DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
2. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment & Terminal Disclaimer received on 12/23/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3-12, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (“Interface Control of Ferroelectricity in an SrRuO3/BaTiO3/ SrRuO3 Capacitor and its Critical Thickness”) in view of Itoh et al. (US 2003/0228733).
Re claim 1, Shin teaches, under BRI, Scheme 1, Figs. 1-2, pages 1-6, a semiconductor device comprising
-a capacitor (e.g., SrRuO3/BaTiO3/SrRuO3 (SRO/BTO/SRO) capacitor) on a substrate (e.g., SrTiO3(001) substrate), the capacitor including a first electrode (top SRO), a dielectric layer (BTO), and a second electrode (bottom SRO) sequentially stacked on the substrate,
the first electrode (top SrRuO3) includes ABO3 where 'A' is a first metal element (Sr) and 'B' is a second metal element (Ru) having a work function greater than that of the first metal element;
the dielectric layer (BaTiO3) includes CDO3 where 'C' is a third metal element (Ba) and 'D' is a fourth metal element (Ti);
the first electrode (top SRO) includes a first layer (SrO) and a second layer (RuO2) which are alternately and repeatedly stacked;
the first layer (SrO) includes the first metal element (Sr) and oxygen (O2);
the second layer (RuO2) includes the second metal element (Ru) and oxygen (O2); and
the dielectric layer (BTO) has an interface directly contacting is in contact with the first electrode (top SRO) at a first contact surface (between BaO & RuO2), the first contact surface corresponding to the second layer (RuO2) that includes the second metal element (Ru).
Shin does not explicitly teach wherein the first electrode has a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape.
Itoh teaches, Fig. 22, [0068, 0070], the first electrode (24) has a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer (91) is conformal to the pillar shape.
As taught by Itoh, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Shin to obtain the first electrode having a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape as claimed, because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Itoh in combination with Shin due to above reason.
Re claim 3, Shin/Itoh does not explicitly teach the first contact surface has {100} crystal plane.
Shin does teach the dielectric layer (BTO) is in contact with the first electrode (top SRO) at the first contact surface (Scheme 1, similar to Fig. 2 of the application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Shin to obtain the first contact surface has {100} crystal plane as claimed, because it aids in achieving atomically sharp interfaces with designed termination sequences, and based on similarity, an ordinary skilled person in the art can achieve a same crystal plane as claimed.
Re claim 4, Shin teaches each of the first electrode and the dielectric layer have a perovskite crystal structure (e.g., perovskite oxides) (page 1).
Re claim 5, Shin teaches, Scheme 1, the dielectric layer (BTO) includes a third layer (TiO2 or BaO) and a fourth layer (BaO or TiO2) which are alternately and repeatedly stacked; the third layer includes the third metal (Ti or Ba) element and oxygen (O2); the fourth layer includes the fourth metal element (Ba or Ti) and oxygen (O2); and the dielectric layer (BTO) is in contact with the first electrode (SRO) at a second contact surface, the second contact surface corresponding to the third layer (TiO2 or BaO).
Re claim 6, Shin teaches a work function of the fourth metal element (e.g., Ti) is greater than a work function of the third metal element (e.g., Ba).
Re claim 7, Shin teaches the work function of the second metal element (Ru) is greater than a work function of the fourth metal element (Ti).
Re claim 8, Shin teaches the work function of the second metal element (Ru) is greater than 4.5eV and less than 6eV.
Re claims 9-12, Shin teaches, Scheme 1, the first metal element is Sr, the second metal element is Ru, the third metal element is Ba, and the fourth metal element is Ti.
Re claim 15, in combination cited above, Itoh teaches, Fig. 19, a support pattern (20) supporting a sidewall of the first electrode (23).
