DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 4, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 19-26 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 10-11, 15, and 20 are noted as amended and claim 9 is noted as newly canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome all previous objections and the 112(b) and 112(d) rejections in the Final Office Action mailed September 10, 2025 and all objections and 112(b) and 112(d) rejections therein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9-11, 15, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US PGPub 20100008582), hereinafter referred to as Kim, in view of Solntseva et al. (US PGPub 20140081619), hereinafter referred to as Solntseva, further in view of Cho et al. (US PGPub 20140170630), hereinafter referred to as Cho, further in view of Cha (US PGPub 20120179455), further in view of Russell et al. (US 10453353), hereinafter referred to as Russell, further in view of Nielson et al. (US PGPub 20170256179), hereinafter referred to as Nielson, and further in view of Holt et al. (US 8,699,941), hereinafter referred to as Holt.
With regard to claims 1 and 15, Kim teaches a method of providing language learning services [claim 1] (Abstract; Paragraph 0039) and a system for providing language learning services (Abstract; Paragraph 0050; “apparatus”) in conjunction with a user terminal including a display [claim 15] (Paragraphs 0050-0052; “apparatus including a touch-screen”), comprising:
a control unit (Paragraphs 0072-0073; “CPU”), wherein the control unit [claim 15]:
displaying, through a user terminal (Paragraphs 0050-0052; “apparatus including a touch-screen”), a service page including a translation interface configured to provide a translation result for input text (Paragraphs 0043-0044, 0050-0051 teach the system can provide translations of captured/inputted text displayed on the user apparatus); and
acquiring, in response to receiving an input for acquiring a learning target image (Paragraphs 0008, 0041-0042 teach the system can photograph an image), the learning target image from the camera (Paragraphs 0008, 0041; “photographing an image”);
wherein the acquiring of the learning of the learning target image further comprises specifying at least a portion of an image taken by the camera as the learning target image based on a user input (Paragraphs 0051-0054, 0057 teach the user can select an area/partial range of the photographed image as the area to be character-recognized and translated);
wherein the acquiring of the learning target image through the user terminal (Paragraphs 0008, 0041; “photographing an image”) comprises:
receiving language learning information for the learning target image from a database (Abstract; Paragraphs 0044, 0060, 0081 teach the system can search recognized words in the electronic dictionary database including definition and translation information), wherein text included in the learning target image is recognized using an optical character recognition (OCR) process and information related to the recognized text is transmitted to the database (Paragraphs 0006, 0041, 0044, 0084, 0086, 0088 teach the system uses optical character recognition to generate a searchable character string, searches a database for a corresponding word (transmits the recognized characters to the database, and presents the translated word);
wherein the language learning information received includes text information extracted from the learning target image using the OCR process (Paragraphs 0006, 0041, 0044, 0084, 0086, 0088 teach the system uses OCR to recognize characters in the image/target area, constructs a word from the recognized characters (text information) including numbers and punctuation, and searches a dictionary for word information including a meaning of the word);
providing the language learning information to the user terminal (Paragraphs 0042, 0051, 0078 teach the system can provide the translation and definition to the user through the user interface); and
storing, based on a request for storing of the language learning information, the language learning information in association with the learning target image (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the dictionary data such as definition), such that the learning target image is used in conjunction with learning of the language learning information (Paragraphs 0079-0080 teach the photographed image and the recognized and translated characters can be stored and displayed (used in conjunction)), and
wherein the language learning information comprises a translation of a sentence included in text recognized via the OCR process from the learning target image (Paragraphs 0039, 0041, 0071, 0079 teach the system can provide the resulting translation of characters including the entire image and sentences), and meaning information of a word included in the sentence (Paragraphs 0044, 0068, 0081 teach the system can retrieve meaning/definition information of a word from the database and provide the meaning to the user), wherein the translation of the sentence and the meaning information of the word included in the sentence have been generated by the database (Paragraphs 0039, 0041, 0044, 0084, 0086, 0088 teach the system creates the translation and meaning by searching a dictionary database);
the method further comprising: displaying, through the translation interface, the translation of the sentence included in the recognized text (Paragraphs 0043-0044, 0050-0052, 0079 teach the system can provide translations of captured/inputted text displayed on the user apparatus which can include a full text/sentence as seen in figures 6B, 13C, and 15A);
displaying, in response to the request for learning for learning (Paragraphs 0008, 0057, 0060 teaches a user can select an area/characters to be translated (request)), the language learning information stored with the learning target image, such that the language learning information is used for learning (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores and provides the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the dictionary data such as definition/meaning), and
wherein such that the language learning information is managed as the learning page with the learning target image (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores and provides the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the dictionary data such as definition/meaning).
