CTFR 18/479,966 CTFR 85898 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864), (hereinafter, Yotsuya ) . PNG media_image1.png 300 962 media_image1.png Greyscale RE Claims 1, 8 and 9, Yotsuya discloses in FIGS. 1-7 a thin film deposition mask and a method of making the same and a method of using the mask to make a pattern for an electroluminescent device. Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask “M”, comprising: a plurality of pixel openings 24 disposed in a surface of the deposition mask “M”, made of silicon [0014 and 0042]; a protrusion 28, made of magnetic material, hence meeting the limitation of Claim 8 , disposed between an edge of the deposition mask and an outermost peripheral pixel opening 24 among the plurality of pixel openings 24, referring to FIGS. 1B, 2, 5C and 7, in the surface of the deposition mask to face a substrate “L”, which is made of glass [0087], hence meeting Claim 9 limitation, on which a deposition pattern is deposited, referring to FIG. 7; and a crosspiece, referring to FIG. 1A annotated above, located between two pixel openings 24 adjacent to each other, among the plurality of pixel openings 24, referring to FIGS. 5C and 7, wherein a material of the crosspiece, and a material of the deposition mask “M” are the same, since the mask “M” includes the crosspieces is made of silicon material as a one piece substrate, and wherein a material of the protrusion 28 is different from the material of the deposition mask, since it is made of magnetic material, hence meeting the claimed limitation. RE Claim 2, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein with W as a width of the region from the pixel opening 24 disposed in the outermost peripheral portion, referring to FIG. 5C, the protrusions 28 are formed within a range of W/2 from the pixel opening 24 disposed in the outermost peripheral portion. It is clear that the protrusions 28 is disposed within a range of W/2 from the pixel opening, since its edge is disposed “aligned” with the edge of the openings 24, referring to FIG. 5C, hence meeting the claimed limitation. RE Claim 3, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the protrusion 28 is formed on the crosspiece S “silicon pattern”. RE Claim 4, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the deposition mask “M” has a frame in contact with a support member “MA” of the deposition mask “M”, and wherein a thickness of the frame is greater than a thickness of a first crosspiece S “silicon pattern”, in a thickness direction of the deposition mask, referring to FIG. 5C. RE Claim 10, Yotsuya discloses a method for producing an organic light-emitting element, comprising: forming an organic compound layer using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 referring to FIG.8 [0098-0101]. RE Claim 11, Yotsuya discloses a display device, comprising: an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 referring to FIG.8 [0098-0101]. RE Claim 12, Yotsuya discloses an imaging device “by bi=virtue of forming an image in a display” [0107, 0115], comprising: an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116]. RE Claim 13, Yotsuya discloses an electronic device “POS terminal”, comprising: an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116]. RE Claim 14, Yotsuya discloses lighting device, comprising: an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116]. Examiner notes that the recitation of “ organic light-emitting element ” of the claimed invention is an intended use language does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, thus claimed invention is only an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose, See In re Casey , 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). RE Claim 15, Yotsuya discloses a moving body “CAR” with car navigation device, comprising: an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116]. RE Claim 16, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the crosspiece includes an area in which the protrusion 28 is not disposed, referring to FIGS. 1B and 2. It the examiner position that the limitation is met since the porotrusions 28 is formed of a pattern that does not cover the entire mask “M”, hence cover specific localized regions, as a consequence the crosspiece includes an area in which the protrusion 28 is not disposed . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yotsuya et al. (US 2006/0160026), (hereinafter, Yotsuya ) . RE Claim 1, Yotsuya discloses in FIGS. 1-6 a thin film deposition mask and a method of using the mask to make a pattern for an electroluminescent device [0052]. Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask 10, PNG media_image2.png 401 754 media_image2.png Greyscale wherein a plurality of pixel openings 31/51 are disposed in a surface, referring to FIG. 1, of a deposition mask 10, which is to face a substrate [0034] on which a deposition pattern is deposited, wherein protrusions 4 including a material “magnetic” different from a material included in the deposition mask 3 “silicon” are formed in a region which is located from a pixel opening 31/51 that is disposed at an outermost peripheral portion in the surface, from among the plurality of pixel openings 31/51, up to an edge of the deposition mask 10, and wherein in the deposition mask 10, a crosspiece 32 which is located between two pixel openings 31/51 adjacent to each other, from among the plurality of pixel openings include the material “silicon”. RE Claim 5, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the deposition mask 10 has a frame 3 in contact with a support member 3/32 of the deposition mask 10, and a second crosspiece 32 located between two-pixel openings 31 adjacent to each other, from among the plurality of pixel openings 24, and dl, d2 and d3, as values of thickness of the frame 3, the first crosspieces and the second crosspieces, in a thickness direction of the deposition mask, satisfy expression (1); d1≥d2≥d3 (1), referring to FIGS. 1 and 6, as annotated above. RE Claim 6, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the protrusions 4 provided on the second crosspiece 3/32, referring to FIG. 6, in the surface. RE Claim 7, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the protrusion 4 is formed of a magnetic material [abstract, 0029] . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the instant case, applicant points out to paragraph [0018], in which it is preferable that the magnetic film 28 is arranged on a surface of the nonmagnetic substrate opposite from the film formation substrate. Consequently, the magnetic film may be readily attracted (attached) to the film formation substrate by the magnetic force. However, Yotsuya ’s disclosure clearly shows in FIG. 7 that the magnetic protrusions 28 made of magnetic material is facing the film formation substrate “L” and in direct contact with. It is the examiner position that a preferred embodiment does not preclude or teach against other embodiments implementation as it is clearly shown in FIG. 7 of Yotsuya’ s disclosure. Therefore, the rejection is maintained . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In the instant case, Nishikawa et al. (US 2003/0044517) disclose an evaporation mask is placed between an evaporation source and a plastic substrate. An evaporation substance from the evaporation source is allowed to selectively pass through one or more openings formed on the evaporation mask corresponding to the pattern of an evaporation layer of an EL element, to form the evaporation layer on the plastic substrate. As the material for the evaporation mask, a material whose thermal expansion coefficient is similar to (for example, within a range of +/-.30% of the thermal expansion coefficient of the plastic substrate, for example, a plastic material such as a polyimide, is employed. It is preferable to employ a material having a thermal endurance which is, for example, at least approximately 50 o C. higher than the thermal endurance of the plastic substrate. By employing such a material for the evaporation mask, it is possible to ensure that the plastic substrate and the evaporation mask will exhibit the same degree of thermal deformation during evaporation, thereby enabling improvement in the precision of evaporation patterning . THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YASSER ABDELAZIEZ whose telephone number is (571)270-5783. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9 am - 6 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Leonard Chang can be reached at (571)270-3691. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/479,966 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/479,966 Page 3 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/479,966 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/479,966 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/479,966 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/479,966 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/479,966 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898