Re claim 16, Shin teaches, under BRI, Scheme 1, Figs. 1-2, pages 1-6, a semiconductor device comprising
-a capacitor (e.g., SrRuO3/BaTiO3/SrRuO3 (SRO/BTO/SRO) capacitor) on a substrate (e.g., SrTiO3(001) substrate), the capacitor including a first electrode (top SRO), a dielectric layer (BTO), and a second electrode (bottom SRO) sequentially stacked on the substrate,
-a top surface of the first electrode (top SRO) contacts a bottom surface 0f the dielectric layer (BTO);
the first electrode (SrRuO3) includes a first metal element (Sr), a second metal element (Ru), and oxygen (O2);
the dielectric layer (BaTiO3) includes a third metal element (Ba), a fourth metal element (Ti), and oxygen (O2)
the first electrode (SRO) includes a first layer (SrO) and a second layer (RuO2) which are alternately and repeatedly stacked;
the first layer (SrO) includes the first metal element (Sr) and oxygen (O2), and the second layer (RuO2) includes the second metal element (Ru) and oxygen (O2);
the first metal element (Sr) is at least one of Sr, Ba, La, or Ca, and the second metal element (Ru) is at least one of Ru, Mo, Ir, or Ni; and
the dielectric layer (BTO) has an interface that directly contact with the first electrode (top SRO) at a first contact surface (between BaO & RuO2), the first contact surface corresponding to the second layer (RuO2) that includes the second metal (Ru).
Shin does not explicitly teach wherein the first electrode has a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape.
Itoh teaches, Fig. 22, [0068, 0070], the first electrode (24) has a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer (91) is conformal to the pillar shape.
As taught by Itoh, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Shin to obtain the first electrode having a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape as claimed, because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Itoh in combination with Shin due to above reason.
Re claim 17, Shin teaches, Scheme 1, the dielectric layer (BTO) includes a third layer (TiO2 or BaO) and a fourth layer (BaO or TiO2) which are alternately and repeatedly stacked; the third layer includes the third metal (Ti or Ba) element and oxygen (O2); the fourth layer includes the fourth metal element (Ba or Ti) and oxygen (O2); and the dielectric layer (BTO) is in contact with the first electrode (SRO) at a second contact surface, the second contact surface corresponding to the third layer (TiO2 or BaO) or the fourth layer, the one of the third layer or the fourth layer (BaO) having a smaller work function than the other of the third layer (TiO2) or the fourth layer.
Re claim 18, Shin teaches the third element is Ba, and the fourth element is Ti (of BaTiO3).
Re claim 20, in combination cited above, Itoh teaches, Fig. 19, a support pattern (20) supporting a sidewall of the first electrode (23).
4. Claims 1, 2, 14-16, 19 and 20 are, alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (“Interface Control of Ferroelectricity in an SrRuO3/BaTiO3/ SrRuO3 Capacitor and its Critical Thickness”) in view of Ahn et al. (US 2017/0018604).
Re claim 1, Shin teaches, under BRI, Scheme 1, Figs. 1-2, pages 1-6, a semiconductor device comprising
-a capacitor (e.g., SrRuO3/BaTiO3/SrRuO3 (SRO/BTO/SRO) capacitor) on a substrate (e.g., SrTiO3(001) substrate), the capacitor including a first electrode (top SRO), a dielectric layer (BTO), and a second electrode (bottom SRO) sequentially stacked on the substrate,
the first electrode (top SrRuO3) includes ABO3 where 'A' is a first metal element (Sr) and 'B' is a second metal element (Ru) having a work function greater than that of the first metal element;
the dielectric layer (BaTiO3) includes CDO3 where 'C' is a third metal element (Ba) and 'D' is a fourth metal element (Ti);
the first electrode (SRO) includes a first layer (SrO) and a second layer (RuO2) which are alternately and repeatedly stacked;
the first layer (SrO) includes the first metal element (Sr) and oxygen (O2);
the second layer (RuO2) includes the second metal element (Ru) and oxygen (O2); and
the dielectric layer (BTO) has an interface directly contacting with the first electrode (top SRO) at a first contact surface (between BaO & RuO2), the first contact surface corresponding to the second layer (RuO2) that includes the second metal element (Ru).
Shin does not explicitly teach wherein the first electrode has a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape.
Ahn teaches, under BRI, Fig. 14, [0150], wherein the first electrode (200) has a pillar shape (protruding part of 200), and the dielectric layer (210, 220) is conformal to the pillar shape.
As taught by Ahn, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Shin to obtain the first electrode having a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape as claimed, because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ahn in combination with Shin due to above reason.
