DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's reply filed 7/16/2026 includes claim amendments and corresponding arguments. Applicant argues the art of record does not disclose the following limitations set forth in amended Claim 1: “Wherein the support platform comprises a guide fitting portion, the guide fitting portion is in a frustum shape, and the guide fitting portion of the support platform of one battery module is fittable in the fitting hole of another battery module.” Applicant states “Chen's frustoconical screw part 58 is not a guide fitting portion that is fittable in a fitting hole of another battery module. Instead, Chen's frustoconical screw part 58 is an internal actuator of screw assembly 5.” Applicant adds, “The engagement with fixing sleeve 4 is made through fixed shaft sleeve 51 and balls 53, not by screw part 58 itself being fitted into fixing sleeve 4 as the claimed guide fitting portion (Chen, [0061], [0065]).”
Examiner agrees Chen’s module-to-module connection structure comprises inserting a fixed shaft sleeve 51 and steel balls 53 of a first module into a fixing sleeve 4 of a second module. This connection structure is secured/locked by moving the steel balls 53 in a lateral direction towards an inner surface of the fixing sleeve 4 ([0060-0062]). While the frustoconical screw part 58 does not make physical contact with the inner surface of the fixing sleeve 4, the screw part 58 enters the slot 41 of the adjacent module to move the steel balls 53 into the locked position, see [0061] of Chen:
[0061]: As the conical screw portion 58 of the screw 52 screws inward along the F direction from the threaded hole 56, the outer periphery of the conical screw portion 58 presses against the steel ball 53, pushing the steel ball 53 to roll along the H direction toward the second end of the stroke through hole 57. This means that at least part of the surface of the steel ball 53 is exposed on the outer periphery of the fixed bushing 51, thereby achieving engagement with the fixed bushing 51. The remaining part of the steel ball 53 is located in the space of the threaded hole 56. At this time, the steel ball 53 is blocked by the cone screw part 58 and cannot retract inward, protruding from the outer peripheral surface of the fixed bushing 51 to form a locking state that can cooperate with the inward retraction slot 41 of the fixed sleeve 4.
Chen – Fig. 6 (L) and Fig. 7 (R)
Chen’s screw part 58 must be inserted into the fixing sleeve 4 in order to push the steel balls 53 outward and “lock” into the fixing sleeve of the second module (see direction H in Fig. 7). Thus, Chen still meets all limitations of amended Claim 1, including the new limitations “wherein the support platform comprises a guide fitting portion” (first end of the screw 52 [0012], see Figs. 5-7), “the guide fitting portion is in a frustum shape” (the first end of the screw 52 is a frustoconical screw part 58 [0012, 0058-0061], see frustum shape in Figs. 5-7), and “the guide fitting portion of the support platform of one battery module is fittable in the fitting hole of another battery module” (screw part 58 is inserted into a slot 41 of a fixed sleeve 4 on an adjacent module [0060-0062], see Figs. 1, 6-7; “the second end of the screw assembly of one battery pack component is aligned and engaged with the fixing sleeve of the adjacent battery pack component” [0020]). Examiner notes new Claim 21 is also disclosed by Chen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 10 and 11 are identical, and both claims depend upon Claim 1. Examiner notes Claim 11 previously depended on Claim 2, but was amended to depend upon Claim 1. Please delete Claim 11 or amend the claim to include limitations that distinguish Claim 11 from Claim 12.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen
et al., CN 112599919 A.
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a battery module ([0022], Figs. 1-9), comprising:
a plurality of cells (several orderly arranged battery cells in battery 2 [0064], Figs. 1 and 8); and
an outer frame defining an accommodating cavity (two side plates 6 and two end plates 1 [0057], see Figs. 1 and 8), the plurality of cells being accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see position of battery 2 in Figs. 1 and 8), the outer frame comprising four support columns (each connecting end plate 1 includes two connecting posts 11 [0057], Figs. 1-8), two side plates (side plates 6, Figs. 1 and 8), and two end plates (each connecting end plate 1 includes an end plate body 10 [0057], Figs. 1-8), the two side plates being arranged opposite to each other (see Figs. 1 and 8), the two end plates being arranged opposite to each other (see Figs. 1 and 8), the four support columns being connected between end portions of the side plates and the end plates (end plate 1 and the side plate 6 are connected by welding, riveting, or bolting; connecting post 11 is connected to a set of opposite sides of the end plate body 10 [0057]), one of a top and a bottom of the support column being provided with a support platform (each connecting post 11 is provided with a screw assembly 5 [0057-0068]) and another being provided with a fitting hole (each connecting post 11 is provided with a fixing sleeve 4 in first space 13 [0009, 0057]), and the support platform of one battery module being fittable in the fitting hole of another battery module (two battery pack components stacked together, wherein the second end of the screw assembly of one battery pack component is aligned and engaged with the fixing sleeve of the adjacent battery pack component [0020, 0056, 0063], Figs. 1, 7, and 9),
wherein the support platform comprises a guide fitting portion (first end of the screw 52 [0012], see Figs. 5-7), the guide fitting portion is in a frustum shape (the first end of the screw 52 is a frustoconical screw part 58 [0012, 0058-0061], see frustum shape in Figs. 5-7), and the guide fitting portion of the support platform of one battery module is fittable in the fitting hole of another battery module (screw part 58 is inserted into a slot 41 of a fixed sleeve 4 on an adjacent module [0060-0062], see Figs. 1, 6-7; “the second end of the screw assembly of one battery pack component is aligned and engaged with the fixing sleeve of the adjacent battery pack component” [0020]).