Kim may not explicitly teach the control unit displaying an icon configured to activate a camera of the user terminal; acquiring a learning target image by activating the camera via the icon on the service page; configured to receive language learning information from a server through a communication unit, and generating the information and translation by the server. However, Solntseva teaches a method and system for recognition and translation of text in photographs wherein the software can include accessing and performing functionality on one or more servers communicated with via a network wherein the user interface includes a camera button for capturing an image with the camera of the user device (Abstract; Paragraphs 0020, 0022, 0024-0025).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Solntseva by operating the software on one or more servers and including a camera button on the user interface as taught by Solntseva such that the electronic database of Kim is hosted on a server that the electronic device communicates with, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to methods and systems for translating text in a photograph/image. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim by hosting the electronic database on a server connected to the electronic device via a network for the device to communicate with such that the translation and other character information are retrieved from the server and including a camera button for “activating” the camera of the user apparatus to capture the image. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim would include displaying an icon configured to activate a camera of the user terminal; acquiring a learning target image by activating the camera via the icon on the service page; configured to receive language learning information from a server through a communication unit, and generating the information and translations by the server. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Solntseva with Kim’s system and method in order to improve system performance by increasing processing power and resources (Solntseva paragraph 0004).
Kim in view of Solntseva may not explicitly teach wherein the storing of the language learning information in association with the learning target image further comprises storing the language learning information in a learning note including the learning page, such that the language learning information is managed as the learning page with the learning target image. However, Cho teaches a system and method of providing learning contents by a server in which content is sorted by subject such that when a user selects a subject the server provides the content related to that subject (Paragraphs 0093-0094) wherein the subject is equivalent to the learning note of the instant application.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva to incorporate the teachings of Cho by sorting the photographed images and translation results of Kim into subjects as taught by Cho as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby be sorted as taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva by storing the photographed images and associated translation results into folders/subjects. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva would include wherein the storing of the language learning information in association with the learning target image further comprises storing the language learning information in a learning note including the learning page, such that the language learning information is managed as the learning page with the learning target image. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cho with Kim in view of Solntseva’s system and method in order to organize stored photograph images and translations in order to improve user interaction and usage.
Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho may not explicitly teach wherein the providing of the language learning information to the user terminal comprises: displaying, on the user terminal, a question item; receiving, through the user terminal, a response to the question item; determining a learning level of the user among a plurality of pre-classified learning levels based on the received response; extracting a recommended learning word from the sentence recognized from the learning target image; and providing, to the user terminal, the recommended learning word and meaning information of the recommended learning word using the language learning information, wherein the learning level of the user is changeable based on an input to the user terminal. However, Cha teaches a system and method for language learning by constructing an individual person-based word DB based on a user’s learning level as determined by providing a test (question items) to the user, receiving user answers/responses, and calculating the user’s learning level based on performance and then extracting words from learning content based on the user’s learning level and providing the words and definitions based on the user’s learning level wherein the learning level can also be set by an input from the user (Abstract; Paragraphs 0011, 0012, 0076, 0079, 0082-0083, 0094, 0127).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho to incorporate the teachings of Cha by providing users with a test to determine a user’s skill/learning level as taught by Cha to provide relevant words and definitions from Kim as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Cha in order to provide user’s words appropriate for their learning/skill level. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho by coding the system to provide test/check-ups that present questions and receive answers from the user in order to determine the user’s skill/learning level and then extract and present words corresponding to the user’s learning level. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho would include wherein the providing of the language learning information to the user terminal comprises: displaying, on the user terminal, a question item; receiving, through the user terminal, a response to the question item; determining a learning level of the user among a plurality of pre-classified learning levels based on the received response; extracting a recommended learning word from the sentence recognized from the learning target image; and providing, to the user terminal, the recommended learning word and meaning information of the recommended learning word using the language learning information, wherein the learning level of the user is changeable based on an input to the user terminal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cha with Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho’s system and method in order to provide users with appropriate words and definitions based on their skill level in order to improve user comprehension and understanding.
Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha may not explicitly teach extracting, based on the learning level, a recommended learning word; and wherein a word recognized from the learning target image comprises the recommended learning word extracted from the sentence, by the server based on a pre-input learning level as Cha teaches extracting words from learning content and setting the learning levels of the extracted words (Paragraphs 0076, 0079). However, Russell teaches a system and method for reading comprehension that highlights words from a portion of a digitized text (such as the specified portion of an image of Kim) based on the grade, reading, and/or learning level of the user wherein the highlighted words are the top-ranked words based on the grade, reading, and/or learning level of the user (Abstract; Col 4, lines 52-63; Col 5, lines 4-18; Col 5, lines 34-37).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha to incorporate the teachings of Russell by applying the technique of highlighting/selecting words based on a user’s reading level of Russell to the extraction of Cha based on the input learning level of Cha as the extracted word from Kim as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes including reading comprehension by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Russell in order to select and thereby extract words appropriate for the user’s learning level. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha by coding the system to use the input learning level of Cha to determine words appropriate for the user’s learning level and extract the recommended word from the portion of the image based on the user’s learning level such that the recognized and presented word and those based on the user’s learning level. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha would include extracting, based on the learning level, a recommended learning word; and wherein a word recognized from the learning target image comprises the recommended learning word extracted from the sentence, by the server based on a pre-input learning level. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Russell with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha’s system and method in order to provide translations, meanings, and recognition of words appropriate for the user’s learning level to improve user comprehension and understanding and prioritize extracting and translating words appropriate for the user’s learning level.
Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell may not explicitly teach wherein the learning note is a data structure configured to associate the learning target image, the recognized text, the language learning information, and a learning state for use in subsequent learning. However, Nielson teaches a system and method for language learning via extracting text using NLP features wherein learning content can be stored in a data store/database as a resource store wherein resources may be stored as a combination of text, image, and metadata including information describing the text and content of the resource (Paragraphs 0057, 0060-0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell to incorporate the teachings of Nielson by storing learning data/resources as a resource in a database including metadata as taught by Nielson to store the images and translations from Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Nielson in order to better store and manage the processed images and content. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell by coding the system to store the images and translations as resources as a combination/association of the image, translated text, definition and other learning information, and metadata which can include the learning progress of Cho. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell would include wherein the learning note is a data structure configured to associate the learning target image, the recognized text, the language learning information, and a learning state for use in subsequent learning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Nielson with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell’s system and method in order to better manage the system data, improve system organization, and as such a choice to store data as a record/resource in a database would be an obvious design/engineering choice to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to improve the system in the same way by managing content data for ease of use, storing, and retrieval.
Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson may not explicitly teach in response to a user interaction with the translation interface indicating a request for learning based on the displayed translation, generating a learning page that is separate and distinct from the service page. However, it is noted that Solntseva teaches displaying pop-up window (Paragraph 0062), and Holt teaches a system and method for learning using a learning map interface wherein a user can select a symbol to request additional details and/or resources related to the displayed content wherein the selection results in the system displaying a new web page containing the details and/or materials (Col 11, lines 12-23; Col 13, lines 49-59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson to incorporate the teachings of Holt by including links/functionality to request additional details and/or resources related to the content as taught by Holt for the images and translations of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Holt in order to further user learning and comprehension. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson by coding the system to include a note symbol or link to request additional details and/or materials for the recognized text and image such as definitions or the learning resource of Nielson wherein the selection can result in the display of a new web page (separate and distinct from the image capturing/translation interface screen) which would display the associated learning information and content of the resource and can include additional materials to further user learning and comprehension. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson would include in response to a user interaction with the translation interface indicating a request for learning based on the displayed translation, generating a learning page that is separate and distinct from the service page. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Holt with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson’s system and method in order to further user learning and comprehension by providing additional resources and presenting the information in a user friendly way as a new page to avoid overcrowding the display.
With regard to claim 5, Kim in view of Solntseva may not explicitly teach wherein the learning page further comprises information indicating a learning progress rate for the learning page, and wherein the learning progress rate comprises a learning progress state using the language learning information stored with the learning target image on the learning page. However, Cho further teaches the system includes progress rates/bars for the learning content including icons (progress state) based on the performance (Figs. 4b, 6A; Paragraphs 0095, 0104, 0113).
As discussed above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva to incorporate the teachings of Cho by sorting the photographed images and translation results of Kim into subjects as taught by Cho as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby be sorted as taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would further modify Kim in view of Solntseva by including progress rates and icons to show user progress in the learning content. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva would include wherein the learning page further comprises information indicating a learning progress rate for the learning page, and wherein the learning progress rate comprises a learning progress state using the language learning information stored with the learning target image on the learning page. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cho with Kim in view of Solntseva’s system and method in order to improve user interaction and usage by presenting user progress.
