Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-15 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Ross” (US 2001/0051450) in view of “Znideric” (US 2023/0093276).
Regarding claim 1, Ross discloses 1. A bus bar for a printed circuit board having a plurality of slots, comprising: a first member, the first member being an elongated member having a first surface opposite a second surface and a top edge opposite a bottom edge (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0010], [0026], [0037]; the bus bar 12 for the printed circuit board 40 has a plurality of slots 54 and a first member which is the elongated section of the bus bar 12 that the item number 12 points to in Fig. 5, the first member has a first and opposite second surface and top and bottom edges);
a first terminal disposed on the bottom edge and including a first outer terminal surface spaced apart from a first inner terminal surface so as to define a thickness of the first terminal and coplanar with the first member (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the second pin 16 from the left of Fig. 5 disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12 is a first terminal, it includes outer and surfaces which defines a thickness, and the pin 16 is coplanar with the first member of the busbar 12);
and a second terminal disposed on the bottom edge of the first member and spaced apart from the first terminal, the second terminal including a second outer terminal surface spaced apart from a second inner terminal surface so as to define a thickness of the second terminal (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is a second terminal disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12 and is spaced apart from the first terminal pin 16, the leftmost pin 16 includes inner and outer surfaces which define a thickness of the second pin 16).
Ross does not disclose the second terminal including a tab protruding outwardly from one of the second outer terminal surface and the second inner terminal surface, wherein: the tab is a resilient member configured to deform to a compressed position and return to an uncompressed position, and the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through a corresponding slot among the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot to secure the second terminal therein.
Znideric discloses the second terminal including a tab protruding outwardly from one of the second outer terminal surface and the second inner terminal surface, wherein: the tab is a resilient member configured to deform to a compressed position and return to an uncompressed position, and the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through a corresponding slot among the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot to secure the second terminal therein (Figs. 1-3, [0066], [0075]; the locking arms or tabs 175 are flexibly cantilevered, each locking tab 175 has a pair of integral latch features 176 that protrude outwardly on its distal end and deform to a compressed position as the locking tab 175 is passed through a corresponding locking slot 34 and return to an uncompressed position when the locking tab 175 passes through the corresponding locking slot 34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Ross’ busbar with Znideric’s protruding tab in order to provide for a means to secure the module to the printed circuit board, as suggested by Znideric at [0015].
Regarding claim 2, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Ross discloses 2. The bus bar according to claim 1, wherein the second terminal includes a second shoulder and is disposed on the bottom edge of the first member (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 includes a shoulder 32 disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12).
Regarding claim 3, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 2, above.
Ross discloses 3. The bus bar according to claim 2, wherein the first terminal includes a first shoulder and is disposed on the bottom edge of the first member (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the second pin 16 from the left in Fig. 5 includes a shoulder 32 disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12).
Regarding claim 4, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 3, above.
Ross discloses 4. The bus bar according to claim 3, wherein the second terminal further includes a second neck, the tab disposed on the second neck (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 includes a portion of the busbar 12 above the leftmost pin 15 which is construed as a second neck. This construction is consistent with Applicant’s “second neck 30” as described at Applicant’s [0037] and as illustrated in Applicant’s Fig. 6.).
Regarding claim 5, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 4, above.
Ross discloses 5. The bus bar according to claim 4, wherein second shoulder and the second neck have a thickness equal to each other (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the shoulder 32 and neck of the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 have equal thicknesses).
Regarding claim 11, Ross discloses 11. A circuit assembly comprising: a printed circuit board having a plurality of slots (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the printed circuit board 40 has a plurality of holes 54);
and a bus bar including a first member, a first terminal and a second terminal configured to be seated within a corresponding slot among the plurality of slots, the first member being an elongated member having a first surface opposite a second surface and a top edge opposite a bottom edge (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the bus bar 12 has a first member which is the elongated section of the bus bar 12 that the item number 12 points to in Fig. 5, the pins 16 are terminals to be seated within a corresponding slot 54, the first member has a first and opposite second surface and top and bottom edges),
and the first terminal and the second terminal are spaced apart from each other and disposed on the bottom edge of the first member, the first terminal including a first outer terminal surface spaced apart from a first inner terminal surface so as to define a thickness of the first terminal and is coplanar with the first member; and wherein the second terminal includes a second outer terminal surface spaced apart from a second inner terminal surface so as to define a thickness of the second terminal the thickness of the second terminal is smaller than a width of the slot (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the second pin 16 from the left of Fig. 5 disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12 is a first terminal, it includes outer and surfaces which defines a thickness, and the pin 16 is coplanar with the first member of the busbar 12, and the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is a second terminal disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12 and is spaced apart from the first terminal pin 16, the leftmost pin 16 includes inner and outer surfaces which define a thickness of the second pin 16).
Ross does not disclose the second terminal including a tab protruding outwardly from one of the second outer terminal surface and the second inner terminal surface, wherein the tab is a resilient member configured to deform to a compressed position and return to an uncompressed position, wherein the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through the corresponding slot of the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot so as to secure the second terminal therein.
