DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant's application filed October 2nd, 2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2017/0062374 A1; hereinafter Chu).
With respect to claim 1, Chu discloses an electronic device in Figs. 1-10, comprising:
a substrate M10 (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 134, 135); and
a circuit (comprising E10, E20, C15a, N15a) comprising a plurality of electrically-conductive components disposed on the substrate M10 (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 134-136, 138, 143), the plurality of electrically-conductive components comprising:
a first electrically-conductive component E10 at a first portion of the substrate M10, wherein the first electrically-conductive component E10 is made of a first material (of E10) comprising a first metal (see Figs. 8a-10 and paragraphs 134, 135, 138, 143; note metals Au, Cu, Ag for E10);
a second electrically-conductive component E20 at a second portion of the substrate M10, wherein the second electrically-conductive component E20 is made of a second material (of E20) comprising the first metal (see Figs. 8a-10 and paragraphs 134, 135, 138, 143; note metals Au, Cu, Ag for E20); and
a third electrically-conductive component (comprising C15a, N15a) comprising a first end portion (at E10) and a second end portion (at E20), wherein the first end portion (at E10) forms a first interface with the first electrically-conductive component E10, the second end portion (at E20) forms a second interface with the second electrically-conductive component E20, the third electrically-conductive component (comprising C15a, N15a) is made of a third material (of C15a, N15a) comprising a gallium-based (Ga-based) alloy (liquid metal) and a metallic filler (nanofiller), the third electrically-conductive component (comprising C15a, N15a) forms an electrical conduit between the first interface and the second interface (see Figs. 1, 2, 8A-10, and paragraphs 106, 107, 135, 136, 138, 143, 144; note liquid material d11 and nanofillers n11).
Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the metallic filler reduces a reactivity of the third electrically-conductive component with the first metal at the first and second interfaces so that each of the first and second interfaces is free of deterioration in conductivity for a period of time, wherein the period of time is at least 1000 hours.
However, Chu discloses the same materials for the metallic filler (nanoflakes, nanoparticles, nanowires, nanotubes), the gallium-based alloy (gallium indium alloy, gallium indium tin alloy, gallium indium tin zinc alloy), and the first metal (silver, copper, gold) as that of the claimed invention (see Chu paragraphs 106, 107, 134, 136. Also see paragraphs 58, 90, 91 of applicants originally filed disclosure). Chu discloses an identical or substantially identical structure to that of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the metallic filler of Chu would reduce a reactivity of the third electrically-conductive component with the first metal at the first and second interfaces so that each of the first and second interfaces is free of deterioration in conductivity for a period of time, wherein the period of time is at least 1000 hours because the electronic device of Chu and that of the instant application are identical or substantially identical in structure. Products of identical structure or chemical composition, or produced by identical or substantially identical processes, cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. As the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112.01 I).
With respect to claim 3, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the substrate M10 comprises one or more layers and wherein the first E10, second E20 and third (comprising C15a, N15a) electrically-conductive components are in a common layer A15 of the substrate (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 135-137; each of E10, E20, C15a, N15a is within and have A15 in common).
With respect to claim 4, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the substrate M10 comprises a plurality of layers, wherein the first electrically-conductive component E10 is in a first layer of the substrate M10, and the second electrically-conductive component E20 is in a second different layer of the substrate M10 (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 134, 135, 138, 143).
With respect to claim 5, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first electrically-conductive component E10 is a first metallic pad or a first electrode, and the second electrically-conductive component E20 is a second metallic pad or a second electrode (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 134, 135, 138, 143).
With respect to claim 6, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third electrically-conductive (comprising C15a, N15a) component is a single trace or a plurality of traces (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 135, 136, 138, 143, 144; electrical connection C15a, N15a act as a trace between E10 and E20).
With respect to claim 7, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the third electrically-conductive component (comprising C15a, N15a) is a via between the first layer and the second different layer (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 135, 136, 138, 143, 144; electrical connection C15a, N15a act as a via between E10 and E20).
With respect to claim 8, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first metal is silver, copper, gold, titanium, nitinol, or tungsten, or any combination thereof (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraph 134, 138; note E10 and E20 made of Au, Cu, Ag).
