DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites in part: - - is configured cause [[the]]]]an actuator.. - - The initial recitation of “actuator” should be preceded by “an” to establish antecedence within the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
The phrase “sinusoidal component” in claims 1, 13-17, and 21-22 is used within the claims without a clear direction as to the intended meaning. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The claimed apparatus receives a signal, and within that signal is a “sinusoidal component.” It’s unclear whether it’s a portion of the signal, noise, an aberration, a wavelength, periodic function, or something else as it’s described as being a “component.” Further, the phrasing within the independent claims makes it unclear whether the signal itself results from “an offset of the center of the substrate from the axis of rotation, “ or it’s the sinusoidal component specifically that results from the offset.
For examination purposes, as application is directed to receiving the reflected light signals by a sensor, the periodic/wavelength measurements associated with light signals will be treated as applicable to the “sinusoidal” component of the signal.
As claims 2-25 depend upon claim 1, they are similarly rejected.
Claims 13-14 are considered indefinite. The claims recite monitoring a first or second “derivative” of the signal. However, claim 1 recites a “signal” comes from a sensor without qualifying it as a function of any sort. Unless there is a function describing the signal, the value would be discrete values, and first and second derivatives would be “0”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nabeya et al. (US PG Pub No. 20220344221).
In regards to claim 1, Nabeya discloses
a polishing apparatus, comprising:
a platen (polishing table 3, fig. 1 and 3) to support a polishing pad (polishing pad 2, fig. 1, 3 and 7);
a carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) to hold a substrate against the polishing pad (polishing pad 2, fig. 1, 3 and 7; [0004]);
a motor (polishing-head rotating motor 12, fig. 3; [0053]) to rotate the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) about an axis of rotation;
a notch finder (film-thickness measuring device 40, fig. 3; [0053], [0132]) including a sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]) positioned below a plane of the substrate held by the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) to generate a signal that depends on an proportion of a sensing region of the sensor that is covered by the substrate; and
[0132] Further, in one embodiment, the operation controller 9 may perform the above-described periphery film-thickness measuring process in order to detect a position of the notch portion of the substrate W. The operation controller 9 determines the position of the notch portion based on the measurement result of the film thicknesses of the periphery of the substrate W obtained in the periphery film-thickness measuring process.
a controller (at least operation controller 9 including processing system 49, fig. 3; [0062-0064], [0069-0074]) configured to
cause the motor (polishing-head rotating motor 12, fig. 3; [0053]) to rotate the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) such that the sensing region of the sensor scans along a circumference of the substrate ([0132]: the periphery film thickness process), and
detect an angular position of a notch in an edge of the substrate based on a signal from the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]),
[0132]: …By performing the periphery film-thickness measuring process to detect the notch portion, a plurality of positions on the substrate W corresponding to a plurality of measured values of the film thicknesses can be determined with the notch portion as a reference.
[0133]:… In the present embodiment, the film thicknesses of the periphery of the substrate W are measured while the position of the film-thickness measuring device 40 relative to the polishing head 1 is controlled, so that the position of the notch portion of the substrate W can be detected accurately.
including compensating (at least spectrometer 47; [0063]) for a sinusoidal component of the signal (the light signal) resulting from an offset of the center of the substrate from the axis of rotation ([0133]).
[0063] The light emitted by the light source 44 is transmitted to the optical sensor head 7, which directs the light to the surface of the substrate W. The light is reflected off the surface of the substrate W, and the reflected light from the surface of the substrate W is received by the optical sensor head 7 and is further transmitted to the spectrometer 47. The spectrometer 47 decomposes the reflected light according to wavelength, and measures an intensity of the reflected light at each of the wavelengths. The intensity measurement data of the reflected light is transmitted to the processing system 49.
In regards to claim 2, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]) comprises an optical sensor (optical sensor head 7, light source 44, spectrometer 47; fig. 3; [0061-0063], [0066-0074]) including a light source (light source 44, fig. 3) to generate a light beam that impinges a surface of the substrate and a detector (spectrometer 47, fig. 3) to detect reflected light and generate a signal indicating an intensity of the reflected light ([0063]).
[0063] The light emitted by the light source 44 is transmitted to the optical sensor head 7, which directs the light to the surface of the substrate W. The light is reflected off the surface of the substrate W, and the reflected light from the surface of the substrate W is received by the optical sensor head 7 and is further transmitted to the spectrometer 47. The spectrometer 47 decomposes the reflected light according to wavelength, and measures an intensity of the reflected light at each of the wavelengths. The intensity measurement data of the reflected light is transmitted to the processing system 49.
