DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) cited within the IDS document(s) submitted on 9/29/2023 have been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: - -DISPLAY DEVICE WITH INORGANIC LAYER COVERING LIGHT EMITTING ELEMENTS AND MANUFACTURING METHOD OF SAID DISPLAY DEVICE- -.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 86 of the Specification recites “the undoped semiconductor layer SCL3 may be removed without consuming the organic layer.” This statement is associated with Fig. 11. However, there is no organic layer at this point in the process. As seen in Applicant’s Fig. 13 and Paragraph 88, the organic layer OL is not formed until after Fig. 11. It is unclear if this is a typo and Applicant intended to recite a different element than the organic layer.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sizov et al. (US PGPub 2020/0343230 A1) in view of Bibl et al. (US PGPub 2014/0367705 A1).
As to claim 12, Sizov et al. discloses (Figs. 3B and 7) a display device comprising: a pixel circuit layer 400 comprising a base layer 402 and a pixel circuit (Paragraph 63, display substrate 400 includes circuitry to address the LEDs bonded to the electrode pads 410); a first electrode 410 on the pixel circuit layer; a light emitting element 175 on the first electrode 410 comprising a first semiconductor layer 104 including a first type semiconductor (Paragraph 45, semiconductor layer stack, Paragraph 64, n-doped layer); an inorganic layer 130 (Paragraph 57, aluminum oxide or other suitable dielectric material) on the first electrode 410 and covering the light emitting elements 175 (130 covers 175 from beneath, similar to Applicant’s inorganic layer IOL); and a second electrode 190 (Paragraph 64) on the light emitting elements 175, wherein the first semiconductor layer 104 and the inorganic layer 130 contact the second electrode 190.
Sizov et al.
Sizov et al.
Sizov et al. depicts only one light emitting element per first electrode, but is silent as to a plurality of light emitting elements per first electrode.
Bibl et al. teaches (Fig. 9) including a pair of light emitting elements 400 for the purposes of redundancy, i.e. in order to ensure that at least one functional light emitting device is placed in each pixel (Paragraphs 65-69).
Bibl et al.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include two light emitting devices per first electrode in order to provide redundancy, as taught by Sizov et al.
As to claim 13, Sizov et al. in view of Bibl et al. teaches that each of the light emitting elements (Sizov et al. Fig. 7, #175) further comprises: a second semiconductor layer 108 including a second type semiconductor (Sizov et al. Paragraph 45, semiconductor layer stack, Paragraphs 55, p-doped layer) different from the first type semiconductor (Sizov et al. Paragraph 55); an active layer 106 (Sizov et al. Paragraph 55) between the first semiconductor layer 104 and the second semiconductor layer 108; and an electrode layer 140 and/or 180 (Sizov et al. Paragraphs 60 and 61, reflective layer formed as continuous layer into openings 132, 136 and made of metal such as silver and would therefore function as electrode. Alternatively, reflective layer 140 also recited as optional, and in embodiments without the reflective layer is not deposited, bottom contact 180 would still serve as electrode) on the second semiconductor layer 108 (on the bottom, similarly positioned to Applicant’s electrode layer EL), wherein the second semiconductor layer 108, the active layer 106, and the electrode layer 180 are between the first electrode 410 and the first semiconductor layer 104.
As to claim 14, Sizov et al. in view of Bibl et al. teaches that each of the light emitting elements (Sizov et al. #175) further comprises an insulating layer 134 (Sizov et al. Paragraph 58) surrounding at least a portion of each of the first semiconductor layer 104, the second semiconductor layer 108, the active layer 106, and the electrode layer (Sizov et al. Paragraphs 60 and 61, as depicted in Fig. 7, insulating layer 134 surrounds part of reflective layer 140 that enters opening in 130. Alternatively, in embodiments where reflective layer is not present, bottom contact 180 would fill this location).
As to claim 16, Sizov et al. discloses (Fig. 7) a polymer layer 134 (Paragraph 58) between the light emitting elements 175 and contacting the inorganic layer 130 and the second electrode 190, but does not explicitly state that the layer is organic.
Bibl et al. teaches (Fig. 5C) the analogous layer 210 to be an organic polymer layer (Paragraph 72, PMMA, for example. The examiner takes official notice that PMMA is well-known to be organic).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the polymer layer of Sizov et al. from an organic material, such as PMMA since it is taught as suitable by Bibl et al. and the selection from among known suitable alternatives for their known purposes is generally within the abilities of one having ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sizov et al. in view of Bibl et al. as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US PGPub 2012/0064642 A1).
As to claim 15, Sizov et al. discloses the inorganic passivation layer to be aluminum oxide, but Sizov et al. in view of Bibl et al. is silent as to the inorganic layer comprises at least one of silicon oxide or silicon nitride.
Huang et al. teaches the inorganic passivation layer to be silicon oxide (Paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the inorganic layer to be silicon oxide since it is taught as a suitable material and the selection from among known suitable alternatives for their known purposes is generally within the abilities of one having ordinary skill in the art.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Templier et al. (US PGPub 2019/0131343 A1) discloses (Figs. 1A-1I) forming the light emitting elements 172 on the substrate 111 and subsequently forming an inorganic layer 174 (Paragraph 41).
Schuele et al. (US PGPub 2022/0149254 A1) discloses (Fig. 5A) forming inorganic layer 526 (Paragraph 37) before transfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 1, the claim is directed to a manufacturing method of a display device in which light emitting elements are transferred to a onto a first electrode. Applicant’s inorganic layer is then patterned covering the light emitting elements on the first electrode. This inorganic layer serves to increase the stability of the light emitting elements, thereby preventing the light emitting elements from being lifted during manufacturing (Applicant’s Specification Paragraph 71).
Within the prior art the transfer light emitting diodes onto an electrode, there is an inorganic layer that is frequently patterned before the transfer of the light-emitting elements. For example as seen in Sizov et al. fig. 3A, discloses a passivation layer 130 made of inorganic Al2O3 (Paragraph 57). While this layer is an inorganic layer, it is applied before the transfer of the light emitting elements. Furthermore, the purpose of this layer in Sizov et al. is for passivation, not for stabilizing an already transferred light emitting element. In this regard, the inorganic layer of Sizov et al. is more analogous to Applicant’s disclosed (but not recited in the claims) insulating layer IL (Paragraph 70).
Templier et al. transfers layers of semiconductors (Fig. 1C) and then makes the layers into light emitting elements 172 and makes an inorganic layer 174, but the semiconductor structure is transferred before making the semiconductor layers into light emitting elements and therefore does not satisfy the claimed step of “transferring light emitting elements.”
Huang et al. teaches patterning photosensitive layer to expose a portion of the inorganic layer 51 (Paragraph 33). However, this step is before transferring (Fig. .9, Paragraph 35).
Therefore, while the prior art teaches the elements of claim 1 separately, but not in combination in the specific steps and specific orders required by claim 1.
Claims 2-11 are dependent on claim 1 and allowed based on their dependency.
Conclusion
/S.Y.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875