With respect to claim 9, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the Ga-based alloy (liquid metal) is a Ga-based liquid metal alloy (see Figs. 1, 2, 8A-10, and paragraph 107; note list of Ga-based liquid metals).
With respect to claim 10, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the Ga-based liquid metal alloy comprises at least one of gallium indium alloy, gallium tin alloy, gallium indium tin alloy, or gallium indium tin zinc alloy (See Figs. 1, 2, 8A-10 and paragraphs 107; note list of Ga-based liquid metals).
With respect to claim 11, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the metallic filler (nanofiller) is in the form of microflakes, nanoflakes, microparticles, nanoparticles, nanowires, nanotubes, or a combination thereof (see Figs. 1, 2, 8A-10, and paragraphs 106, 107; note list of nanostructures).
With respect to claim 12, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein an amount of the metallic filler (nanofiller) in the third material (of C15a, N15a) is a percentage by weight of the Ga-based alloy (see Figs. 1, 2, 7A-10 and paragraphs 106, 107, 134, 136, 138; a percentage of nanofiller by weight of Ga-based alloy is obviously present).
Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein an amount of the metallic filler in the third material is from about 10% to about 30% by weight, from about 10% to about 40% by weight, or from about 10% to about 50% by weight of the Ga-based alloy.
It is noted that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed percentage or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical (see MPEP 2144.05 III A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an amount of the metallic filler in the third material of Chu would be from about 10% to about 30% by weight, from about 10% to about 40% by weight, or from about 10% to about 50% by weight of the Ga-based alloy because Chu discloses the general conditions of the claim and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
With respect to claim 13, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the third material (comprising C15a, N15a) further comprises a polymeric binder, a solvent, or both (see Figs. 1, 2, 7A-10 and paragraphs 107, 126, 122-128, 139, 141; note polymer and solvent).
With respect to claim 14, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the metallic filler (nanofiller) comprises the first metal (see Figs. 1, 2, 8A-10, and paragraphs 106, 107, 134, 138; note nanowires or nanoparticles of Ag, Cu, Au).
With respect to claim 15, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first metal is silver, titanium, nitinol, or tungsten, the Ga-based alloy is a Ga-based liquid metal alloy, and the metallic filler comprises silver, titanium, nitinol, or tungsten in the form of microflakes, nanoflakes, microparticles, nanoparticles, nanowires, nanotubes, or a combination thereof and mixed with the Ga-based liquid metal alloy (see Figs. 1, 2, 7A-10 and paragraphs 106, 107, 134, 136, 138).
With respect to claim 16, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the metallic filler (nanofiller) comprises a second metal different than the first metal (see Figs. 1, 2, 8A-10, and paragraphs 106, 107, 134, 138; note E10 and E20 can be made of one of Au, Cu, and Ag while the second metal can be another of Au, Cu, and Ag). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the metallic filler of Chu would comprise a second metal different than the first metal as Au, Cu, and Ag are well known for us in electronic devices and it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 17, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the metallic filler reduces the reactivity of the Ga-based alloy with the first metal that would otherwise cause corrosion, embrittlement, degradation, or open circuit of the first electrically-conductive component at the first interface, and corrosion, embrittlement, degradation, or open circuit of the second electrically-conductive component at second interface.
However, Chu discloses the same materials for the metallic filler (nanoflakes, nanoparticles, nanowires, nanotubes), the gallium-based alloy (gallium indium alloy, gallium indium tin alloy, gallium indium tin zinc alloy), and the first metal (silver, copper, gold) of the first and second electrically-conductive component as that of the claimed invention (see Chu paragraphs 106, 107, 134, 136. Also see paragraphs 58, 90, 91 of applicants originally filed disclosure). Chu discloses an identical or substantially identical structure to that of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the metallic filler of Chu would reduce the reactivity of the Ga-based alloy with the first metal that would otherwise cause corrosion, embrittlement, degradation, or open circuit of the first electrically-conductive component at the first interface, and corrosion, embrittlement, degradation, or open circuit of the second electrically-conductive component at second interface because the electronic device of Chu and that of the instant application are identical or substantially identical in structure. Products of identical structure or chemical composition, or produced by identical or substantially identical processes, cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. As the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112.01 I).
