DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-4, 6, 9-12, 14 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/9/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 13, 15-17 are elected and examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elements listed below must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 16: “a second portion of the lower portion of the second encapsulant is disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” is not shown.
Per claim 1, the second encapsulant 162 has “a lower portion surrounded by the first redistribution structure” 110 so the second portion of the lower portion should also be surrounded by the first redistribution structure 110. There is no such second portion “disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” as claimed because any portion of the second encapsulant 162 between the first set of the plurality of bumps 118 and the first redistribution structure 110 is not surrounded by the first redistribution structure.
Claim 17: “a second portion of the lower portion of the second encapsulant is disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” is not shown.
Per claim 17, the second encapsulant 162 has “a lower portion surrounded by the first redistribution structure” 110 so the second portion of the lower portion should also be surrounded by the first redistribution structure 110. There is no such second portion “disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” as claimed because any portion of the second encapsulant 162 between the first set of the plurality of bumps 118 and the first redistribution structure 110 is not surrounded by the first redistribution structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, both claims recite “a second portion of the lower portion of the second encapsulant is disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” which causes the claims to fail to comply with written description requirement.
The second encapsulant 162 has “a lower portion surrounded by the first redistribution structure” 110 as a requirement, so the second portion of the lower portion should also be surrounded by the first redistribution structure 110. There is no such second portion “disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” as claimed because any portion of the second encapsulant 162 between the first set of the plurality of bumps 118 and the first redistribution structure 110 is not surrounded by the first redistribution structure.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Note: Conflicts/inconsistencies between the specification and the claims is the basis of indefiniteness per MPEP 2173.03 – “A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.”
Regarding claims 16 and 17, both claims recite “a second portion of the lower portion of the second encapsulant is disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” which conflicts with the specification.
The second encapsulant 162 has “a lower portion surrounded by the first redistribution structure” 110 as a requirement, so the second portion of the lower portion should also be surrounded by the first redistribution structure 110. There is no such second portion “disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” as claimed because any portion of the second encapsulant 162 between the first set of the plurality of bumps 118 and the first redistribution structure 110 is not surrounded by the first redistribution structure.
Hence, claims 16 and 17 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (US 4729061 A).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 10) comprising:
a first redistribution structure (100, “”three laminates or PC boards are used to form composite 100 , thus providing four conductive layers from which the circuit traces may be formed) in which at least one first redistribution layer (“four conductive layers from which the circuit traces may be formed”) and at least one first insulating layer (130/170/110) are alternately layered;
a first semiconductor chip (154) disposed on an upper (not uppermost) surface of the first redistribution structure;
a second semiconductor chip (154’) having a lower portion (Fig. 10) surrounded by the first redistribution structure (by 130 of 100);
a first encapsulant (top 158) disposed on the upper (not uppermost) surface of the first redistribution structure to encapsulate the first semiconductor chip (154);
a second encapsulant (bottom 158) encapsulating the second semiconductor chip (154’) and having a lower portion (Fig. 10) surrounded by the first redistribution structure (by 130 of 100); and
a conductive support layer (174) supporting the second semiconductor chip (154’) and the second encapsulant (bottom 158), wherein the conductive support layer (174) is disposed directly on (on a straight line per https://www.thefreedictionary.com/directly) an upper surface (bottommost in Fig. 10 per orientation of 154’) of the second semiconductor chip opposite to the lower portion of the second semiconductor chip (note: the claim should recite direct physical contact between the conductive support layer and the upper surface of the second semiconductor chip to overcome Brown; examiner’s suggestion is based on Fig. 1A of instant application).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suk et al. (US 20220102282 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suk discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 10) comprising:
a first redistribution structure (100) in which at least one first redistribution layer (110/120) and at least one first insulating layer (“The dielectric layers 101, 103, 105, and 107”) are alternately layered;
a first semiconductor chip (210) disposed on an upper surface of the first redistribution structure (100);
a second semiconductor (comprises Si per [0046]) chip (400) having a lower portion (bottommost in Fig. 10) surrounded by the first redistribution structure (100);
a first encapsulant (360) disposed on the upper surface of the first redistribution structure (100) to encapsulate the first semiconductor chip (210);
a second encapsulant (300) encapsulating the second semiconductor chip (400) and having a lower portion (bottommost in Fig. 10) surrounded by the first redistribution structure (100); and
a conductive support layer (213/215/411) supporting (by being bonded to 300 and 400) the second semiconductor chip (400) and the second encapsulant (300), wherein the conductive support layer (213/215/411) is disposed directly on an upper surface (topmost in Fig. 10) of the second semiconductor chip (400) opposite to the lower portion of the second semiconductor chip (213/215/411 directly contacts an upper surface, topmost in Fig. 10, of 400).