With regard to claim 6, Kim in view of Solntseva may not explicitly teach further comprising: displaying, through the user terminal, a plurality of graphic objects corresponding to a plurality of learning notes; displaying, in response to a selection of one of the plurality of graphic objects, at least one learning page included in the learning note corresponding to the selected graphic object; and displaying, in response to a request for learning for the at least one learning page, language learning information included in the at least one learning page. However, Cho further teaches the system displays, via the learner terminal, the list of subjects (graphic objects) registered to the learner including progress rates for each subject (note) based on the user login and inputs and displaying the corresponding content (pages) upon selection of a subject (Figs. 4A, 6A; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0104).
As discussed above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva to incorporate the teachings of Cho by sorting the photographed images and translation results of Kim into subjects as taught by Cho as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby be sorted as taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would further modify Kim in view of Solntseva by coding the system to display the list of subjects as selectable objects on the user interface and presenting the corresponding pages including the images and translations of Kim upon selection of the corresponding subject. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva would include further comprising: displaying, through the user terminal, a plurality of graphic objects corresponding to a plurality of learning notes; displaying, in response to a selection of one of the plurality of graphic objects, at least one learning page included in the learning note corresponding to the selected graphic object; and displaying, in response to a request for learning for the at least one learning page, language learning information included in the at least one learning page. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cho with Kim in view of Solntseva’s system and method in order to organize stored photograph images and translations in order to improve user interaction and usage.
With regard to claim 7, Kim in view of Solntseva may not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of graphic objects comprises information indicating note learning progress rates for the plurality of learning notes, and wherein the note learning progress rate comprises a learning progress state using language learning information stored in a learning page included in each of the plurality of learning notes. However, Cho further teaches the system displays, via the learner terminal, the list of subjects (graphic objects) registered to the learner including progress rates and wrong answer rates (state) for each subject (note) based on the user login and inputs and displaying the corresponding content (pages) upon selection of a subject (Figs. 4A, 6A; Paragraphs 0093-0094, 0104).
As discussed above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva to incorporate the teachings of Cho by sorting the photographed images and translation results of Kim into subjects as taught by Cho as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby be sorted as taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would further modify Kim in view of Solntseva by coding the system to display the list of subjects as selectable objects on the user interface and presenting the corresponding progress rates for the subjects. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva would include wherein the plurality of graphic objects comprises information indicating note learning progress rates for the plurality of learning notes, and wherein the note learning progress rate comprises a learning progress state using language learning information stored in a learning page included in each of the plurality of learning notes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cho with Kim in view of Solntseva’s system and method in order to organize stored photograph images and translations in order to improve user interaction and usage.
With regard to claim 10, Kim further teaches further comprising: displaying meaning information for a specific word selected by the user's input among words included in the learning target image (Paragraphs 0044, 0068, 0081 teach the system can retrieve meaning/definition information of a word from the database wherein the word can be selected by the user and provide the meaning to the user); and storing the specific word as the selected learning word (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the selected words/characters).
With regard to claim 11, Kim further teaches wherein the method further comprises: highlighting, in response to a user's input being applied in a preset manner for a specific portion of the sentence through the user terminal, a phrase corresponding to the specific portion to be distinct from other portions (Paragraph 0064 teaches the user can highlight a word or character string making the characters distinct from the other neighboring words or character strings); and storing the phrase corresponding to the specific portion as the phrase learning information (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the selected words/characters). Kim may not explicitly teach wherein the language learning information further comprises phrase learning information. However, Solntseva further teaches the user can select an area or words and the selected words are analyzed within the context of some or the entire text including words near the selected words such that the combination of words (phrase) is analyzed to determine the meaning and context of the words for translation purposes (Paragraphs 0032-0033, 0068).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Solntseva by analyzing the word combinations in order to understand context and better translate the selected words/phrases, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to methods and systems for translating text in a photograph/image. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim by allowing users to select words/word combinations and analyze the surrounding words/character strings including the context of the words and phrases. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim would include wherein the language learning information further comprises phrase learning information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Solntseva with Kim’s system and method in order to better translate words and characters by including the context and phrases of the word.
