DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This final rejection is in response to Applicant’s amended filing of 11/21/2025.
Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant has amended claims 1-3 and 5-6; cancelled claim 4; and added new claims 7-14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 rejected under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 USC § 101 against claims 1-6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 20210311124 A1) in view of Junmatsu (JP 2021114869 A) and Ichiki et al. (US 20220308119 A1; reference provided in IDS filed 10/03/2023).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Takahashi suggests a method of diagnosing a redundant power supply (claim 1; see at least Fig. 1 depicting a battery monitoring unit and battery diagnosis device for a secondary battery) and a non-transitory storage medium storing a program (claim 6; see at least ¶ [0018] and [0099] disclosing non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer program) executed by an electronic control unit (ECU) of a computer of a device that diagnoses a state of a battery mounted on a vehicle (see at least ¶ [0038] and Fig. 1 depicting a battery monitoring unit and battery diagnosis device for a secondary battery configured as an ECU with processor and memory), the vehicle including an in-vehicle device (see at least ¶ [0038] and Fig. 1 depicting a battery monitoring unit and battery diagnosis device for a secondary battery configured as an ECU with processor and memory), and a DC-DC converter (see at least ¶ [0036] and Fig. 1 depicting DC-DC converter), the method comprising:
a step of executing a first determination of whether a deterioration diagnosis of the battery is possible after the first discharge process (see at least ¶ [0029], [0062-0064], [0075-0077], and [0091-0093] and Figs. 2 and 5-7 disclosing a first determination following a tentative diagnosis of the state of the second battery to detect if an abnormality is present);
a step of executing a second determination of whether the deterioration diagnosis is possible after the execution of the second discharge process (see at least ¶ [0029], [0062-0064], [0075-0077], and [0091-0093] and Figs. 2 and 5-7 disclosing a second determination to perform a main diagnosis on the state of the secondary battery to confirm if an abnormality is present);
a step of executing a third determination of whether the deterioration diagnosis is possible after the execution of the third discharge process (see at least ¶ [0029], [0062-0064], [0075-0077], and [0091-0093] and Figs. 2 and 5-7 disclosing a third determination to perform a main diagnosis on the state of the secondary battery to perform extended diagnostics on the power supply system, log the abnormality, and notify a vehicle occupant of the abnormality), wherein the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination each include
acquiring battery information based on an output current value and an output voltage value of the battery detected by sensors mounted on the vehicle while executing the corresponding one of the first discharge process, the second discharge process, and the third discharge process (see at least ¶ [0035] disclosing current and/or voltage sensors used to detect the state of the second battery),
determining whether the acquired battery information satisfies a predetermined condition (see at least ¶ [0051-0052] disclosing comparing states of the second battery according to current and/or voltage output values exceed an upper limit),
determining the deterioration diagnosis is possible in a case where the battery information satisfies the predetermined condition (see at least ¶ [0062-0064], [0075-0077], and [0091-0093] and Figs. 2 and 5-7 disclosing first, second, and third determinations to perform tentative and main diagnostics on the state of the secondary battery, based current and/or voltage values),
and determining the deterioration diagnosis is not possible in a case where the battery information does not satisfy the predetermined condition (see at least ¶ [0062-0064], [0075-0077], and [0091-0093] and Fig. 2 disclosing first, second, and third determinations to perform tentative and main diagnostics on the state of the secondary battery, based current and/or voltage values such that if a tentative diagnosis does not detect an abnormality in the state of the battery then the main diagnosis is not performed);
a step of storing, in response to determining that the deterioration diagnosis is possible in one of the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination, an elapsed time in a memory of the computer, the elapsed time being acquired from a clock mounted on the vehicle, from when the battery starts being used in the vehicle to when the deterioration diagnosis is determined to be possible in the corresponding one of the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination (see at least ¶ [0051], [0082], and [0098] disclosing the battery diagnosis device using an operation clock to determine current timing when performing tentative diagnoses at regular intervals, as well as recording results and associating them with the tentative diagnosis execution period);
a step of subsequently executing the deterioration diagnosis of the battery (see at least ¶ [0029], [0062-0064], [0075-0077], [0082], and [0091-0093] and Figs. 2 and 5-7 disclosing a third determination to perform a main diagnosis on the state of the secondary battery to initiate repeated tentative diagnoses, perform extended diagnostics on the power supply system, log the abnormality, and notify a vehicle occupant of the abnormality).