Chen – Fig. 1 (L), Fig. 2 (Center), Fig. 9 (R)
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen discloses the support platform (screw assembly 5) further comprises: a mounting portion (second end of the screw 52 [0012]), one end of the mounting portion being connected to a bottom of the guide fitting portion (screw 52 comprises a first and second end [0058], see Annotated Fig. 9), another end extending away from the guide fitting portion along an axial direction (“another end” extends towards nut 55, Annotated Fig. 9),
the support column (11) being provided with a mounting hole (post 11 has a screw shoulder 15 with a positioning hole [0057], Fig. 9), and
the mounting portion being detachably fitted in the mounting hole (second end of the screw 52 passes through the positioning hole, is tightened by the nut 55 located in the first space 13 [0058], Fig. 9).
Chen – Annotated Fig. 9
Regarding Claim 21, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen discloses the support platform (screw assembly 5) further comprises a flange portion (steel ball 53 [0058-0063]), the guide fitting portion is arranged on a first side of the flange portion (screw part 58 is on an interior side of the steel ball 53, see Figs. 6-7; “a first side” is the interior side), and a periphery of the flange portion protrudes radially outward relative to the guide fitting portion (steel ball 53 is pushed along the H direction by the screw part 58 [0061], Fig 7).
Chen – Fig. 7
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of You et al., US 20210025426 A1.
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen does not disclose “a taper angle of the guide fitting portion is α, and α ranges from about 30° to about 85°.” However, this limitation is taught by You.
You teaches a guide fitting portion may be a threaded bolt with a conical shape, and a taper angle of the right and left sides of the cone can vary between 0° and 180° ([0022, 0056]). You teaches a connection structure of the guide fitting portion (bolt) and a threaded fitting hole (nut) can have self-locking and self-positioning abilities when the bolt has a cone taper angle range from 0° to 53° ([0022]). You also teaches a preferred cone taper angle of the bolt is 53° to 180° for applications with no need for self-locking and/or with low self-positioning requirements ([0056]). Examiner notes the claimed range of “about 30° to about 85°” overlaps with You’s self-locking/positioning range (0° to 53°) and non-self-locking/positioning range (53° to 180°) for a guide fitting portion.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the cone taper angle of the guide fitting portion of Chen, in combination with a threaded fitting hole, as You teaches a taper angle within an overall range of 0° to 180° can be selected, and then further narrowed depending on the desired amount of self-locking/positioning within the threaded fitting hole.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the support platform (Chen, 5) further comprises:
a mounting portion (Chen, second end of the screw 52 [0012]), one end of the mounting portion being connected to a bottom of the guide fitting portion (Chen, screw 52 comprises a first and second end [0058], see Annotated Fig. 9), another end extending away from the guide fitting portion along an axial direction (Chen, “another end” extends towards nut 55, see Annotated Fig. 9),
the support column (Chen, 11) being provided with a mounting hole (Chen, post 11 has a screw shoulder 15 with a positioning hole [0057], Fig. 9), and
the mounting portion being detachably fitted in the mounting hole (Chen, the second end of the
screw 52 passes through the positioning hole and is tightened by the nut 55 located in the first space 13 [0058], Fig. 9).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Moed et al., US 20110288598 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen does not disclose “the fitting hole is a threaded hole, a minor diameter of the threaded hole being D1, a bottom diameter of the guide fitting portion being D2, and the difference between D1 and D2 ranges from about 0.2 mm to about 5 mm.”
