DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOR et al. (US 8071470 B2), hereinafter “Khor,” in view of CAMACHO et al. (US 20150279778 A1), hereinafter “Camacho.”
Re: Independent Claim 1, Khor discloses an assembly (See Figs. 1-3; Fig. 1: wafer-level package 100) comprises:
an integrated circuit (IC) chip having wire bond pads (Fig. 1: semiconductor die 102, i.e., IC chip with bond pads 104; Fig. 2, step 202: die including bond pads; Fig. 4A: die 102 and bond pads 104);
ball bumps coupled to the wire bond pads of the IC chip (Fig. 1: stud bumps 106, i.e., ball bumps; Fig. 3, step 204: form stud bumps overlying the bond pads; Fig. 4B: stud bumps 106);
an overmold that encapsulates the IC chip and the ball bumps (Fig. 1: mold encapsulation layer 108, i.e., overmold; Fig. 3, step 206: apply mold encapsulation layer…; Fig. 4C: encapsulant 108; col. 3, lns. 25-32: mold encapsulation layer 108… epoxy);
…
However, Khor does not clearly/specifically disclose ball contact pads coupled to the overmold; conductive material on the overmold and in vias drilled in the overmold between the ball contact pads and the ball bumps, wherein the ball contacts pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material on the overmold and in the vias and by way of the ball bumps; and solder balls coupled to the ball contact pads.
In a similar field of endeavor, Camacho discloses
ball contact pads coupled to the overmold (Fig. 8: conductive layer 198, i.e., ball contact pads, coupled to encapsulant 188, i.e., overmold);
conductive material on the overmold and in vias drilled in the overmold between the ball contact pads and the ball bumps (Fig. 6d: shows laser 192 drilling into encapsulant 188; Fig. 8: Conductive layer 198 is formed over conductive layer 196 within channels 194 as the LDS RDL; See ¶¶0065-0069 and 0074-0075), wherein the ball contacts pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material on the overmold and in the vias and by way of the ball bumps (Fig. 8: ball contact pads 198 are coupled to wire bond pads 132 by way of conductive material 198 and conductive material 210, i.e., ball bumps, in vias); and
solder balls coupled to the ball contact pads (Fig. 8: solder balls 202 coupled to ball contact pads 198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have modified the assembly disclosed in Khor to include the features taught by Camacho in order to create more versatile and cost-effective semiconductor packages (see Camacho, ¶¶0011 and 0095). Furthermore, Camacho discloses a laser method as a way to add redistribution capability while actually reducing process complexity compared with conventional photolithography-based RDL (see Camacho, ¶0074).
Re: Claim 5, the combination of Khor and Ziglioli discloses the assembly of claim 1.
Khor further discloses wherein the overmold has a sufficiently thin dimension so as to expose at least a portion of the ball bumps on the IC chip (col. 3, lns. 25-32: Mold encapsulation layer 108 may be formed from plastic or epoxy and does not cover the entirety of stud bumps 106.).
Re: Claim 7, the combination of Khor and Ziglioli discloses the assembly of claim 1.
Khor further discloses wherein the assembly is built into an array of assemblies (Fig. 1: wafer 300 with dies 302; col. 3, lns. 40-42: Wafer 300 includes a semiconductor die 302 having active devices formed thereon).
Re: Independent Claim 15, Khor discloses a computer-implemented method (col. 1, lns. 46-47: a method of fabricating a wafer level package) comprising:
applying ball bumps to wire bond pads of an integrated circuit (IC) chip (See Fig. 2, step 204; Fig. 4B: bumps 106 on bond pads 104);
encapsulating the IC chip with an overmold (See Fig. 2, step 206), wherein the overmold encapsulates the ball bumps (Fig. 4C: encapsulant 108 also encapsulates bumps 106);
…
However, Khor does not specifically disclose drilling vias in the overmold between ball contact pads and the ball bumps; building ball contact pads on the overmold, wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material in the vias and by way of the ball bumps; and applying conductive material on the overmold and in the vias between the ball contact pads and the ball bumps, wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material and the ball bumps; applying solder balls to the ball contact pads.
In a similar field of endeavor, Camacho discloses drilling vias in the overmold between ball contact pads and the ball bumps (Fig. 6d: shows laser 192 drilling into encapsulant 188; Fig. 8 also shows ball bumps 210; See ¶¶0065-0069 and 0074-0075; ¶0075: In one embodiment, bumps 210 are formed over conductive layer 132 in wafer form);
building ball contact pads on the overmold (Fig. 8: Conductive layer 198 is formed over conductive layer 196 within channels 194 as the LDS RDL), wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material in the vias and by way of the ball bumps (Fig. 8: ball contact pads 198 are coupled to wire bond pads 132 by way of conductive material 198 and conductive material 210, i.e., ball bumps, in vias); and
applying conductive material on the overmold and in the vias between the ball contact pads and the ball bumps (Fig. 6f shows conductive material 198 applied on the overmold 188), wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material and the ball bumps (Fig. 8: ball contact pads 198 are coupled to wire bond pads 132 by way of conductive material 198 and conductive material 210, i.e., ball bumps, in vias);
applying solder balls to the ball contact pads (Fig. 8: solder balls 202 coupled to ball contact pads 198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have modified the assembly disclosed in Khor to include the features taught by Camacho in order to create more versatile and cost-effective semiconductor packages (see Camacho, ¶¶0011 and 0095). Furthermore, Camacho discloses a laser method as a way to add redistribution capability while actually reducing process complexity compared with conventional photolithography-based RDL (see Camacho, ¶0074).
Re: Claim 19, the combination of Khor and Camacho discloses the method of claim 15.