In regards to claim 3, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the optical sensor (optical sensor head 7, light source 44, spectrometer 47; fig. 3; [0061], [0066-0074]) is capable of directing the light beam to impinge the surface of the substrate at an oblique angle.
In regards to claim 4, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the optical sensor (optical sensor head 7, light source 44, spectrometer 47; fig. 3; [0061], [0066-0074]) is capable of directing the light beam to impinge the surface the substrate normal to the surface.
In regards to claim 6, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the light source (light source 44, fig. 3) comprises a plurality of light sources ([0072]: a plurality of film thickness sensors 41 may be provided, each with a respective light source) that generate light beams having different wavelengths (each light source 44 would generate is own respective, different wavelength).
In regards to claim 7, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the controller (at least operation controller 9 including processing system 49, fig. 3; [0062-0064], [0069-0074]) is capable to select a light source (light source 44, fig. 3) from the plurality of light sources based on a pattern on the substrate ([0072-0073]: a plurality of measurement points may be taken on the surface of the substrate to obtain a more accurate film-thickness profile).
In regards to claim 19, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sensing region is substantially circular ([0122]).
[0122] In one embodiment, after the measuring position for the film thicknesses traces the entire circumference on the periphery centered on the center O of the substrate W, the position of the film-thickness measuring device 40 may be shifted in the radial direction of the polishing head 1, so that the film-thickness measuring device 40 may measure film thicknesses at a plurality of measurement points of the substrate W on other circumference having a different diameter. The film thicknesses can be measured more precisely by measuring the film thicknesses on a plurality of circumferences on the periphery of the substrate W.
In regards to claim 20, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller (at least operation controller 9 including processing system 49, fig. 3; [0062-0064], [0069-0074]) is configured cause [[the]]]]an actuator (oscillating motor 15 that moves oscillation arm 16) to position the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) such that the substrate is positioned such that the sensing region does not overlap a retaining ring of the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) while the motor (polishing-head rotating motor 12, fig. 3; [0053]) rotates the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) such that the sensing region of the sensor scans along a circumference of the substrate ([0122]).
In regards to claim 21, Nabeya discloses
a method, comprising: holding ([0004]) a substrate in a carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) with the substrate positioned such that a sensing region of a sensor of a notch finding system (film thickness measuring device 40, fig. 3; [0053], [0132-0133]) is at an edge of the substrate ([0122]);
rotating the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) to rotate ([0053]) the substrate such that the sensing region of the sensor scans along a circumference of the substrate ([0122]); and
detect an angular position of a notch in an edge of the substrate based on a signal from the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]),
[0132]: …By performing the periphery film-thickness measuring process to detect the notch portion, a plurality of positions on the substrate W corresponding to a plurality of measured values of the film thicknesses can be determined with the notch portion as a reference.
[0133]:… In the present embodiment, the film thicknesses of the periphery of the substrate W are measured while the position of the film-thickness measuring device 40 relative to the polishing head 1 is controlled, so that the position of the notch portion of the substrate W can be detected accurately.
including compensating (at least spectrometer 47; [0063]) for a sinusoidal component of the signal (the light signal) resulting from an offset of the center of the substrate from the axis of rotation ([0133]).
[0063] The light emitted by the light source 44 is transmitted to the optical sensor head 7, which directs the light to the surface of the substrate W. The light is reflected off the surface of the substrate W, and the reflected light from the surface of the substrate W is received by the optical sensor head 7 and is further transmitted to the spectrometer 47. The spectrometer 47 decomposes the reflected light according to wavelength, and measures an intensity of the reflected light at each of the wavelengths. The intensity measurement data of the reflected light is transmitted to the processing system 49.
In regards to claim 22, Nabeya discloses
a notch finding system, comprising:
a sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]) to generate a signal that depends on an proportion of a sensing region of the sensor that is covered by a substrate; and
a controller (at least operation controller 9 including processing system 49, fig. 3; [0062-0064], [0069-0074]) is configured to cause an actuator to position a carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) relative to the substrate with the sensing region of the sensor at an edge of the substrate,
cause a motor (polishing-head rotating motor 12, fig. 3; [0053]) to generate relative motion between the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) and the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]) such that the sensing region of the sensor scans along a circumference of the substrate ([0132]: the periphery film thickness process), and
detect an angular position of a notch in an edge of the substrate based on a signal from the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]),
[0132]: …By performing the periphery film-thickness measuring process to detect the notch portion, a plurality of positions on the substrate W corresponding to a plurality of measured values of the film thicknesses can be determined with the notch portion as a reference.
