Eval evalDETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 29th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. The amendments to the specification and claims have overcome each and every specification objection and 112(b) previously cited in the Final rejection mailed April 01st, 2026. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes on Pg. 7 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR l.84(p)(4) because reference character "11005" has been used to designate both the exterior heat exchanger inlet interface and the interior evaporator outlet interface. Corrected drawing sheets are required. A replacement sheet is filed herewith. Withdrawal of pending objection is respectfully requested.” However, no replacement sheets were provided and therefore the drawing objection is maintained. See the drawing objections below.
Applicant argues on Pg. 7-9 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “Claim 1 requires, among other things, "a second electric valve" having "a second end…selectively communicated with an interior evaporator inlet interface...or a gas-liquid separator inlet interface." Thus, the claim does not merely require that refrigerant from a valve outlet can ultimately reach either an interior evaporator or a gas-liquid separator through downstream circuitry. Rather, the claim requires the selective communication to be provided by the second electric valve itself, whose second end is selectively communicated with either of the recited interfaces. Huang does not disclose this claimed limitation. The Office treats Huang's second expansion switching valve 606 as the claimed second electric valve. However, Huang's second expansion switching valve 606 does not itself selectively communicate its second end with either the interior evaporator inlet interface or the gas-liquid separator inlet interface. Instead, Huang relies on additional downstream branch valves to perform the path-selection function. For example, Huang discloses that a second on-off valve 622 is provided on first branch 620 and that
a third on-off valve 623 is provided on second branch 621, such that opening and closing these
separate valves controls whether the first branch 620 or the second branch 621 is turned on or
off Huang further explains that, in a cooling mode, the second on-off valve 622 is closed and the
third on-off valve 623 is opened so that refrigerant from the second expansion switching valve
606 enters the indoor evaporator 602, whereas in a heating mode, the second on-off valve 622 is
opened and the third on-off valve 623 is closed so that refrigerant from the second expansion
switching valve 606 directly enters the gas-liquid separator 611. Accordingly, the selective communication relied upon by the Office Action is not performed by Huang's second expansion switching valve 606 alone. Rather, it is achieved only by using at least Huang's additional valves 622 and 623. The rejection therefore demands the claimed "second electric valve" to a collection of multiple components-Huang's second expansion switching valve 606 together with downstream branch valves 622 and 623-while claim 1 requires a single second electric valve whose second end is selectively communicated with either the interior evaporator inlet interface or the gas-liquid separator inlet interface. This difference is material. Applicant's claimed configuration integrates the selective
communication function into the second electric valve itself, thereby avoiding the need for at
least the additional path-selection valves 622 and 623 relied upon in Huang. The claimed
invention therefore reduces the number of valves required for the relevant flow-path selection
and provides a more integrated valve-set architecture. Huang's multi-valve arrangement does not
disclose this structure, and the Office does not provide an articulated reason why a person of
ordinary skill would have modified Huang to eliminate the separate branch valves and redesign
the second expansion switching valve 606 as a single electric valve that both provides the
claimed blocked/unblocked or throttled states and selectively communicates its second end with
either of two downstream interfaces.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the selective communication to be provided by the second electric valve itself, whose second end is selectively communicated with either of the recited interfaces”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). More specifically, the claims do not require that the second end of the second electric valve be selectively communicated with an interior evaporator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces or a gas-liquid separator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces only via control of the second electric valve. The claims merely specify that the second end of the second electric valve being selectively communicated with an interior evaporator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces or a gas-liquid separator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces which is explicitly disclosed by Huang as second end 606-B of second expansion switching valve 606 is depicted to be in communication with interior evaporator inlet interface B-3 and gas-liquid separator inlet interface B-5 via valves 622 and 623, respectively (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang). See the rejection of claim 1 below.