Re claim 2, in combination cited above, Ahn teaches, Fig. 14, [0134, 0139, 0141, 0147, 0148], a first conductive line (word line 130) buried in an upper portion of the substrate (100), the first conductive line (130) extending in a first direction (e.g., y axis);
an active portion (107a, 107b) in the upper portion of the substrate, the active portion defined by a device isolation pattern (105), the active portion including a first dopant region (first impurity area 107a) and a second dopant region (second impurity area 107b) which are separated from each other with the first conductive line (130) interposed between the first dopant region (107a) and the second dopant region (107b);
a second conductive line (bit line 170) on the substrate (100), the second conductive line (170) extending in a second direction (e.g., x axis) intersecting the first direction, the second conductive line (170) connected to the first dopant region (107a);
a contact (180) connected to the second dopant region (107b).
Re claim 14, in combination cited above, Ahn teaches, Figs. 14-15, [0150], the first electrode comprises a base electrode (200) and a lower electrode (210); and the lower electrode (210) covers a sidewall of the base electrode (200) and a top surface of the base electrode (200).
Re claim 15, in combination cited above, Ahn teaches, Fig. 14, a support pattern (consider pattern of 210) supporting a sidewall of the first electrode (200).
Re claim 16, Shin teaches, under BRI, Scheme 1, Figs. 1-2, pages 1-6, a semiconductor device comprising
-a capacitor (e.g., SrRuO3/BaTiO3/SrRuO3 (SRO/BTO/SRO) capacitor) on a substrate (e.g., SrTiO3(001) substrate), the capacitor including a first electrode (top SRO), a dielectric layer (BTO), and a second electrode (bottom SRO) sequentially stacked on the substrate,
-a top surface of the first electrode (top SRO) contacts a bottom surface 0f the dielectric layer (BTO);
the first electrode (SrRuO3) includes a first metal element (Sr), a second metal element (Ru), and oxygen (O2);
the dielectric layer (BaTiO3) includes a third metal element (Ba), a fourth metal element (Ti), and oxygen (O2)
the first electrode (SRO) includes a first layer (SrO) and a second layer (RuO2) which are alternately and repeatedly stacked;
the first layer (SrO) includes the first metal element (Sr) and oxygen (O2), and the second layer (RuO2) includes the second metal element (Ru) and oxygen (O2);
the first metal element (Sr) is at least one of Sr, Ba, La, or Ca, and the second metal element (Ru) is at least one of Ru, Mo, Ir, or Ni; and
the dielectric layer (BTO) has an interface that directly contact with the first electrode (top SRO) at a first contact surface, the first contact surface corresponding to the second layer (RuO2) that includes the second metal element (Ru).
Shin does not explicitly teach wherein the first electrode has a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape.
Ahn teaches, under BRI, Fig. 14, [0150], wherein the first electrode (200) has a pillar shape (protruding part of 200), and the dielectric layer (210, 220) is conformal to the pillar shape.
As taught by Ahn, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Shin to obtain the first electrode having a pillar shape, and the dielectric layer is conformal to the pillar shape as claimed, because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), and it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ahn in combination with Shin due to above reason.
Re claim 19, in combination cited above, Ahn teaches, Figs. 14-15, [0150], the capacitor further comprises a base electrode (200); and the first electrode (210) covers a sidewall of the base electrode (200) and a top surface of the base electrode (200).
Re claim 20, in combination cited above, Ahn teaches, Fig. 14, a support pattern (consider pattern of 210) supporting a sidewall of the first electrode (200).
5. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as modified by Itoh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tan et al. (US 2010/0020468).
The teachings of Shin/Itoh have been discussed above.
Re claim 13, Shin/Itoh does not explicitly teach a thickness of the first electrode is between 50Ao to 100Ao.
Tan teaches “the first electrode layer has a thickness in a range between about 20 angstroms and about 300 angstroms” (claim 15).
As taught by Tan, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain a thickness of the first electrode is between 50Ao to 100Ao as claimed, because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Tan in combination with Shin/Itoh due to above reason.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
The claims amended with newly added features, interpretation and rejection under Shin et al. are changed to meet the currently amended claims.
In further consideration, applied to both claims 1 & 16, Shin teaches, Fig. 1b, the dielectric layer (BTO) has an interface that directly contact the first electrode (top SRO) at a first contact surface, the first contact surface (between BaO & RuO2) corresponding to the second layer (RuO2) that includes the second metal element (Ru).
Given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Shin in view of Itoh or Ahn meets the claimed invention. Details included in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 5/9/26