[0133]:… In the present embodiment, the film thicknesses of the periphery of the substrate W are measured while the position of the film-thickness measuring device 40 relative to the polishing head 1 is controlled, so that the position of the notch portion of the substrate W can be detected accurately.
including compensating (at least spectrometer 47; [0063]) for a sinusoidal component of the signal (the light signal) resulting from an offset of the center of the substrate from the axis of rotation ([0133]).
[0063] The light emitted by the light source 44 is transmitted to the optical sensor head 7, which directs the light to the surface of the substrate W. The light is reflected off the surface of the substrate W, and the reflected light from the surface of the substrate W is received by the optical sensor head 7 and is further transmitted to the spectrometer 47. The spectrometer 47 decomposes the reflected light according to wavelength, and measures an intensity of the reflected light at each of the wavelengths. The intensity measurement data of the reflected light is transmitted to the processing system 49.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeya in view of Wong (US PG Pub No. 20220384278).
In regards to claim 5, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 2, but fails to disclose the light source (light source 44, fig. 3) comprises “a laser.”
Wong teaches a notch position detection method that applies a laser and laser displacement sensor:
[0008] In any embodiments, any and all of the following features may be implemented in any combination and without limitation. The system may also include an alignment sensor positioned to detect a notch in the wafer as the wafer is rotated. The one or more displacement sensors may include a laser displacement sensor; and the alignment sensor may include a through-beam sensor. The one or more displacement sensors may also be positioned to detect a notch in the wafer as the wafer is rotated.
[0046] The system 400 may be implemented at least in part by a machine referred to as an aligner. Specifically, an aligner may be configured to rotate the wafer 404 until the notch 416 is located. In some embodiments, the aligner may be modified to also perform distance or displacement measurements on the wafer 404 as it rotates. The system 400 may further include a displacement sensor 406. As used herein, the term “displacement sensor” may include any sensor configured to measure a distance of a surface from the sensor. Some embodiments may use a laser displacement sensor as an example. A laser displacement sensor may emit one or more laser beams directed at the surface of the wafer 404 and receive reflections from the wafer 404. The displacement sensor 406 may then calculate a distance between the displacement sensor 406 and a surface of the wafer 404 on which the laser beam is directed. As the wafer 404 is rotated around the center axis 414, the displacement sensor 406 may continuously sample a distance measurement relative to the surface of the wafer 404.
Nabeya and Wong are analogous to the claimed invention as they are concerned with the same problem of providing a means for locating a notch on a wafer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nabeya in view of Wong, and through simple substitution, have the light source emit a laser for light refraction, as Wong teaches both optical monitoring systems (160) and lasers with laser displacement sensors are substantially equivalent means for detecting metrology signals for determining positions of a notch on a wafer.
In regards to claim 10, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose that the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]) comprises “a laser displacement sensor.”
[0008] In any embodiments, any and all of the following features may be implemented in any combination and without limitation. The system may also include an alignment sensor positioned to detect a notch in the wafer as the wafer is rotated. The one or more displacement sensors may include a laser displacement sensor; and the alignment sensor may include a through-beam sensor. The one or more displacement sensors may also be positioned to detect a notch in the wafer as the wafer is rotated.
[0046] The system 400 may be implemented at least in part by a machine referred to as an aligner. Specifically, an aligner may be configured to rotate the wafer 404 until the notch 416 is located. In some embodiments, the aligner may be modified to also perform distance or displacement measurements on the wafer 404 as it rotates. The system 400 may further include a displacement sensor 406. As used herein, the term “displacement sensor” may include any sensor configured to measure a distance of a surface from the sensor. Some embodiments may use a laser displacement sensor as an example. A laser displacement sensor may emit one or more laser beams directed at the surface of the wafer 404 and receive reflections from the wafer 404. The displacement sensor 406 may then calculate a distance between the displacement sensor 406 and a surface of the wafer 404 on which the laser beam is directed. As the wafer 404 is rotated around the center axis 414, the displacement sensor 406 may continuously sample a distance measurement relative to the surface of the wafer 404.
Nabeya and Wong are analogous to the claimed invention as they are concerned with the same problem of providing a means for locating a notch on a wafer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nabeya in view of Wong, and through simple substitution, have the light source emit a laser for light refraction, as Wong teaches both optical monitoring systems (160) and lasers with laser displacement sensors are substantially equivalent means for detecting metrology signals for determining positions of a notch on a wafer.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeya in view of Cherian (US PG Pub No. 20140242883).
In regards to claim 8, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]) comprises “a capacitive sensor.”
