DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 02/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 8 and 9, 10, 17-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the forming a transistor source and the forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode.” It is not clear Applicant is trying to introduce a transistor source and one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in addition to the “a transistor source within the first and third regions; and forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1. Therefore, Claim 2 in combination with Claim 1 is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat “the forming a transistor source and the forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode.” as referring back to the transistor source and the diode anode or the diode cathode of Claim 1,
Claim 7 recites “in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode, forming the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode in the semiconductor substrate,”
It is not clear if the Applicant is trying to introduce a diode anode or a diode cathode “a transistor source within the first and third regions; and forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1.
It is not clear if the Applicant is trying to introduce a diode anode in addition to “forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1
Therefore, claim 7 in combination with Claim 1 is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat “in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode,” as referring back to the diode anode or the diode cathode of Claim 1.
Further, claim 7 recites the limitation " the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode”
It is not clear if the Applicant is trying to introduce a diode cathode in addition to “forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 in combination with Claim 1 is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat “in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode,” as referring back to the diode anode or the diode cathode of Claim 1.
Further, claim 8 recites the limitation " the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode, forming the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode in the semiconductor substrate,”
It is not clear if the Applicant is trying to introduce a diode anode or a diode cathode “a transistor source within the first and third regions; and forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1.
It is not clear if the Applicant is trying to introduce a diode anode in addition to “forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1
Therefore, claim 9 in combination with Claim 1 is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat “in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode,” as referring back to the diode anode or the diode cathode of Claim 1.
Further, claim 9 recites the limitation " the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 is rejected as being dependent on Claim 9.
Claim 17 recites “concurrently implanting a third dopant of an opposite second conductivity type in a fifth region overlapping the first and third regions and in a sixth region overlapping the second and fourth regions, the fifth region implementing a transistor source and the sixth region implementing a first terminal of a diode; implanting a third dopant of the first conductivity type in a seventh region spaced apart from the sixth region and extending into the semiconductor substrate and implementing a second terminal of the diode;” and “electrically connecting the transistor source to the second diode terminal and the transistor gate to the first diode terminal.”
It is not clear if the Applicant is trying to introduce two different “third dopants” of different conductivity types from each other. Person of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine which dopant is being referenced in later function limitations.
Further, claim 17 recites the limitation " the second diode terminal and the transistor gate to the first diode terminal." in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of examination the Examiner will treat "the second diode terminal and the transistor gate to the first diode terminal." as -- the first terminal of the diode-- and --the second terminal of the diode--
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected as being dependent on Claim 17.
“a transistor source within the first and third regions; and forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1.
It is not clear if the Applicant is trying to introduce a diode anode in addition to “forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions.” disclosed in Claim 1
Therefore, claim 7 in combination with Claim 1 is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat “in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode,” as referring back to the diode anode or the diode cathode of Claim 1.
Further, claim 7 recites the limitation " the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2006/0284283 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses a method of forming an integrated circuit, comprising:
in a first implant ( p-type impurity 161a to 161c), forming in a semiconductor substrate (150) a first (166a) and second (166c) region of a first semiconductor type (p-type), each of the first (166a) and second (166c) region having a first dopant concentration [0082-0053];
in a second implant ( p-type impurity 163a to 163c), forming in the semiconductor substrate (150) a third (167a) and fourth region (167c) of the first semiconductor type (p-type), the third region (167a) at least partially overlapping the first region (166a) and the fourth region (167c) at least partially overlapping the second region (166c), each of the third and fourth region having a second dopant concentration different than the first dopant concentration (“p-type impurity ion 163a to 163c is carried out at concentration higher than the ion implantation of the p-type impurity 161a to 161c.”) [0084];
forming a transistor source (a source electrode wiring 169d) within the first and third regions (166a, 167a); and
forming one of a diode anode (an anode electrode wiring 169h) or a diode cathode in the second and fourth regions (166c, 167c).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 1,
in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode, forming the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode (“A cathode electrode wiring 105g electrically connected with the n-type impurity layer 103c”) in the semiconductor substrate (150), and wherein
a reverse bias breakdown voltage, between the diode anode (105g) and the diode cathode (105g), is responsive to an intersection depth between the first dopant concentration and the second dopant concentration. (see depth difference between 106c and 104c).