Moed teaches minor diameters of a threaded guide fitting portion and a threaded fitting hole (male screw and female receiver, “minor-minor diameter interference” [0060-0061]). Moed teaches a difference between the two diameters is directly proportional to the amount of torque needed for the interference fit, wherein a small difference allows the screw to be turned by hand, and a larger difference results in locking via thread deformation ([0057-0061], Claims 1-3). Moed recommends controlling torque through the minor-minor diameter interference fit in applications where vibration and/or motion may undesirably loosen a screwed-in fastening (mechanical applications such as electro-mechanical, automotive, and cabinetry [0009]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the fitting hole be a threaded hole, and optimize the difference between diameters D1 and D2, in the battery module of Chen, and would have been motivated to do so, as Moed teaches an increasing difference between diameters will result in an increasing amount of torque needed for fastening.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the support platform (Chen, 5) further comprises:
a mounting portion (Chen, second end of the screw 52 [0012]), one end of the mounting portion being connected to a bottom of the guide fitting portion (Chen, screw 52 comprises a first and second end [0058], see Annotated Fig. 9), another end extending away from the guide fitting portion along an axial direction (Chen, “another end” extends towards nut 55, see Annotated Fig. 9),
the support column (Chen, 11) being provided with a mounting hole (Chen, post 11 has a screw shoulder 15 with a positioning hole [0057], Fig. 9), and
the mounting portion being detachably fitted in the mounting hole (Chen, the second end of the screw 52 passes through the positioning hole and is tightened by the nut 55 located in the first space 13 [0058], Fig. 9).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Chen as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of Moed et al., US 20110288598 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the fitting hole is a threaded hole (You, [0022, 0056]), but does not disclose “a minor diameter of the threaded hole being D1, a bottom diameter of the guide fitting portion being D2, and the difference between D1 and D2 ranges from about 0.2 mm to about 5 mm.”
Moed teaches minor diameters of a threaded guide fitting portion and a threaded fitting hole (male screw and female receiver, “minor-minor diameter interference” [0060-0061]). Moed teaches a difference between the two diameters is directly proportional to the amount of torque needed for the interference fit, wherein a small difference allows the screw to be turned by hand, and a larger difference results in locking via thread deformation ([0057-0061], Claims 1-3). Moed recommends controlling torque through the minor-minor diameter interference fit in applications where vibration and/or motion may undesirably loosen a screwed-in fastening (mechanical applications such as electro-mechanical, automotive, and cabinetry [0009]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the difference between diameters D1 and D2, in the battery module of modified Chen, and would have been motivated to do so, as Moed teaches an increasing difference between diameters will result in an increasing amount of torque needed for fastening.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses the support platform (Chen, 5) further comprises:
a mounting portion (Chen, second end of the screw 52 [0012]), one end of the mounting portion being connected to a bottom of the guide fitting portion (Chen, screw 52 comprises a first and second end [0058], see Annotated Fig. 9), another end extending away from the guide fitting portion along an axial direction (Chen, “another end” extends towards nut 55, see Annotated Fig. 9),
the support column (Chen, 11) being provided with a mounting hole (Chen, post 11 has a screw shoulder 15 with a positioning hole [0057], Fig. 9), and
the mounting portion being detachably fitted in the mounting hole (Chen, the second end of the screw 52 passes through the positioning hole and is tightened by the nut 55 located in the first space 13 [0058], Fig. 9).
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen or modified Chen as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Jin et al., CN 207967119 U.
Regarding Claims 10-16, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen discloses the support column (11) comprises a column body (Annotated Fig. 2):
Chen – Annotated Fig. 2
Chen does not disclose the support column (11) also comprises “an insertion portion, the
insertion portion being arranged on one side of the column body” and also does not disclose an end portion of the end plate (10) is “provided with an insertion hole, and the insertion portion being inserted in the insertion hole and fixedly connected to the end portion of the end plate.” However, these limitations are taught by Jin et al.
Jin teaches a support column for a battery module may be provided with an insertion portion (the first fastening part 132 of each fastener 13 can be a protrusion protruding from the inner surface of the main body 131 [0042] Figs. 1-4). Jin also teaches an end portion of an end plate is provided with an insertion hole (the end plate fitting part 111 of each end plate 11 can be a through groove that passes through the end plate 11 [0042]), wherein the insertion portion is inserted in the insertion hole and fixedly connected to the end portion of the end plate (parts 111 are arranged at intervals along the height direction H and respectively fasten to a corresponding first fastening part 132 [0044]). Jin discloses the snap-fit connection of the end plates 11 and fasteners 13 is simple, efficient, and reliable, thereby improving the overall structural strength of the battery module ([0011, 0037, 0055]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add an insertion portion on the column body, and a corresponding insertion hole on the end plate, in the battery module of Chen, as Jin teaches the snap-fit connection between the end plates and corresponding fasteners is simple, efficient, reliable, and improves the overall structural strength of the battery module.