Cherian, which discloses a wafer polishing system configured to detect an angular position of the fiducial with respect the carrier head, teaches a plurality of means for determining the wafer metrology, including a capacitive sensor:
[0043] Referring to FIGS. 1, and 3, the polishing apparatus 100 can also include one or more in-sequence (also referred to as in-line) metrology systems 160 (see FIG. 3), e.g., optical metrology systems, e.g., spectrographic metrology systems… Alternatively, one or more of the in-sequence metrology systems 160 could be a non-optical metrology system, e.g., an eddy current metrology system or capacitive metrology system.
Nabeya and Cherian are analogous to the claimed invention as they are concerned with the same problem of providing accurate reading on the surface metrology of a substrate wafer being polished.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nabeya in view of Cherian, and through simple substitution, provide a capacitive sensor instead of light sensor, as Cherian teaches both are substantially equivalent means for detecting metrology signals for determining positions of a wafer.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeya in view of Stanke (US Patent No. 6690473).
In regards to claim 9, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]) comprises “a confocal microscope.”
Stanke, which discloses a polishing apparatus, teaches applying confocal techniques for wafer surface metrology:
Col. 5 line 63 – col 6 line 8: Interferometer 10 measures the relative optical phase at predetermined points on the wafer. This may be a scanning profiler, but is preferably an imaging profiler. It is preferably a common-path interferometer, but it need not be. Common types of profilers include: differential interference contrast, quantitative differential interference contrast, and other types of polarization-based, common-path interferometers, Mirau, Michelson, white-light, point-diffraction interferometry, phase-shift interferometry, and heterodyne interferometry, phase retrieval from transport-of-intensity. Many of these techniques can be enhanced by confocal illumination techniques…
Nabeya and Stanke are analogous to the claimed invention as they are concerned with the same problem of providing accurate reading on the surface metrology of a substrate wafer being polished.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nabeya in view of Stanke, and provide a confocal microscope in order to focus the light signal and provide an increased level of accuracy on the values recorded.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (US PG Pub No. 20110318992).
In regards to claim 17, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose that the controller (at least operation controller 9 including processing system 49, fig. 3; [0062-0064], [0069-0074]) is configured to “compensate for the sinusoidal component of the signal by applying a high-pass filter to the signal that removes the sinusoidal component.”
David discloses a CMP apparatus with light source, detector, and spectrometer to detect wavelength values and signals from light reflecting off a substrate surface. David also teaches using a high-pass filter on the wavelength signal for improved functionality:
[0064] FIG. 4A provides an example of a measured spectrum 400a of light reflected from the substrate 10. The optical monitoring system can pass the spectrum 400a through a high-pass filter in order to reduce the overall slope of the spectrum, resulting in a spectrum 400b shown in FIG. 4B. During processing of multiple substrates in a batch, for example, large spectra differences can exist among wafers. A high-pass filter can be used to normalize the spectra in order to reduce spectra variations across substrates in the same batch. An exemplary high-pass filter can have a cutoff of 0.005 Hz and a filter order of 4. The high-pass filter is not only used to help filter out sensitivity to underlying variation, but also to "flatten" out the legitimate signal to make feature tracking easier.
Nabeya and David are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, CMP systems with light sensor and source means for determining features on the surface of substrate wafers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nabeya in view of David, and apply a high-pass filter on the light signal in order to reduce noise, flatten out the legitimate signal and make feature tracking easier ([0064]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeya.
In regards to claim 18, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sensing region has a radial width of 5- 10 mm.
Pursuant of MPEP 2144.05.II.A-B (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), it has been found that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed int he prior art, the discovery of optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation is not inventive, given a lack of evidence indicating the claimed range is critical:
Page 11: Thus, for the light beam 220 to reliably catch the notch 12, the light beam needs to be wide enough that the notch 12 will fall within the impingement spot 224, regardless of the angular position of the substrate 10 relative to the carrier head 140. As such, the impingement spot 224 may need to have a radial width of about 1-10 mm, e.g., a diameter D2 of 5-10 mm for a circular impingement spot.
As such, it would have been routine optimization to arrive at the claimed invention, as the Supreme Court held that "obvious to try" is a valid rationale for an obviousness finding, for example, when there is a "design need" or "market demand" and there are a "finite number" of solutions. In the case of the instant application, the dimensions for the sensing region allow for accurate readings in determining the location of a notch on a wafer, addressing design needs and market demands. Too small an area could prevent the sensor from clearly detecting the notch, too large an area could make distinguishing the notch from the rest of the wafer more difficult.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabeya in view of Zhang (US PG Pub No. 20220379428).
In regards to claim 23, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising:
“a plurality of stations including a first station that is a polishing station or a transfer station and a second station that is a polishing station”, wherein a notch finding station positioned on the path between the first station and the second station, the notch finding station including the sensor (film-thickness sensor 41, fig. 3; [0061], [0071], [0074], [0115-0116], [0124]).