Applicant argues on Pg. 9 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “Morimoto does not cure this deficiency. The Office relies on Morimoto for an integrated module body having internal flow channels and connection ports, but Morimoto does not teach replacing Huang's second expansion switching valve 606 and separate branch valves 622 and 623 with a single second electric valve that performs both throttling/blocking and downstream path selection. At most, Morimoto teaches arranging known valve components on or in a connection module. Such teaching does not supply the missing single-valve architecture required by claim 1.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as Huang, not Morimoto, is relied upon to disclose the second electric valve and its selective communication (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, second end 606-B of second expansion switching valve 606 is depicted to be in communication with interior evaporator inlet interface B-3 and gas-liquid separator inlet interface B-5), Morimoto is simply relied upon to show it is known in the art to provide a valve set integrated module including a plurality of valves for controlling flow throughout an external thermal management system comprising: a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with the heat exchange assembly of the external thermal management system (Morimoto, Fig. 1, connection module 80, expansion valves 14a, 14b, 14c, valve 18a, 18c; Fig. 3, vehicle air conditioner 1, refrigeration cycle 10; Fig. 6, body 18, flow path 2, connection ports 83a-83k; Col. 3, lines 45-53, The body 81 of the connection module 80 are provided with a plurality of connection ports (that is, first to eleventh connection ports 83a to 83k described later), to which components of the refrigeration cycle 10 (for example, the water refrigerant heat exchanger 12, a chiller 24, and the like described later) are connectable. As a result, the refrigerant flow path 82 of the connection module 80 constitutes a part of a flow path through which the refrigerant circulates in the refrigeration cycle 10). See the rejection of claim 1 below.
Applicant argues on Pg. 9 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, “The Office's stated rationale that the combination would reduce individual system components and improve simplicity is therefore not supported by the cited teachings. If Huang's selective communication requires valves 622 and 623, then simply integrating Huang's components into Morimoto' s module would preserve those separate components and would not arrive at the claimed configuration. Conversely, eliminating valves 622 and 623 and redesigning Huang's second expansion switching valve 606 to perform their path-selection function would require a further structural redesign that is neither taught nor suggested by Huang or Morimoto. The rejection therefore relies on hindsight reconstruction rather than an articulated reason with rational underpinning as required under KSR and MPEP § 2143.”
However, this argument is not persuasive as combining the first electric valve and the second electric valve into the body of Morimoto with respective flow channels and interfaces is still a reduction of individual system components (i.e., first electric valve, second electric valve, plurality of flow channels, plurality of flow interfaces) into a single unit providing the predictable result of improved system simplicity. Further, the Examiner notes the claims do not prohibit the use of additional valves in combination with the integrated valve set module as the claim is an open ended comprising claim and no language to limit the use of additional valves is claimed. Moreover, the Examiner did not suggest modifying the system to remove valves 622 and 623 of Huang. See the rejection of claim 1 below.
The rejection of independent claim 1 is maintained. The rejections of dependent claims 2-20 are also maintained for at least the reasons described herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “11005” has been used to designate both the exterior heat exchanger inlet interface and the interior evaporator outlet interface. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (CN 107359382), hereinafter Huang in view of Morimoto et al. (US Patent No. 12,296,641), hereinafter Morimoto.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a plurality of flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with a heat exchange assembly of an external thermal management system (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, flow channels A, interfaces B-1 through B-5; Fig. 4, HVAC assembly 600, indoor condenser 601, indoor evaporator 602, outdoor heat exchanger 605);
a first electric valve and a second electric valve (Fig. 4, first expansion switching valve 603, second expansion switching valve 606), both in communication with the plurality of flow channels, the first electric valve and the second electric valve both switchable between a blocked/unblocked position and a throttled position (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, first expansion switching valve 603 and second expansion switching valve 606 are shown to be in communication with the plurality of flow channels A Pg. 7, In the present invention, the expansion switching valve is simultaneously with expansion valve function (also referred to as function of electronic expansion valve) and switching valve function (also called valve function) of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. the inside of the expansion switching valve is formed with a flow passage and a throttle flow passage, when the expansion switching valve used as the switching valve, the internal flow passage via flow, the flow branch is formed; when the expansion switching valve used as an expansion valve, the inside of the throttle channel conduction, forming the throttle branch);
a first end of the first electric valve being in communication with an interior condenser outlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, first end 603-A of first expansion switching valve 603 is depicted to be in communication with interior condenser outlet interface B-4); a second end of the first electric valve being in communication with an exterior heat exchanger inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, second end 603-B of first expansion switching valve 603 is depicted to be in communication with exterior heat exchanger inlet interface B-1); a first end of the second electric valve being in communication with an exterior heat exchanger outlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, first end 606-A of second expansion switching valve 606 is depicted to be in communication with exterior heat exchanger outlet interface B-2); and a second end of the second electric valve being selectively communicated with an interior evaporator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces or a gas-liquid separator inlet interface of the plurality of interfaces (See annotated Fig. 4 of Huang, second end 606-B of second expansion switching valve 606 is depicted to be in communication with interior evaporator inlet interface B-3 and gas-liquid separator inlet interface B-5),
wherein the first electric valve prevents flow between the first end of the first electric valve and the second end of the first electric valve when the first electric valve is in its blocked position, the second electric valve prevents flow between the first end of the second electric valve and the second end of the second electric valve when the second electric valve is in its blocked position (Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art… Thus, through control of the first valve core and the second valve core, the expansion switching valve of the invention can be such that at least three states of coolant entering from the inlet 501. namely, 1) off state, 2) past the first valve core 503 directly connecting state; and 3) across second valve 504 throttle mode).
