DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 06th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) previously cited in the Final rejection mailed November 20th, 2025. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg 6-8 (as numbered by Applicant) of the Remarks, filed March 06th, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Huang et al. (CN 107359382), hereinafter Huang.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “11005” has been used to designate both the exterior heat exchanger inlet interface and the interior evaporator outlet interface. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 8, paragraph 34: “The second electric valve 13 may have the same configuration as the first electric valve 16” should read “The second electric valve 16 may have the same configuration as the first electric valve 13”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “type” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “type” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression (e.g., Friedel-Crafts catalyst) extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955). Likewise, the phrase "ZSM-5-type aluminosilicate zeolites" was held to be indefinite because it was unclear what "type" was intended to convey. The interpretation was made more difficult by the fact that the zeolites defined in the dependent claims were not within the genus of the type of zeolites defined in the independent claim. Ex parte Attig, 7 USPQ2d 1092 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) (MPEP 2173.05, Section III, paragraph E). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the “plate-type heat exchanger inlet interface” to be a “plate heat exchanger inlet interface”, the Examiner recommends amending the claim to read as interpreted herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 107359382), hereinafter Huang in view of Morimoto et al. (US Patent No. 12,296,641), hereinafter Morimoto.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a plurality of flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with a heat exchange assembly of an external thermal management system (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, flow channels A, interfaces B-1 through B-5; Fig. 4, HVAC assembly 600, indoor condenser 601, indoor evaporator 602, outdoor heat exchanger 605);
a first electric valve and a second electric valve (Fig. 4, first expansion switching valve 603, second expansion switching valve 606), both in communication with the plurality of flow channels, the first electric valve and the second electric valve both switchable between a blocked/unblocked position and a throttled position (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, first expansion switching valve 603 and second expansion switching valve 606 are shown to be in communication with the plurality of flow channels A Pg. 7, In the present invention, the expansion switching valve is simultaneously with expansion valve function (also referred to as function of electronic expansion valve) and switching valve function (also called valve function) of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. the inside of the expansion switching valve is formed with a flow passage and a throttle flow passage, when the expansion switching valve used as the switching valve, the internal flow passage via flow, the flow branch is formed; when the expansion switching valve used as an expansion valve, the inside of the throttle channel conduction, forming the throttle branch);
a first end of the first electric valve being in communication with an interior condenser outlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, first end 603-A of first expansion switching valve 603 is depicted to be in communication with interior condenser outlet interface B-4); a second end of the first electric valve being in communication with an exterior heat exchanger inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, second end 603-B of first expansion switching valve 603 is depicted to be in communication with exterior heat exchanger inlet interface B-1); a first end of the second electric valve being in communication with an exterior heat exchanger outlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, first end 606-A of second expansion switching valve 606 is depicted to be in communication with exterior heat exchanger outlet interface B-2); and a second end of the second electric valve being selectively communicated with an interior evaporator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces or a gas-liquid separator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, second end 606-B of second expansion switching valve 606 is depicted to be in communication with interior evaporator inlet interface B-3 and gas-liquid separator inlet interface B-5),
wherein the first electric valve prevents flow between the first end of the first electric valve and the second end of the first electric valve when the first electric valve is in its blocked position, the second electric valve prevents flow between the first end of the second electric valve and the second end of the second electric valve when the second electric valve is in its blocked position (Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art… Thus, through control of the first valve core and the second valve core, the expansion switching valve of the invention can be such that at least three states of coolant entering from the inlet 501. namely, 1) off state, 2) past the first valve core 503 directly connecting state; and 3) across second valve 504 throttle mode).
However, Huang does not disclose the first electric valve and the second electric valve to be a part of a valve set integrated module, comprising:
a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with the heat exchange assembly of the external thermal management system.
Morimoto teaches a valve set integrated module including a plurality of valves for controlling flow throughout an external thermal management system (Fig. 1, connection module 80, expansion valves 14a, 14b, 14c, valve 18a, 18c; Fig. 3, vehicle air conditioner 1, refrigeration cycle 10), comprising:
a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with the heat exchange assembly of the external thermal management system (Fig. 6, body 18, flow path 2, connection ports 83a-83k; Col. 3, lines 45-53, The body 81 of the connection module 80 are provided with a plurality of connection ports (that is, first to eleventh connection ports 83a to 83k described later), to which components of the refrigeration cycle 10 (for example, the water refrigerant heat exchanger 12, a chiller 24, and the like described later) are connectable. As a result, the refrigerant flow path 82 of the connection module 80 constitutes a part of a flow path through which the refrigerant circulates in the refrigeration cycle 10).