With regard to claim 20, Kim teaches one or more processes on an electronic device, the program comprising instructions for performing:
displaying, through a user terminal (Paragraphs 0050-0052; “apparatus including a touch-screen”), a service page including a translation interface configured to provide a translation result for input text (Paragraphs 0043-0044, 0050-0051 teach the system can provide translations of captured/inputted text displayed on the user apparatus);
acquiring, in response to receiving an input for acquiring a learning target image (Paragraphs 0008, 0041-0042 teach the system can photograph an image), the learning target image from the camera (Paragraphs 0008, 0041; “photographing an image”);
wherein the acquiring of the learning of the learning target image further comprises specifying at least a portion of an image taken by the camera as the learning target image based on a user input (Paragraphs 0051-0054, 0057 teach the user can select an area/partial range of the photographed image as the area to be character-recognized and translated);
wherein the acquiring of the learning target image through the user terminal (Paragraphs 0008, 0041; “photographing an image”) comprises:
receiving language learning information for the learning target image from a database (Abstract; Paragraphs 0044, 0060, 0081 teach the system can search recognized words in the electronic dictionary database including definition and translation information), wherein text included in the learning target image is recognized using an optical character recognition (OCR) process and information related to the recognized text is transmitted to the database (Paragraphs 0006, 0041, 0044, 0084, 0086, 0088 teach the system uses optical character recognition to generate a searchable character string, searches a database for a corresponding word (transmits the recognized characters to the database, and presents the translated word);
wherein the language learning information received includes text information extracted from the learning target image using the OCR process (Paragraphs 0006, 0041, 0044, 0084, 0086, 0088 teach the system uses OCR to recognize characters in the image/target area, constructs a word from the recognized characters (text information) including numbers and punctuation, and searches a dictionary for word information including a meaning of the word);
providing the language learning information to the user terminal (Paragraphs 0042, 0051, 0078 teach the system can provide the translation and definition to the user through the user interface); and
storing the language learning information in association with the learning target image, based on a request for storing the language learning information (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the dictionary data such as definition), such that the learning target image is used in conjunction with learning of the language learning information (Paragraphs 0079-0080 teach the photographed image and the recognized and translated characters can be stored and displayed (used in conjunction)),
wherein the language learning information comprises a translation of at least one sentence corresponding to the text recognized via the OCR process from the learning target image (Paragraphs 0039, 0041, 0071, 0079 teach the system can provide the resulting translation of characters including the entire image and sentences), and meaning information about at least one word included in the at least one sentence (Paragraphs 0044, 0068, 0081 teach the system can retrieve meaning/definition information of a word from the database and provide the meaning to the user), wherein the translation of the sentence and the meaning information of the word included in the sentence have been generated by the database (Paragraphs 0039, 0041, 0044, 0084, 0086, 0088 teach the system creates the translation and meaning by searching a dictionary database);
the method further comprising: displaying, through the translation interface, the translation of the sentence included in the recognized text (Paragraphs 0043-0044, 0050-0052, 0079 teach the system can provide translations of captured/inputted text displayed on the user apparatus which can include a full text/sentence as seen in figures 6B, 13C, and 15A);
displaying, in response to a request for learning for the learning page (Paragraphs 0008, 0057, 0060 teaches a user can select an area/characters to be translated (request)), the language learning information stored with the learning target image, such that the language learning information is used for learning (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores and provides the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the dictionary data such as definition/meaning), and
wherein such that the language learning information is managed as the learning page with the learning target image (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores and provides the captured images and the recognized characters and translation result including the dictionary data such as definition/meaning).
Kim may not explicitly teach a program stored on a computer-readable recording medium, which is executed by one or more processes on an electronic device; displaying an icon configured to activate a camera of the user terminal; acquiring a learning target image by activating the camera via the icon on the service page; receiving the language learning information from a server; and generating the information and translation by the server. However, Solntseva teaches a method and system for recognition and translation of text in photographs wherein the software (program stored on the device) can include accessing and performing functionality on one or more servers communicated with via a network wherein the user interface includes a camera button for capturing an image with the camera of the user device (Abstract; Paragraphs 0020, 0022, 0023-0025, 0078).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of Solntseva by operating the software on one or more servers as taught by Solntseva such that the electronic database of Kim is hosted on a server that the electronic device communicates with wherein the electronic device includes the software/program instructions to perform the processes, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to methods and systems for translating text in a photograph/image. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim by hosting the electronic database on a server connected to the electronic device via a network for the device to communicate with such that the translation and other character information are retrieved from the server. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim would include a program stored on a computer-readable recording medium, which is executed by one or more processes on an electronic device; displaying an icon configured to activate a camera of the user terminal; acquiring a learning target image by activating the camera via the icon on the service page; receiving the language learning information from a server; and generating the information and translation by the server. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Solntseva with Kim’s system and method in order to improve system performance by increasing processing power and resources (Solntseva paragraph 0004).