Znideric discloses the second terminal including a tab protruding outwardly from one of the second outer terminal surface and the second inner terminal surface, wherein the tab is a resilient member configured to deform to a compressed position and return to an uncompressed position, wherein the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through the corresponding slot of the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot so as to secure the second terminal therein (Figs. 1-3, [0066], [0075]; the locking arms or tabs 175 are flexibly cantilevered, each locking tab 175 has a pair of integral latch features 176 that protrude outwardly on its distal end and deform to a compressed position as the locking tab 175 is passed through a corresponding locking slot 34 and return to an uncompressed position when the locking tab 175 passes through the corresponding locking slot 34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Ross’ busbar with Znideric’s protruding tab in order to provide for a means to secure the module to the printed circuit board, as suggested by Znideric at [0015].
Regarding claim 12, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 11, above.
Ross discloses 12. The circuit assembly according to claim 11, wherein the second terminal includes a second shoulder and is disposed on the bottom edge of the first member (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 includes a shoulder 32 disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12).
Regarding claim 13, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 12, above.
Ross discloses 13. The circuit assembly according to claim 12, wherein the first terminal includes a first shoulder and is disposed on the bottom edge of the first member (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the second pin 16 from the left in Fig. 5 includes a shoulder 32 disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12).
Regarding claim 14, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 13, above.
Ross discloses 14. The circuit assembly according to claim 13, wherein the second terminal further includes a second neck, the tab disposed on the second neck, the second neck seated within the corresponding slot of the plurality of slots (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 includes a portion of the busbar 12 above the leftmost pin 15 which is construed as a second neck which is seated within the corresponding slot 54. This construction is consistent with Applicant’s “second neck 30” as described at Applicant’s [0037] and as illustrated in Applicant’s Fig. 6.).
Regarding claim 15, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 14, above.
Ross discloses 15. The circuit assembly according to claim 14, wherein second shoulder and the second neck have a thickness equal to each other (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the shoulder 32 and neck of the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 have equal thicknesses).
Regarding claim 21, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Ross does not disclose the limitations of claim 21.
Znideric discloses 21. The bus bar according to claim 1, wherein the tab enters the corresponding slot at a first side of the printed circuit board and extends through the corresponding slot to be under the printed circuit board at a second side opposite of the first side (Figs. 1-3, [0066], [0075]; the locking arms or tabs 175 enters the corresponding locking slot 34 at a first side of the printed circuit board 40 and extends through the corresponding locking slot 34 to be under the printed circuit board 40 at a second side opposite of the first side).
Regarding claim 22, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 11, above.
Ross does not disclose the limitations of claim 22.
Znideric discloses 22. The circuit assembly according to claim 11, wherein the tab enters the corresponding slot at a first side of the printed circuit board and extends through the corresponding slot to be under the printed circuit board at a second side opposite of the first side (Figs. 1-3, [0066], [0075]; the locking arms or tabs 175 enters the corresponding locking slot 34 at a first side of the printed circuit board 40 and extends through the corresponding locking slot 34 to be under the printed circuit board 40 at a second side opposite of the first side).
Claims 6-8, 10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Znideric and “Racho” (US 2024/0170874).
Regarding claim 6, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 5, above.
Ross does not disclose the limitations of claim 6.
Racho discloses 6. The bus bar according to claim 5, wherein an opening is formed behind the tab (Figs. 1, 8, [0031]; the void 168A is behind the protrusion 166A which is a tab).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Ross’ busbar, as modified by Znideric, with Racho’s protruding tab in order to provide for a means to engage the busbar with an internal structure or a portion of a structure, as suggested by Racho at [0032].
Regarding claim 7, Ross in view of Znideric and Racho discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 6, above.
Ross discloses 7. The bus bar according to claim 6, wherein the first member includes a main body and a pair of legs disposed on opposite ends of the main body (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is on the first leg on the end of the main body of the bus bar 12, and the terminal 14 in Fig. 5 on the right side of the bus bar 12 is on a second leg of the main body).
Regarding claim 8, Ross in view of Znideric and Racho discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 7, above.
Ross discloses 8. The bus bar according to claim 7, wherein the second terminal is a pair of second terminals (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the rightmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is another second terminal, thus the leftmost and rightmost pins 16 in Fig. 5 is a pair of second terminals),
and one of the pair of second terminals is disposed on one of the pair of legs and the other of the pair of second terminals is disposed on the main body (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is on the left leg, and the rightmost pin 16 is on the main body of the bus bar 12).
Regarding claim 10, Ross in view of Znideric and Racho discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 8, above.
Ross discloses 10. The bus bar according to claim 8, wherein the first terminal is at least a pair of first terminals and one of the pair of first terminals is disposed between the pair of second terminals (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the second and third pins 16 from the left of Fig. 5 are a pair of first terminals disposed between the leftmost and rightmost pins 16 of Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Ross in view of Znideric discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 15, above.
Ross does not disclose the limitations of claim 16.
