DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yotsuya (US 2006/0191864), (hereinafter, Yotsuya).
RE Claims 1, 8 and 9, Yotsuya discloses in FIGS. 1-7 a thin film deposition mask and a method of making the same and a method of using the mask to make a pattern for an electroluminescent device. Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask “M”, wherein a plurality of pixel openings 24 are disposed in a surface, of a deposition mask “M”, which is to face a substrate “Si” on which a deposition pattern 20 is deposited, hence meeting the claimed limitation of Claim 9,
wherein protrusions 28 including a material “magnetic material”, hence meeting the claimed limitation of Claim 8 [0078-0080] different from a material included in the deposition mask “silicon” are formed in a region which is located from a pixel opening 24 that is disposed at an outermost peripheral portion in the surface, from among the plurality of pixel openings 24 “pattern portion”, up to an edge of the deposition mask “M”, and
wherein in the deposition mask “M”, a crosspiece Si “silicon pattern” which is located between two-pixel openings 24 adjacent to each other, from among the plurality of pixel openings include the material “silicon”.
RE Claim 2, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein with W as a width of the region from the pixel opening 24 disposed in the outermost peripheral portion, referring to FIG. 5C, the protrusions 28 are formed within a range of W/2 from the pixel opening 24 disposed in the outermost peripheral portion. It is clear that the protruisions 28 is disposed within a range of W/2 from the pixel opening, since its edge is disposed “aligned” with the edge of the openings 24, referring to FIG. 5C, hence meeting the claimed limitation.
RE Claim 3, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the protrusion 28 is formed on the crosspiece S “silicon pattern”.
RE Claim 4, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the deposition mask “M” has a frame in contact with a support member “MA” of the deposition mask “M”, and wherein a thickness of the frame is greater than a thickness of a first crosspiece S “silicon pattern”, in a thickness direction of the deposition mask, referring to FIG. 5C.
RE Claim 10, Yotsuya discloses a method for producing an organic light-emitting element, comprising:
forming an organic compound layer using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 referring to FIG.8 [0098-0101].
RE Claim 11, Yotsuya discloses a display device, comprising:
an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 referring to FIG.8 [0098-0101].
RE Claim 12, Yotsuya discloses an imaging device “by bi=virtue of forming an image in a display” [0107, 0115], comprising: an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116].
RE Claim 13, Yotsuya discloses an electronic device “POS terminal”, comprising:
an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116].
RE Claim 14, Yotsuya discloses lighting device, comprising:
an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116]. Examiner notes that the recitation of “organic light-emitting element” of the claimed invention is an intended use language does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, thus claimed invention is only an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose, See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
RE Claim 15, Yotsuya discloses a moving body “CAR” with car navigation device, comprising:
an organic light-emitting element having an organic compound layer formed using the deposition mask according to Claim 1 [0098-0101, 0107, 0108, 0115 and 0116].
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yotsuya et al. (US 2006/0160026), (hereinafter, Yotsuya).
RE Claim 1, Yotsuya discloses in FIGS. 1-6 a thin film deposition mask and a method of using the mask to make a pattern for an electroluminescent device [0052]. Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask 10,
wherein a plurality of pixel openings 31/51 are disposed in a surface, referring to FIG. 1, of a deposition mask 10, which is to face a substrate [0034] on which a deposition pattern is deposited,
wherein protrusions 4 including a material “magnetic” different from a material included in the deposition mask 3 “silicon” are formed in a region which is located from a pixel opening 31/51 that is disposed at an outermost peripheral portion in the surface, from among the plurality of pixel openings 31/51, up to an edge of the deposition mask 10, and wherein in the deposition mask 10, a crosspiece 32 which is located between two pixel openings 31/51 adjacent to each other, from among the plurality of pixel openings include the material “silicon”.
RE Claim 5, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the deposition mask 10 has a frame 3 in contact with a support member 3/32 of the deposition mask 10, and a second crosspiece 32 located between two-pixel openings 31 adjacent to each other, from among the plurality of pixel openings 24, and
dl, d2 and d3, as values of thickness of the frame 3, the first crosspieces and the second crosspieces, in a thickness direction of the deposition mask, satisfy expression (1); d1≥d2≥d3 (1), referring to FIGS. 1 and 6, as annotated above.
RE Claim 6, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the protrusions 4 provided on the second crosspiece 3/32, referring to FIG. 6, in the surface.
RE Claim 7, Yotsuya discloses a deposition mask, wherein the protrusion 4 is formed of a magnetic material [abstract, 0029].
Conclusion
/YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898