Nabeya also fails to disclose the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) is “movable by an actuator along a path from the first station to the second station,”
wherein the controller (at least operation controller 9 including processing system 49, fig. 3; [0062-0064], [0069-0074]) is configured to cause the actuator to position the carrier head (polishing head 1, fig. 1, 3, 6-7, 11-15) such that the substrate is positioned at the notch finding station such that sensing region of the sensor is at an edge of the substrate.
However, Wong, which discloses a CMP system, teaches a plurality of stations and moving the carrier between the plurality of stations [0034-0044]:
[0034] Still referring to FIG. 1, the polishing module 106 includes a plurality of polishing stations 124 on which the substrates 115 are polished while being retained in a carrier head 210...The overhead track 128 allows the carriage to be selectively positioned around the polishing module 106 which facilitates positioning of the carrier heads 210 selectively over the polishing stations 124 and load cup 122…
[0035] In one embodiment, as depicted in FIG. 1, three polishing stations 124 are shown located in the polishing module 106…
[0037] In certain embodiments, the substrates 115, such as silicon wafers with one or more layers deposited thereon, are loaded into the CMP system 100 via a cassette 114. The substrate 115 will typically have a notch, flat or other type of reference mark that can be used to note a rotational orientation of a major surface of the substrate relative to a central axis. The factory interface module 102 extracts the substrate 115 from the cassette 114 to begin processing while a controller 190 coordinates operations of the CMP system 100. The factory interface module 102 transfers the substrate 115 to the metrology station 117, which measures a thickness profile of the substrate 115 and determines the orientation of the thickness profile in relation to the notch of the substrate 115. The metrology station 117 may use an optical, eddy current, resistive or other useful process as described in relation to FIG. 2. The controller 190 receives the measurements and the orientation of the thickness profile from the metrology station 117 and tracks the orientation of the thickness profile using the notch as the substrate 115 is processed. The factory interface module 102 transfers the substrate 115 to the transfer platforms 116, and the wet robot 108 transfers the substrates through subsequent processing components including the CMP system 100.
[0038] The load cups 122 serve multiple functions, including receiving the substrate 115 from the wet robot 108, washing the substrate 115 and loading the substrate 115 into the carrier heads (e.g., a carrier head 210 in FIG. 2). Each polishing station includes a polishing pad 204 secured to a rotatable platen 202. Different polishing pads 204 may be used at different polishing stations 124 to control the material removal of the substrate 115. Aspects of the CMP system operation are further described in FIG. 2.
[0039] In certain embodiments, the factory interface module 102 can also include a pre-aligner 118 to position the substrate 115 in a known and desirable rotational orientation…The pre-aligner 118 includes a notch detection system, such as an optical interrupter sensor (not shown), to sense when the substrate notch is at a specific angular position….
[0040] In certain embodiments, the substrates 115 are moved by the dry robot 110 to the metrology station 117 where properties of the substrate 115 are measured, such as thickness uniformity and/or thickness of the substrate as a function of angular orientation relative to a reference mark, such as the notch. For example, the factory dry robot 110 “picks” up the substrate, e.g., by vacuum suction, and transports the unpolished substrate to the metrology station 117….
[0044] In certain embodiments, the metrology station 117 is part of the factory interface module 102. In certain embodiments, the metrology station 117 is housed in a separate module (not shown) connected to the factory interface module 102.
Nabeya and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, CMP systems with means for detecting the location of notches on substrate wafers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nabeya in view of Zhang, provide an overhead track as a means of moving the carrier head between different stations, and provide a plurality of stations with different functions, including a plurality of polishing stations that are programmable (Zhang [0041]) with adjustable parameters, increasing the versatility of the system in manufacturing wafers.
In regards to claim 24, Nabeya as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first station is a polishing station (plurality of polishing stations 124 as taught by Zhang).
In regards to claim 25, Nabeya as modified discloses
the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first station is a transfer station (transfer platform as taught by Zhang; note that if different polishing processes occur between different polishing pads, then a polishing station also makes obvious a “transfer” station as the claims are presented).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 15, Nabeya discloses
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller (at least operation controller 9 including processing system 49, fig. 3; [0062-0064], [0069-0074]), but fails to disclose being configured to “compensate for the sinusoidal component of the signal by subtracting a sinusoidal function from the signal.”
As an example, Takahashi teaches subtracting a “predetermined value” from a signal that is in sinusoidal form. However, as a teaching reference, Takahashi fails also to teach subtracting a “sinusoidal function” from the signal.
As claim 16 depends upon claim 15, it would also be allowable if the 112(b) rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723