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose a generator, the in-vehicle device being connected to the battery via a power line and a switch disposed on the power line, the DC-DC converter being connected to both the battery and the switch via the power line, and the generator being connected to the battery via the DC-DC converter,
a step of executing a first discharge process;
a step of controlling the DC-DC converter to charge the battery in a case where it is determined that the deterioration diagnosis is not possible in the first determination;
a step of subsequently executing a second discharge process;
and a step of executing a third discharge process in a case where it is determined that the deterioration diagnosis is not possible in the second determination, wherein the first discharge process, the second discharge process, and third discharge process each include closing the switch and adjusting an amount of current to flow out from the battery to the in-vehicle device via the DC-DC converter according to a predetermined discharge pattern.
However, Junmatsu suggests a generator (see at least ¶ [0016] of the machine translation), the in-vehicle device being connected to the battery via a power line and a switch disposed on the power line (see at least ¶ [0013-0016] and [0022-0023] of the machine translation disclosing a power source system for diagnosing deterioration is connected to batteries through power lines and a switching unit comprising switches), the DC-DC converter being connected to both the battery and the switch via the power line (see at least ¶ [0013-0016] and [0022-0023] of the machine translation disclosing a power source system for diagnosing deterioration is connected to batteries through power lines to a switching unit and DC-DC converter), and the generator being connected to the battery via the DC-DC converter (see at least ¶ [0013-0016] and [0022-0023] of the machine translation disclosing a power source system for diagnosing deterioration is connected to batteries through power lines to a generator and DC-DC converter),
a step of controlling the DC-DC converter to charge the battery in a case where it is determined that the deterioration diagnosis is not possible in the first determination (see at least ¶ [0038-0041] of the machine translation disclosing if the second battery has a storage rate below the first battery, the DC-DC converter recharges the second battery);
a step of executing a discharge process in a case where it is determined that the deterioration diagnosis is not possible in the determination, wherein the discharge process includes closing the switch and adjusting an amount of current to flow out from the battery to the in-vehicle device via the DC-DC converter according to a predetermined discharge pattern (see at least ¶ [0019-0024] and [0038-0041] of the machine translation disclosing if the second battery has a storage rate below the first battery, the DC-DC converter recharges the second battery, where the switching unit alternates power lines connecting first and second batteries to the generator and to devices corresponding to first and second loads on the second battery for deterioration diagnosis);
and a step of determining the state of the battery using the estimated internal resistance value of the battery (see at least ¶ [0057] of the machine translation disclosing diagnosing the deterioration of the second battery by calculating internal resistance).
While neither Takahashi and Junmatsu explicitly disclose there being first, second, and third discharge processes as part of performing deterioration diagnoses, Takahashi discloses the battery diagnosis device determines the state of a second battery by following current and voltage timing during a charge-discharge pattern, with tentative and main diagnoses occurring repeatedly during the pattern (see at least ¶ [0051] and [0054-0065]) and Junmatsu discloses different loads being applied to a battery for the power source system to perform deterioration diagnostics on the battery (see at least ¶ [0019-0021]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that discharge patterns would vary depending on the device that would load the battery, and therefore would represent different discharge processes to make determinations off of. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the equipment and discharge loadings of Junmatsu into the battery diagnostic determinations of Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance. This would allow different discharge patterns to be accounted for based on the device in use, and therefore affect the first state for comparison to make determinations for abnormalities during a current state.
While Junmatsu suggests the internal resistance value being calculated based on the output current value and the output voltage value that are detected during the corresponding discharge process (see at least ¶ [0057] of the machine translation disclosing diagnosing the deterioration of the second battery by calculating internal resistance using current and voltage characteristics of the battery), the combination of Takahashi and Junmatsu does not explicitly disclose a step of storing, in response to determining that the deterioration diagnosis is possible in one of the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination, an internal resistance value in a memory of the computer;
and a step of estimating a current internal resistance value of the battery based on the internal resistance value and the elapsed time that are stored in the memory based on the most recent determination in which the deterioration diagnosis is determined to be possible among the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination, in a case where none of the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination results in that the deterioration diagnosis is possible.