Kim in view of Solntseva may not explicitly teach wherein the storing of the language learning information in association with the learning target image further comprises storing the language learning information in a learning note including the learning page. However, Cho teaches a system and method of providing learning contents by a server in which content is sorted by subject such that when a user selects a subject the server provides the content related to that subject (Paragraphs 0093-0094) wherein the subject is equivalent to the learning note of the instant application.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva to incorporate the teachings of Cho by sorting the photographed images and translation results of Kim into subjects as taught by Cho as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby be sorted as taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva by storing the photographed images and associated translation results into folders/subjects. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva would include wherein the storing of the language learning information in association with the learning target image further comprises storing the language learning information in a learning note including the learning page. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cho with Kim in view of Solntseva’s system and method in order to organize stored photograph images and translations in order to improve user interaction and usage.
Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho may not explicitly teach wherein the providing of the language learning information to the user terminal comprises: displaying, on the user terminal, a question item; receiving, through the user terminal, a response to the question item; determining a learning level of the user among a plurality of pre-classified learning levels based on the received response and according to a predetermined criterion; extracting a recommended learning word from a sentence recognized from the learning target image; and providing, to the user terminal, the recommended learning word and meaning information of the recommended learning word using the language learning information, wherein the learning level of the user is changeable based on an input to the user terminal. However, Cha teaches a system and method for language learning by constructing an individual person-based word DB based on a user’s learning level as determined by providing a test (question items) to the user, receiving user answers/responses, and calculating the user’s learning level based on performance and then extracting words from learning content based on the user’s learning level and providing the words and definitions based on the user’s learning level wherein the learning level can also be set by an input from the user (Abstract; Paragraphs 0011, 0076, 0079, 0082-0083, 0094, 0127).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho to incorporate the teachings of Cha by providing users with a test to determine a user’s skill/learning level as taught by Cha to provide relevant words and definitions from Kim as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Cha in order to provide user’s words appropriate for their learning/skill level. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho by coding the system to provide test/check-ups that present questions and receive answers from the user in order to determine the user’s skill/learning level and then extract and present words corresponding to the user’s learning level. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho would include wherein the providing of the language learning information to the user terminal comprises: displaying, on the user terminal, a question item; receiving, through the user terminal, a response to the question item; determining a learning level of the user among a plurality of pre-classified learning levels based on the received response and according to a predetermined criterion; extracting a recommended learning word from a sentence recognized from the learning target image; and providing, to the user terminal, the recommended learning word and meaning information of the recommended learning word using the language learning information, wherein the learning level of the user is changeable based on an input to the user terminal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cha with Kim in view of Solntseva and Cha’s system and method in order to provide users with appropriate words and definitions based on their skill level in order to improve user comprehension and understanding.
Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha may not explicitly teach extracting, based on the learning level, a recommended learning word; and wherein a word recognized from the learning target image comprises the recommended learning word extracted from the sentence, by the server based on a pre-input learning level as Cha teaches extracting words from learning content and setting the learning levels of the extracted words (Paragraphs 0076, 0079). However, Russell teaches a system and method for reading comprehension that highlights words from a portion of a digitized text (such as the specified portion of an image of Kim) based on the grade, reading, and/or learning level of the user wherein the highlighted words are the top-ranked words based on the grade, reading, and/or learning level of the user (Abstract; Col 4, lines 52-63; Col 5, lines 4-18; Col 5, lines 34-37).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha to incorporate the teachings of Russell by applying the technique of highlighting/selecting words based on a user’s reading level of Russell to the extraction of Cha based on the input learning level of Cha as the extracted word from Kim as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes including reading comprehension by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Russell in order to select and thereby extract words appropriate for the user’s learning level. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha by coding the system to use the input learning level of Cha to determine words appropriate for the user’s learning level and extract the recommended word from the portion of the image based on the user’s learning level such that the recognized and presented word and those based on the user’s learning level. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha would include extracting, based on the learning level, a recommended learning word; and wherein a word recognized from the learning target image comprises the recommended learning word extracted from the sentence, by the server based on a pre-input learning level. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Russell with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha’s system and method in order to provide translations, meanings, and recognition of words appropriate for the user’s learning level to improve user comprehension and understanding and prioritize extracting and translating words appropriate for the user’s learning level.
Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell may not explicitly teach wherein the learning note is a data structure configured to associate the learning target image, the recognized text, the language learning information, and a learning state for use in subsequent learning. However, Nielson teaches a system and method for language learning via extracting text using NLP features wherein learning content can be stored in a data store/database as a resource store wherein resources may be stored as a combination of text, image, and metadata including information describing the text and content of the resource (Paragraphs 0057, 0060-0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell to incorporate the teachings of Nielson by storing learning data/resources as a resource in a database including metadata as taught by Nielson to store the images and translations from Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Nielson in order to better store and manage the processed images and content. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell by coding the system to store the images and translations as resources as a combination/association of the image, translated text, definition and other learning information, and metadata which can include the learning progress of Cho. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell would include wherein the learning note is a data structure configured to associate the learning target image, the recognized text, the language learning information, and a learning state for use in subsequent learning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Nielson with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, and Russell’s system and method in order to better manage the system data, improve system organization, and as such a choice to store data as a record/resource in a database would be an obvious design/engineering choice to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to improve the system in the same way by managing content data for ease of use, storing, and retrieval.
Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson may not explicitly teach in response to a user interaction with the translation interface indicating a request for learning based on the displayed translation, generating a learning page that is separate and distinct from the service page. However, it is noted that Solntseva teaches displaying pop-up window (Paragraph 0062), and Holt teaches a system and method for learning using a learning map interface wherein a user can select a symbol to request additional details and/or resources related to the displayed content wherein the selection results in the system displaying a new web page containing the details and/or materials (Col 11, lines 12-23; Col 13, lines 49-59).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson to incorporate the teachings of Holt by including links/functionality to request additional details and/or resources related to the content as taught by Holt for the images and translations of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Holt in order to further user learning and comprehension. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson by coding the system to include a note symbol or link to request additional details and/or materials for the recognized text and image such as definitions or the learning resource of Nielson wherein the selection can result in the display of a new web page (separate and distinct from the image capturing/translation interface screen) which would display the associated learning information and content of the resource and can include additional materials to further user learning and comprehension. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson would include in response to a user interaction with the translation interface indicating a request for learning based on the displayed translation, generating a learning page that is separate and distinct from the service page. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Holt with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson’s system and method in order to further user learning and comprehension by providing additional resources and presenting the information in a user friendly way as a new page to avoid overcrowding the display.
With regard to claims 21-23, Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho may not explicitly teach classifying the word into a first state or a second state, based on an input from the user terminal, wherein the first state is a memorized state and the second state is a non-memorized state. However, Cha further teaches classifying words into known (first state/memorized) and unknown (second state/unknown) including based on a user input/selection (Paragraphs 0075, 0080).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho to incorporate the teachings of Cha by allowing users to classify words as known or unknown as taught by Cha to provide relevant words and definitions from Kim as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Cha in order to organize words based on the user’s skill and whether they known/do not know the words. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho by coding the system to allow the user to classify the words into known words and unknown words. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva and Cho would include classifying the word into a first state or a second state, based on an input from the user terminal, wherein the first state is a memorized state and the second state is a non-memorized state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Cha with Kim in view of Solntseva and Cha’s system and method in order to provide users with appropriate words and definitions based on their skill level in order to improve user comprehension and understanding.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US PGPub 20220406216), hereinafter referred to as Park.
With regard to claim 8, Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt may not explicitly teach further comprising: displaying, based on a request for learning for the learning page, a card including the word and meaning information of the word; and determining, based on a direction of a drag input to the card, a user's learning state for the word included in the card; and classifying, based on the determination of the learning state, the word as either a first state or a second state, where the second state is distinct from the first state. However, Park teaches a method and system for improving vocabulary skills of foreign language learners including presenting recommended words wherein the user can drag the presented word “windows” (card) to the left or right based on the users desire to add the words to a vocabulary list or not include the word (states) (Figs. 7 and 8; Paragraphs 0090-0092, 0104).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt to incorporate the teachings of Park by presenting the translation results of Kim as windows and to create a vocabulary list for a user to learn as taught by Park as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby be displayed as taught by Park. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva by presenting the photographed images and associated translation results into folders/subjects in the form of words that a user can select to add to a vocabulary list for practice/learning by dragging the windows left or right as taught by Park. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt would include further comprising: displaying, based on a request for learning for the learning page, a card including the word and meaning information of the word; and determining, based on a direction of a drag input to the card, a user's learning state for the word included in the card; and classifying, based on the determination of the learning state, the word as either a first state or a second state, where the second state is distinct from the first state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Park with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt’s system and method in order for users to further practice and learn the foreign language and words.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nomi et al. (US PGPub 20150310270), hereinafter referred to as Nomi.
With regard to claim 12, Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt may not explicitly teach further comprising: displaying, in response to a request for editing for the text recognized from the learning target image, an editing interface configured to allow editing of the text by including a virtual keyboard. However, Solntseva does teach the system can present variants of translation of a word and replace the word with a selected variant thereby editing the text (Paragraphs 0062-0063). Further, Nomi teaches a system and method for optical reading using OCR wherein the system presents a virtual keyboard to a user to edit the text data displayed in order to correct an error in the text (Paragraphs 0005, 0088, 0104, 0106).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt to incorporate the teachings of Nomi by allowing users to edit the recognized text using a virtual keyboard as taught by Nomi, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to methods and systems for recognizing text in a photograph/image. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Nielson, and Holt by presenting a virtual keyboard to allow users to edit the displayed text. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt would include further comprising: displaying, in response to a request for editing for the text recognized from the learning target image, an editing interface configured to allow editing of the text by including a virtual keyboard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Nomi with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt’s system and method in order to allow users to correct errors and edit the recognized text.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US PGPub 20080033712), hereinafter referred to as Yang.
