DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (US 2023/0343963).
As to claim 1, Ho discloses a modified binder ([0012], conductive composition, discussed throughout), comprising: a conductive carbon nanotube ([0012], carbon nanomaterial, which can be carbon nanotubes, [0070]-[0074], discussed throughout); and a first grafting agent located on the conductive carbon nanotube ([0012]-[0020], polymeric material, [0102], discussed throughout), the first grafting agent comprising a copolymer of acrylic-based monomer ([0112]-[0113], discussed throughout) unit-acrylamide-based monomer unit ([0117], [0132], discussed throughout) and/or a copolymer of acrylic-based monomer unit-acrylonitrile-based monomer ([0112]-[0113], discussed throughout) unit-acrylamide-based monomer unit ([0127], discussed throughout).
NOTE: this is a 103 type rejection because of picking and chose materials from a list of option. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the claimed materials from Ho as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable (see MPEP 2143).
As to claim 2, Ho discloses wherein, a monomer corresponding to the acrylic-based monomer unit comprises acrylic acid and a C1-C6 alkyl-substituted acrylic-based monomer; a monomer corresponding to the acrylonitrile-based monomer unit comprises acrylonitrile, a C1-C6 alkyl-substituted acrylonitrile-based monomer; and a monomer corresponding to the acrylamide-based monomer unit comprises acrylamide, a C1-C6 alkyl-substituted acrylamide-based monomer ([0040], [0117], [0127], [0135], discussed throughout).
As to claim 3, Ho discloses wherein, at 25° C., an aqueous solution of the modified binder with a solid content of 0.8%-1.4% ([0155]-[0156], [0159]-[0160], discussed throughout) has a viscosity of 20,000 mPa·s-40,000 mPa·s ([0181], [0060] to show the temperature; discussed throughout).
As to claim 4, Ho discloses wherein, the first grafting agent has a weight average molar mass of 5,000 Da to 100,000 Da ([0150]-[0151], discussed throughout).
As to claim 5, Ho discloses wherein, the conductive carbon nanotube comprises a single-walled carbon nanotube and a multi-walled carbon nanotube ([0079], discussed throughout).
As to claim 6, Ho discloses wherein, the conductive carbon nanotube has a length of 1 μm-5 μm ([0083], discussed throughout).
As to claim 7, Ho is silent to wherein a binder composition, comprising: the modified binder according to claim 1; and a second binder; wherein at 25° C., the second binder with a solid content of 3% has a viscosity of 2,000 mPa·s-7,000 mPa·s. This is because Ho is silent to a second binder. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have a second binder from the same listed options as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I) thus resulting in two binders wherein the second binder would exhibit the required properties ([0151]-[0160] and [0181], [0060]).
As to claim 8, Ho discloses wherein, the second binder comprises a copolymer of acrylic-based monomer ([0112]-[0113], discussed throughout) unit-acrylonitrile-based monomer unit ([0112]-[0113], discussed throughout) and/or a copolymer of acrylic-based monomer unit-acrylonitrile-based monomer ([0112]-[0113], discussed throughout) unit-acrylamide-based monomer unit ([0127], discussed throughout).
As to claim 9, Ho discloses wherein, a monomer corresponding to the acrylic-based monomer unit comprises acrylic acid and a C1-C6 alkyl-substituted acrylic-based monomer; a monomer corresponding to the acrylonitrile-based monomer unit comprises acrylonitrile, a C1-C6 alkyl-substituted acrylonitrile-based monomer; and a monomer corresponding to the acrylamide-based monomer unit comprises acrylamide, a C1-C6 alkyl-substituted acrylamide-based monomer ([0040], [0117], [0127], [0135], discussed throughout).
As to claim 10, Ho discloses wherein, the second binder has a polar group ([0103]-[0105], discussed throughout).
As to claim 11, Ho discloses wherein, the second binder has a weight average molar mass of 50,000 Da-2,000,000 Da ([0150]-[0151], discussed throughout).
As to claim 12, Ho is silent to wherein, a mass ratio of the modified binder to the second binder is 1:(8-12). However, given that the claim is written as wherein the first binder and the second binder can be the same binder due to a lack of claimed structure the weight ratio can be considered arbitrary. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have optimize the binders weight percentages through routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05 II).
As to claim 13, Ho discloses wherein, at 25° C., an aqueous solution of the binder composition with a solid content of 3% ([0155]-[0156], [0159]-[0160], discussed throughout) has a viscosity of 15,000 mPa·s-mPa·s ([0181], [0060] to show the temperature; discussed throughout).
As to claim 18, Ho discloses an anode slurry, comprising the modified binder according to claim 1 ([0211], discussed throughout).
As to claim 19, Ho discloses anode plate, comprising: an anode current collector; and an anode active material layer located on at least one surface of the anode current collector; wherein, the anode active material layer comprises the modified binder according to claim 1 ([0211], [0243], [0244], discussed throughout).
As to claim 20, Ho discloses wherein, the anode active material layer further comprises a first anode active material and a second anode active material ([0211]), and a mass ratio between the first anode active material, the second anode active material and the binder composition is (80-95):(1-20):(0.5-2) ([0219]-[0228]; note there is no claimed difference between the first anode active material and the second anode active material making the weight ratios thereof arbitrary as any material could be considered either).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724