DETAILED ACTION
2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/479,731, application filed on 10/02/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2023, 01/02/2025 and 09/02/2025, respectively, is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parker et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0107542).
6. With respect to independent claim 1, Parker teaches:
creating a design for an optoelectronic device (see photonic ring modulator, Abstract, para see design of photonic/opto-electronic design, para 11-15; see photonic circuit, para 15; see optically active chip/circuit region, para 11; see circuit with electro-optic effects, para 15), the actions comprising:
determining, by the computing system, an initial heater design that includes one or more heater parameters (see initial tuning of heater, para 41; see heater configurations, para 4; various heater configurations, para 18; see parameters such as heater configuration, heater power, bias voltage, para 8, 16-17);
determining, by the computing system, a temperature gradation by simulating performance of the initial heater design in adjusting an environmental temperature to a nominal temperature (see range of temperatures for heater power, para 16-17);
simulating, by the computing system, performance of a nominal optimized design of a dispersive region of the optoelectronic device, given the temperature gradation, to determine a temperature-influenced performance loss value (see simulation/testing of tested DC voltage range/gradation of photonic/opto-electronic modulator device, para 40-45; see determining maximum loss value, para 32);
determining, by the computing system, a heater parameter gradient based on the temperature-influenced performance loss value (see calibration/optimization of multiple temperatures related to loss over the range of temperatures, para 43); and
revising the heater parameters based at least in part on the heater parameter gradient to create a revised heater design (see repeating calibration for multiple temperatures for determining optimal voltage bias for achieving target insertion loss over the range of temperatures, para 40-43; various heater configurations, para 18; see parameters such as heater configuration, heater power, bias voltage, para 8, 16-17).
7. With respect to claims 2 and 12, Parker teaches:
wherein the actions further comprise repeating the determining the temperature gradation, simulating performance of the nominal optimized design given the temperature gradation, determining the heater parameter gradient, and revising the heater parameters based at least in part on the heater parameter gradient two or more times (see repeating calibration for multiple temperatures for determining optimal voltage bias for achieving target insertion loss over the range of temperatures, para 40-43; various heater configurations, para 18; see parameters such as heater configuration, heater power, bias voltage, para 8, 16-17).
8. With respect to claims 3 and 13, Parker teaches:
wherein the heater parameters include at least one of a heater size value, a heater shape value, a heater location value, a heater timing value, and a value indicating a number of heaters (see heater placement, para 24; see examples of heaters, shape, orientation, heater reconfiguration, para 25).
9. With respect to claims 4 and 14, Parker teaches:
wherein determining the heater parameter gradient based on the temperature-influenced performance loss value includes:
determining, by the computing system, a loss metric based on the temperature-influenced performance loss value (see determining insertion loss, para 36);
backpropagating, by the computing system, the loss metric to determine a structural gradient; and converting, by the computing system, the structural gradient to the heater parameter gradient (see feedback/back-propagation to adjust heating and achieve target loss values, para 32).
10. With respect to claims 5 and 15, Parker teaches:
wherein the temperature gradation is a first temperature gradation (see simulation/testing of tested DC voltage range/gradation of photonic/opto-electronic modulator device, para 40-45; see determining maximum loss value, para 32), wherein the environmental temperature is a first environmental temperature,
wherein the temperature-influenced performance loss value is a first temperature-influenced performance loss value (see determining insertion loss, para 36), and wherein the actions further comprise:
determining a second temperature gradation by simulating performance of the initial heater design in adjusting a second environmental temperature to the nominal temperature (see feedback/back-propagation to adjust heating and achieve target loss values, para 32; see repeating calibration for multiple temperatures for determining optimal voltage bias for achieving target insertion loss over the range of temperatures, para 40-43; various heater configurations, para 18; see parameters such as heater configuration, heater power, bias voltage, para 8, 16-17); and
simulating performance of the nominal optimized design given the second temperature gradation to determine a second temperature-influenced performance loss value (see feedback/back-propagation to adjust heating and achieve target loss values, para 32; see repeating calibration for multiple temperatures for determining optimal voltage bias for achieving target insertion loss over the range of temperatures, para 40-43; various heater configurations, para 18; see parameters such as heater configuration, heater power, bias voltage, para 8, 16-17).
11. With respect to claims 6 and 16, Parker teaches:
wherein determining the loss metric based on the temperature-influenced performance loss value includes:
determining a combined loss metric based on the first temperature-influenced performance loss value and the second temperature-influenced performance loss value (see initial tuning of heater, para 41; see heater configurations, para 4; various heater configurations, para 18; see parameters such as heater configuration, heater power, bias voltage, para 8, 16-17; feedback/back-propagation to adjust heating and achieve target loss values, para 32; see repeating calibration for multiple temperatures for determining optimal voltage bias for achieving target insertion loss over the range of temperatures, para 40-43; various heater configurations, para 18; see parameters such as heater configuration, heater power, bias voltage, para 8, 16-17).
12. With respect to claims 7 and 17, Parker teaches:
wherein determining the loss metric includes determining a heater design loss value that represents at least one of a power consumption or an equilibrium time (see power consumption, para 15-16).
13. With respect to claims 8 and 18, Parker teaches:
wherein a material specified by the heater parameters is optically absorptive (see absorption in the device, para 12-15), and wherein simulating performance of the nominal optimized design given the temperature gradation to determine the temperature-influenced performance loss value includes simulating optical properties of the initial heater design (see simulation/testing of tested DC voltage range/gradation of photonic/opto-electronic modulator device, para 40-45; see determining maximum loss value, para 32).
14. With respect to claims 9 and 19, Parker teaches:
transmitting the nominal optimized design and the revised heater design to a fabrication system for fabrication (see temperature induced wavelength and nominal optimized design, para 16-17).
15. With respect to claims 10 and 20, Parker teaches:
wherein the optoelectronic device is a multiplexer or a demultiplexer (see multiplexing and demultiplexing, para 34-35).
Conclusion
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851