Ross discloses 16. The circuit assembly according to claim 15, wherein an opening is formed behind the tab (Figs. 1, 8, [0031]; the void 168A is behind the protrusion 166A which is a tab).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Ross’ busbar, as modified by Znideric, with Racho’s protruding tab in order to provide for a means to engage the busbar with an internal structure or a portion of a structure, as suggested by Racho at [0032].
Regarding claim 17, Ross in view of Znideric and Racho discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 16, above.
Ross discloses 17. The circuit assembly according to claim 16, wherein the first member includes a main body and a pair of legs disposed on opposite ends of the main body (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is on the first leg on the end of the main body of the bus bar 12, and the terminal 14 in Fig. 5 on the right side of the bus bar 12 is on a second leg of the main body).
Regarding claim 18, Ross in view of Znideric and Racho discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 17, above.
Ross discloses 18. The circuit assembly according to claim 17, wherein the second terminal is a pair of second terminals (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the rightmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is another second terminal, thus the leftmost and rightmost pins 16 in Fig. 5 is a pair of second terminals),
and one of the pair of second terminals is disposed on one of the pair of legs and the other of the pair of second terminals is disposed on the main body (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is on the left leg, and the rightmost pin 16 is on the main body of the bus bar 12).
Regarding claim 20, Ross in view of Znideric and Racho discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 18, above.
Ross discloses 20. The circuit assembly according to claim 18, wherein the first terminal is at least a pair of first terminals and one of the pair of first terminals is disposed between the pair of second terminals (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the second and third pins 16 from the left of Fig. 5 are a pair of first terminals disposed between the leftmost and rightmost pins 16 of Fig. 5).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Racho.
Regarding claim 11, Ross discloses 11. A circuit assembly comprising: a printed circuit board having a plurality of slots (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the printed circuit board 40 has a plurality of holes 54);
and a bus bar including a first member, a first terminal and a second terminal configured to be seated within a corresponding slot among the plurality of slots, the first member being an elongated member having a first surface opposite a second surface and a top edge opposite a bottom edge (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the bus bar 12 has a first member which is the elongated section of the bus bar 12 that the item number 12 points to in Fig. 5, the first member has a first and opposite second surface and top and bottom edges),
and the first terminal and the second terminal are spaced apart from each other and disposed on the bottom edge of the first member, the first terminal including a first outer terminal surface spaced apart from a first inner terminal surface so as to define a thickness of the first terminal and is coplanar with the first member; and wherein the second terminal includes a second outer terminal surface spaced apart from a second inner terminal surface so as to define a thickness of the second terminal the thickness of the second terminal is smaller than a width of the slot (Figs. 1, 2A, 5, [0026], [0037]; the second pin 16 from the left of Fig. 5 disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12 is a first terminal, it includes outer and surfaces which defines a thickness, and the pin 16 is coplanar with the first member of the busbar 12, and the leftmost pin 16 in Fig. 5 is a second terminal disposed on the bottom edge of the first member of the bus bar 12 and is spaced apart from the first terminal pin 16, the leftmost pin 16 includes inner and outer surfaces which define a thickness of the second pin 16).
Ross does not disclose the second terminal including a tab protruding outwardly from one of the second outer terminal surface and the second inner terminal surface, wherein the tab is a resilient member configured to deform to a compressed position and return to an uncompressed position, wherein the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through the corresponding slot of the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot so as to secure the second terminal therein.
Racho discloses the second terminal including a tab protruding outwardly from one of the second outer terminal surface and the second inner terminal surface, wherein the tab is a resilient member configured to deform to a compressed position and return to an uncompressed position, wherein the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through the corresponding slot of the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot so as to secure the second terminal therein (Figs. 1, 8, [0031]; the busbar 160 includes a projection 164A and a protrusion 166A which is a tab protruding outwardly from an outer terminal surface, wherein the protrusion 166A is resilient and deforms to a compressed position and return to an uncompressed position, wherein the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through the corresponding one of the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot so as to secure the second terminal therein).
Response to Arguments
On page 8, with respect to claim 11, Applicant alleges that Racho fails to disclose “wherein the tab is deformed to the compressed position as the second terminal is passed through the corresponding slot of the plurality of slots and returns to the uncompressed position when the tab passes through the corresponding slot so as to secure the second terminal therein.”
Therefore, Applicant alleges that claim 11 is allowable under 103 over Ross in view of Racho.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s allegation and conclusion because a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that Racho’s protrusions 166A and 166B in Fig. 8 would deform or compress when it is passed through the corresponding slot, and would return to its uncompressed state after passing through the corresponding slot.
It is noted that a new grounds of rejection is necessitated for claim 11 in view of the newly added dependent claim 22. Should a tribunal agree with Applicant’s argument that claim 11 is allowable under 103 over Ross in view of Racho, claim 11 is not allowable under the new grounds of the 103 rejection over Ross in view of Znideric. Therefore, regarding allowability, Applicant’s argument that claim 11 and its respective dependent claims are allowable under 103 over Ross in view of Racho is moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847