However, Huang does not disclose the first electric valve and the second electric valve to be a part of a valve set integrated module, comprising:
a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with the heat exchange assembly of the external thermal management system.
Morimoto teaches a valve set integrated module including a plurality of valves for controlling flow throughout an external thermal management system (Fig. 1, connection module 80, expansion valves 14a, 14b, 14c, valve 18a, 18c; Fig. 3, vehicle air conditioner 1, refrigeration cycle 10), comprising:
a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with the heat exchange assembly of the external thermal management system (Fig. 6, body 18, flow path 2, connection ports 83a-83k; Col. 3, lines 45-53, The body 81 of the connection module 80 are provided with a plurality of connection ports (that is, first to eleventh connection ports 83a to 83k described later), to which components of the refrigeration cycle 10 (for example, the water refrigerant heat exchanger 12, a chiller 24, and the like described later) are connectable. As a result, the refrigerant flow path 82 of the connection module 80 constitutes a part of a flow path through which the refrigerant circulates in the refrigeration cycle 10).
Huang fails to teach the first electric valve and the second electric valve to be a part of a valve set integrated module, comprising a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with a heat exchange assembly of an external thermal management system, however Morimoto teaches that it is a known method in the art of vehicle thermal management systems to include a valve set integrated module including a plurality of valves for controlling flow throughout an external thermal management system comprising a body, provided with a plurality of internal flow channels and a plurality of interfaces configured to communicate the plurality of internal flow channels with the heat exchange assembly of the external thermal management system. This is strong evidence that modifying Huang as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. reducing the amount of individual system components to improve system simplicity). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang by Morimoto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of reducing the amount of individual system components to improve system simplicity.
Annotated Fig. 4 of Huang
Regarding claim 5, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, an internal flow channel of the plurality of flow channels communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 16, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising an electronic expansion valve arranged on the body, a first end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface; and a second end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with a plate heat exchanger inlet interface arranged on the body.
Morimoto teaches further comprising an electronic expansion valve arranged on the body, a first end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface; and a second end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with a plate heat exchanger inlet interface arranged on the body (Fig. 3, refrigerating expansion valve 14d, outdoor heat exchanger 17, chiller 24, connection module 80, body 81, third connection port 83c, sixth connection port 83f).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include an electronic expansion valve arranged on the body, a first end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface; and a second end of the electronic expansion valve being in communication with a plate-type heat exchanger inlet interface arranged on the body as taught by Morimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cooling to a battery of the vehicle to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 17, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a gas liquid separator (Huang, Fig. 4, gas-liquid separator 611).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a battery pack heat exchanger arranged on the body, an inlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being in communication with a battery pack heat exchanger inlet interface; and an outlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being connected with the gas-liquid separator.
Morimoto teaches a battery pack heat exchanger arranged on the body, an inlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being in communication with a battery pack heat exchanger inlet interface; and an outlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being connected with the gas-liquid separator (Fig. 3, chiller 24, sixth connection port 83f, seventh connection port 83g, accumulator 22; Col. 12, lines 50-62, Thus, the refrigerant flowing out from the seventh connection port 83g joins the refrigerant flowing out from the rear seat evaporator 23 at the eighth connection port 83h and flows toward the eleventh connection port 83k. The refrigerant flowing out from the seventh connection port 83g joins the refrigerant that has passed through the indoor evaporator 20 and the evaporation pressure adjusting valve 21 at the ninth connection port 83i, and flows toward the eleventh connection port 83k. Further, the refrigerant flowing out from the seventh connection port 83g flows out from the outdoor heat exchanger 17 at the tenth connection port 83j, joins the refrigerant that has passed through the heating flow path 16b, and flows toward the eleventh connection port 83k).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a battery pack heat exchanger arranged on the body, an inlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being in communication with a battery pack heat exchanger inlet interface; and an outlet of the battery pack heat exchanger being connected with the gas-liquid separator as taught by Morimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide cooling to a battery of the vehicle to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 18, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein an electronic expansion valve and the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface are assembled on a same side of the body.
