1, Applicant argues: “But Stewart does not teach or suggest "wherein the generating the ignore mask comprises: detecting a region in the video data having motion above a threshold value, wherein the motion comprises a change in a number of pixels from frame to frame in the video data; and specifying in the ignore mask that the region cannot trigger the alert" as recited in claim 1, as amended. This is because Stewart is silent about defining an ignore mask before doing the event detection (e.g., object detection).”
Examiner notes Stewart indeed defines a suppression zone before detecting an event, as noted in reasons for rejection below and illustrated in Fig. 13.
Applicant argues: “The cited portions of Stewart merely describe an object detection module 976 that detects objects within a video feed, and a zone definition module 980 for generating suggested zone definitions for already detected objects.”
Examiner notes that the referenced citations made in the rejections above are intended to exemplify areas in the prior art documents in which the examiner believed are the most relevant to the claimed subject matter. However, it is incumbent upon the applicant to analyze each prior art document in its entirety since other areas of the document may be relied upon at a later time to substantiate examiner's rationale of record. See W.L. Gore & associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See updated reasons for rejection below.
Response to Amendment
Examiner withdraws the objection to Figure 7 in view of the amendment designating it with a --Prior Art—label.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180232592 to Stewart (“Stewart”) in view of US 20240396625 to Martin (“Martin”).
Regarding Claim 1: “A computer-implemented method for reducing errant alerts and network bandwidth usage from an Internet of Things (IoT) camera, comprising:
receiving, by at least one computer processor, video data from the [IoT] camera (“at a computing system with one or more processors and one or more memory components: obtaining video of an environment … FIG. 9B is a block diagram illustrating a representative video capturing device (e.g., a camera)” Stewart, Paragraphs 4, 22. See treatment of an IoT camera below.)
configured to monitor for an event and to trigger an alert when the event is detected; (Note that this claim is directed to a computer implemented method, so a limitation on the configuration of a camera which in itself is a preferred source of received data, does not limit the claimed method to executing a particular step. Cumulatively note that prior art teaches this feature: “one or more network-connected cameras 118 that are configured to provide video monitoring and security in the smart home environment” Stewart, Paragraph 40. “Conditions detected by the devices described above (e.g., motion, sound, vibrations, hazards) may be referred to collectively as alert events.” Stewart, Paragraph 43.)
generating an ignore mask based on the video data, wherein the ignore mask specifies one or more regions in a video stream from the IoT camera that cannot trigger an alert; (“identifying the zone of interest as one of an alerting zone or a suppression zone; … when the zone is a suppression zone, suppressing notifications of the one or more motion events.” Stewart, Paragraph 4.)
transmitting the ignore mask to the IoT camera; (This claim language is not clear about what does the transmitting. Prior art teaches several relevant examples of this capability: “Device-side module 932, which provides device-side functionalities for device control, data processing and data review, including but not limited to: … Command receiving module 9320 for receiving, forwarding, and/or executing instructions and control commands ( e.g., from a client device 504, from a smart home provider server system 164, from user inputs detected on the user interface 910, etc.) for operating the smart device 204; … camera 118, being an example of a smart device 204.” Stewart, Paragraphs 229, 253, Figs. 9A-9B. The smart device can also have “Suggested zone definitions 984 for storing suggested zone definitions.” Stewart, Paragraphs 252, 270.
Stewart further notes, “The user-facing frontend 11100 also receives user edits on … zone definitions for zones of interest,” for the server system. Stewart, Paragraphs 267, 288. “In some implementations, one or more of the modules and data stores associated with server system 508 or 552 (FIGS. 5A-5B) may be located in the camera (e.g., camera 118) itself.” Stewart, Paragraph 280. Thus the camera can receive and use the suppression zones in its operation.