However, Ichiki suggests a step of storing, in response to determining that the deterioration diagnosis is possible in one of the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination, an internal resistance value in a memory of the computer (see at least ¶ [0090-0094] disclosing a diagnostic device storing the last calculated resistance value in a predetermined storage device);
and a step of estimating a current internal resistance value of the battery based on the internal resistance value and the elapsed time that are stored in the memory based on the most recent determination in which the deterioration diagnosis is determined to be possible among the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination, in a case where none of the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination results in that the deterioration diagnosis is possible (see at least ¶ [0090-0094] disclosing battery resistance is determined over a predetermined start up or shut down time periods or over constant time intervals).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the battery resistance recording of Ichiki into the combination of Takahashi and Junmatsu with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance, with particular connection to Junmatsu in calculating resistance of the battery using current and voltage. This would help the diagnostic system track a gradual deterioration over time to determine if the battery has severely degraded and requires maintenance.
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose a step of determining whether storage amount of the battery has reached a predetermined storage amount after the step of controlling the DC-DC converter to charge the battery,
wherein the step of subsequently executing the second discharge process is executed in a case where it is determined that the storage amount of the battery has reached the predetermined storage amount.
However, Junmatsu suggests a step of determining whether storage amount of the battery has reached a predetermined storage amount after the step of controlling the DC-DC converter to charge the battery (see at least ¶ [0038-0041] of the machine translation disclosing if the second battery has a storage rate below the first battery, the DC-DC converter recharges the second battery until it matches the first battery),
wherein the step of subsequently executing the second discharge process is executed in a case where it is determined that the storage amount of the battery has reached the predetermined storage amount (see at least ¶ [0019-0024] and [0038-0041] of the machine translation disclosing if the second battery has a storage rate below the first battery, the DC-DC converter recharges the second battery, where the switching unit alternates power lines connecting first and second batteries to the generator and to devices corresponding to first and second loads on the second battery for deterioration diagnosis).
While neither Takahashi and Junmatsu explicitly disclose there being first, second, and third discharge processes as part of performing deterioration diagnoses, Takahashi discloses the battery diagnosis device determines the state of a second battery by following current and voltage timing during a charge-discharge pattern, with tentative and main diagnoses occurring repeatedly during the pattern (see at least ¶ [0051] and [0054-0065]) and Junmatsu discloses different loads being applied to a battery for the power source system to perform deterioration diagnostics on the battery (see at least ¶ [0019-0021]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that discharge patterns would vary depending on the device that would load the battery, and therefore would represent different discharge processes to make determinations off of. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the equipment and discharge loadings of Junmatsu into the battery diagnostic determinations of Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance. This would allow different discharge patterns to be accounted for based on the device in use, and therefore affect the first state for comparison to make determinations for abnormalities during a current state.
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi discloses a step of determining whether a predetermined time has elapsed since the second discharge process ended (see at least ¶ [0069-0077] and [0084-0093] disclosing the main diagnosis is performed over a main decision time after the tentative diagnosis determines an abnormality is present in the battery),
wherein the step of executing the third discharge process is executed in a case where it is determined that the deterioration diagnosis is not possible in the second determination and that the predetermined time has elapsed since the second discharge process ended (see at least ¶ [0084-0093] disclosing the main diagnosis is performed after an elapsed time after the battery diagnosis device transitions from a wake-up mode to an operation mode during diagnosis of the battery).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi does not explicitly disclose the first discharge process, the second discharge process, and the third discharge process each include causing the DC-DC converter to control the amount of current to flow out from the battery such that a constant amount of current flows out from the battery for a predetermined duration, the constant amount of current being decided based on a current required to be supplied from the battery to the in-vehicle device for the predetermined duration in a backup processing for the in-vehicle device.
