DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-8, 11-13 and 17-18 are amended. Applicant has also submitted amendments to the specification and the drawings. Applicant's amendments appear to overcome the objections and 112 rejections raised in the previous office action. Applicant has amended claim 1 to require "the rotor body is shaped to include an integral flange configured to radially retain second ends of the magnets". Applicant argues Li fails to teach this feature. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim requires a retention ring "attached" to the rotor body to retain first ends of the magnets and the rotor body including and "integral flange" to radially retain second ends of the magnets. While Applicant attempts to differentiate between an "attached" retention ring and an "integral flange", Li teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Li's retention ring 202 is "attached" to the rotor body and the rotor body 102 is shaped to include an integral flange 204, to respectively retain first and second ends of the magnets. There appears to be no structural difference between the claimed invention and Li's teachings..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20220181931), hereinafter: “Li”.
In Regard to Claim 1
Li teaches:
An electric machine(100) of a gas-turbine engine(interpreted as intended use), the electric machine comprising:
a stator(101); and
a rotor(102) configured to rotate around the stator(Fig 3), the rotor comprising:
a rotor body(102) having an inner surface(inner radial surface of 116) and an outer surface(outer radial surface of 116);
magnets(118); and
a retention ring(202) attached to the rotor body(visually apparent in Fig 6, 202 is "attached" to the rotor body) and configured to radially retain first ends of the magnets(at 212) to the inner surface of the rotor body(Fig 6; P[0043]), wherein the rotor body(portion 204) is shaped to include an integral flange configured to radially retain second ends(at 214) of the magnets(as is visually apparent in Fig 6, 204 is an integral L-shaped flange of the rotor body 102 which is shaped to retain the second end of the magnet; P[0043]).
In Regard to Claim 7
Li teaches:
The electric machine of claim 1(see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a cross-sectional profile of at least one of the retention ring corresponds to a profile of an axial edge of the magnets(as shown in Fig 5-6, 202 and 204 mate with the edge profiles 212 and 214, respectively, of the magnets; P[0044]).
In Regard to Claim 8
Li teaches:
The electric machine of claim 7(see rejection of claim 7 above), wherein the cross-sectional profile defines a flange(axially extending portion of 202,204) that extends partially over an inner surface of the magnets(as shown in Fig 6, the axially extending portion of 202, 204 defines a flange that extends at least partially over an inner surface of the magnets at 212 and 214).
In Regard to Claim 9
Li teaches:
The electric machine of claim 8(see rejection of claim 8 above), wherein the magnets are attached to the inner surface of the rotor body(P[0043]).
In Regard to Claim 11
Li teaches:
The electric machine of claim 9(see rejection of claim 9 above), wherein, when attachment of a particular magnet of the magnets to the inner surface of the rotor body has failed, the retention ring retains the particular magnet in the rotor(as stated in P[0054], the magnets may also be attached to the inner surface of the rotor body with an adhesive, as such, when the adhesive fails, the one or more retention rings 202,204 retain the magnets in the rotor).
In Regard to Claim 12
Li teaches:
The electric machine of claim 7(see rejection of claim above), wherein the cross-sectional profile of the retention ring comprises an L shape(visually apparent from Fig 6, the cross sectional profile of 202,204 is an L shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Semken et al. (US 9935506), hereinafter: “Semken”.
In Regard to Claim 10
Li teaches:
The electric machine of claim 9(see rejection of claim 9 above),
Li fails to teach:
wherein, when attachment of a particular magnet of the magnets to the inner surface of the rotor body is intact, there is a gap between the particular magnet and a portion of the flange than extends partially over the inner surface of the magnets
Semken teaches:
An analogous magnet retention device(910) wherein, when attachment of a particular magnet(901) of the magnets to the inner surface of the magnet mount(902) is intact, there is a gap between the particular magnet and a portion of the flange(912a) than extends partially over the inner surface of the magnets(as is visually apparent from Fig 67d, there is gap between the magnet 901 and the flange 912a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li to incorporate the teachings of Semken to leave a gap between the magnet and the axially extending portion of the flange to increase turbulence and hence the cooling effect on the rotor magnets and stator coils(Col 17, ln. 1-27, Col 50, ln. 45-56).
Conclusion
BRIAN P WOLCOTT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741