With respect to claim 18, Chu discloses a method of fabricating an electronic device in Figs. 1-10, the method comprising:
forming a first electrically-conductive component E10 at a first portion of a substrate M10, wherein the first electrically-conductive component E10 is made of a first material (of E10) comprising a first metal (see Figs. 8a-10 and paragraphs 134-136, 138, 143; note metals Au, Cu, Ag for E10);
forming a second electrically-conductive component E20 at a second portion of the substrate M10, wherein the second electrically-conductive component E20 is made of a second material (of E20) comprising the first metal (see Figs. 8a-10 and paragraphs 134-136, 138, 143; note metals Au, Cu, Ag for E20); and
connecting the second electrically-conductive component E20 with the first electrically-conductive component E10 by a third electrically-conductive component (comprising C15a, N15a), wherein the third electrically-conductive component (comprising C15a, N15a) is made of a third material (of C15a, N15a) comprising a Ga-based alloy (liquid metal) and a metallic filler (nanofiller) (see Figs. 1, 2, 8A-10, and paragraphs 106, 107, 135, 136, 138, 143, 144; note liquid material d11 and nanofillers n11).
Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the metallic filler reduces a reactivity of the third electrically-conductive component with the first metal at the first and second interfaces so that each of the first and second interfaces is free of deterioration in conductivity for a period of time, wherein the period of time is at least 1000 hours.
However, Chu discloses the same materials for the metallic filler (nanoflakes, nanoparticles, nanowires, nanotubes), the gallium-based alloy (gallium indium alloy, gallium indium tin alloy, gallium indium tin zinc alloy), and the first metal (silver, copper, gold) as that of the claimed invention (see Chu paragraphs 106, 107, 134, 136. Also see paragraphs 58, 90, 91 of applicants originally filed disclosure). Chu discloses an identical or substantially identical structure that is produced by an identical or substantially identical process to that of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the metallic filler of Chu would reduce a reactivity of the third electrically-conductive component with the first metal at the first and second interfaces so that each of the first and second interfaces is free of deterioration in conductivity for a period of time, wherein the period of time is at least 1000 hours because the electronic device of Chu and that of the instant application are identical or substantially identical in structure and produced by identical or substantially identical processes. Products of identical structure or chemical composition, or produced by identical or substantially identical processes, cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. As the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present (see MPEP 2112.01 I).
With respect to claim 19, Chu discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the third electrically-conductive (comprising C15a, N15a) component is a line or via (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 135, 136, 138, 143, 144; electrical connection C15a, N15a act as a via between E10 and E20).
With respect to claim 20, Chu discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the connecting comprises tracing out one or more lines, one or more vias, or any combination of one or more lines and one or more vias, using the third material (of C15a, N15a), to form (i) one or more first interfaces between the first electrically-conductive component E10 and the one or more lines, one or more vias, or any combination of one or more lines and one or more vias, and (ii) one or more second interfaces between the second electrically-conductive component E20 and the one or more lines, one or more vias, or any combination of one or more lines and one or more vias (see Figs. 8A-10 and paragraphs 106, 107, 135, 136, 138, 143, 144; electrical connection C15a, N15a act as a vias between E10 and E20).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2017/0062374 A1; hereinafter Chu) in view of Tavakoli et al (US 2024/0147618 A1; hereinafter Tavakoli).
With respect to claim 2, Chu discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Chu does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a deformable substrate.
Tavakoli discloses an electronic device in Figs. 2A-2D a substrate is a deformable substrate (see Figs. 2A-2D, Abstract, and paragraphs 21, 26, 29, 61; note polymeric substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in the electronic device of Chu the substrate would be a deformable substrate as taught by Tavakoli because deformable substrates are well known in the art and it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.07).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because each reference discloses an electronic device similar to that of the claimed invention: US 20130140069 A1 and US 20210125896 A1.
Inquiry
/J.M.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893