Jin – Fig. 3 (left) and Fig. 4 (right)
Regarding Claim 17, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen does not disclose a side of the column body (column portion of 11) is “provided with a positioning groove, and a positioning rib is arranged on the side plate, an end portion of the positioning rib being fitted in the positioning groove and fixedly connected to the column body.” However, these limitations are also taught by Jin.
Jin teaches a support column for a battery module may be provided with a positioning groove (second fastening portion 133 of each buckle 13 can be a groove that passes through the main body portion 131 [0043] Fig. 5). Jin also teaches a positioning rib arranged on a side plate, wherein the positioning rib is fitted in the positioning groove (correspondingly, the side plate of each side plate 12 has a protruding mating portion 121 [0043], Fig. 5). Jin discloses the snap-fit connection of the side plates 12 and corresponding fasteners 13 is simple, efficient, and reliable, thereby improving the overall structural strength of the battery module ([0011, 0037, 0055]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a positioning groove on the column body, and a corresponding positioning rib on the side plate, in the battery module of Chen, as Jin teaches the snap-fit connection between the side plates and corresponding fasteners is simple, efficient, reliable, and improves the overall structural strength of the battery module.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Conrad, US 20170207430 A1.
Regarding Claim 18, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen does not disclose the limitations of Claim 18. However, these limitations are taught by Conrad.
Conrad teaches a battery module (battery brick 6 [0026-0029], Figs 2-3) comprising a bottom cover (bottom panel 62), a tray (brick plate 40), side plates (side panels 64), and a top cover (top panel 66). Conrad teaches the bottom cover is arranged at a bottom of the plurality of cells (see position of bottom panel 62 and cells 30 in Figs. 2-3) and fixedly connected to the side plates (panels 62, 64, 66 are secured and encased with wrap 68 [0029]). Conrad also teaches the tray is arranged at a top of the plurality of cells (Figs. 2-3), and is provided with a connection sheet for connecting the cells (positive brick bus 46 and negative brick bus 48 [0027-0028]), and the top cover is arranged at a top of the tray and fixedly connected to the end plates and/or the side plates (panels 62, 64, 66 are secured and encased with wrap 68 [0029], see position of top panel 66 and brick plate 40 in Figs. 2-3). Conrad teaches the bottom cover, side plates, and top cover (62, 64, 66) secure the plurality of cells into a brick, and also teaches the tray and connection sheet (40, 46, 48) establishes an electrical connection across the positive and negative cell tabs ([0027-0029]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add a bottom cover, a tray, a top cover, and a connection sheet to the battery module of Chen, as Conrad teaches the bottom cover, side plates, and top cover secure the plurality of cells into a brick (i.e., module), and the tray and connection sheet establish an electrical connection across the positive and negative cell tabs.
Conrad – Figs. 2 and 3
Regarding Claim 19, Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Chen does not disclose a combination of the battery module and “a power control box, the power control box being arranged on an outer side of the outer frame and detachably mounted on the outer frame.” However, these limitations are also taught by Conrad.
Conrad teaches a power control box detachably arranged on an outer side of an outer frame (battery management module “BMM” 8 and shelf 16, can be removed from battery box 4 and later reinstalled [0006-0008, 0037], Figs. 5-9). Conrad teaches the BMM 8 controls power flow from the battery pack, monitors individual cell characteristics, and communicates with external devices ([0032-0034]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the detachable power control box of Conrad to the battery module of Chen, in order to control the flow of power from the battery pack, monitor individual cell characteristics, and communicate with external devices.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Chen discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Chen discloses: a protruded electrode lead-out end and a protruded signal lead-out end are arranged on an outer side of the battery module (Conrad, negative brick conductors 98 and monitoring conductors 58 [0032], Figs. 4-7),
the electrode lead-out end (98) and the signal lead-out end (58) being spaced apart on the battery module (Conrad Figs. 4-7), the power control box being provided with two via holes that are spaced apart (Conrad, shelf 16 has openings on opposite corners to allow for passage of the first positive brick conductors 82, the last negative brick conductors 98, and the monitoring conductors 58 [0032]), and
the electrode lead-out end and the signal lead-out end respectively penetrating through the two via holes and being electrically connected to the power control box (Conrad, [0032], Fig. 7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721