Khor further discloses wherein the overmold has a sufficiently thin dimension so as to expose at least a portion of the ball bumps on the IC chip (col. 3, lns. 25-32: Mold encapsulation layer 108 may be formed from plastic or epoxy and does not cover the entirety of stud bumps 106.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOR et al. (US 8071470 B2) in view of CAMACHO et al. (US 20150279778 A1) and ZIGLIOLI (US 20200203264 A1), hereinafter “Ziglioli.”
Re: Claim 2, the combination of Khor and Camacho discloses the assembly of claim 1.
However, the combination of Khor and Camacho does not clearly disclose wherein the ball bumps protect the wire bond pads of the IC chip during a building of the conductive material in the vias.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ziglioli further discloses wherein the ball bumps protect the wire bond pads of the IC chip during a building of the conductive material in the vias (Fig. 7A: stud bumps 18; ¶0056: Providing stud bumps 18 was also found to be beneficial in order to protect the corresponding silicon sites (pads) from the laser beam used for drilling (for instance, depending on the laser beam used and/or the thickness of the LDS compound 261 over the chip(s) or die/dice 12).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have included stud bumps on the wire bond pads in order to protect the silicon pads from the laser beam used for drilling (See Ziglioli, ¶0056).
Claims 8, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOR et al. (US 8071470 B2) in view of CAMACHO et al. (US 20150279778 A1) and SCANLAN et al. (US 20130280826 A1), hereinafter “Scanlan.”
Re: Independent Claim 8, Khor discloses A system (See Fig. 3; col. 1, ln. 47: fabricating a wafer level package) comprising:
…
applying ball bumps to wire bond pads of an integrated circuit (IC) chip (Fig. 1: semiconductor die 102, i.e., IC chip with bond pads 104; See Fig. 2, steps 202 and 204; See Figs. 4A and 4B);
encapsulating the IC chip with an overmold, wherein the overmold encapsulates the ball bumps (Fig. 1: mold encapsulation layer 108, i.e., overmold; Fig. 3, step 206: apply mold encapsulation layer…; Fig. 4C: encapsulant 108 also covers bumps 106; col. 3, lns. 25-32: mold encapsulation layer 108… epoxy);
…
However, Khor does not specifically disclose one or more processors; and logic encoded in one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media for execution by the one or more processors and when executed operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
drilling vias in the overmold between ball contact pads and the ball bumps; building ball contact pads on the overmold, wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material in the vias and by way of the ball bumps; and applying conductive material on the overmold and in the vias between the ball contact pads and the ball bumps, wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material and the ball bumps; applying solder balls to the ball contact pads.
In a similar field of endeavor, Camacho discloses
…
drilling vias in the overmold between ball contact pads and the ball bumps (Fig. 6d: shows laser 192 drilling into encapsulant 188; Fig. 8 also shows ball bumps 210; See ¶¶0065-0069 and 0074-0075; ¶0075: In one embodiment, bumps 210 are formed over conductive layer 132 in wafer form);
building ball contact pads on the overmold (Fig. 8: Conductive layer 198 is formed over conductive layer 196 within channels 194 as the LDS RDL), wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material in the vias and by way of the ball bumps (Fig. 8: ball contact pads 198 are coupled to wire bond pads 132 by way of conductive material 198 and conductive material 210, i.e., ball bumps, in vias); and
applying conductive material on the overmold and in the vias between the ball contact pads and the ball bumps (Fig. 6f shows conductive material 198 applied on the overmold 188), wherein the ball contact pads are electrically coupled to the wire bond pads by way of the conductive material and the ball bumps (Fig. 8: ball contact pads 198 are coupled to wire bond pads 132 by way of conductive material 198 and conductive material 210, i.e., ball bumps, in vias);
applying solder balls to the ball contact pads (Fig. 8: solder balls 202 coupled to ball contact pads 198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to have modified the assembly disclosed in Khor to include the features taught by Camacho in order to create more versatile and cost-effective semiconductor packages (see Camacho, ¶¶0011 and 0095). Furthermore, Camacho discloses a laser method as a way to add redistribution capability while actually reducing process complexity compared with conventional photolithography-based RDL (see Camacho, ¶0074).
However, the combination of Khor and Camacho does not specifically disclose one or more processors; and logic encoded in one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media for execution by the one or more processors and when executed operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
In a similar field of endeavor, Scanlan discloses one or more processors (¶0078: special-purpose processor); and logic encoded in one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media for execution by the one or more processors and when executed operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (¶0078: Certain embodiments may be implemented as a computer program product that may include instructions stored on a non-transitory machine-readable medium. These instructions may be used to program a general-purpose or special-purpose processor to perform the described operations.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application in order to automate a process capable of producing smaller and improved semiconductor devices (See Scanlan, ¶0008).
Re: Claim 12, the combination of Khor, Camacho and Scanlan discloses the system of claim 8.
Khor further discloses wherein the overmold has a sufficiently thin dimension so as to expose at least a portion of the ball bumps on the IC chip (col. 3, lns. 25-32: Mold encapsulation layer 108 may be formed from plastic or epoxy and does not cover the entirety of stud bumps 106.).
Re: Claim 14, the combination of Khor, Camacho and Scanlan discloses the system of claim 8.
Khor further discloses wherein the logic when executed is further operable to cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising performing a singulation process on an assembly containing the IC chip, wherein the assembly is built into an array of assemblies (Fig. 2, step 214: singulating the wafer into individual chips; Note: See Scanlan, ¶0078 for computer processing teaching.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LEE et al. (US 20200381380 A1): See Figs. 1, 3A-3C, 4 and 5A-5E which show structures and processes relevant to the current claims in the application.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM ADROVEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898