To the extent necessary, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the features of receiving and using the suppression zones in a smart camera device in the manner suggested in the cited portions of Stewart above.)
receiving the video stream from the IoT camera in response to transmitting the ignore mask to the IoT camera; (“When the zone of interest is an alerting zone [not withing an ignore mask], the computing system causes (1310) one or more notifications of the one or more motion events to be issued.” Stewart, Paragraphs 298-299. “An example of such a notification is shown in FIG. 14G. The notification may include a frame of the video and text indicating that there is motion activity detected in the suggested zone” Stewart, Paragraph 292 and Fig. 9A.)
determining that the video stream is associated with the alert; and (“When the zone of interest is an alerting zone [not withing an ignore mask], the computing system causes (1310) one or more notifications of the one or more motion events to be issued.” Stewart, Paragraphs 298-299.)
transmitting the alert to a user device in response to the determining, (“When the zone of interest is an alerting zone [not withing an ignore mask], the computing system causes (1310) one or more notifications of the one or more motion events to be issued.” Stewart, Paragraphs 298-299.)
wherein the generating the ignore mask comprises: … detecting a region in the video data having motion above a threshold value, (“detecting one or more motion events captured in the video occurring at least partially within the zone of interest;” thus detecting motion above the detection threshold. Stewart, Paragraph 4. In another embodiment, “determining a number of the motion events that originated from a first region of the field of view within the predefined period of time, determining whether the number of originated motion events exceeds a first predefined threshold,” Stewart, Paragraphs 303-304.)
wherein the motion comprises a change in a number of pixels from frame to frame in the video data; and (“For example, the camera 118 analyzes the captured video for significant changes in pixels. When motion is detected by the preliminary motion detection, the camera 118 …” Stewart, Paragraphs 104, 323.)
specifying in the ignore mask that the region cannot trigger the alert.” (“When the zone is a suppression zone, the computing system suppresses (1312) notifications of the one or more motion events. The server 508/552 forgoes issuing one or more alerts for motion events detected in the zone if the zone is a suppression zone.” Stewart, Paragraphs 298, 4.)
Stewart does not explicitly teach an “IoT camera.” Stewart does teach that the cameras “include, for example, hardware capable of data communications using any of a variety of custom or standard wireless protocols (e.g., IEEE 802. 1 5 .4, Wi-Fi, ZigBee, 6LoWPAN, Thread, Z-Wave, Bluetooth Smart, ISA l 00 . l la, WirelessHART, MiWi, etc .) and/or any of a variety of custom or standard wired protocols (e.g., Ethernet, HomePlug, etc.), or any other suitable communication protocol” which substantively covers IoT protocols. Stewart, Paragraph 237.
Martin teaches the above claim feature in the context of networked devices for providing video and alerts: “various sensors 197 such as, but not limited to video cameras … The one or more devices may be, for example, sensors, IoT devices, or networks of sensors or IoT devices.” Martin, Paragraphs 82-83.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to supplement the networked smart camera teachings of Stewart to use IoT networking as taught in Martin, in order to connect to an IoT ecosystem of commercial networked devices.
Finally, in reviewing the present application, there does not seem to be objective evidence that the claim limitations are particularly directed to: addressing a particular problem which was recognized but unsolved in the art, producing unexpected results at the level of the ordinary skill in the art, or any other objective indicators of non-obviousness.
Regarding Claim 2. “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating the ignore mask comprises:
detecting, using artificial intelligence (AI), an object in the video data that cannot trigger the alert; and (“Object detection module 976 for detecting objects and corresponding contours in video feeds; … Zone definition module 980 for generating suggested zone definitions for detected objects; Object images database(s) 982 for storing one or more databases (e.g., machine-trained databases) of images of objects;” Stewart, Paragraphs 248-251.)
specifying in the ignore mask that a region in the video data covering the object cannot trigger the alert.” (“Zone definition module 980 for generating suggested zone definitions for detected objects;” Stewart, Paragraphs 248-251. “when the zone is a suppression zone, suppressing notifications of the one or more motion events.” Stewart, Paragraph 4.)
Regarding Claim 3: “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating the ignore mask comprises:
detecting a region in the video data having motion above a threshold value; and (“detecting one or more motion events captured in the video occurring at least partially within the zone of interest;” thus detecting motion above the detection threshold. Stewart, Paragraph 4.)
specifying in the ignore mask that the region cannot trigger the alert.” (“when the zone is a suppression zone, suppressing notifications of the one or more motion events.” Stewart, Paragraph 4.)