However, Junmatsu suggests the first discharge process, the second discharge process, and the third discharge process each include causing the DC-DC converter to control the amount of current to flow out from the battery such that a constant amount of current flows out from the battery for a predetermined duration, the constant amount of current being decided based on a current required to be supplied from the battery to the in-vehicle device for the predetermined duration in a backup processing for the in-vehicle device (see at least ¶ [0020] and [0038-0040] disclosing the second battery meeting a storage rate so it can deliver a predetermined current over a predetermined period to supply a second load for running a device).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the equipment and discharge loadings of Junmatsu into the battery diagnostic determinations of Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance. This would allow different discharge patterns to be accounted for based on the device in use, and therefore properly provide necessary power to vehicle devices.
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi suggest the step of estimating includes a second elapsed time from a time when it is determined that the deterioration diagnosis of the battery is possible in one of the first determination, the second determination, and the third determination to a current time (see at least ¶ [0051], [0082], and [0098] disclosing the battery diagnosis device using an operation clock to determine current timing when performing tentative diagnoses at regular intervals, as well as recording results and associating them with the tentative diagnosis execution period).
Takahashi does not explicitly disclose the step of estimating includes estimating the internal resistance value of the battery.
However, Junmatsu suggests the step of estimating includes estimating the internal resistance value of the battery (see at least ¶ [0057] of the machine translation disclosing diagnosing the deterioration of the second battery by calculating internal resistance).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the equipment and discharge loadings of Junmatsu into the battery diagnostic determinations of Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance. This would allow different discharge patterns to be accounted for based on the device in use, and therefore affect the first state for comparison to make determinations for abnormalities during a current state.
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi suggests results of the determination of the state of the battery are used to indicate whether the battery is able to be used in driving of the vehicle (see at least ¶ [0003] disclosing monitoring the state of the battery to determine influence on vehicle actions).
While Takahashi does not explicitly disclose results of the determination of the state of the battery are used to indicate whether the battery is able to be used in an automatic driving of the vehicle, Junmatsu suggests results of the determination of the state of the battery are used to indicate whether the battery is able to be used in an automatic driving of the vehicle (see at least claim 1 of the machine translation disclosing a power supply system mounted on a vehicle capable of automatic driving with a first battery and a second battery).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the battery diagnostic determinations of Takahashi into the autonomous driving vehicle of Junmatsu with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance. While Takahashi is directed toward a hybrid vehicle, the same battery monitoring techniques could be implemented on an autonomous vehicle as in Junmatsu.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al., Junmatsu, and Ichiki et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Kim (US 20230194622 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Takahashi and Junmatsu does not disclose the battery information is an average value of an outflow current of the battery in a discharge period.
However, Ichiki suggests the battery information is an average value of an outflow current of the battery in a discharge period (see at least ¶ [0070-0075] disclosing the mirror current generator measures average current flow for subsequent calculations through the second battery using a current sensor).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the battery resistance recording of Ichiki into the combination of Takahashi and Junmatsu with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance, with particular connection to Junmatsu in calculating resistance of the battery using current and voltage. This would help the diagnostic system track a gradual deterioration over time to determine if the battery has severely degraded and requires maintenance.
The combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki does not explicitly disclose the predetermined condition is that the average value is not equal to or greater than a first threshold value.
However, Kim suggests the predetermined condition is that the average value is not equal to or greater than a first threshold value (see at least ¶ [0036] disclosing a calculating unit calculating differential data for the capacity and the voltage of the battery cell when a discharging current change of the battery cell for a specific time is greater than a reference value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the current threshold of Kim into the combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward diagnosing batteries for degradation or abnormalities. While Kim detects if current exceeds a threshold, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify Ichiki with its current sensing and calculation capabilities and implement a threshold, either above or below a given amount as a matter of design, to determine if degradation or abnormalities in battery performance.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Takahashi and Junmatsu does not disclose the battery information is an outflow current of the battery at a discharge end time point at which a discharge period has elapsed.
