DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 01/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18, line 2, the limitation “to the planar surface” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear which element is the planar surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuentes [US 8,982,577].
With respect to claim 1, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses an apparatus comprising:
a substrate (102, col. 2, lines 1-5) comprising a planar surface;
a die (130, col. 3, lines 30-40) attached to the planar surface of the substrate with an interposed die attach material (138, col. 3, lines 30-40; 452, col. 7, lines 27-32); and
a solder mask (112, col. 7, lines 23-26) interposed between the die attach material and the planar surface, wherein the solder mask comprises a recessed portion (126, col. 3, lines 5-14; 804, col. 7, lines 27-32) extending beneath a periphery of the die, the recessed portion filled with a molding underfill (452, col. 7, lines 27-32).
With respect to claim 2, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the solder mask comprises a first layer (112, col. 7, lines 23-26) applied to the planar surface and a second layer (112, col. 7, lines 23-26) applied on the first layer.
With respect to claim 3, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the recessed portion (126, col. 3, lines 5-14; 804, col. 7, lines 27-32) comprises a depth equal to a thickness of the second layer.
With respect to claim 4, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the recessed portion (126, col. 3, lines 5-14; 804, col. 7, lines 27-32) extends in a direction parallel to the planar surface and comprises a width greater than a bleed out distance of the die attach material.
With respect to claim 5, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the width ensures the recessed portion (126, col. 3, lines 5-14; 804, col. 7, lines 27-32) is formed in the solder mask at least a minimum distance from a bond finger (116, col. 4, lines 14-35) configured to bond with a wired (144, col. 4, lines 14-35) connection to the die.
With respect to claim 6, Fuentes (fig. 11) discloses wherein the periphery of the die (130, col. 3, lines 30-40) bisects the recessed portion (804).
With respect to claim 7, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the die attach material (138, col. 3, lines 30-40) comprises epoxy.
With respect to claim 8, Fuentes (fig. 2) discloses wherein the molding underfill (148, col. 4, lines 36-44) filling the recessed portion is a same type of molding underfill used to encapsulate the die.
With respect to claim 9, Fuentes (fig. 2) discloses wherein the apparatus is a Ball Grid Array (BGA) (450, col. 7, lines 23-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuentes [US 8,982,577] in view of Gong et al [US 2016/0172309].
Claim 10, Fuentes does not mention wherein the BGA is a Molded Array Process BGA. However, the process limitation in claim 10 (Molded Array Process) do not carry weight in a claim drawn to structure. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In addition, a “product by process” limitation is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, in re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 and 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161; In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90; and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289; all of which made clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or not.
With respect to claim 16, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses an apparatus comprising:
a substrate (102, col. 2, lines 1-5) comprising a first surface opposing a second surface;
a die (130, col. 3, lines 30-40) attached to the first surface of the substrate with an interposed die attach material (138, col. 3, lines 30-40; 452, col. 7, lines 27-32); and
a solder mask (112, col. 7, lines 23-26) interposed between the die attach material and the planar surface, wherein the solder mask comprises a recessed portion (126, col. 3, lines 5-14; 804, col. 7, lines 27-32) extending beneath a periphery of the die, the recessed portion filled with a molding underfill (452, col. 7, lines 27-32).
used to encapsulate the die.
Fuentes does not mention the second surface comprises a plurality of solder balls arranged in a ball grid array. However, Gong et al (fig. 6) disclose the substrate panel (14, pp [0028]) comprises the plurality of solder balls (42, 42a, pp [0038]) arranged in a ball grid array on the second surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have the plurality of solder balls as taught by Gong et al into the device of Fuentes in order to provide the purpose of connecting to an external device.
With respect to claim 17, Fuentes (fig. 11) discloses wherein the periphery of the die (130, col. 3, lines 30-40) bisects the recessed portion (804).
With respect to claim 18, as best under stood, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the recessed portion (126, col. 3, lines 5-14; 804, col. 7, lines 27-32) comprises a width greater than a bleed out distance of the die attach material.
With respect to claim 19, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the width ensures the recessed portion (126, col. 3, lines 5-14; 804, col. 7, lines 27-32) is formed in the solder mask at least a minimum distance from a bond finger (116, col. 4, lines 14-35) configured to bond with a wired (144, col. 4, lines 14-35) connection to the die.
With respect to claim 20, Fuentes (figs. 2, 11) discloses wherein the solder mask comprises a first layer (112, col. 7, lines 23-26) applied to the first surface and a second layer (112, col. 7, lines 23-26) applied on the first layer, wherein the recessed portion comprises a depth equal to a thickness of the second layer.
Conclusion
/HOAI V PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892