Regarding Claim 4: “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating the ignore mask comprises:
determining that a motion vector in the video data is associated with motion above a threshold value; and (“preliminary motion event detection, … preliminary motion vector generation, etc.; … motion vectors for detected motion event candidates” thus generating motion vectors for objects with motion above the detection threshold. Stewart, Paragraphs 245-247, 272. See additional associated threshold values in Paragraphs 303-304.)
specifying in the ignore mask that a region in the video data associated with the motion vector cannot trigger the alert.” (“when the zone is a suppression zone, suppressing notifications of the one or more motion events.” Stewart, Paragraphs 4, 277.)
Regarding Claim 5: “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
detecting, using artificial intelligence (AI), an object in the video stream; and (“Object detection module 976 for detecting objects and corresponding contours in video feeds; … Zone definition module 980 for generating suggested zone definitions for detected objects; Object images database(s) 982 for storing one or more databases (e.g., machine-trained databases) of images of objects;” Stewart, Paragraphs 248-251.)
wherein the determining that the video stream is associated with the alert comprises: … determining that the video stream is associated with the alert based on the object being associated with an event being monitored.” (“categorizing the motion event candidate includes an aggregation of background factors, motion entity detection identification, motion vector generation for each motion entity [associated object], motion entity features, … a categorization is based on a determination that the motion event candidate is within a particular zone of interest” Stewart, Paragraph 273. “when the zone of interest is an alerting zone, causing one or more notifications [alerts] of the one or more motion events to be issued;” Stewart, Paragraph 4.)
Regarding Claim 6: “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: … performing video processing on the video stream, wherein the video processing comprises … performing spatial filtering on the video stream or processing the video stream as though the IoT camera points inside a sphere.” (“Filter application module 73014 for selecting event filters ( e.g., event categories, zones of interest, a human filter, etc.)” Stewart, Paragraph 142.)
Regarding Claim 7: “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a request to regenerate the ignore mask from the IoT camera, wherein the request is based on the IoT camera having been moved to a new location, an instruction from a user to regenerate the ignore mask, a change in a time of day, a schedule, or a user indication that a previously triggered alert was issued in error for the video stream; and (“In some implementations, the user may also designate a suggested zone that has been accepted as an alerting zone or a suppression zone. … may be subsequently edited by the user (e.g., the user may edit the size and boundaries of the zone,” Stewart, Paragraph 288.)
regenerating the ignore mask based on additional video data from the IoT camera, (“In some implementations, the user may also designate a suggested zone that has been accepted as an alerting zone or a suppression zone. If the zone is an alerting zone, the server generates alerts or notifications for motion events [in the additional video] detected in the zone. If the zone is a suppression zone, the server forgoes generating alerts and notifications for motion events detected in the zone.” Stewart, Paragraphs 288, 4.)
wherein the ignore mask specifies one or more regions in the video stream from the IoT camera that cannot trigger the alert; and …transmitting the ignore mask to the IoT camera.” (See reasons for rejection in Claim 1.)
Claim 8, “A system for reducing errant alerts and network bandwidth usage from an Internet of Things (IoT) camera,” is rejected for reasons stated for Claim 1, and because prior art teaches:
“one or more memories; at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the memories and configured to perform operations comprising:” (“In some implementations, the method 1300 is performed at a computing system with one or more processors and one or more memory components.” Stewart, Paragraph 293.)
Claims 9, 11--14 are rejected for reasons stated for Claims 2, 4-7 respectively in view of the Claim 8 rejection.
Claim 15: “A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations …” is rejected for reasons stated for Claim 1, and because prior art teaches: “In some implementations, the method 1300 is governed by instructions that are stored in a nontransitory computer readable storage medium ( e.g., the memory 722) and the instructions are executed by one or more processors of a computing system (e.g., the CPUs 718).” Stewart, Paragraph 293.)
Claims 16, 18-20 are rejected for reasons stated for Claims 2, 4-6 respectively in view of the Claim 15 rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIKHAIL ITSKOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483