DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes: INFRARED DETECTOR WITH A PHOTONIC CRYSTAL OVER AN ABSORPTION LAYER
Claim Objections
Claim 1 recites “multi-coupled topological defects”. So far as the examiner can determine, this is not a term of art. There are only a very small number of references that use this term, and they are all Chinese references, leading the examiner to believe that this perhaps a direct translation of a term in Chinese that does not correspond with a term that is commonly used in English. The examiner understands this to mean that the defects together provide a light-directing phenomenon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Joe, US 2022/0384666 A1.
Claim 1: Joe discloses a short-wave infrared detector unit device ([0005]), comprising
a substrate (bottom of layer 50), and an epitaxial layer (PD) arranged on a surface of the substrate, wherein an outermost layer of the epitaxial layer is an absorption layer (9);
The term “epitaxial” is a product-by-process term that is limiting only as the resulting structure. In this case the resulting structure is the fact that the layer that has a continuous crystal with the underlying substrate. Here, as there is a substrate with a continuous crystal, it reads on this limitation.
wherein the short-wave infrared detector unit device further comprises a photonic crystal structure layer [20] with multi-coupled topological defects [H] arranged on a surface of the absorption layer (9), the photonic crystal structure layer with multi-coupled topological defects is a third dielectric material layer [silicon, [0053]] with a through-hole structure (H), the third dielectric material layer (3) has a refractive index of n3 (=3.48, [0061]);
the through-hole structure comprises first through holes (1) in periodic arrangement and second through holes (2) in periodic arrangement;
each of the first through holes (1) is filled with a first dielectric material (air, [0089]), the first dielectric material has a refractive index of n1 (=1);
each of the second through holes (2) is filled with a second dielectric material (air, [0089]), and the second dielectric material has a refractive index of n2 (=1), wherein n1 is less than n3, and n2 is less than n3;
wherein a periodic arrangement rule of the first through holes (1) is that: a center of any of the first through holes (1) is taken as a center of a first regular hexagon, a side length of the first regular hexagon is La, and six vertexes of the first regular hexagon correspond to centers of other six first through holes (1), respectively;
and a periodic arrangement rule of the second through holes (2) is that: the third dielectric material layer (3) is divided into a plurality of rectangular regions with a center of one of the first through holes (1) as a center of one of the plurality of rectangular regions, a length x width of each of the plurality of rectangular regions is 8 La x 6.92 La, the plurality of rectangular regions do not overlap each other, the center of each of the plurality of rectangular regions is taken as a center of a second regular hexagon, a side length of the second regular hexagon is 2 La, and six vertexes of the second regular hexagon correspond to centers of the second through holes (2).
In annotated FIG. 12 above, through holes 2 are marked with a 2, and through holes 1 are the unmarked holes. Compare applicant’s FIG. 1, which has the same geometry, and thus meets the geometric limitations of claim 1. Note that the first and second dielectric materials are not distinguished from one another in the claims, and thus may be the same material.
Claim 2: the absorption layer (9) is made of InAs (“indium gallium arsenide (InGaAs)” [0066]; InGaAs is a mixture of InAs and GaAs), and a thickness h of the absorption layer is 0.1 µm; an infrared absorption wavelength of the short-wave infrared detector unit device is 1.55 µm (“light in the 1000 nm-3000 nm band” [0066]).
Joe discloses at [0062] that “the thickness T of the cavity layer 50 may be in the range of 100 nm-500 nm, and in example embodiments, the thickness T of the cavity layer 50 may be in the range of 140 nm-200 nm.” The absorption layer can be considered the top 100 nm (0.1 µm) of layer 50.
Claim 5: n3 is from 3 to 5 (3.48, [0061]), n1 is from 1 to 2 (1), and n2 is from 1 to 2.29 (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joe.
Claim 3: Joe does not disclose the thickness H of the photonic crystal structure layer with multi-coupled topological defects; however, changes in dimension are not typically a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Claim 4: Joe does not disclose the dimension La; however changes in dimension are not typically a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Claim 6: a diameter Da of each of the first through holes (1) is from 0.2 µm to 0.8 µm (200 nm, [0040]), and a diameter Db of each of the second through holes (2) is from 0.1 to 0.8 µm (200 nm, [0040]). The range of Joe overlaps with the claimed range. As Joe specifically mentions 200 nm, this would strongly make such a distance obvious.
Claim 11: a diameter Da of each of the first through holes (1) is from 0.2 µm to 0.8 µm (200 nm, [0040]), and a diameter Db of each of the second through holes (2) is from 0.1 to 0.8 µm (200 nm, [0040]). The range of Joe overlaps with the claimed range. As Joe specifically mentions 200 nm, this would strongly make such a distance obvious.
Claims 10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joe in view of Chen, US 2007/0001183 A1.
Claims 10 and 12-16: Joe discloses: depositing a third dielectric material [20] on a surface of an absorption layer to form a third dielectric material layer (3); etching first through holes (1) ([0071]) on the third dielectric material layer (3) according to a periodic arrangement rule of the first through holes (1), and filling each of the first through holes (1) with a first dielectric material (air, [0034]); etching second through holes (2) ([0071]) on the third dielectric material layer (3) having the first through holes (1) according to an arrangement rule of the second through holes (2), and filling each of the second through holes (2) with a second dielectric material (air, [0034]), to obtain the short-wave infrared detector unit device [0005]).
Joe does not disclose the deposition of the third dielectric material 20 on a surface of the absorption layer 50. However, this was known in the art. See Chen, which discloses a Bragg reflector layer 204, similar to Joe layer 20, is formed by epitaxy ([0018]). It would have been obvious to form layer 20 of Joe by this method, which falls within scope of the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims allowed. The examiner did not find the structure with the claimed detailed indices of refraction and other details, nor a reason that this would have been obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897