With regard to claim 14, Kim further teaches storing meaning information of a word included in the translation result provided through the translation interface as the language learning information stored in association with the learning target image (Paragraphs 0045, 0060, 0062, 0079 teach the system stores the captured images and the recognized characters and translation results wherein the result can include the recognized or inputted text as discussed below) but Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt may not explicitly teach displaying a translation interface configured to receive text input and to provide a translation result for the text input through the user terminal. However, Yang teaches a system and method of learning a second language including a pictures and text wherein the system allows a user to input text that will be displayed (Abstract; Paragraphs 0008, 0013-0015, 0040, 0052).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt to incorporate the teachings of Yang by allowing a user to input text via a user interface and translate the inputted text as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby be displayed as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt by coding the system to include a text input interface for a user to input text to be translated in regard to the captured/photographed image wherein the inputted and translated text can be stored with the image as taught by Kim. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt would include displaying a translation interface configured to receive text input and to provide a translation result for the text input through the user terminal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Yang with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt’s system and method in order for users to manually input text to be translated.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Landwehr (US PGPub 20150024351).
With regard to claim 19, Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt may not explicitly teach further comprising: a storage unit including a word ID corresponding to the word, wherein the control unit transmits, through the communication unit, the word ID stored in the storage unit to the server to receive meaning information on the word corresponding to the transmitted word ID from the server. However, Landwehr teaches a system and method for learning words wherein the words can be tagged with an ID (word ID) that associates the word with data in the databased (storage unit) including meanings of the word (Paragraphs 0060, 0076, 0111-0112, 0127).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt to incorporate the teachings of Landwehr by storing the words in a database including tag IDs for the words to associate the data with the words as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby include storing the words/translations as taught by Landwehr. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt by coding the system to include storing the words in the electronic dictionary/database of Kim with tags/IDs associated with the words including the meanings of the words. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt would include further comprising: a storage unit including a word ID corresponding to the word, wherein the control unit transmits, through the communication unit, the word ID stored in the storage unit to the server to receive meaning information on the word corresponding to the transmitted word ID from the server. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Landwehr with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt’s system and method in order to better store the words in the database and improve searching and accessing the database/dictionary including adding personalized meaning as taught by Landwehr.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt as applied to claims 1, 15, and 20 above, and further in view of Han (US PGPub 20040034523).
With regard to claims 24-26, Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt may not explicitly teach wherein the language learning information provided to the user terminal and stored in the learning note includes an example sentence, generated by the server, using the word extracted or selected from the sentence, and wherein the example sentence differs from the sentence translated from the learning target image. However, Han teaches a system and method for learning language including exemplary sentences using a selected word and providing an image related to the selected word and outputting the exemplary sentences for learning a foreign language (Paragraphs 0023, 0030, 0036, 0046).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt to incorporate the teachings of Han by including exemplary sentences using a selected word as taught by Holt for the selected words/regions of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, and Cha as, while Kim and Solntseva do not explicitly state the intended use of education, the translation/OCR of Kim in view of Solntseva can reasonably be used for education/learning purposes by someone that does not know the language and thereby use the method as taught by Han in order to further user learning and comprehension. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt by coding the system to include presenting exemplary sentences of a selected word in a pop-up or on a new webpage as taught by Holt thereby including exemplary sentences as additional materials to further user learning and comprehension. Upon such modification, the method and system of Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, Nielson, and Holt would include wherein the language learning information provided to the user terminal and stored in the learning note includes an example sentence, generated by the server, using the word extracted or selected from the sentence, and wherein the example sentence differs from the sentence translated from the learning target image. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Holt with Kim in view of Solntseva, Cho, Cha, Russell, and Nielson’s system and method in order to further user learning and comprehension by providing additional resources including exemplary sentences (Han Paragraphs 0003, 0051).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed September 4, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 19-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive by virtue of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the cited combination of prior art discussed above. Specifically, the newly cited Russell reference which in combination teaches the “A” alternative of the word recognized being a recommended learning word based on a pre-input learning level.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1, 5-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 19-26 are rejected.
/CORRELL T FRENCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3715