DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A as exemplified by claims 1 and 6 in the reply filed on 5/15/26 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/15/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-5, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 2019/0214672) as cited in IDS dated 10/3/23.
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a lithium secondary battery ([0036]-[0040], Fig. 1A) comprising: a positive electrode(cathode 18, Fig. 1A, [0040]); a separator(non-woven fabric 12c, Fig. 1B, [0037], [0048]-[0049]); a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material(anode current collector 11, Fig. 1A, [0036]); and an electrolytic solution(first liquid electrolyte 12b, Fig. 1A, [0036]), wherein the electrolytic solution contains a fluorine solvent represented by Chemical Formula(1),
(in the formulae, each of R10 and R20 independently represents any of a C1 to C8 alkyl group, or a C1 to C8 alkyl group that is fully or partially fluorinated) (fluorinated ether compound [0066], [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses R10 or R20 includes one or more CF3 groups([0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses R20 is trifluoroethyl ([0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses R10 is selected from an ethyl group, or an n-propyl group ([0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses R10 is selected from an ethyl group that is fully or partially fluorinated, or an n-propyl group that is fully or partially fluorinated ([0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Chang discloses the electrolytic solution further contains a fluorine solvent consisting of a compound having at least one of a monovalent group represented by Formula (A) or a monovalent group represented by Formula (B),
(In the formulae, a wavy line represents a bonding site in the monovalent group)([0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses a total amount of the fluorine solvents is 5 vol% to about 25 vol% ([0072]) which is within the claim range of 5% by volume or more relative to an overall amount of solvent components in the electrolytic solution, thus reading on the limitation.
According to the MPEP, “"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses the electrolytic solution is a non-aqueous electrolytic solution([0066]), and the solvent further contains an ether solvent as a non-fluorine solvent([0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2019/0214672) as cited in IDS dated 10/3/23 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yokotsuji et al. (JP2014110235A) as cited in IDS dated 10/3/23 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant.
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses fluorinated ether compound ([0066]) but does not explicitly disclose the fluorine solvent of Chemical Formula (1) is any of fluorine solvents represented by Chemical Formulae (11) to (15),
.
Yokotsuji teaches electrolyte for rechargeable lithium ion battery and rechargeable lithium ion battery (title). Yokotsuji teaches an electrolyte solution for a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a fluorinated ether in which at least some the hydrogen atoms are substituted with fluorine atoms (claim 1). Yokotsuji teaches 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl methyl ether (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery of Chang with the fluorine solvent of chemical formula (1) is represented by chemical formula (13) as taught by Yokotsuji as Chang discloses genus of fluorinated ether solvent. MPEP 2144.08.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724