Morimoto teaches wherein the electronic expansion valve and the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface are assembled on a same side of the body (Fig. 3, refrigerating expansion valve 14d, third connection port 83c, connection module 80, body 81; Further, Fig. 6 of Morimoto depicts refrigerating expansion valve 14d and third connection port 83c assembled on a same side of the body 81 of the connection module 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to wherein the electronic expansion valve and the exterior heat exchanger outlet interface are assembled on a same side of the body as taught by Morimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to aid in the ease of assembly of the valve set integrated module.
Claims 2-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Börnchen et al. (WO 2021048095), hereinafter Börnchen.
Regarding claim 2, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of internal flow channels comprise an internal flow channel and an external flow channel; the body comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion has a first connecting surface; the second portion has a second connecting surface; the first connecting surface is hermetically connected with the second connecting surface; the plurality of internal flow channels are arranged inside the first portion; at least one groove is arranged on the first connecting surface of the first portion; and the at least one groove on the first connecting surface and the second connecting surface jointly define the external flow channel.
Börnchen teaches wherein the plurality of internal flow channels comprise an internal flow channel and an external flow channel; the body comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion has a first connecting surface; the second portion has a second connecting surface; the first connecting surface is hermetically connected with the second connecting surface; the plurality of internal flow channels are arranged inside the first portion; at least one groove is arranged on the first connecting surface of the first portion; and the at least one groove on the first connecting surface and the second connecting surface jointly define the external flow channel (Fig. 5, refrigerant channels 84, coolant channels 86, channel plate 82, cover plate 88; Pg. 16, lines 14-19, The channel plate 82, designed as a die-cast part, for example, has channels 84, 86 designed as embossings or depressions on the underside facing away from the components 20, 22, 24, 26. The channels 84, 86 are covered by means of a cover plate 88, shown semi-transparently in FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified wherein the plurality of internal flow channels comprise an internal flow channel and an external flow channel; the body comprises a first portion and a second portion; the first portion has a first connecting surface; the second portion has a second connecting surface; the first connecting surface is hermetically connected with the second connecting surface; the plurality of internal flow channels are arranged inside the first portion; at least one groove is arranged on the first connecting surface of the first portion; and the at least one groove on the first connecting surface and the second connecting surface jointly define the external flow channel as taught by Börnchen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve desired flow characteristics within the valve body to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 3, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein a sectional surface of a groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve.
Börnchen teaches wherein a sectional surface of a groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve (Fig. 5, refrigerant channels 84, coolant channels 86, channel plate 82, cover plate 88; Pg. 16, lines 14-19, The channel plate 82, designed as a die-cast part, for example, has channels 84, 86 designed as embossings or depressions on the underside facing away from the components 20, 22, 24, 26. The channels 84, 86 are covered by means of a cover plate 88, shown semi-transparently in FIG. 3; Further, Fig. 5 of Börnchen depicts a sectional surface of the groove to be U-shaped; Moreover, the recitation, “an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve” is not a patentably distinct feature of the claims as it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified wherein a sectional surface of a groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve as taught by Börnchen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve desired flow characteristics within the valve body to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 4, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 2 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose wherein a sectional surface of the at least one groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the at least one groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve.