Huang fails to teach the first electric valve and the second electric valve to be a part of a valve set integrated module, comprising a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with a heat exchange assembly of an external thermal management system, however Morimoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of vehicle thermal management systems to include a valve set integrated module including a plurality of valves for controlling flow throughout an external thermal management system comprising a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with the heat exchange assembly of the external thermal management system. This is strong evidence that modifying Huang as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. reducing the amount of individual system components to improve system simplicity). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang by Morimoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of reducing the amount of individual system components to improve system simplicity.
Annotated Fig. 4 of Huang
Regarding claim 5, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, an internal flow channel of the plurality of flow channels communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 16, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising an electronic expansion valve arranged on the body, a first end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface; and a second end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with a plate-type heat exchanger inlet interface arranged on the body.
Morimoto teaches further comprising an electronic expansion valve arranged on the body, a first end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface; and a second end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with a plate-type heat exchanger inlet interface arranged on the body (Fig. 3, refrigerating expansion valve 14d, outdoor heat exchanger 17, chiller 24, connection module 80, body 81, third connection port 83c, sixth connection port 83f).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include an electronic expansion valve arranged on the body, a first end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface; and a second end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with a plate-type heat exchanger inlet interface arranged on the body as taught by Morimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cooling to a battery of the vehicle to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 17, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a gas liquid separator (Huang, Fig. 4, gas-liquid separator 611).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a battery pack heat exchanger arranged on the body, an inlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being in communication with a battery pack heat exchanger inlet interface; and an outlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being connected with the gas-liquid separator.
Morimoto teaches a battery pack heat exchanger arranged on the body, an inlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being in communication with a battery pack heat exchanger inlet interface; and an outlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being connected with the gas-liquid separator (Fig. 3, chiller 24, sixth connection port 83f, seventh connection port 83g, accumulator 22; Col. 12, lines 50-62, Thus, the refrigerant flowing out from the seventh connection port 83g joins the refrigerant flowing out from the rear seat evaporator 23 at the eighth connection port 83h and flows toward the eleventh connection port 83k. The refrigerant flowing out from the seventh connection port 83g joins the refrigerant that has passed through the indoor evaporator 20 and the evaporation pressure adjusting valve 21 at the ninth connection port 83i, and flows toward the eleventh connection port 83k. Further, the refrigerant flowing out from the seventh connection port 83g flows out from the outdoor heat exchanger 17 at the tenth connection port 83j, joins the refrigerant that has passed through the heating flow path 16b, and flows toward the eleventh connection port 83k).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a battery pack heat exchanger arranged on the body, an inlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being in communication with a battery pack heat exchanger inlet interface; and an outlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being connected with the gas-liquid separator as taught by Morimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cooling to a battery of the vehicle to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 18, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein an electronic expansion valve and the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface are assembled on a same side of the body.
Morimoto teaches wherein the electronic expansion valve and the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface are assembled on a same side of the body (Fig. 3, refrigerating expansion valve 14d, third connection port 83c, connection module 80, body 81; Further, Fig. 6 of Morimoto depicts refrigerating expansion valve 14d and third connection port 83c assembled on a same side of the body 81 of the connection module 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to wherein the electronic expansion valve and the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface are assembled on a same side of the body as taught by Morimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to aid in the ease of assembly of the valve set integrated module.
Claims 2-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Börnchen et al. (WO 2021048095), hereinafter Börnchen.
Regarding claim 2, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of internal flow channels comprise an internal flow channel and an external flow channel; the body comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion has a first connecting surface; the second portion has a second connecting surface; the first connecting surface is hermetically connected with the second connecting surface; the plurality of internal flow channels are arranged inside the first portion; at least one groove is arranged on the first connecting surface of the first portion; and the at least one groove on the first connecting surface and the second connecting surface jointly define the external flow channel.