Regarding claim 2, Suk discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first encapsulant (360) is in direct (physical) contact with at least one of the conductive support layer and the second encapsulant (300. Fig. 10).
Claims 1, 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scanlan et al. (US 20160379933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scanlan discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 2) comprising:
a first redistribution structure (12, “The substrate 12 is preferably fabricated from an insulative or dielectric material, and may comprise a laminate structure”)
a first semiconductor chip (26) disposed on an upper surface of the first redistribution structure;
a second semiconductor chip (48) having a lower portion (bottommost in Fig. 2) surrounded by the first redistribution structure;
a first encapsulant (62) disposed on the upper surface of the first redistribution structure to encapsulate the first semiconductor chip;
a second encapsulant (56) encapsulating the second semiconductor chip and having a lower portion (bottommost in Fig. 2) surrounded by the first redistribution structure; and
a conductive support layer (68) supporting (indirectly and via bonding of layers) the second semiconductor chip (48) and the second encapsulant (56), wherein the conductive support layer (68) is disposed directly on (on a straight line per https://www.thefreedictionary.com/directly) an upper surface (topmost in Fig. 2) of the second semiconductor chip (Fig. 2) opposite to the lower portion of the second semiconductor chip (note: the claim should recite direct physical contact between the conductive support layer and the upper surface of the second semiconductor chip to overcome Scalan; examiner’s suggestion is based on Fig. 1A of instant application)
Scanlan fail to disclose a first redistribution structure “in which at least one first redistribution layer and at least one first insulating layer are alternately layered”.
However, since Scanlan discloses “The substrate 12 is preferably fabricated from an insulative or dielectric material, and may comprise a laminate structure”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to provide alternating redistribution and insulating layer in the substrate 12 of Scanlan and thereby arrive at the claimed invention so as to enable means for transmitting signals from inside the package to the PCB 72 outside the package and thereby enable means for electrically addressing the inner devices within the package, and/or, because alternating RDLs and insulation layers comprise a common and well-known packaging substrate configuration wherein the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07) and their use would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Scanlan discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first encapsulant (62) is in direct contact with at least one of the conductive support layer (68) and the second encapsulant (56, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Scanlan discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of bumps (24/46) having a first set of the plurality of bumps (24) electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (26) and a second set of the plurality of bumps (46) electrically connected to the second semiconductor chip (48), and the second set of the plurality of bumps (46) bypasses the first redistribution structure (12) to be electrically connected to the second semiconductor chip (Figs. 1-2).
Claims 1, 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 10522454 B2) in view of Scanlan et al. (US 20160379933 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 2F) comprising:
a first redistribution structure (200) in which at least one first redistribution layer (206) and at least one first insulating layer (202/204) are alternately layered;
a first semiconductor chip (140) disposed on an upper surface of the first redistribution structure;
a second (passive) semiconductor chip (170) having a lower portion surrounded by the first redistribution structure;
a first encapsulant (110) disposed on the upper surface of the first redistribution structure to encapsulate the first semiconductor chip;
a second encapsulant (166/182) encapsulating the second semiconductor chip and having a lower portion surrounded by the first redistribution structure; and
Meyer fails to disclose a conductive support layer supporting the second semiconductor chip and the second encapsulant, wherein the conductive support layer is disposed directly on an upper surface of the second semiconductor chip opposite to the lower portion of the second semiconductor chip.