Börnchen teaches wherein a sectional surface of the at least one groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the at least one groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve (Fig. 5, refrigerant channels 84, coolant channels 86, channel plate 82, cover plate 88; Pg. 16, lines 14-19, The channel plate 82, designed as a die-cast part, for example, has channels 84, 86 designed as embossings or depressions on the underside facing away from the components 20, 22, 24, 26. The channels 84, 86 are covered by means of a cover plate 88, shown semi-transparently in FIG. 3; Further, Fig. 5 of Börnchen depicts a sectional surface of the groove to be U-shaped; Moreover, the recitation, “an area of the sectional surface of the groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve” is not a patentably distinct feature of the claims as it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP § 2144.04-IV-A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the body of the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified wherein a sectional surface of the at least one groove is U-shaped; and an area of the sectional surface of the at least one groove is greater than 10% of a valve port area of the first electric valve and the second electric valve as taught by Börnchen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve desired flow characteristics within the valve body to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 6, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 2 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, the internal flow channel communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 7, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 3 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, an internal flow channel of the plurality of flow channels communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Regarding claim 8, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 4 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above), wherein when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface, the internal flow channel communicated between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface is a linear flow channel (Huang, Fig. 10, valve body 500; Pg. 17, As described above, in the present invention, the expansion switching valve simultaneously with expanding valve function and switching valve function of the valve, it can be considered to be a switching valve and the expansion valve integrated. will provide an example embodiment of an expansion switching valve in the art. As shown in FIG. 9, the upper expansion switching valve mentioned above may comprise a valve body 500, wherein the valve body 500 is formed with an inlet 501, an outlet 502 and is connected with the interior of the inlet 501 and outlet 502 between flow passage; the internal flow passage is provided with a first valve core 503 and the second valve 504, the first valve core 503 such that inlet 501 and outlet 502 is directly connected or disconnected, the second core 504 such that the inlet 501 and outlet 502 connected through throttle 505 connected or disconnected. wherein the first valve core is realized by "directly connected" refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the first valve core and through the internal flow passage is not affected directly flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, the first valve core realized by "off'' refers to without crossing the first valve core from the valve 500 of the inlet 501 into the coolant but not through internal flow passage flow valve 500 of the outlet 502. the second valve core is realized through throttle opening is connected "refers to inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant can be across the second valve after passing through the throttle opening flow to the valve 500 of the outlet 502, and the second valve core is realized by the" off " refers to without crossing the second core but not through orifice 505 flows to the outlet 502 of the valve body 500. inlet 501 from the valve body 500 into the coolant; Further, the teachings of Huang at least imply the internal flow channel to be a linear flow channel since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taguchi (JP 2009063179), hereinafter Taguchi.
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 13, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 5 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 10-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto and Börnchen as applied to claim 2-4 and 6-7 above, respectively, and further in view of Taguchi (JP 2009063179), hereinafter Taguchi.
Regarding claim 10, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 2 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 3 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 3 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 12, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 4 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 4 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between an interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies. Further, the modification as described herein results in the PT low pressure sensor being arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface when the second end of the second electric valve is selectively communicated with the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Regarding claim 14, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 6 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 15, Huang as modified discloses the valve set integrated module according to claim 7 (See the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface.
Taguchi teaches further comprising a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface (Fig. 1 of Taguchi depicts low pressure sensor 404 arranged between the outlet of evaporator 30 and the inlet of accumulator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve set integrated module of Huang as modified to include a PT low pressure sensor, wherein the PT low pressure sensor is arranged between the interior evaporator outlet interface and the gas-liquid separator inlet interface as taught by Taguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased system control based on real-time sensor data to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Morimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gang et al. (CN 108973591), hereinafter Gang.
Regarding claim 19, Huang as modified discloses a thermal management system, comprising a heat exchange assembly of the thermal management system and the valve set integrated module according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), the heat exchange assembly comprising a compressor, an interior condenser, an exterior heat exchanger, an interior evaporator, a gas-liquid separator (Huang, Fig. 4, compressor 604, or condenser 601, indoor evaporator 602, outdoor heat exchanger 605, gas-liquid separator 611).
However, Huang as modified does not disclose the external heat exchange assembly to include a PTC air heater, a blower, and a PTC water heater.
Gang teaches the external heat exchange assembly to include a PTC air heater, a blower, and a PTC water heater (Fig. 4, PTC air heater 9, fan 11, PTC water-heating heater 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external heat exchange assembly of Huang as modified to include a PTC air heater, a blower, and a PTC water heater as taught by Gang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased heating capacity within the system to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 20 Huang as modified discloses a vehicle (Huang, Abstract, The invention claims a vehicle thermal management system and electric automobile), comprising the thermal management system according to claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 August 17th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763