However, Ichiki suggests the battery information is an outflow current of the battery at a discharge end time point at which a discharge period has elapsed (see at least ¶ [0070-0075], [0090], and [0092] disclosing the mirror current generator measures average current flow for subsequent calculations through the second battery using a current sensor to determine battery resistance over a predetermined start up or shut down time periods or over constant time intervals).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the battery resistance recording of Ichiki into the combination of Takahashi and Junmatsu with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance, with particular connection to Junmatsu in calculating resistance of the battery using current and voltage. This would help the diagnostic system track a gradual deterioration over time to determine if the battery has severely degraded and requires maintenance.
The combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki does not explicitly disclose the predetermined condition is that the outflow current is not equal to or greater than a second threshold value.
However, Kim suggests the predetermined condition is that the outflow current is not equal to or greater than a second threshold value (see at least ¶ [0036] disclosing a calculating unit calculating differential data for the capacity and the voltage of the battery cell when a discharging current change of the battery cell for a specific time is greater than a reference value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the current threshold of Kim into the combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward diagnosing batteries for degradation or abnormalities. While Kim detects if current exceeds a threshold, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify Ichiki with its current sensing and calculation capabilities and implement a threshold, either above or below a given amount as a matter of design, to determine if degradation or abnormalities in battery performance.
Claims 5, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al., Junmatsu, and Ichiki et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Hayashida et al. (US 20140139149 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki does not explicitly disclose the step of determining the state of the battery includes calculating, using the estimated internal resistance value of the battery, power that is able to be output from the battery, and determining that the battery is in a normal state in a case where the power that is able to be output is equal to or greater than a third threshold value.
However, Hayashida suggests the step of determining the state of the battery includes calculating, using the estimated internal resistance value of the battery, power that is able to be output from the battery, and determining that the battery is in a normal state in a case where the power that is able to be output is equal to or greater than a third threshold value (see at least ¶ [0040-0041], [0050], and [0065-0066] disclosing determining the standardized available output power of a battery uses the battery's current state of deterioration and resistance as computed by being above a given state of charge (SOC) range).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the output power calculations of Hayashida into the combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward diagnosing batteries for degradation or deterioration. This would allow the system to evaluate and monitor more characteristics to gauge if a battery is in a state of deterioration.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki does not explicitly disclose the step of determining the state of the battery further includes determining that the battery is in an abnormal state in a case where the power that is able to be output is less than the third threshold value.
However, Hayashida suggests the step of determining the state of the battery further includes determining that the battery is in an abnormal state in a case where the power that is able to be output is less than the third threshold value (see at least ¶ [0040-0041], [0050], and [0065-0066] disclosing determining the standardized available output power of a battery uses the battery's current state of deterioration and resistance as computed by being above a given state of charge (SOC) range).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the output power calculations of Hayashida into the combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward diagnosing batteries for degradation or deterioration. This would allow the system to evaluate and monitor more characteristics to gauge if a battery is in a state of deterioration.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Takahashi suggests the battery is a backup battery used for backup of a main battery of the vehicle (see at least ¶ [0033-0035] disclosing a second battery charged by a first battery and used for battery diagnostics).
While Takahashi does not explicitly disclose the backup battery is used during autonomous driving of the vehicle, Junmatsu suggests the backup battery is used during autonomous driving of the vehicle (see at least claim 1 of the machine translation disclosing a power supply system mounted on a vehicle capable of automatic driving with a first battery and a second battery).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the battery diagnostic determinations of Takahashi into the autonomous driving vehicle of Junmatsu with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing and monitoring the use of vehicle dual battery systems to detect problems with the batteries’ performance. While Takahashi is directed toward a hybrid vehicle, the same battery monitoring techniques could be implemented on an autonomous vehicle as in Junmatsu.
The combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki does not explicitly disclose the third threshold value is determined based on power required for the battery to backup the main battery.
However, Hayashida suggests the third threshold value is determined based on power required for the battery to backup the main battery (see at least ¶ [0040-0041], [0050], and [0065-0066] disclosing determining the standardized available output power of a battery uses the battery's current state of deterioration and resistance as computed by being above a given state of charge (SOC) range).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the output power calculations of Hayashida into the combination of Takahashi, Junmatsu, and Ichiki with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward diagnosing batteries for degradation or deterioration. This would allow the system to evaluate and monitor more characteristics to gauge if a battery is in a state of deterioration.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669