The Examiner notes that as long there is intersection depth between the first dopant concentration and the second dopant concentration, the limitation a reverse bias breakdown voltage, between the diode anode and the diode cathode, is responsive to an intersection depth between the first dopant concentration and the second dopant concentration is considered to be met since value for reverse bias breakdown voltage is not established.
Regarding Claim 9, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 1 and further comprising:
forming a transistor drain (166b) and transistor channel (area under 156b, 157b) in the semiconductor substrate (150) and a transistor gate (157b) in a fixed position relative to the semiconductor substrate (150); and
in addition to forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode, forming the other of the diode anode or a diode cathode (“A cathode electrode wiring 105g electrically connected with the n-type impurity layer 103c”) in the semiconductor substrate (150),
Regarding Claim 10, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 9: wherein
a transistor threshold voltage, relative to the transistor source and the transistor gate (165a and 157b), is responsive to the second dopant concentration (dopant concentration in p-type impurity ion 163a to 163c); and wherein
a reverse bias breakdown voltage, between the diode anode and the diode cathode (159h and 169g), is responsive to an intersection point between the first dopant concentration (dopant concentration in the first (166a) and second (166c) region having a first dopant concentration [0082-0053]); and the second dopant concentration. (“dopant concentration in p-type impurity ion 163a to 163c is carried out at concentration higher than the ion implantation of the p-type impurity 161a to 161c.”) [0084]);
The Examiner notes that as long there is intersection depth between the first dopant concentration and the second dopant concentration, the limitation a reverse bias breakdown voltage, between the diode anode and the diode cathode, is responsive to an intersection depth between the first dopant concentration and the second dopant concentration is considered to be met since value for reverse bias breakdown voltage is not established.
Regarding Claim 11, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
the first semiconductor type includes boron. (“ B is ion implanted into the source region and the drain region” )
Regarding Claim 12, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the transistor source is formed from an n-type semiconductor. (“the n-channel field effect transistor, a source electrode wiring 169a electrically connected with the n-type impurity layer 165a is formed on the n-type impurity layer 165a in the source region”).
Regarding Claim 14, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
the forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode forms at least a portion of the diode anode. (Fig. 22-24)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2006/0284283 A1) in view of Hu et al. (US 2004/0106236 A1) and Suzuki et al. (US 2006/0255411 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose a third implant step comprises the forming a transistor source and the forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode.
Hu (Fig. 1) discloses a third implant step comprises the forming a transistor source [0008] (“During this implantation process n-type dopant species are also implanted into the source region 85 to further increase the n-doping concentration” [0010]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Nakamura in view of Hu such that a third implant step comprises the forming a transistor source in order to further increase the n-doping concentration and have double diffused source region [0008-0010].
Nakamura in view of Hu does not explicitly disclose a third implant step comprises the forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode
Suzuki (Fig. 1B, 4A) discloses a third implant step comprises the forming one of a diode anode or a diode cathode (3A) [0038-0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Nakamura in view of Hu and Suzuki such that a third implant step comprises the forming a transistor source in order to reduce a parasitic resistance in the N type region and contacts an electrode of the cathode [0038].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2006/0284283 A1) in view of Hu et al. (US 2004/0106236 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 12,
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the transistor source is formed from arsenic.
Hu (Fig. 1) discloses a transistor source is formed from arsenic. (“ arsenic species are implanted through the opening 55 to form the n-type region 80”) [0008]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Nakamura in view of Hu such that the transistor source is formed from arsenic in order to further increase the n-doping concentration and have double diffused source region [0008-0010].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2006/0284283 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2006/0255411 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Nakamura (Fig. 16-24) discloses the method of claim 11,
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose further comprising forming a coupling from the transistor source to the diode anode.
Suzuki (Fig. 1B) discloses forming a coupling from a transistor source (S) to the diode anode (A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Nakamura in view of Suzuki further comprising forming a coupling from the transistor source to the diode anode in order to have diode protect transistor from an electrostatic discharge [0037]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891