DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 8/4/26 have been received. Claim 1 has been amended.
Election/Restrictions
3. Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/15/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-5, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (US 2020/0161706) as cited in IDS dated 10/3/23.
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses a lithium secondary battery (Fig. 4B, [0171]) comprising: a positive electrode(cathode 220, Fig. 4B, [0171]); a separator(230, Fig. 4B, [0171]); a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material(anode current collector 250, Fig. 4B, [0171]); and an electrolytic solution impregnating the separator([0171]),
wherein the electrolytic solution comprises an electrolyte dissolved in a fluorine solvent represented by Chemical Formulae (1) to (4) ([0145], [0158]-[0160]),
(in the formulae, each of R10 and R20 independently represents any of a C1 to C8 alkyl group, a cycloalkyl group, an aryl group, a C1 to C8 alkyl group that is fully or partially fluorinated, a cycloalkyl group that is fully or partially fluorinated, or an aryl group that is fully or partially fluorinated)([0158]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses R10 or R20 includes one or more CF3 groups([0158]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses R20 is trifluoroethyl ([0158]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 4, Cao discloses R10 is selected from a methyl group, or an ethyl group ([0160]).
Regarding claim 5, Cao discloses R10 is selected from an ethyl group that is fully or partially fluorinated, or an n-propyl group that is fully or partially fluorinated ([0159]-[0160]).
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses the electrolytic solution further contains a fluorine solvent consisting of a compound having at least one of a monovalent group represented by Formula (A) or a monovalent group represented by Formula (B),
(In the formulae, a wavy line represents a bonding site in the monovalent group) ([0158]-[0159]).
Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses a total amount of the fluorine solvents is 5% by volume or more relative to an overall amount of solvent components in the electrolytic solution(volumetric ratio of the solvent A to the diluent is within a range of from 0.2 to 5 [0162]).
Regarding claim 13, Cao discloses the electrolytic solution is a non-aqueous electrolytic solution([0148]), and the solvent further contains an ether solvent as a non-fluorine solvent([0148]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2020/0161706) as cited in IDS dated 10/3/23 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yokotsuji et al. (JP2014110235A) as cited in IDS dated 10/3/23 with citations from machine translation provided by Applicant.
Regarding claim 6, Cao discloses fluorinated ether compound ([0158]) but does not explicitly disclose the fluorine solvent of Chemical Formula (1) is any of fluorine solvents represented by Chemical Formulae (11) to (15),
Yokotsuji teaches electrolyte for rechargeable lithium ion battery and rechargeable lithium ion battery (title). Yokotsuji teaches an electrolyte solution for a lithium ion secondary battery comprising a fluorinated ether in which at least some of the hydrogen atoms are substituted with fluorine atoms (claim 1). Yokotsuji teaches 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl methyl ether (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery of Cao with the fluorine solvent of chemical formula (1) is represented by chemical formula (13) as taught by Yokotsuji as Cao discloses genus of fluorinated ether solvent. MPEP 2144.08.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 11-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724