DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 18/479,226 filed on October 2, 2023 in which claims 1 to 20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), filed on March 19, 2024 and June 5, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on October 2, 2023 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Notation
References to patents will be in the form of [C:L] where C is the column number and L is the line number. References to pre-grant patent publications will be to the paragraph number in the form of [xxxx].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2015/0236253 (Whig).
Regarding claim 1 and referring to annotated Figure 2, Whig discloses a magneto-resistive stack, 200 [0035], comprising:
a fixed magnetic region, 209/210/212 [0035], wherein the fixed magnetic region includes a reference layer 209 [0035, 40];
an interfacial layer, 218 [0040] e.g., 5A [0036], disposed above the reference layer, as shown, the interfacial layer including cobalt (Co) [0040];
an intermediate layer, 206 [0038], disposed above the interfacial layer, as shown; and
a free magnetic region, 204 [0035], disposed above the intermediate layer, as shown.
Regarding claim 3 which depends upon claim 1, Whig teaches the reference layer, 209, includes one or more elements with an electronegativity greater than the electronegativity of iron (Fe), e.g. boron [0035, 40].
Regarding claim 4 which depends upon claim 1, Whig teaches the interfacial layer has a thickness ranging from approximately 0.5 angstrom (Å) to approximately 5 Å at [0036].
Regarding claim 5 which depends upon claim 1, Whig teaches the interfacial layer, 218, is disposed on and in contact with the reference layer, 209, as shown in Figure 2, and wherein the intermediate layer, 206, is disposed on and in contact with the interfacial layer, as shown.
Regarding claim 6 which depends upon claim 1, Whig teaches the intermediate layer includes a tunnel barrier, the tunnel barrier including magnesium oxide (MgOx) [0038], see also Figure 5.
Regarding claim 7 which depends upon claim 6, Whig teaches the intermediate layer has a thickness ranging from approximately 8 Å to approximately 20 Å at [0038], i.e. 3 times 1 to 10 angstroms of metal that is oxidized.
Regarding claim 8 which depends upon claim 1, Whig teaches the interfacial layer consists of cobalt (Co) at [0040].
Regarding claim 9 which depends upon claim 8, Whig teaches the reference layer, 209, of the fixed magnetic region includes cobalt (Co), iron (Fe), and boron (B) at [0035].
Claims 1-2, 6, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2021/0159393 (Law).
Regarding claim 1 and referring to annotated Figure 2A, Law discloses a magneto-resistive stack, 100 [0024], comprising:
a fixed magnetic region, 110 [0038], wherein the fixed magnetic region includes a reference layer 110 [0038];
an interfacial layer, 216 [0040], disposed above the reference layer, as shown, the interfacial layer including cobalt (Co) [0040];
an intermediate layer, 120 e.g., MgO [0032], disposed above the interfacial layer, as shown; and
a free magnetic region, 130 [0024], disposed above the intermediate layer, as shown.
Regarding claim 2 which depends upon claim 1, Law teaches the fixed magnetic region further includes: a first magnetic region, 112 [0038]; a coupling layer, 113 [0037] disposed on and in contact with the first magnetic region, as shown; a second magnetic region, 114 [0038], disposed on and in contact with the coupling layer, as shown; and a transition layer, 215 [0039], disposed above the second magnetic region, as shown.
Regarding claim 6 which depends upon claim 1, Law teaches the intermediate layer includes a tunnel barrier, the tunnel barrier including magnesium oxide (MgOx) [0032].
Regarding claim 8 which depends upon claim 1, Law teaches the interfacial layer consists of cobalt (Co) at [0040].
Regarding claim 18 Law discloses a method of manufacturing a magneto-resistive device, comprising:
forming a first electrically conductive material, 205, above a substrate, 180 [0034];
forming a fixed magnetic region, 110 [0038], above the first electrically conductive material, the fixed magnetic region having a fixed magnetic state, [0038];
forming an interfacial layer, 216 [0040], on or above the fixed magnetic region, as shown, the interfacial layer including cobalt (Co), [0040];
forming an intermediate layer, 120 [0032] e.g., MgO, on or above the interfacial layer, as shown, the intermediate layer including a tunnel barrier [0032]; and
forming a free magnetic region, 130 [0024], above the intermediate layer, as shown, the free magnetic region having a first magnetic state and a second magnetic state [0042].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whig.
Regarding claim 18 Whig teaches and suggests a method of manufacturing a magnetoresistive device, comprising:
forming a first electrically conductive material, 216 [0035], a base electrode would be understood by an artisan as conductive, above a substrate, implied;
forming a fixed magnetic region, 209/210/212 [0035], above the first electrically conductive material, as shown, the fixed magnetic region having a fixed magnetic state, i.e., pinned;
forming an interfacial layer, 218 [0040], on or above the fixed magnetic region, as shown, the interfacial layer including cobalt (Co), as described at [0040];
forming an intermediate layer, 206 [0035], on or above the interfacial layer, as shown, the intermediate layer including a tunnel barrier, e.g. MgO; and
forming a free magnetic region, 204 [0035], above the intermediate layer, the free magnetic region having a first magnetic state and a second magnetic state, as shown by the double headed arrow.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose the method of claim 10 wherein forming the intermediate layer includes (a) depositing a layer of oxidizable material on or above the interfacial layer, and (b) oxidizing the deposited layer of oxidizable material to form a layer of oxidized material, wherein a delay of time is introduced after step (a) but before step (b), i.e. the deposition and oxidation are done at least three times in sequence.
Claims 11-17 depend directly or indirectly on claim 10 and are allowable on that basis.
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 19 the prior art fails to disclose the method of claim 18, wherein forming the intermediate layer includes (a) depositing a layer of oxidizable material on or above the interfacial layer, and (b) oxidizing the deposited layer of oxidizable material to form a layer of oxidized material, wherein a delay of time is introduced after step (a) but before step (b).
Claim 20 depends upon claim 19 and is allowable on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the notice of references cited.
/J.E. Schoenholtz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893