Börnchen teaches wherein the plurality of internal flow channels comprise an internal flow channel and an external flow channel; the body comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion has a first connecting surface; the second portion has a second connecting surface; the first connecting surface is hermetically connected with the second connecting surface; the plurality of internal flow channels are arranged inside the first portion; at least one groove is arranged on the first connecting surface of the first portion; and the at least one groove on the first connecting surface and the second connecting surface jointly define the external flow channel (Fig. 5, refrigerant channels 84, coolant channels 86, channel plate 82, cover plate 88; Pg. 16, lines 14-19, The channel plate 82, designed as a die-cast part, for example, has channels 84, 86 designed as embossings or depressions on the underside facing away from the components 20, 22, 24, 26. The channels 84, 86 are covered by means of a cover plate 88, shown semi-transparently in FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified wherein the plurality of internal flow channels comprise an internal flow channel and an external flow channel; the body comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion has a first connecting surface; the second portion has a second connecting surface; the first connecting surface is hermetically connected with the second connecting surface; the plurality of internal flow channels are arranged inside the first portion; at least one groove is arranged on the first connecting surface of the first portion; and the at least one groove on the first connecting surface and the second connecting surface jointly define the external flow channel as taught by Börnchen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve desired flow characteristics within the valve body to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 3, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein a sectional surface of a groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve.
Börnchen teaches wherein a sectional surface of a groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve (Fig. 5, refrigerant channels 84, coolant channels 86, channel plate 82, cover plate 88; Pg. 16, lines 14-19, The channel plate 82, designed as a die-cast part, for example, has channels 84, 86 designed as embossings or depressions on the underside facing away from the components 20, 22, 24, 26. The channels 84, 86 are covered by means of a cover plate 88, shown semi-transparently in FIG. 3; Further, Fig. 5 of Börnchen depicts a sectional surface of the groove to be U-shaped; Moreover, the recitation, “an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve” is not a patentably distinct feature of the claims as it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified wherein a sectional surface of a groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve as taught by Börnchen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve desired flow characteristics within the valve body to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 4, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 2 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein a sectional surface of the at least one groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the at least one groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve.
Börnchen teaches wherein a sectional surface of the at least one groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the at least one groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve (Fig. 5, refrigerant channels 84, coolant channels 86, channel plate 82, cover plate 88; Pg. 16, lines 14-19, The channel plate 82, designed as a die-cast part, for example, has channels 84, 86 designed as embossings or depressions on the underside facing away from the components 20, 22, 24, 26. The channels 84, 86 are covered by means of a cover plate 88, shown semi-transparently in FIG. 3; Further, Fig. 5 of Börnchen depicts a sectional surface of the groove to be U-shaped; Moreover, the recitation, “an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve” is not a patentably distinct feature of the claims as it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified wherein a sectional surface of the at least one groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the at least one groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve as taught by Börnchen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve desired flow characteristics within the valve body to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 6, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 2 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, the internal flow channel communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 7, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 3 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, an internal flow channel of the plurality of flow channels communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 8, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 4 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, the internal flow channel communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taguchi (JP 2009063179), hereinafter Taguchi.
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 13, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 5 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 10-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto and Börnchen as applied to claim 2-4 and 6-7 above, respectively, and further in view of Taguchi (JP 2009063179), hereinafter Taguchi.
Regarding claim 10, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 2 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 3 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 12, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 4 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 14, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 6 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 15, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 7 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gang et al. (CN 108973591), hereinafter Gang.
Regarding claim 19, Huang as modified discloses a thermal management system, comprising a heat exchange assembly of the thermal management system and the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), the heat exchange assembly comprising a compressor, an interior condenser, an exterior heat exchanger, an interior evaporator, a gas-liquid separator (Huang, Fig. 4, compressor 604, or condenser 601, indoor evaporator 602, outdoor heat exchanger 605, gas-liquid separator 611).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose the external heat exchange assembly to include a PTC air heater, a blower, and a PTC water heater.
Gang teaches the external heat exchange assembly to include a PTC air heater, a blower, and a PTC water heater (Fig. 4, PTC air heater 9, fan 11, PTC water-heating heater 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external heat exchange assembly of Huang as modified to include a PTC air heater, a blower, and a PTC water heater as taught by Gang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased heating capacity within the system to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 20 Huang as modified discloses a vehicle (Huang, Abstract, The invention claims a vehicle thermal management system and electric automobile), comprising the thermal management system according to claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above).
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 March 19th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763