Scalan discloses (Fig. 2) a conductive support layer (68) supporting (indirectly and via bonding of layers) the second semiconductor chip (48) and the second encapsulant (56), wherein the conductive support layer (68) is disposed directly on (on a straight line per https://www.thefreedictionary.com/directly) an upper surface (topmost in Fig. 2) of the second semiconductor chip (Fig. 2) opposite to the lower portion (bottommost in Fig. 2) of the second semiconductor chip (note: the claim should recite direct physical contact between the conductive support layer and the upper surface of the second semiconductor chip to overcome Scalan; examiner’s suggestion is based on Fig. 1A of instant application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to include the conductive support of Scanlan in Meyer and arrive at the claimed invention so as to provide an RF shield (Scanlan, [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Meyer/Scalan discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the first encapsulant (110) is in direct contact with at least one of the conductive support layer and the second encapsulant (166/182, Fig. 2F).
Regarding claim 13, Meyer/Scalan discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the second semiconductor chip (170) is thicker (MPEP 2125) than a thickness of the first semiconductor chip (140, Fig. 2F).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fail to disclose or suggest (claim 5) further comprising a core insulating layer comprising: a first cavity in which the first semiconductor chip is disposed; and a second cavity in which the second semiconductor chip is disposed, and disposed on the upper surface of the first redistribution structure; claims 7-8 depend from claim 5.
Examiner Note
Claims 16 and 17 are not rejected over prior art. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected over 35 USC 112 for (a) failing to comply with the written description requirement and (b) being indefinite as detailed above. A prior art rejection has not been found at this time and a decision on patentability could not be made in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections included herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6.5.2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges “a second portion of the lower portion of the second encapsulant is disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” of claims 16 and 17 has proper support in Fig. 1A. Applicant provides the following annotated figure as support:
However, the examiner notes that the second encapsulant 162 has “a lower portion surrounded by the first redistribution structure” 110 as a requirement, so the second portion of the lower portion should also be surrounded by the first redistribution structure 110.
There is no such second portion “disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure” as claimed because any portion of the second encapsulant 162 between the first set of the plurality of bumps 118 and the first redistribution structure 110 is not surrounded by the first redistribution structure.
Hence, it appears that any portion of the second encapsulant 162 disposed between the first set of the plurality of bumps and the first redistribution structure cannot be part of the lower portion of the second encapsulant.
For this reason, the examiner objects to the drawings and rejects claims 16 and 17 under 35 USC 112.
The applicant alleges:
This is not found persuasive because “directly on” does not require direct physical contact as the applicant alleges. In this case, Brown discloses a conductive support layer (174) supporting the second semiconductor chip (154’) and the second encapsulant (bottom 158), wherein the conductive support layer (174) is disposed directly on (on a straight line per https://www.thefreedictionary.com/directly) an upper surface (bottommost in Fig. 10 per orientation of 154’) of the second semiconductor chip opposite to the lower portion of the second semiconductor chip (note: the claim should recite direct physical contact between the conductive support layer and the upper surface of the second semiconductor chip to overcome Brown; examiner’s suggestion is based on Fig. 1A of instant application).
The applicant alleges:
And,
This is not persuasive because Suk discloses a conductive support layer (213/215/411) supporting (by being bonded to 300 and 400) the second semiconductor chip (400) and the second encapsulant (300), wherein the conductive support layer (213/215/411) is disposed directly on an upper surface (topmost in Fig. 10) of the second semiconductor chip (400) opposite to the lower portion of the second semiconductor chip (213/215/411 directly contacts an upper surface, topmost in Fig. 10, of 400).
The applicant alleges:
This is not persuasive because Scalan discloses a conductive support layer (68) supporting (indirectly and via bonding of layers) the second semiconductor chip (48) and the second encapsulant (56), wherein the conductive support layer (68) is disposed directly on (on a straight line per https://www.thefreedictionary.com/directly) an upper surface (topmost in Fig. 2) of the second semiconductor chip (Fig. 2) opposite to the lower portion of the second semiconductor chip (note: the claim should recite direct physical contact between the conductive support layer and the upper surface of the second semiconductor chip to overcome Scalan; examiner’s suggestion is based on Fig. 1A of instant application).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andres Munoz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818